4th ODI - India Vs. Pak - Ahmedabad -Apr 12th

Re: 4th ODI - India Vs. Pak - Ahmedabad -Apr 12th

Mods Please pay attention to my request ;

Due to the sensitive nature of the 4th ODI being played in 'AhmedabaD' we should have
our very own riot police to control the KK forum members going haywire after the match, or during the match in case of some umpiring fiascos.

Bottles, Lazer mouse (in case they 'r used as lazer pointers) liquid and food in case of spillage direct onto the key board should be disallowed for consumption.

Indian members should be given ' The Forum security protection' as presently enjoyed by
our GS CEO Azkar Bhai & Ehsan Bhai,,,,
Phir na kehna ,,, kay hum nay 'Indian guest' ko presidential security nahi deee,,,

I wanted to do it to you, but couldn’t figure out how to :bummer: … Good for you :k: … now let me figure out how to do that!

According to Gangs “balaji seems fit he will have a bowl at the nets and then we will decide.”

So how many of you think that Woolmer/Inzi will "rest" Kaneria and bring in Hafeez for 4th ODI? Kaneria, a great bowler for tests, does not seem to have a lot of control over his LnL to be super effective in ODI's and control runs (which is as important as taking wickets in ODI). Hafeez can bowl a fairly nagging LnL, and is a decent bat (definitely a much better batting option than Kaneria).

And whats the deal with Malik suddenly bowling? If he could bowl already than why did he not bowl in ODI's #1 and #2? Surely, he did not do something special between #2 and #3. Maybe Inzi suddenly realized.. "oh he can bowl, lets give him the ball". Or may be there was a time restriction that got lifted before 3rd ODI. I don't know.

So, with Rana bowling at a frustrating LnL (frustrating for the batsmen, ofcoure), Sami erratic and occassionaly penetrating, Razzak with his lolly-pop regulation bowling.. we will have three part-time spinners - Afridi, Malik and Hafeez. Hopefully between the six of them, we can get 50 overs without getting totally bull-dozed by the famed three-pronged Indian batting line-up (Messrs Sehwag, Dhoni and Dravid).

If the next wicket is a spinning one as I read somewhere, inclusion of Hafeez is very likely at the cost of Kaneria. Otherwise I'd like them to include Shahid Nazir/Rao as specialist bowler, as that'd mean we'll have 3.5 pacers in Rana, Sami, Shahid and Razzaq and 2 spinners in Afridi and Malik.

I read some place that the next three pitches will be totally dead, flat batting pitches. Apparently Jamshedpur is the only bouncy and spinning pitch, and that will nicely explain India’s fabulous record over there! :hehe:

Faisal this article should answer your query regarding Malik.

Skipper springs surprise by using Shoaib Malik as bowler](Daily Jang: Urdu News - Latest Breaking News update Pakistan - jang.com.pk)

Pakistan captain Inzamam-ul-Haq surprised everyone on Saturday by turning to Shoaib Malik as a bowler during the Indian innings.

Malik who had scored 75 runs in the Pakistan total of 319 for nine went on to bowl seven overs for 42 runs and got one wicket. He bowled for the first time at any level of the game after his bowling action was reported last October during the final of a triangular one-day series in Lahore to the International Cricket Council (ICC).

Since then, the impression given by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) and also confirmed by the ICC President Ehsan Mani recently in Kolkata, was that the biomechanics specialists in Australia had not cleared Malik’s action as he was straightening his elbow above the 15 degrees now allowed for spinners by the ICC.

The impression given was that the PCB was not allowing Malik to bowl on the advice of the ICC and on the basis of the biomechanics specialists’ report.

But on Saturday Inzamam said the decision to bowl Malik had been taken after much thought. “He has changed and corrected his action and I don’t see any problems with it now. We wanted to test him out today and so far we have received no indication that the umpires or match referee are planning to report his action,” Inzamam said.

He also insisted that even if Malik was reported again he could continue playing for 21 days before he had to have his action corrected again.

But the ICC rules state that a bowler is allowed to continue playing for 21 days even after being reported as is the case at present of Harbhajan Singh when he has been reported in stage one of the bowling action review process.

And going by available information and what Mani said in Kolkata, the ICC has still not cleared Malik’s action for his being reported last October even though the Pakistan board has pleaded his action to be cleared on medical grounds.

**Which would indicate that if Malik is reported for a second time without being cleared for the first time report, then he could land up in more serious trouble including a ban from playing for a specific period of time.

But Inzamam contested this and said even if he was reported he would again be in stage one as he was bowling with a new action.**

Pakistan manager Saleem Altaf also insisted that there would be no bar on Malik continuing to play even his action was reported again.

“We have done our homework on this count and we know what is possible. We had the choice of thrusting him into international cricket as a bowler with his new action and testing it out and we have done that. I don’t think his Indian tour is going to be affected now.”

Since last October, Malik has played in the team purely as a middle-order batsman.

First I dont see any validity in your point to bring in Hafeez and Kaneria out, just coz he is a tad better batsman, I hope that doesnt happen. I think you cannot ask a leggie to contain runs but you expect to get wickets and if Kaneria provides 1/2 crucial break through I think he has done is work even giving away 50 odd runs.

Malik case is pretty strange, its a calculated risk I hope it pays off, Malik got a green since March 1, since the penalty is such severe with the same action, he had to work up a different action which is no better than younis or butt bowling, heck even Inzi can bowl better than that :smiley: anyways now he can bowl with a different action and the only room he has is that he will have 21 days to correct the new action if he is called, like chuk-o-nator.

Shewag is having a dream series so take him out of the equation, his series is similar of what Pieterson played against S-Africa a while ago, and Dhoni is new kid around the corner like many but he has potential, and Dravid we all know what he is capable of doing but then again its ODI’s and you saw what happened in 3rd ODI. as far as bowling attack goes Sami needs to be given a rest but since he “performed” in the 3rd Odi I think we will see the same 11 on Pakistan’s end when the toss takes place

And yes I think Danish will play tomorrow. Our batting is strong enough and I would back Danish to get more wickets than Hafeez anyday. He didnt have a good game in Jamshedpur but he is a strike bowler and should play at least tomorrow's match.

i think when i post during the matches i jinx afridi and pak:D

Arshad Khan should be in...Period!

^^ :rolleyes: :smack2: yea Faisal you are right, the rest of the matches will have same batting wickets as Kochi or Vizag but I was reading at cricinfo that seamers who can and like to swing will be handy so I hope there will be some life for the bowlers.

Personally, the batting line-up Pakistan has right now, one more batsman won't make much of a difference, anyway... they are

1. Butt: With confidence restored, he is likely be a key part of our batting line up. Indians, though will be doing their homework, and won't give him width on the off-side and will likely attack him on the on-side, like Australians.
  2. Afridi: If he can survive for 30-50 balls, that is all what Pak will need from him.
  3. Malik: Playing with class. Plus he is such a fast runner between the wickets.
  4. Inzamam: A class-act. Immense scoring ability and, if he can avoid stupid run-outs, can single-handedly turn the match around in fairly short time. Best thing is, he totally doesn't get under pressure.
  5. Youhanna: Having a dream run right now, with amzing stroke-play all around.
  6. Younis: Didn't do much in 3rd ODI, and is part of the flexible batting number. If Pak loses the second wicket (Butt) early, he will be sent to stabilize the innings and stay till over #40.
  7. Razzaq: Capable of some big hitting and is having a fairly decent series on flat Indian pitches.
  8. Kamran Akmal: I just don't see him as a consistent batsman, and no where near the fire-power of Dhoni, but obviously his century against Aus (in ODI) and Indians (in test) makes everyone think he can bat. And he may just bat at some point to prove this again.

And then we have Rana sahab, who is technically an all-rounder (although I haven't seen much evidence of that myself), plus Muhammad Sami, who can sometimes hit a big shot over the ropes. So, all told, batting should not be our problem right now.

I share your sentiments… :slight_smile:

PS: :jhanda: Shahid Afridi & Paksitan Zindabad! :jhanda:

PS2: :hula: :hula:

PS3: Everybody is trying to become Shahid Afridi these days…why…of course…because Zabardast backs him… :slight_smile:

PS4: If Pakistan lose the match tomorrow…Inzamam must be replaced by Younis Khan as captain…life is Keihard…hmmmmm

I think it will be an unchanged side for tomorrows match although I might be tempted to
Give dansih a rest and make room for Arshad Khan. Otherwise its all positive.

Rainy ^^ nice thought but I think too unchanged and yea your signature is getting shorter day by day lagta hai at the end of the series you many wanna change it ;)

------------x-----------
lol @ signature ~:p~ aur kiya , its all your fault , Only 2 more ODi left and
people are still debating whether we should unleash our pacer or let Sami do the raindance as he does. :devil: :bukbuk::k:

i say play the same team and win the toss and bat first that should b the main strategy for the rest of the games cuz the pitch don seem to do n e thing for the bballers :mad2:

p.s get SHOAIB AKHTAR back and sehwag kee reir lagaao :jhanda:

lol @ signature ~

images/smilies/tongue.gif

~ aur kiya , its all your fault , Only 2 more ODi left and
people are still debating whether we should unleash our pacer or let Sami do the raindance as he does.

images/smilies/devil.gif

images/smilies/bukbuk.gif

images/smilies/ok.gif

lol …nah bro debate is over, time to change the nick :smiley:

let that jet be fully tuned for the WI tour, so he can have all the fun there :hula: on the beaches;)