Re: Aaj kya pakaaya/khaaya
Made Andey Ka Halwa for our family NYE party...omg, it was soooo sinfully good!!
i never heard bout ande ka halwa so please post recipe coz i love eggs.....thanku
Made Andey Ka Halwa for our family NYE party...omg, it was soooo sinfully good!!
i never heard bout ande ka halwa so please post recipe coz i love eggs.....thanku
hawwww aaawwwww :o shareer kahiiN kii!
mere ghar to koii murGhee nahiiN ![]()
It's a very classic, old school Hyderabadi meetha that I learned from my chachi ammi....
9 eggs
200 grams koya
200 grams badam (soaked, skinned and then ground)
1 tsp zafran
3 big tablespoons ghee
3/4 kilo sugar (if you're using sweetened koya, adjust/lessen the amount of sugar used)
Save some whole almonds to sliver and use for garnish
Whisk eggs, then combine in remaining ingrediants, (except the reserved slivers) combine well.
Pour into buttered glass/pyrex dish (the type you use for cakes) and top with the slivered almonds and bake at low temp, 325 degrees, about 20 minutes or until halwa is puffy and set.
You can cut it into peices or serve straight out of the dish as well
Nice!!!! I put khoya in my andey ka halwa...I had a hard time finding it yesterday, my usual desi mithai store did not have any, so I had to drive across town to their other branch to get some..grrrrr....next time, I'm going to make my own!!!
Same here i always make it at home it soooo easy :)
First time i heard of egg halwa was on master chef, defo gonna try it :)
It's a very classic, old school Hyderabadi meetha that I learned from my chachi ammi....
9 eggs 200 grams koya 200 grams badam (soaked, skinned and then ground) 1 tsp zafran 3 big tablespoons ghee 3/4 kilo sugar (if you're using sweetened koya, adjust/lessen the amount of sugar used)
Save some whole almonds to sliver and use for garnish
Whisk eggs, then combine in remaining ingrediants, (except the reserved slivers) combine well.
Pour into buttered glass/pyrex dish (the type you use for cakes) and top with the slivered almonds and bake at low temp, 325 degrees, about 20 minutes or until halwa is puffy and set.
You can cut it into peices or serve straight out of the dish as well
I love Hyderabadi food!
My mum makes anday ka halwa and so frikkin tasty!!!
Hey everyone, I am a very silent member. I don't write much but I love all your recipes and pictures. I need some help with a lost recipe. My mum used to make 'something' in the microwave and I don't remember much of that recipe as I was very young when she died and when I used to see her work in kitchen. She didn't write her recipes anywhere but I kinda remember how she used to do that microwaved recipe. I hope anyone of you would guide me as how to go about it.
Here are the bits and pieces I remember:
She had a small microwave dish with a lid. She used to put a whole tomato, a whole onion with some other vegetable that I have forgotten (capsicum I guess). After that she used to sprinkle salt and pepper (I guess) with vinegar....and may be a little water (not sure though). And then she used to cook it in microwave with the lid closed. The result used to be soft onion and tomato that just used to melt in our mouths...The watery gravy used to be equally yummy...the vegetables used to retain their shapes and colors and only ised to break off if we touched them. We used to eat it with burgers or roasts. The onion used to be soft and seemed caramelized but she never used to cut it in pieces before putting it in the microwave...It used to be whole round onion with just its skin off.
Since last few days, my brother has been saying how much he misses those onions and tomatoes and asked me if I can try to make something similar. The only things I remember are the things I just mentioned above. I have no idea if I should put water? How much? What quantity of vinegar? How many minutes in the microwave? I have some doubt about the onions being uncooked when I would try it! Anyone to help me out???
I FINALLY made this chicken bread:
T](Facebook)he end result was ok. Chicken filling was a bit too bland for my taste and for some reason..my dough didn’t rise at all
but it was soft and stuff…
It was pretty frustrating though cz I couldn’t roll it out into a rectangle and whatever I did, I couldn’t make it into a neat braid like that… but it tasted ok so thats wha tmatters most.
The first time i made it exactly like fauzia’s and thought the same that it was too bland so the next
time i made it i used the chicken tikka as the filling and it was sooooo yum and my kids loved it too:)
Check out my tandoori pie recipe for how to make the chicken tikka
and i added grated cheddar cheese with sliced mozzarrella on top of the filling too ![]()
Chicken Pizza Recipe;
Ingredients (for dough):
4 cups plain white all-purpose flour
1 tablespooon sugar
1 tablespoon salt
1 cup of room temperature whole milk
1 egg
1/3 cup of oil (canola/vegetable oil)
1 packet of dry yeast
a little bit of water (for yeast & during making of dough)
To assemble the pizza, just knead the dough out until it’s easier to work with and fit into circular pizza pan. Before placing it in the pan, use margarine or butter to grease the entire pan. Once the dough is in place, poke it all around with a fork and let it sit while you cut up your toppings etc.
Toppings I used:
onion
green bell pepper
tomato
mushrooms (please, none of the canned stuff!)
chicken
For the chicken, I simply cooked chicken breast cut into cubes with my favorite spices (crushed red pepper flake, steak spice, salt, pepper, dash of oregano). If you wanted it to be more desi in flavor you could marinate the chicken cubes with your favorite tandoori recipe and use that. Either way works fine.
A lot of people make their own pizza sauce, but I usually cheat on that part bcos I find home-made pizza sauce just doesn’t taste the same. I’ve been using an organic brand I found recently, but Contadina (sp?) makes a great pizza sauce as well. If you really wanted to make it all homemade: tomato paste, garlic/onion powder, fresh basil if available, or Italian seasoning, water, finely diced garlic and tomato, whisk together (add more water or tomato paste to your liking for consistency), simmer for a bit and let cool before covering dough with it.
Assemble (I know, it’s common-sense but I’m being tedious haha):
Pizza sauce
sprinkling of mozzarella
all your toppings
loads of mozarella on top, to cover everything.
Make sure your oven is pre-heated at about 450, place the pizza inside. Generally, when the bottom of the pizza is golden brown it’s done. I’d say it takes about 15-20 minutes for that. Let the cheese become less white as well (if you prefer) and voila! Pizza is done. =)
The samosas are also home-made but I’d have to ask my mom for the recipe haha.
Made finger licking HALEEM over the weekend. OK, I used SHAAN but how many can do that even with SHAAN ![]()
i tried the spinach and tortilla pie yesterday. It turned out really well. I would add a little bit of cream though next time just to add some richness to it. It makes a great appetizer.
i make haleem with shan masala all the time. It turns out really well and you can freeze some for later ![]()
i made chicken tikka according to my taste too and did the rest how she said i.e. the flour and the milk etc .. i also added grated cheddar cheese and capsicums first time and second time i added red kidney beans to the chicken mixture - yum!
peeli maash kii daal with taRkaa...yum yum...hamaare ilaaqe meN to hamesha log safed maash kii daal hii banaate haiN :( i'll ask Bhabhi to make yellow maash kii daal if you post the recipe, plz. :)
eggs tarka…thats interesteing! Looks good…
I like the second plate! PINK! FLORAL! ![]()
Chicken and rice, yum
-DP
peeli maash kii daal with taRkaa...yum yum...hamaare ilaaqe meN to hamesha log safed maash kii daal hii banaate haiN :( i'll ask Bhabhi to make yellow maash kii daal if you post the recipe, plz. :)
it was white mash, I ended up putting too much haldi I guess.
Lusi, you’re one of my favorite cooks ![]()