since my 10 yr old baby janu was fasting.. and being a more desi kid then an actual desi kid .. he wanted pakoray.. chat.. dahi barey roohafza.. gawdd, so i just made it all … cose he .. was fasting
and then i ate it all cose i was fasting too…
agh after that big gulp of doodh roohafza.. i just fell on the couch .. and never got up until two hours later…
i really want some good strong motivation to stop making this junk and stay normal after iftar..
Eat in smaller portions and only enough to take the hunger away. I too felt so sick after iftaari yesterday, even though it was a long fast I didn;t really get hungry but I ate half a roti after iftaari just cos the darned chicken looked really good. I regretted it later though even after a 20 minute walk and a big mug of green tea. I'm going to try to not be a nadeedi today and eat hisaab ka.
Maybe I ate that much because I was ill this whole week (still am) and had not tasted anything the whole day (not even at sehri because I did not have sehri). But am gonna be more careful today.
Like Female Falafel () said, eat in small portion. Eat a little bit at iftari, then pray Maghrib and then wait awhile and eat some more.
Hehe no doubt that Sehri has barkat in it. I was a little sick and did not feel like eating so I did not eat anything due to illness. But it went smooth Alhamdulillah. Today I ate sehri so everything is going fine too :)
Dude you have to make these things for the kiddies -
just try to stay away yourself - I know you have the will power.
Lekin iftar without all these things is just not traditional.
stay away from fried fooood! it is the worst!!!!! makes you heavy..thirsty..and makes your skin look bad..basically dehydrates you more....best thing would be to decrease your normal intake of table salt in food..but do drink lemonade at iftar...it will help you..since its still a little hot out there and you dont want to feel weak due to loss of electrolytes..
No wonder all the aunties are so Moti. Itna khaatee haiN
Anyway, we eat regular dinner for Iftar. so yesterday, we had khajoor, just a little bit of kalay chanay, Rice and chicken, and then fruit chaat. Finish, nothing till sehri then
well im not moti and im certainly not aunty AND i didn't over eat either. whats two spring rolls, some channa chaat and some fruit chaat? I thougt I could accomodate the smaller half of a roti too but no, ye na thi hamaari qismat :(
Omg I made exactly the sme aftari and all the things you mention…..I was abt to throw up after I wolfed down abt 3 dozen pakorey and a big bowl of dahi bahley……just kidding but still didnt eat anything else after the iftari…no dinner:D…
you just have to have some will power…i know it’s easier said then done. just try and imagine all the greace and fats that are clogging up your arteries next time you take a huge bite out of that pakora!
You can’t not cook it though…you have mashAllah a 10 yr old at home…you have to give him something to look forward to during ramadan. It only comes around once a year. I know I used to love all this stuff when I was a kid until I got a little bit older and became more health cautious.
I just firgured that its not fried stuff either. I think its the milk mixed with rooh afza. I mean one glass of that fills up a tummy so today I didn’t drink that to see if my theory is right and to my surprise, I did not have a tummy ache today