A sad day in lahore

Re: A sad day in lahore

culture is something what makes you a stranger. you have seen pakistan now. that's enough. go to where you really belong. that's not your mitti. you won't regret about this advise.

lolz...no no BigBoi....our elders have given blood to win this piece of Land. People may be corrupt but Land is not....this mitti may now have displaced the smell of blood to smell of bombs but it remains to be the same mitti which was there 50 years ago.

Lets pray for our nation...country and people rather then giving up on them.

^ Too right man.

I am still Pakistani even if i was thrown into the depths of the ocean, i am still Pakistani even if i live in among western notions.

We should pray for our country and all countries peace afterall they need our prayers and support more than ever.

I have never been hurt by any foriegners despite my lifestyle. However my own people hurt me inside just with you. I have lost more than you can imagine, 4 years of my life were wasted by my own people in which not one of my Pakistani relatives or friends came to see me even when i lay close to death in hospital.

But i still love them and every thursday include them in my prayers. Afterall they are my compatriots, when in danger whom else will hep them if not me....... This fact alone shames them enough, i cannot hate them....... my life is too short for so much hatred.

wow Faris... that was sad life story...jokes apart i appreciate your thoughts.

Aye but it's not a life story yet....... :) my life is only in chapter one at the moment there are six more chapters to come ;)

Anyway thanks bro. Allhamdulillah how are you anyway long time no speak?

bass janab new job..new bacha...wagera wagera...life is keeping me busy.

^ Congrates for the new bacha :)

Well, life is going on, have gotten used to lots of things in this time, like seeing at least one or two cars pushed by people or rikshaws on the roads, people's stares and "fikr-e-bazi", the fear of sudden flame by turning on gas stove with match, and much more.

What interesting things happened to me recently are: i went to my neighbours and they offered me "chalgoze", i found very interesting peeling and eating so i went to market and bought one kg and finished them in 4 days!
Result? A mouth full of blisters, two giant size pimples on my right cheek and one on my neck, luckily i mentioned finding eating chalgoze very interesting and not being able to eat due to my blisters to my coleague and was informed that they are extremly HOT.

So, i threw the plan of buying another kg of chalgoze in the rubbish bin and went to my neighbours again. There they were eating oranges with black salt. Finding it very interesting i went to market and bought black salt plus oranges. They are actually very yummy when eaten with black salt.

Now i don't know what is disadvantage of eating oranges with black salt, but i'm eating 4 oranges with lots and lots of black salt every night :D

Just one thing the frustrated me today was the rikshaw driver who drove me to office, whenever i asked him to turn right he turned left and when i asked him to turn left he turned right, the funny thing is, i wasn't using " right or left" i was using " seedha" and "ulta". lol
The best thing was, i did reach office somehow.

I went to food street in anarkali, lots of hustle and bustle, but mostly there were guys. A lot to eat and see. I liked the place, very live. I ate the chicken on the sticks, I forgot what they called it, it was served with rice. Then I went on the eat Ras gule, extremely sweet.
I also ate gol gupe and drank a whole bowl full of sour water. It was delicious.

Then I walked to the anarkai bazaar, lots of variety, the only uncomfortable thing was the passing motorcycles and staring eyes, so I couldn’t shop much. I did buy a couple of saris, 7000 each, they told me they gave me retail price, I still feel they are expensive though, but since I’m pretty much used to see everything overpriced here, I thought I’ll buy them anyway.

A few days back, I went to the Badshahi Mosque and Lahore zoo.
The mosque was stunningly beautiful, such magnificence I’ve never seen anywhere else. I was sitting there on the stairs, inside the mosque when a walking by couple stopped and asked me to cover my head in the respect of the mosque. I felt bad that I didn’t give notice to such important thing, and covered my head immediately. The place is so beautiful; I felt so close to GOD.

Visit to Lahore zoo was so so. It was too crowded, some of the areas were under construction, and some of the cages were empty. One bad incident that happened there was when I was passing by the Lion’s cage, a guy came and ran into me intentionally, I felt his hand touching my body, but before I could understand what had happened, he was inside the crowd pretending to be taking pics with his mobile.

I was so angry, I so wanted to punch him, he was a young guy, and nicely suited, aged between 20 to 24 I guess. Looked educated, but such ghatiya harkat. I felt sorry for the mother who bore him.

The good thing was, a cute little girl in white frock came and asked me, “Excuse me, are you Japanese?” and I said “No, I’m ChineseJ” and she ran away smiling.

Overall, it was a nice day.

wow thats a great story .........i live in lahore too ........n often visit these places .
r u really chinese lol :D

Thanks waleedhbk for liking the story :)

I'm from mix father ( Half Pakistani Half Chinese) and pure Chinese mother.
My appearance is very chinese.

awwww holymoly :sara:

believe me, if you were with a man they would never dare ask you these questions. A single woman, alone in Pakistan is to them a recipe for trouble. I am not saying that you are the type to cause trouble but that is what most landlords would think. All they care about is getting rent so obviously they are going to pry.

But try and look past these people because they do not represent what the majority of Pakistanis are like which is kind, understanding and accepting.

I wish you the best of luck with your travels and wish I was there to meet you because I would show you around Kashmir :slight_smile:

Don’t worry and just hang in there. I would also recommend getting a male driver or someone who can escort you around so people don’t ask intrusive questions. Don’t know if you will be able to find someone but it’s just an idea

Take care and best of luck! :bulbuli:

Hmmm interesting story

No matter how bad experience I had I always look forward to visit Pakistan

hmm thats nice....... ur welcome :D

holy moly - i just came upon this thread for the first time and I just want to tell you that I think it is really commendable that you are making such an effort to learn about your roots! Your intentions are wonderful and I feel like the world would be a better place if there were more people like you... who make such an effort to learn about a whole other culture and people. I live in America and sadly know so many pakistani's that are 100% Pakistani that have no desire to go back and visit their country and learn about their roots. :(

So yea - you are very brave to do this. It is too bad that you have had some difficult experiences thus far in my favorite city of Pakistan. But not surprising. I am always shocked about the corruptness, lack of organization, poorness, etc. each time I go back. But one has to make a conscious effort to focus more on the positives. Because I have a lot of family, they are the ones that help ease my visits and make sure I am not taken advantage of, overcharged, take me places, etc. I blend in more easily than you because I am of complete Pakistani descent but that doesn't mean it stops the stares from men of all ages. It also doesn't stop the shop owners from guessing (correctly) that I am simply a visitor from the west.

It is natural you are going to make mistakes... but one learns from mistakes. My biggest advise to you is for you to come onto this forum and ask for opinions before making a big decision like hiring someone (for whatever reason). We are strangers who have nothing to gain so you will get a more realistic perspective from asking us as opposed to even asking people you have encountered over there. A decent pakistani would never advise a single girl living on her own to take on an adult male servant.

I am glad you are starting to have some nice days :) I luv visiting Lahore so much and have been going there all my life. I hope you continue to have nice days!!!!! All the best with you and continue to keep us posted on your experiences. And remember: never hesitate to ask for advise.

Thanks guys! Thanks PunjabiRose!

Yeah, i should really ask you guys for advise.

I went to see a car the other day, i'm planning to buy a Toyota Vitz. The two different dealers showed me a couple of cars, one was 2007 model with TV. newly arrived, not listed, RS 1065000

One was 2006 model, arrived in 2009, not listed, with TV, not listed, RS 975000 can offer 950000.

Another showrrim showed me a 2006 model, 2009 arrival, with TV, priced between 975000 to 960000.

The problem is, they are all pretty obviously scratched. when i asked about the scrathes they said, this is normal, they come second hand from Japan, there for some small scratches on them are normal (those were not small scratches at all).

The question that comes in my mind is that, can't you even polish a almost a 10 lakh car for God's sake? before selling them?

I haven't placed any security yet, but i'm going to buy one on sat. If someone can give me a better advise or atleast tell me if i'm being overcharged will be deeply appreciated.

I basically was going to buy a brand new Honda City, no headache at all, but then i met my this poor employee who's two kids are going blind, i decided to save that 4-5 lakh amount to either try my best to find a cure for them or save it for thier special education need.
Since, i can only drive auto car, vitz will be the cheapest in them.

Will be waiting for suggestions and advises.

wow thats so nice of u to help ur employee
well i dont know much of cars but certainly i know this that plz dont go to those pathetic dealers in lahore..........they suck .......they r giving u a car for 10 lac n that too scrathes of them thats not cool...........IMO vitz will be the best for u ....

so moly how u feeling now?

I have finally bought the car, a 2007 model Toyota Vitz, not bad, scratched, but after visiting so many dealers, i've realized, this is pakistan after all, who will polish a car before selling when they can sell it scratched.

In this market, sellers may not polish or paint over scratches on their cars because they don't want to give the buyers a reason to suspect that damage was greater than it actually is. So they may well be trying to make the deal look 'transparent' and get the best value for their cars.

While I was waiting to attend a wedding next week so I can write an interesting story of the wedding combined with the wedding I attended last month, yet another unpleasant incident happened.

I had an accident today :(, I was going home from office and on a turn a car hit me (or I hit them, as they claimed. I leave the judgment on you).

What happened was, I was on the most right side of the road, and stopped on a traffic light, the light went green and I started going behind all the cars when suddenly a car on the second line trying to overtake me right after we made the turn in very congested traffic hit it’s back bumper with my front bumper.

They stopped the car so did I, my bumper was much more damaged, and they only had some scratches. There was an old lady in her sixties sitting on the back seat and the driver was driving the car. They came out of car so did I, I check the scratches and said, listen Aunty, you are old and I respect you, I think it was both of our fault so let it go, she started screaming, “you young girls don’t know how to drive the car and you hit my bumper on purpose”, I told her I didn’t hit you, your driver tried to over take me wrongly. (The driver hasn’t even spoken a word yet) and I tried to explain that I was on the first line you were on the second line then how come you came in front of my suddenly? It was clearly your driver’s fault that he tried to overtake when there was no space.

She started going crazy, that they were also on the first line I was behind her and hit her. The traffic police came, she suddenly started being very nice,” she is like my daughter, she was behind me on the first line and hit me, I tried to explain to her it’s her fault and she should learn to drive carefully”.

I got so pissed off on her acting, then I explained my situation and asked the police to see the angel both cars are bumped, I was on first line they were on second and tried to overtake me, if they were also on the first line in front of me then how the hell I hit her from right side? When there isn’t enough space for even a motorcycle to pass between the car and the road divider? How my car got in between?

She kept saying I can’t afford the repair charges, and I kept insisting it’s not about charges it’s about submitting your fault, submit it and lets go, but she kept crying in front of the traffic police, sometimes acting nice sometimes acting b****y. I said, ok then call police, I’m here they will make measures and we will know who was wrong. Where I got seriously pissed off was when she at one point threatened me by saying, “My brother is SSP or bla bla P in police” I was like, what the hell…..If your brother is in police I’m also in media I don’t get threatened by such sick threat. ;)

But the traffic police actually did get scared and started saying not to take it to police, they parked us aside and she asked me to sign my name and address on a blank paper she will see me later, which i strongly refused and the police guy also said it’s not possible to do that. While she was sitting in her car the driver admitted that he was actually in second line and if he had the money he would have paid that Bi.. cause he hasn’t even eaten since morning, I felt bad and said ok, then how much is repair, the police guy told me it’s hardly 400, I agreed to pay but then another “shosha”, she started insisting that we call a repair guy and ask him what is the cost of scratch repair cause if I paid less she can’t afford it. We waited for two hours on the road, the guy came and told us her car repair is hardly 500 whereas mine will be about 1000. (Thiers was old Suzuki, mine is new Vitz)

I gave 500 to her driver and asked him to throw on her face, and suddenly she started the drama again, “ no take it back, I don’t need it, you admitted the mistake that’s enough for me” GO To H...., i gave that money to the police guy and told him to donate it. He also said, well, I respected her age otherwise the matter was quite clear she just wasted hours of all of our time.
He was nice though, , I stood there for a while to cool myself down, and he stayed there too explaining, “I know it was her fault but forget it, take it as respecting her age”. It’s your actions that make you respectable not your age, and the drama she created didn’t make me respect her. Before she was crying for repair charges and now she is gone without it, it was clearly a drama to cover their fault and make me admit mistake.

When she was driving away, she waved at me and I said, “GO OFF MAI”, I honestly can’t respect a drama woman like that.

I don’t know when will this nation stop using “my brother or son or a FAR FAR AWAY relative is bla bla P” It’s eating this country, seriously.

I’m so frustrated, I wish they had all the road cameras system here, so bad :(