Always late to work..

Re: Always late to work..

I am late to EVERYTHING..and sometimes I ditch 'em completely. That's not cool I know, that's why I want to kick this nasty habit

Did you arrive on time in this world - or were you late then as well :D

Bilkul baara bajay ki padaish hai..apna sitara bhi do signs main atka hai..:bummer:

if being late is accept in ur office , n rest of the staff also come alittle late then its normal u wont need to worrry else u stil hav the time shambhal jienn earlier is the betterrrrr .. bcoz bura wqt bata kai nahi aata ...:)

To an extent...I think culture has something to do with it. Time is not perceived in the same way in all cultures.

Then at the same time....individual responsibility is also a factor. You have to think about what it is that you're doing that's making you late. Do you turn off the alarm and get back into bed to sleep an extra five minutes....that doesn't seem like much to you....but makes a HUGE difference when it comes to traffic and the time you arrive at work? Is it because you don't have your clothes already picked out ironed the night before? If make-up takes the most time...should you wake up a bit earlier. Also....compare the stress-level that you feel driving on the road when you're in a hurry and when you're on time? Do you notice a different and is it really worth it to put yourself through that?

I'm guilty of coming late to work....especially last year. Now this year....the first day of school....I arrived MUCH later (and I know it was my fault) and it was embarrassing...cuz parents were already waiting with their kids in the classroom....and I ran up the stairs and into my classroom and I was flustered. Wasn't a good feeling. So, after that first day....I've been coming about 15 minutes earlier and i can feel the difference in my stress level. It feels NICE...I feel relaxed knowing that I have a few minutes to make copies of my worksheets and write the tasks on the board...I don't feel rushed. I just hope I can keep it because it's something that I know i need to work on.

A while back someone made a point that not being punctual is reflective of not having respect for the other person....especially when you don't have a valid reason for being late. I thought about that....and I believe it's true. I've been on the receiving end of that (and it's frustrating) and on the giving end as well.

VERY WELL SAID! I mostly just shut off the alarm to sleep for another 5 minutes..and I don't get anything ready until I wake up in the morning. I don't even brush my hair - let alone applying makeup :D You are right, i need to remember being late is showing disrespect for the workplace and my team. I shall keep that in mind. I will let you know how it goes next week!

^That's the mistake I make. I'm a lazy bum.

^me too when it comes to being punctual

i am a big snooze-my-alarm person..and like Theorist said I too ditch completely occasionally just out of sheer laziness :p

Thank you for such a detailed reply Rv ... on this note , i would like to suggest a title for her , which is ' Zubeda appa of GS ' reference to famous chef zubeda tariq .. as like her she has answer for almost every thing - good thing indeed

here I also demand that she should run an Agony Aunt thread on GS - where she can spread these pearls of wisdom :)

^No way! I want neither the title nor the job. Besides, everyone who responds to any thread has an "answer".....whether the reader agrees with or not is another issue. And this isn't a pretense at modesty....but you'll find that most posters say the same thing. It's just that the wording/style varies with each person. I don't consider mine to be superior.

Theres this nifty/little/cheap electrical machine available that should technically help you heaps with your issue. It basically has a wire attached to it that you're supposed to stick onto yourself before going to bed, It has a timer/alarm fixed into it that tells the wire when to pass a certain/tiny amount of harmless energy with every beep. I know someone who uses this and it works wonders for him. He calls it the Shock'o'Hopper.

Theorist r u living alone or with ur parents ... bcoz i hav seen peep who r independent n living alone mostly hav these kinda issues more thn the 1s living with parentsss ...

Damn - feel like I am the only punctual paki here - o me the odd one out :hinna:

Naabigh i gues u mgt hav more responsibilies in life thts y u r responsible ---> punctual :)

Aey ki cheez aey? Does it have a name?

@FMW - I live with my husband and inlaws but pretty independently as in I don't have any responsibilities towards the house other than my work. Punctuality doesn't come from responsibilities. I always skipped school, ditched classes and I still graduated with a 4.0 GPA. I was always asked to put away my crap and go to bed at 9pm. I didn't want to so i stayed up for as long as I could. It's a sick habit that's stuck with me since childhood.

and damn what kinda desi woman are you ?

cant you make him , wake up an hour earlier then you , make your breakfast and then whisper in your ears ' Honey Uth jaoo - subah ho ga'e hai ... wake up and do your breaky , so i can do the dishes and then run to my work ... I dont want to late again today '

Yeah it happens when you are the one bringing money home :p.. Maybe I should have said THEY live with us. He leaves after me so I can’t ask him to wake me up but he does anyway..Kia karun koi fark nahi parta..:bummer:

don't you see she loves her husband and in laws ....not desi is it :p

They :konfused:

Darling - Muslim women are only allowed to have one husband at a time :fatee: