All grown up and going to Prom now =]

Prom is on May 3rd. Almost all the desi girls at my school have worn saris in the past or are going to be wearing saris at this one. Plus, it would be way too difficult to find a dress that I like that isn’t revealing or too expensive. I was going to get a sari made for prom when I was in Pakistan this past winter, but then Bhutto decided to get assassinated. (joking)…

So now I’m wearing my sister’s sari (the one that just recently got married) that her in-laws made for her. It’s realllyyy pretty and it will go well for the occassion since it’s not too decked out or too simple. The shirt part is black with some gold/copper kaam on the ends of the sleeves (it’s half-sleeves) and the whole back is covered in kaam. And then the wrap part is black with small bits of sequins all over it. It fits okay-ish…

I’m getting my makeup done from the MAC counter at our mall. They do it complimentary with one purchase and you just make an appointment. So you just buy one thing and they will do it. As for my hair, I don’t know what I’m doing. I thought about doing loose curls, but I asked a hair salon lady and she said it would take around 3 hours with my hair and I’m sure it would be ridiculously expensive. The shirt has kaam all on the back so I was going to put it up in a bun, but I look like an Aunty with my hair back =. I’m thinking about just straightening it and putting half of it back in a fancy clip.

I don’t know what to do with my hair. =(

Re: All grown up and going to Prom now =]

updos look elegant for prom, and if you let a few stray curls fall around your face, they should not make u look like an anti. straightening your hair should be fine too, but if you want the kaam on your shirt to show, you should stick with putting all your hair up.
sarees are beautiful, but will you be able to dance in 1? you could always get a long gown and wear a shawl over it to cover the cleavage and arms.

tind karwa lo :smiley: j/k…

hmm..how long is ur hair? from ur post, i’m assuming it’s a bit longer than just shoulder length - perhaps reaching down to ur mid-back?

curls do sound nice, but u’re right, it’s probably going to be fairly expensive…plus 3 hrs just for hair :eek: i feel for u girls :smiley:

miicha - well yea i don’t really like the whole curls on the sides of my head thing with the hair back. My head looks big with my hair back, too. :bummer: And, I’m not gonna dance :stuck_out_tongue: I’m just gonna stand around and talk to my pals or something.

DesiMunda - hmm well it’s pretty long. It’s like mid-to-lower-back lol.

do the soft curls and pin it so that it’s to one side.

HOT.

:smooth:

dont do straight iron hair.. thts too plainish.. non celebrative looking ..
curls are yai..
for sari .. have u worn a sari before cose its is hell of a job to carry urself in a sari.. what if u werent able to enjoy ur self so practice at home .. try it on..

Sahar - oo that sounds like a good idea. I was thinking to maybe try doing curls myself. Not all of my hair, but maybe try putting in hot curlers in some of my hair so if I clip it back it’ll look fine.

hin33 - Curls might look to over-done, maybe =... And yea I always straighten my hair when i get dressed up so I wanted to do soemthing different. And this will be my first time wearing a sari :bummer: but i’ve tried it on and practiced a little bit lol but not with heels… i’m gonna fall. :hinna:

and also i don’t know what jewelry to wear =
i have these long pretty shiney bronze earrings i bought from Aldo.. but I might just wear something small because umm most of the white girls they just wear like tiny studs or something. They dress up so bland compared to desi girls. :bummer:

hey! def. go for a sari..I wore a black with a lil bit of a golden on my prom..and had loose curls! Not too many ppl in my school wore a sari and I thinked looked pretty nice..your sari sounds gorgous!

If you are getting the makeup done..then get your hair done up too..before the make up..hair make a lot of diffrence. Wear sari with heels at home and walk around.

--

is that u pyari si bachi, u look really Hot in saari.....

woow u look really nice really like the sari!

Pyari si bachi: awww MashAllah :)

pyaar - awww!! you look soo pretty! :) okay the sari i have definately doesn't look as good on me lol.

how long did it take to do your hair? and do you remember around how much it costed? =\

i wanna get loose curls too now =<

Oh Phati...you will look pretty in ANYTHING! Get nice layered curls...
And nice heels!

Post the sari please :D

Don't worry -- I've danced in a sari too! Enjoy!

^ I will post it when I wear it. Abhi karoon tho SHOW kharaab ho jaiye gi. :snooty: And I’m not gonna dance! :smack:

Niksik - okay but saris make my butt look big. :bummer:

dance dance dance :hula:

And post it now!

No-one is going to look at your butt at the prom lady! :smack:

They’ll have no choice but to look at my butt as big as it looks in the sari :crying:

Sahar - I don’t even have it right now. It’s at my sister’s place. I told her to bring it next time she comes so I can practice “the walk” lol. And no way I’m not gonna dance! a) I’ll look ridiculous. b) I’m too shy. c) my parents would KILL ME! lol