Re: 5th ODI: Pakistan v South Africa on 29 Oct 2007 @ Lahore
losing by just 14 runs isnt all that bad. remember the fiasco at the 1999 wc final - now that was something nightmarish. what happened today or in the 20/20 final were just minor slips, something that can be corrected.
Let’s all laugh at the state of our cricket. 7th among test playing nations and after this series loss against SA will probably slip to 5th in the world one-day rankings!
mashallah…very nice aur aaj to itna bara kaam kiya hai sab nay, inn ko Swat kee haseen vadiyon kee sere karani chahiye as special guests of maulana fazlullah…
Nikkam mey hain yaar. 3 reasons we lost. Akaml, Misbah & Afridi. Afridi should have taken us home by sensible batting rather than rash strokes looking for 6.
This is a shocking loss indeed… i thought pakistan was gonna win when i checked the score last time…
what happened to old pakistani team against which a game was never won untill the last ball was bowled…
Masha allah pak team will come back in form again after india series and start kicking arses.. :k:
yaar ab hum itne puranay bhi nahin hein…
On a serious note our batting just always disappoints us in crunch games plus we are getting more and more beatable at home.
I was looking up the stats 1976-1996 we lost just one home test series against WI in 1980/1 (? down to other factors as well such as home umpiring, no such thing as mandatory 90 overs per day >> more draws) 1997-till now we have lost no less than 9 home test series!
This match was "winnable" for Pakistan even after 9 wickets were down.
From what I read at Cricinfo, it seems like last man Shoaib Akhtar played a reckless stroke to get himself out. With 3.5 overs to go and just 14 to get, was there really any need for it.
Don’t worry about the religious trend in our team.
We sub-continental folks have been ruled by foreign masters for a long time and throughout that time, instead of fighting against outsiders (especially Punjab and I am a Punjabi myself), we kept on licking their boots. Therefore, as a nation, we have developed a taste/habit of kissing boss’s boots. If the skipper is religious, the whole team will be present for the Fajar prayer in London. If the captain is a disco, the team will rush to the club in Sydney.
Remember Bhutto? He was sort of liberal and “disco” and therefore our whole bureaucracy as well as nation became "disco". When Zia ul Haq came into power, guess what, the very same bureaucracy became religious overnight.
We are spineless when it comes to standing for your values or beliefs.
better to bat Afridi at no. 10 or 11 and play him mainly as a spinner because if he does get out in his usu. brainless fashion we can then all forgive him for slogging like a tail-ender :k:
From what I read at Cricinfo, it seems like last man Shoaib Akhtar played a reckless stroke to get himself out. With 3.5 overs to go and just 14 to get, was there really any need for it.
Akhtar can be excused here because he did his job with the ball taking 4 (would have been 5) wickets on his come-back
As I see it, the blame lies mainly with three people
Akmal for dropping a dolly off Akhtar's bowling when Kallis was on 2 (he went on to make 86 runs) I mean even school boys don't miss those sort of catches. It was embarrassing.
Misbah and Afridi for playing irresponsible aerial shots when the asking rate was a mere 3.5-4 RPO. They could have just batted like they were playing a test match but they just completely lost their heads.
Nikkam mey hain yaar. 3 reasons we lost. Akaml, Misbah & Afridi. Afridi should have taken us home by sensible batting rather than rash strokes looking for 6.
add Malik's Captaincy there, m big of him after he was selected for caption, but as u saw there was not much of total left in the end, if he had switched the order for lower-order it would have helped us
disaapointing to see pak lose like that.. there were still plently of balls and just 15 runs to win... gosh.. why the heck did afridi play a shot in which he knew he was gonna get caught.. we still had 5 wickets on hand when we needed around 30... none of them could stay a bit longer.....
shoaib akhter is a friggin joke, dont know why he is still in the team guiess PCB want to baby sit prima donnas...oh well their business
Pir jee with all due respect you are taking your anger out on the wrong person. If you want to blame anyone blame Akmal, Misbah and Afridi who just could n't handle the pressure. It isn't Shoaib's fault (although the aerial shot that he played was quite careless and needless) that we did n't win. He is in the team as a bowler and despite not having played cricket for some 8 or 9 months he bowled extremely well and should have got 5 wickets. What more do you want? Plus Malik goofed up by not utilising his full quota of overs. I mean that was just mind-boggling.
oh i did that already, I am just disappointed in the whole team. and I frankly fail to see what shoaib brings to the team anymore.
yaar and he 'should' have had wickets is like in my fav sport football, when ppl say he should have scored goals. i say the same thing, .... that possibilities that dont materualize are as good for teh score as no possibilities.
our team needs to wake up and smell the cappuccino, if i wanted to support and over rated under acheiving bunch of excuse making babies I would root for chicago cubs
I think the training camp for the series against India should be held in Swat right under the nose of Maulana Fazlullah. That should teach them something about handling pressure and traumatic situations
oh i did that already, I am just disappointed in the whole team. and I frankly fail to see what shoaib brings to the team anymore.
yaar and he 'should' have had wickets is like in my fav sport football, when ppl say he should have scored goals. i say the same thing, .... that possibilities that dont materualize are as good for teh score as no possibilities.
our team needs to wake up and smell the cappuccino, if i wanted to support and over rated under acheiving bunch of excuse making babies I would root for chicago cubs
^ but if your w/k keeps dropping simple chances (and that really was a dolly, almost embarrassing) then what can Akhtar do? It was mainly because of him that we managed to restrict SA to a manageable total.
The bottom line is we are just not good enough at the moment. We have only three world-class players - Yousuf, Younis and Akhtar. Even the captain is decent rather than special.