Akhter Corner : Summer Performances (Merged, please do NOT start another)

Re: Akhter Corner : Summer Performances (Merged, please do NOT start another)

So basically you are now going to judge players performance by the number of wickets they will take in each match? If they don’t take any wicket that means that they are total failure?

What about other fast bowlers on the same pitch. Shoaib has not played for almost an year but they played recently:

Shoaib Akhtar___ 5 0 31 0 (3nb)
Pollock_________ 5 0 33 1 (3nb)
Ntini___________ 6 0 41 1
Mohammad Sami_ 7 1 43 0 (1w)

Having watched him bowl today I don't think the figures justify the way he bowled. He quite impressive in his bowling and Smith said that he was very fast.

Well I will try but seems defficult.

He shouldn't be judged in this match. Let him come back in the team then prove his worthiness, cuz I don't believe in county performances anyway. He is great as a "bowler", but he has to improve and prove to be a "team player".

I believe it, if you are saying this. I hope he will be back in full rythem in the ongoing county season though.

fkhan2, wicket taking is the potency of a geniune fast bowler. Atleast there must be a difference between Rao and Shoaib/Sami.

Re: Shoaib Akhar in action against BD on Sunday

:hehe: PCB :hehe: … they dumped all of them ! (including Inzi).

So every fast bowler took at least one wicket but our attack bowlers. Treat to watch. lol

Smooth bhai it looks like you believe other people comments or staements when judging players performance so let me post here some statements from the players and commentators who were there in todays’ match
Commentator: Shoaib was bowlng today with a firey pace, he was touching almost 100miles
Greame smith: Yes,i guess the speed gun was showing 95 miles or more but when i was facing him it felt that he is bowling with more pace

During the ceremony when fleming came to recieve the winning captain award
Thanks fleming for your fine knock making sure that the match was played in the spirit of competitiveness. And what about shoaib?
Flemings: Well he was bowlng with real pace and it was good to stand in the slips for change and not facing him.

Holding: Shoiab was bowling with real pace and we could see that he was making life difficult for batsmen today.

Now my friend, as you said that wicket taking is the potency of the geniune fast bowler. Believe me, I don’t want to start a discussion arguing with you that shoiab is a geniune fast bowler and he has the potential to take wickets, because I know you know and we al know that he is a genuine fast bowler with potential to take wickets. As far as i remember the probelm with shoiab was his fitness and discipline. So now you want to come up with a new one? He can’t take wicketss

uff! read my post again. I believed what ehsan bhai or commentrators said, cuz I didn’t watch the match, they did. They saw him bowling and since ehsan bhai is saying that his stats don’t show his real form today, so I said that would have been the case and I agree with him and others. I also wished to see him in full rythem, that also includes intelligent LnL and wicket taking.

The last line in my previous post was for your earlier comment. A bowler is also judged on his wicket taking ability. Since he has little success in the recent two outings, so I wished to see him in full rythem. :smack: Why ur going into circles and don’t get the point in the first place :frowning:

Re: Akhter Corner : Summer Performances

Shoaib Akhter - The Best Fast Bowler in the business

With 144 wickets in Test at a history-making strike rate of 44.34, Shoaib Akhter is the most deadly fast bowler active in Test cricket. In ODIs his performance is comparable with any other present fast bowler. He has 186 wickets from just 120 matches at a strike rate of 30.15.
For details about his career please visit:
http://content.cricinfo.com/pakistan/content/player/42655.html

This message was instead a result of very long and resultless discussions. Many people were atually involved (not rumors) in leading this thread to this shape. See Credits] for detail at the end, just before rumors.

Credit:
This thread was developed as a combined effort of Captain1, ehsan, fartGuru, fkhan2, Faisal,WiseGuy, Raindance, desired, smooth_guy, thegame, Zero_one, yasser, GreenAdmi, ~TaNhAayAan, Man with a Plan, phoenixDesi and me.

[There were rumors about some sources being involved as well, but it has not yet known] Waheedullah Khan, the News*

^^Shoaib, tumhare paas bohat time hai :hehe:

bas sir g duain hain aap ki..

Whycan’t i get the point in the first place???
I got the point in the first place. Let me paste some of your recent posts
These are couple of your posts today.
**Another ‘not bad’ performance?
Tsunami relief match:

Shoaib Akhtar 5 0 31 0 (3nb)

You are right, ppl come to get entertained by an ‘aeroplane’ running in the field, not to see wickets falling or run being scored etc etc.

It was clear that you didn’t watch the match and were just giving your comments on the basis of the score card in front of you from cricinfo. Otherwise you would have commented on sami who was below average today. So c’mon dont be so bais and give the man a fair chance.

Again, my first two comments were before I read ehsan bhai's post in which he said that Shoaib bowled well.

The last comment is from the other thread and I was replying to your post which was hillarious and prompted me to reply in the same manner.

How can you say that he was a total failure?
Just because he didn't pick up a wicket

"You are right, ppl come to get entertained by an 'aeroplane' running in the field, not to see wickets falling or run being scored etc etc."

And I didn't claim he was a total failure but ur were replying to someone else. For me this county season will show his fitness and rythem. I don't have luxury to watch the county season, but will be relying on the stats like many others.

ukhh... I just feel nauseated even looking at the title of this thread.

You guys have way too much time to be “diss”-“cuss” ing and praising one person so obliquely. Coming to KK and seeing this thread, I seriously feel like I’m gonna throw up!

'Shoaib this... Shoaib that... '...

Get over with it.... there is more to life than shoaib.

Yes i was replying to some one else who said that he was a complete failure today and then you replied to that post of mine. Anyways dude i also don’t have the luxury of following the county cricket its just that dishnetwork in USA were kind enough to telecast the match:D . We can carry on discussing and arguing about shoiab and make umer bhai nauseate every time:D but the bottom line is for the betterment of the team we all want a fit and in form shoiab back in the side. Hopefully he will be able to deliver what is expected from him Inshallah.

Yes there is more to life specially in other threads. If you notice the title of this thread, it is dedicated to shoaib, its his corner:p , so we can do Shoiab this and shoiab that, whenever we feel like doing it, thanks to mods :salute: :k:

karmeena ka istemaal kijiye, badhazmi door ho jaye gee :insha:, 1 sheeshi 10 rupay kee, 2 sheeshi 15 rupay ki… aaj he lijiye.