Re: Akhter Corner : Summer Performances (Merged, please do NOT start another)
^ Umer, good attempt. Lara also said he wants to retire because without him the WI team will finish and without him WI cannot win a match and that WI is him and nothing else, he doesnt have to prove himself. Err I forgot the rest of his egotistic statements but you get the message. Poor Lara. :)
PCB, players and our stupid media have started a campaign against Shoaib Akhter for last few months. This thing is just stupid and it hurts to me as a fan of cricket and as a Pakistani as well. Akhter is the best talent we have right now in cricket and we are letting him wasted just because some players and PCB have problems with him.
Australians have always put Bret Lee as he is a Hollywood superstar, and we even will not let Akhter play for the team.....Akhter in all regards is a much better bowler that Bret Lee, McGrath, or any Australian bowler.
O bhai Umer sahab! have you seen his interviews?????? HAVE YOU!!!! If you listen to him you would know why his team mates, PCB and general public in Pakistan is against his arrogance and ignorance.
If you have not, just watch Ek Din Geo Kay Saath. The other interviews and golden words are found in newspapers and magazines for your viewing pleasure.
Just give you an example from his interview full of non-sense and arrogance.
The host asks him "agar aapko ik din ka iqtedaar mil jaaye tou aap kiya kareingay"?
Our hero goes " ji....sub se pehle tou mein apnay liye masjid banwaaonga, phir mein ik university aur school banwaaonga.....kyonke aap dekhein 50 saal hogaye azaadi mile aur aaj tak ye qaum nahi parhsaki.....tou mera khayal hai education ki sab se ziyada zaroorat hai....is liye mein school/university banwaaonga taakay ye qaum parh lay"
If you have seen more arrogant and jaahil person in your whole world, let me know. Since I haven't.
With this attitude ofcourse any sane person will feel uncomfortable, so the team management and team mates are not mad people when they see he talks to media all the time and brabs with his arrogance in ME, MY and MYSELF format. If I were the team captain I would never let a player like him to enter in the dressing room. Same goes for Afridi, he needs to learn lesson from Akhtar or he will be kicked out soon, once again like a year ago.
P.S:The above example is not related to the team but there are many that I didn't quote and we all know them.
to Brett Lee that after being a Hollywood superstar, he is still not an arrogant kid who would rank himself as the number one bowler up against rest of the opponent team. BTW, do you know how many times Brett Lee has been in and out of Aussie squad?
Here are answers to your questions. In no sense I am going personal, it may be my stupid style of writing that disturbs you and many other on this forum, but I am still new on this forum. Will be used to the style used here but it will take some time.
**JAHIL?
**We are talking about cricket, not recruiting CIO or choosing our leaders. A jahil person can outperform many well educated persons on the basis of his performance (compare Shoaib against any other person to check it). Education has nothing to do when selecting a cricket team. You select persons who can perform on the pitch. If you fail to do so, then you will never have a competitive team.
Interviews and Stupidity?
As for the interviews, Shoaib is the only REAL superstar our team have these days. It is very common for the super stars to give interviews like he gives. Remember the days of legendary Wasim and Waqar? Recall their interviews; there is nothing special that Shoaib adds. These are all the same. It is not just Pakistan fast bowlers (not talking about medium pacers that are always a part of the BOYS), all fast bowlers have this sort of behavior. Recall interviews or behavior from Ian Botham, Malcom Marshal or any fast bowler and you will find nothing special in Shoaib. All fast bowlers tend to be stupid. Now do you know that one Australian fast bowler even kicked Miandad on the pitch? Did Shoaib ever do some thing that stupid?
I am very much interested in cricket, have subscriptions to many cricket and sport journals for years, and have read almost all major interviews of cricketers all over the World, at least for past 7-10 years. There is nothing special that is present in Shoaib Akhter's attitude or behavior. It is always hard for any team to deal with fast bowlers any where.
Notes:
[When I use the term fast bowler, I mean THE Fast Bowler. Not Medium Pacers. At the time of this writing, Pakistan has just one Fast Bowler in their squad and that is Shoaib Akhter. The rest (Rana Naved, Shabir Ahmed, Rao Iftikhar…) are all medium-fast, also known as medium pacers. Mohammed Sami sometime makes fast deliveries but he too is not a genuine fast bowler]
[Similarly Australia have just two fast bowlers, Bret Lee and Gillespie. Both of them have reported many times for their behavior and interviews thus it is very common to find one of them out of the Australian squad for no reason.]
Dear Captain,
Australia can manage to play without Bret Lee or Gillespie, but we don't have a strong bowling attack these days and have just one fast bowler available. So Shoaib must be in the team.
Yes dear,
But Australian squad is much stronger than us these days. When we had two fast bowlers (Wasim and Waqar), it was very common to have either one of them or both in the squad. These days we just have one Fast Bowler. That is Shoaib Akhter. If he is not in the team then we are definitely playing without a fast bowler.
How can Bret Lee ever claim to be the no. 1 bowler when Shoaib is still alive and playing . :D
On any comparison, Akhter outclass every other present fast bowler. This makes him the no. 1 fast bowler of his time. SO he is not wrong with his claim.
Though he must not make such claims in his own interviews. But all fast bowlers used such claims in the past too. Botham, Marshal, Wasim, Waqar,..... all of them
Simple plans tend to be the best !
However, consider this scenario - should Akhtar fail miserably this summer - would people say that his career is over OR is it just bad luck that he had to play in Eng this summer ?
Those were not some matches it was WC '03. Brett had Mc Gragh and Gilispie and Akhtar had Wasim and Waqar. Shoaib did not do well against Australia, England and India. Brett on the other hand performed really well especially against NZ in the Super Sixes.
Brett Lee is not far behind Shoaib, their statistics are pretty much the same both in Test and ODI when it comes to bowling.
My friends please at least check once before you post. It took me almost an hour to develop this.
There was nothing much wrong with Pakistan bowling attack. Pakistan failed in that World cup just cause of INI and his famous BOYS, here is a quick reminder of WC03 if you compare Pakistan Against Australia:
Bowling:
Pakistan:
Shoaib Akhter - got 11 wickets in 6 matches
Waqar Younis - got 7 wickets in 6 matches
Wasim Akram - got 12 wickets in 6 matches
Total : 30 wickets in 18 matches
Australia:
Gillespie - Got 8 wickets in 4 matches
McGrath - Got 21 wickets in 11 Matches
Bret Lee - got 22 wickets in 10 matches
Total : 51 wickets in 25 matches.
Batting:
Pakistan:
Inzamam - 19 runs in 6 innings at av. 3.16(B***d)**was he bowling???
Afridi - 16 runs in 3 inning at av. 5.33(Afridi Superclass)
Younis Khan - 84 runs in 5 innings at av. 21(A ****) **
Youhana - 170 runs in 6 innings at av. 28.33 **(A player as good as … ) **
Saleem Elahi - 102 in runs 4 innings at 25.50 **(Who selected him??) **
Taufiq Omar - 91 runs in 3 innings at av. 30 **(youngster!!BOY) **
Saeed Anwar - 218 runs in 5 innings at av. 54.50 **(True Legend) **
Shoaib Akhter - 72 runs in 4 innings at av. 72 **(What an average???) **
Total - 772 runs in 36 innings at av. 29
Shoaib Akhter was our best batsman when it came to average…]
Australia:
A. Symonds - 326 runs in 5 innings at av. 163
AJ Bichel - 117 runs in 3 innings at av. 117
DR Martin - 323 runs in 8 innings at av. 64
RT Ponting - 415 runs in 10 innings at av. 51
MG Bevan - 148 runs in 5 innings at av. 49
DS LEhmann - **224 **runs in 8 innings at av. 44
A Gilchrist- 408 runs in 10 innings at av. 40
ML Hayden - 328 runs in 11 innings at av. 32
The continious failure of our batting line (including at least 3 so called legends, Inzy, Youhana and Younis Khan) in WC03 is still a mystery. I was quite surprised why PCB did not put an inquiry on these players at that time.
Only Saeed Anwar (that is what a true legend is all about) delivered a descent batting display.
Our bowling master class was just left unaffected by Inzy and his BOYS.