5th ODI: Pakistan v South Africa on 29 Oct 2007 @ Lahore

Re: 5th ODI: Pakistan v South Africa on 29 Oct 2007 @ Lahore

in that case, Salman **BUTT **will have even better chances to become TOUGH...:p

Cant believe what just happened. I had given up all hopes and had already given my congrats to the opposing team (Pakistan), but eyah I was hoping ki mera kuch kaala jadoo chal jaaye and jadoo chal gaya. How can they choke after getting so close? Laanat hai aisi team pe, they did the same in both the 20/20 matches against India. Anyways, hoping for an interesting Ind-Pak series and for an India win :D.

bhai sahib, there is no more public pressure in Pakistan anymore…..you know why…because the species named “pubic” sorry “public” has been vanished from Pakistan long time ago……in old days Pakistani public used to have opinions, emotions and feelings….these days if you show emotions/feelings once in a while , you get bombed….so whole nation has decided to live like a robot by showing no reaction whatsoever….if 200 people got killed in a bomb, so what….Mahfel-Ghazal in karachi kept on going the same night till 2 AM…..masjid is bombed, so what, half of the country is bombed, so what….Pak loses, so what…no public pressure anymore…we only have robots….

abay Lala jee, munh sanbhal kay....laanat bhejo apniee team par...We all know how well Indian team performs under pressure….

I guess lately chasing has been more difficult with all the teams around the world. India lost chasing a relatively smaller score against Aus. And Australia lost twice against India after being in a winning position, once in the ODI series and once in the 20/20 world cup.

I guess cricketers are becoming more prone to losing their nerve in tense situations. I like this mental aspect of cricket and this slower nature of the sport (particularily in tests and ODIs) is what separates it from soccer, tennis and other games where the players do not have to assess the situation and think as much as they have to do in cricket.

i forgot BUTT sahib....LOL

Maula jee, lately Indian team has been performing much better under pressure. Aap apni dhoti sambhaalon phir doosron ki phikar karo.

cricinfo headline

Pakistan choke hands SA series

so true. Pakistan was beaten by Pakistan today.

Lot of the blame should be taken by Afridi when only 15 was needed of 24 balls and Afridi being the 2nd most senior batsmen in the side should have played for 1s and 2s intead of hitting out the ground which resulted in his wicket.

Some of the frequent occuring facts.

1. Imran Nazir looked really good, untill he perished.
  2. Misbah was in pain during the entire time he batted and once again once his inability to take singles and rotate the strike brought Pak under pressure.
  3. Afridi will never take singles and play according to situation.
  4. Akmal will keep on dropping catches and will score one 50 after 10 matches.

PCB needs to address some of these issues, other wise the same results will also remain consistent.

that's kindoff true......but do you know why the paki team is turning into islamic team off lately.....

Yasir Hameed, I was sorry to see, did not play. Pakistan had lined up all their best openers in this series and I was surprised to see that it was unsuccessful. I expect Butt and Hafeez, two very good players, to improve and especially Hameed and Nazir, Pakistan's best openers. Everyone except Afridi played some role at least. Imran Nazir and Akmal got some runs, so did Younis Khan, Yousuf and Misbah. Shoaib Malik got an important wicket and 23 runs. Afridi, nothing. Lt.Col. Tanvir one wicket. Iftikhar Anjum, three wickets and Shoaib Akhtar, four wickets. Drop Afridi and Akmal and bring in Sami and Razzaq for Indian tour. Younis Khan can keep. The rest of the squad is fine.

very true. Imran Nazir was just swishing at everything and his demise was just a matter of time. To me Misbah looked a bit out of place at this level

Hope the two Y's have also learned the harsh lesson by now that if they ever are out in the middle playing well together, the last thing they should do is throw it all away/leave it to others because the rest of our batting is just not of international standard. It would be unfair to blame the defeat on Younis now but he's probably himself regretting the fact that he holed out needlessly to mid-wicket when set.

Lagiee na aag..but you started it. I did not say a single word about the indian team.

Don’t worry about the religious trend in our team.

We sub-continental folks have been ruled by foreign masters for a long time and throughout that time, instead of fighting against outsiders (especially Punjab and I am a Punjabi myself), we kept on licking their boots. Therefore, as a nation, we have developed a taste/habit of kissing boss’s boots. If the skipper is religious, the whole team will be present for the Fajar prayer in London. If the captain is a disco, the team will rush to the club in Sydney.

Remember Bhutto? He was sort of liberal and “disco” and therefore our whole bureaucracy as well as nation became "disco". When Zia ul Haq came into power, guess what, the very same bureaucracy became religious overnight.

We are spineless when it comes to standing for your values or beliefs.

You guys should know what happened. Afridi wanted to make sure that he leaves the ground, before Shoaib Akhter walks in. Once 8th wicket was down, it was evident, that in case Iftikhar is out, Shoaib will be on with Afridi. Both do not want to talk to eachother (remember the Asif episode), so Afridi decided to take chance, to finish the job, or get out, but ensure no more drama.

^ wow, conspiracy theory :)

misbah :mad:

Wow…Pakistan Zindabad! :slight_smile: :jhanda: