A sad day in lahore

Re: A sad day in lahore

So, yesterday was 23rd Nov, my exactly two months in Pakistan, I hired a guy as helper, a homeless guy, I didn’t pick him up from roads knowing nothing about him, his cousins worked at my office and been working there for over 10 years now, and they had this homeless poor adopted cousin, who was to get married in 4 months and didn’t have a penny in his pocket and was living on streets, so even though not needing a helper I hired him just with the intention of helping him out.
He lived at my apartment, ate mine, used mine, watched TV whole day, did nothing except chopping me vegetables every evening and still I paid him RS 6000 a month so he could earn some for his wedding.
Two days ago he asked me for an advance salary saying he is in great trouble if he doesn’t bring money to his sister-in-law from whom he borrowed a great amount of money. So, again proving to be too good or too dumb I gave him money.

Here is what happened, last night he disappeared with my jewelry and money!!! Ok, that’s fine, I tried to trace him down by every mean but in vain, I didn’t want to call police thinking it could be a bit of too trouble for both of us, I still didn’t want to put him in trouble (F***g stupid I am). Then I found out from my downstairs neighbors that he brought in a guy with him the afternoon, looked like a lock guy (Great!).

I waited for him whole night, and this morning after getting a lock man to replace my door lock, and on my neighbours and office people's advise i thought i should call police now. I called on 15 and a guy picked up the phone.
Here is the whole conversation which was in Urdu (in case again someone finds this excuse that my English was the reason of my trouble).

Me: Salam, main (my address) se call kar rahi hon, mere ghar me chori ho gai hai.
Operator: What? Who do you want to talk to?
Me: sorry, ye 15 police line hai na?
Operator: han! Kis se baat karni hai? (does every citizen have their chacha mama sitting at help line?)
Me: Ji, mere ghar me chori ho gai hai, report karwani hai.
Operator: Oh bongi ye bata baat kis se karni hai? (asshole!!)
Me: kia matlab kis se baat karni hai? Mein ne report karwani hai chori ki.
Operator: ok wait…
and then he start talking on the other line, I could here him saying, “ oh yaar, suba se call kar raha hon, pen chod uthata hi nahi hai, tang kiye ja raha hai…….)
He kept on talking nonsense on other line for about 4 minutes, then he picked my call again.
Operator: han ji, batao, kia kar sakta hon main app kelliye?
Me: mere ghar main chori ho gai hai, report karwani hai.
Operator, to main kia karon app keliye?

And that was end of my tolerance.

Me: app mere liye kia Karen ge, app apni bakwas jari rakhen dosri line pe, sharm aani chahiye app ko help line pe beth ke gapen lagate howe, agar koi muje mar raha hota to ab tak mar chuka hota, jab ap gapon main masroof the, name batain muje apna.
Operator, oh tum to naraz ho gai ho, batao kia karwana hai.
Me: ye narazgi se agey ki baat hai, tum se kuch nahin kehna name batao apna.
Operator: name jaan ke kia karo gi?
Me: app muje sirf apna name batain!

Then he cut my line!! Wow, HELP line cut my line, I tried over dozen times again, either it was busy or was cut after one bell, now I don’t know they have a tracking system of numbers and were cutting my calls on purpose or it was just a coincidence, but if this post comes before the eye of any concern person who can, please do check who picked up a help call on Nov 24th at around 12pm. How greatly I am disappointed by the PAK POLICE is indescribable.

Don’t blame or yell at me if I say, sorry to say but this nation is so deeply f***d up. Rather than pointing on outsiders for coming in and blowing up your country take a look at yourself first, if these kinds of people are sitting on HELP lines then why there wouldn’t be blasts? Why police is attacked? Perhaps because, attackers think this is what they deserve.

My question for which I started this post comes back again at the end of the post, that whether or not my decision to see my grandfather’s country was right, I’m so sad to say, no, it was not right, shouldn’t have I thought why my father wouldn’t come and let me come here in the first place? Is being nice something too odd here?

I know many “mohab-e-watan” people are gonna come and write about me and my “unacceptable here” society, but saying anything to me won’t do any good to your country. Will it? I came, I’ll go, but if I don’t say anything here, how will you “a few number of people, who really want to do something for your country and nation” will try to improve and know where the termite is?

I will go back and people will ask me, how was Pakistan? How were Pakistanis? What happened to you? I will just tell them what happened to me and then let them judge, but imagine if you are told the same story by a friend about any other country, what word will come to your mind for that country? Will you say, “wow, Pakistan is amazing! I want to go there”??

Think people, think and do something, or this country will just keep sinking, yell at me if you want, but that won’t do any good to you or your country. It’ll just make me go back to my country. No big deal.

But, is this the Pakistan you want to leave for YOUR next generation? Will you wish (touchwood) one day, your son or daughter calls a HELP line and end up crying? Even though I was told marvelous stories about 15 help line’s efficiency and helpfulness.

Maybe these cases don’t happen everyday, or happen to one in a million people, and I was that unfortunate one, but one bad fish pollutes the whole pond!!!

u would have ****ed him up........rather than just asking his name...........
and BTW u should have gone to police station ?

The first wrong you did was to keep a mature guy (marriage age) at your house. He could have done worse than stealing jewelry and cash from you. You could have been raped!

Mostly I have seen smaller families keeping young boys aged between 8~12. They do tasks like kitchen work, dusting, etc.

You should approach Chief Minister's complaint cell in Lahore.

sorry to say,,, but yes Mustan is right... you are crazy nuts... you could have been raped and killed as well.. and talking about taking panga with Police...just try the chief minister complaint cell or copy this to some good journalist from Express, Jang or Khabrain and then wait...

btw, that police guy, said a very vulgar slang,, which you narrated exactly in the post, without knowing what it is....

I feel sorry for you....

Holy Moly, I tell u what happened to us....my brother restores classic cars as hobby for over 25 years and is known to car enthusiasts. Five months back he bought one BUG (VW Beetle) Year 1958 and another similar BUG from scrap to get parts out of it and complete one car. He also imported new parts from abroad.

Both cars were parked in my porch. At 12 midnight someone gave bell. I was alone... went out to see and there were about 20 people in plain clothes and two police vehicles. I asked, Sir what is the problem. They came inside porch and said YOU people BUY STOLEN CARS, dismantle them and sell their parts. I was STUNNED. ABU (who is 76) woke up and came from other portion of house.....He said "KYA HUMAIN 1958 KEE GAREE HEE MILI HAI CHORI KERNAY KAY LIYE AUR PARTS BECHNAY KAY LIYE"???? It was clear they wanted to harass and MAKE MONEY. Alhamdullilah, we kept strong and these criminals went away after 1 hour of hard talk..

POLICE itself is a DAKOOOO! Pakistan Ka Allah Hee Hafiz!

I had my fair share of sadness in Lahore last night. My cell phone stolen from me at gun point at Model Town, Lahore.

However, i am still wondering if the gun which thug showed me was real or a toy. It was very dark, plus i was scared!

But honestly, the more i think about it, the more i feel like it was a toy.
Cheers!

My phone got snatched while having dinner at open air restaurant besides a main road. One guy came running, picked up phone from table in blink of a sec and ran to the other side of road where his partner was waiting on already running motorbike. Thank God my wallet full of credit cards, ID and cash remained there. Even restaurant waiters tried to catch him but whole thing lasted less than 8 sec.

Another way has recently started.....about 5 or 6 guys chase you in their car, stop on road side, show CID police cards and start interrogation. Then they rob you at spot or even ask you at gun point to take them to your house to do a bigger dacoity.

You wait a whole night to call 'emergency'? Did his 'cousin' disappear after the incident? Would you hire a guy 'just like that' in US?

There are lots of issues with Pakistan, including the ones you are talking about. Thank you for enlightening us but we know them already. Do let us know if you can suggest a solution.

Good point Kakabilli.

Holy Moly, Trusting a guy like this would get you into trouble in anywhere in the world. What unfortunate event happened with you is not a specific trait of Pakistan. I am sure there must be a lot more such thugs and jerks in Europe, US and maybe HongKong.

However, i admit the police here is awful!

ohh bless you moly...at least you had the courage to find out by practical experience...from you experience...I am sure you ll agree you were better off in a Non Islamic society.

very tricky situation
DHA is cold place where no one really cares about others. Its a crime capital really with most thefts, robberies and frauds. On top of that you are a person who has never lived in this country and does not know any one.

In Pakistan every 2nd person is fraud or wanna be gangster and one cant really trust even his own family in some cases. There is a big gap between rich and poor and which I believe is the biggest cause of our f ed up society. People usually stay in their circle(circle of friends or circle of family). Contacts are very important and ppl who are living there since birth know how to avoid trouble. Taking an issue to police or into court is calling for another trouble unless you have a mamma or chacha working there. In short we have become a moral less society where every one thinks of only his benefit and there is no concept of the greater good for the nation.

That is why ppl with skills and bit of education leave and move overseas and no one wants to come back.

My best advise to you is to move back ASAP.

Lafanter is right. You can't live in Pakistan without having connections. There is NO law here.

Once a friend in university asked me....do you know the SHO (police) of your area. I said no.... why should I know him...nothing happened? He said thats strange....where ever our family builds house, first of all we make connection with SHO. I replied I am not political or corrupt person!

sad to know yet another bad incidence happened to you, i havent got any experience of 15, I heard good about it, but your experience is rather very bad and appalling, make a complaint against him, you dont have to know his name, they have recording and time of the call.

but normally in case of theft like this, its reported at the police station.

hiring a young man like this, its not common even people with families, let alone a single female and who is very new the this country.

i have dealt with so many like this before, who just wanted a job to survive or pay some debt. and when you offer them job, they are really not interested in doing some real work, and after a month or so, they will ask for going to leave and much needed money for family problem etc, some will never return, some may have taken things from your house that you will notice much later. some will return after months when the money ran out and make apologies and ask you to re join.

I am talking from my experience in Pakistan, drivers, helpers etc. hardly you will find a sincere person who is honest.

please make things worst for you, you are in Pakistan, do things what Pakistani would have done, did you see a young girl hiring a stranger like this? answer is No!

due to society full of un employed and free loaders, who are not sincere whatever they do in life, So you will find people who are out there just to frame you and try to get out what they can.

if you want or require some help, try to hire a massi for cleaning and other home stuff, only who is already well known to neighbours. and only allow her to do her work under your watchful eyes. OK keep this in mind.

people in Pakistan will not spare even friends or acquaintances when ever they get chance, you may find some amazing people there but sadly many bad apples are also there.

you should go to Lahore and Visit for Salam in Data Sahib. You will Surely Feel Good

Lahore is a Historilcal City i know it very well because i was lived in lahore sometime ago

:rolleyes:

When I was a teenager a Massi used to come home for cleaning every day. After two years or so my mother felt few things were missing. So, my mother and an aunt decided to raid the house of Massi who lived in Govt quarters (her husband was chaprasi or something).

The whole party with our driver went there and when they entered.....she was wearing my mothers Gold earings & bangles, our drawing room decoration stuff was there and many other expensive items. She started crying and begging for pardon. My mother didn't give her to police. Even if she did, the police would have also made connection with Massi to do theft in more houses with cooperation! Pakistan is corrupt!

So Molly we havent heard back from you any more.

^ thanks for remembering me.. :)
Yeah, still in Pakistan, and working hard on getting used to all the bad things.
Just didn't want to keep on posting bad stuff, cause what i noticed is that, people here, instead of knowing weak points and working to improve, rather live with thier weak points and dislike you for telling them they can be improved.

And, since, good things don't happen to you once in a long time, so far i have nothing to write here, yeah whenever something good happens to me, i will post for sure :)

P.S. i'm going to buy a car on mon, cross your fingers for me please :)

hey do tell us how the car purchase went...secondly look I only read your posts becasue of the reality check...kindly keep them coming.