Ok girlies…im at work and posting this - help me out on what to do:
1 - I tried Alishaht’s ras malai and now i have half a can of condensed milk left over - what can i do rather than throwing it away?
2 - Hubby was craving for some cheese pakoraas. I cant get hold of some paneer at the moment and bought Halloumi cheese. Can i make some of that? Can i slice it thinly and make it in the same batter of pakoraas so i can get that stringy. melted texture?
3 - I want to fry some chicken using egg and flour then have it with roasted veg. I want to make it similar to KFC but with some masala in it? Any suggestions?
Yup all this is for tonight! And im counting on you guys as i know you lot are fab cooks.
Re: 3 cooking questions - who can give me the best answer ASAP as its for tonight!
I think plosha posted her recipe of chinese chicken drumsticks yesterday in the aaj kya pakaya thread. That looked really yummy, maybe you'd wanna try that out? With the leftover condensed milk, why don't you make some gajar ka halwa or gajrela?
Re: 3 cooking questions - who can give me the best answer ASAP as its for tonight!
hahah - yar shay, mashllah you might have nice parents in laws but meray to moo charha laytay to anything that i try so maybe i will give that a miss....hehe thanks anyway...
For number 3 you are on the right path. Just make sure you leave the skin on the chicken. Just dip in egg and then dip in your seasoned flour mix and then fry! That's it. Just make sure it cooks all the way through as chicken pieces can take a while sometimes or just throw it into the oven afterwards to finish cooking. I hope this helps!
Hehe...inlaws live with me! They do like gajar ka halwa - sub kay samnay kahay gay bohot mazaydar hai but one to one - its a different story! Heavy critcism!
For number one: use the condensed milk for tea
for number two i hav no idea i think haloumi shud b fine..not sure...
for number 3, jut leave the skin on, boil it if u want, dip in egg and then flour and deep fry.
For number 3 you are on the right path. Just make sure you leave the skin on the chicken. Just dip in egg and then dip in your seasoned flour mix and then fry! That's it. Just make sure it cooks all the way through as chicken pieces can take a while sometimes or just throw it into the oven afterwards to finish cooking. I hope this helps!
Khadija
Thanks Henna - why do some ppl dip in flour and then egg? Which is the correct way of coating! I ran out of chicken with skin on so i am using salan wala chicken!
Hi, i always dip in flour first, otherwise the other stuff wont stick. Usually i dont even use egg in KFC style chicken, leave the skin on, marinate chicken if required, dip in flour, fry.
If using egg, arent u spoosed to dip in flour first? Then u can do 2 layers of flour egg.
1 Condensed milk - mix with some dessicated coconut and form little patties, like mittai.
2 - halloumi usually doesnt turn stringy (or mayb it does, ive used it on pizzas and its really nice, but too salty), when its freshly cooked its quite firm but slightly melts. When it gets cold again it goes rubbery, but i dont c y u shouldnt try making pakoras out of it, should b fine.
yeah I don't usually always use egg myself, but sometimes I do. I;m under the impression that a little moisture on the chicken helps the flour stick on better and thicker. But I don't think the egg is a must.
As for the condensed milk, if it is sweetened I use it for Thai Tea myself. It's like cold chai. Some like it, some don't. My son loves it! I like it with a lot of ice. SO it's a nice drink on a hot day.
whenever i want some spicy fried chicken, i use the shan chicken broast masala... it turns out so yum!!! but before anything, i always steam/boil the chicken for a bit and then roll it in egg, shan broast masala, crushed cornflakes, and crushed barbeque flavored chips... yummy!
Hey midnighteys - yeah it would be very bland and i will definately be using some spice to make it more tastier inshallah.
Oh Umrah - i still cant belive i went. It was totally amazing! Life has no meaning to me at the mo....feels like im wasting my time as just being there is just......undescribebale (sp)
Alhumdullilah, it was great altho we didnt go in Ramzan...
Thank you so so so much for all your advice...bought some books too and followed them thru. May Allah give you many many happiness in the world - Ameen!
Ameen! Hugs Thats so great, I know what you mean, you come back and you just want to run right back. Maybe you could share some of your experiences in the Spirituality forum or something, love to read them!
Inshallah i will - jst so busy with work! But this is it...i feel like life is meaningless right now! Inshallah i will defo do that...stay in touch midnightes...u on fb?
Sunset, i just made some fried chicken sandwiches and posted a pic in the other aaj kia pakaya thread along with recipe. You can try that too if you like.
use condense milk with the coffee desert, once it was posted here,
in a bowl mix cream,condense milk and 2,3 spoons of coffee.. put a layer of digestive biscuits,then spread the mixture on the digestive biscuits layer... serve chilled.
Hope it helps..