2012 BRIDES!

Re: 2012 BRIDES!

as u said u buy makeup ,shoes and bags .......i also thinking to buy makeup but then i thought khi ke weather ka kuch pata nai dont know kharab na hojaye and can u plz guide me apne kya lia make mein aur shoes and bags kaha se liye hain thnku

can any1 help me out from where i can buy cluths and bag and shloud i buy matching clutchs? plz guide me some good shops with reasonable prices
and about makeup should i buy eyeshawado palette?

I will be joining you ladies too inshaAllah! Getting married in November iA. Most of the big things have been taken care of except for videographer/photographer, centerpieces and stage decor. Although all of this is quite stressful, but i am excited!

hey girls what type of make up u will take along with u brand and quantity
foundation:
blush:
eyeshawdo (gliter or matte):
lipsticks:
lipgloss:
kajal:
eyepencil:

hey everyone! i have been trying to post since yesterday, the day i joined in, but i guess the activation process takes some time! lol.

my wedding is in December INSHALLAH! and its by the end of December, so yes i am kinda excited! and about the joras and all? i have already ordered my both dresses, and will be giving my mehndi ka jora next month! i myself am a designer. but believe you me? i didn't plan at all for my shadi and waleemay ka jora. i know everything about Karachi and the bridal shops and the embroideries they provide you with! i will be elaborating more on this, its just that i am going for job right now, so either i might jot down all the details once i am back home, or may be during my break time at work! but its great to hear that there are so many brides who are supposed to get married this year! lol BEST OF LUCK FOR EVERYONE! and one thing more, it took me a single day to go out and i just ordered my jora just like that! believe you me, i didn't go for any designer, 'cuz one designer will never be satisfied with any other designer. so yeah, that's my story! but anyways, i just did some research online, and i knew what i want! Being a designer, i would seriously suggest you not to go for any designer for your jora, because they only charge you for the finishing they put. if u ask me about work wise? its almost the same. unless or until you want a stone se bhara hua jora, i mean that's totally not in fashion anymore. i will be giving you more details about it later, gotta rush! lol! and yes i will share picture of the jora i did some alterations to and yes, it is surely a replica! but does it matter? no way! :D i am happy with whatever i am wearing, because its not one of those dresses, who i won't be able to walk properly because of its weight. i have preferred a light weight dress, even if i want to run away with my groom i can even do that :P lol. khair, see you people later! stay blessed. <3

lol velvet liked ur post <3
from whom u gettin a replica and do post ur dress :) me too gettin a replica,actually have already ordered that but so much worried
lets see hhow things turn out :)
stay in touch

okay! its the break time! i got here to karachi back in 2004. it was my sisters wedding in 2006 january, so it was the first wedding in our family. so we had to roam here and there in search of the dresses, as we were new to karachi, we hardly knew about anything! so we wandered everywhere for 2 months! and by the end of those 2 months, we gave an order to a new beginner designer. we weren't so much involved into designers at that time, so hardly knew who's good at it and who's not! but because of the 2 months wali khuwari, we got to know alot about who gives what. on tariq road you have few best shops for bridals, who will give you somewhat nicer clothes thn others..i.e PLK(his embroidery is a bit heavy), Jabeens( if anyone likes punjab type ka kaam, jabeens is for you), shakeels( delicacy is his thing, his work is too fine and intricate, but he's got some attitude problem! he doesn't know how to deal with normal customers, he only treats them well who know him for years, and he won't show u good stuff either if u are new to him), and thn we have this shop, opposite to exclusive, it's got all indian clothes, and indian bridals! 25-30k but you will have to find the nice one, and they are unstitched.
Then there are embroidery markets "gulf, qurtuba, kehkashaan and gizri"
if are looking for classy gota work then qurtuba is your market. qurtuba doesn't have new designs, but they are a lil cheap in price as compared to gulf and other markets.
kehkashaan is as expensive as gulf, and i think they have all modern designs, but very few stuff is good. all they have is stone work! and believe me people, no worth buying stoned clothes! please, get out of this stonework thing! its totally out of fashion! in kehkashaan, you have this work, "PITTAY ka kaam" its awesome, i got my engagement dress made of it. it looks beautiful, but then you have to give him new designs of motifs and stuff. we have mukesh there, which is perfect for jahez kay joray, because the do the embroidery cheaper, and it looks formal, and its comfortable to wear.
gulf is crap, but then there is this new embroidery made out of kora and dabka. its bronze in color with a little deep toned colors. they usually have imagery motifs in this. like a peacock and other motifs related to mughal art. you can always use them on the back of your dress, or in your kurta pockets, or something like that! and this is perfect for jahez/bari clothes.
gizri, and ghausia market, have beautiful clothes, but they will cost you more thn 1 lac. , so its stupid enough to waste this much money over something like that.
is it enough information about embroideries and places? lol

oh i totally forgot about gulf ki shops,
zardozi, mohins, rimjhim!
and out of these three, i would only suggest you to go to mohsin because he is worth going to! he's got some awesome stuff! i've ordered my shadi ka jora at mohsin's too!

now my thoughts about my jora's! okay my budget could go up to 1 lac, but believe me, i wanted it to be 40k max. because one of my closest friends who got married last December, got her jora made for 1.5 lac and honestly, now she's crying over the money she wasted. she even said if someone wishes to buy it from me even for 60 k, i would be ready to give it away, because its useless carrying such heavy dress, and honestly. her jora is full of stones. you can't even carry it properly or can't make anything out of it! so first of all, i would suggest you girls to not make your lehngay heavy. and if you ask about the fashion that's going to end till this year? even banto b. has said that long shirts will be in fashion for quite time because formals look amazing with the long length. so no shirts coming in bridal as of yet. yes, about straight or a-line kameez, that's your choice. if you want to avail that dress of yours afterwards, get it made in a-line, if you don't wish to do anything to it after your shadi, get yourself made a straight kameez! and yes, prefer Dhaka pajama(elephant pants) its basically like a garara without its "goth". i have my shirt fully embroidery, its layered kameez. i saw this design on internet, and i gave it for order, honestly. i don't care if the design is old, or been worn by so many brides because every dress goes different on every skin, body and face! so no matter if two girls end up wearing same bridal , it won't matter! its all about the color intensity you choose. and those brides who say they don't wish to wear red, trust me, no bride would look beautiful in any other color, you can try as much as you want, but you won't stand out! i have seen beautiful gorgeous dresses in many other colors, but rukhsati/baraat ka jora should always be red. or it should have red somewhere! doesn't mean you get all red, but may be you can have facings , finishing, piping made out of red color. that will add a lot of value to your shadi ka jora. and when it comes to color experimenting, try anything on your waleema, what is that day for? utilize that day totally for your color experimenting wishes! it will be worth it! :D

and yes if you people wondering, how much i paid for my dresses, i recently ordered two dresses for 1.45. my shadi wala jora is for 75 and my waleemay ka jora is for 70! and yes, he told me 1.8 for each before! its all about having references and a talent of bargaining. especially people like me who are into this field, would know better! even in 75k, those people are getting a lot of profit, but sometimes you have to listen to your parents. i wanted them to give me the jora for 55, but baba said 75 is fine. lol and my dresses might not be any new designs to this internet world, they were wandering here and there, but i have done a lot of alterations to them! but still they will look the same! what i saw in these pictures!

and i just re-read all my posts again, sorry girls, i have lots of spelling mistakes there! it usually happens when you have so many colleagues bothering you while you typing something. so just ignore the spelling mistakes and absorb the knowledge you can! :)

Velvet, soo much good information. Even i was thinking not to go for red.. becoz everyone wears red. but then red will stand u out.. Do share the picture which u made a replica from. I would love to see tht. My budget is 1lakh per jora. But i'll def try to have 2 joras for 1 lakh ;)
U just need to find a good karigaar. I'm going to pak, lahore in 2 wks, and i have completly no idea. Seriously if i think abt it, i just get a headache. esp when ur alone. my mom is not tht confident who could say to me ooowhh u should go for tht jora, she'll say soochlo, agar pasand ha to... love my mom she's so seedhi saadhi loll
My sis who i depend on very much, can't come with me.. she has kids , they go to school etc.
I pray so much tht my trip will be fine in pakistan, but i kinda doubt it, me myelf am kinda fussy. Always want something different etc. am making my self crazy pffffffff

so no SHORT shirts coming in bridal as of yet. ********* (one of the corrections)

saaniya, right now I am online from baba's office! once I will go home, I will seriously share a lot of bridal pictures! and saaniya, trust me, you don't need to take ages to think over what you want to wear? if you will be tense more, things might turn out weird! if you like some dress, take the picture! go to the kaarigar, or any shop! waise I would prefer go to a bridal shop, because they give you a better finishing, if you give embroidery to a karigar, and then stitching kisi aur se karwaogi, toh you won't get better finishings and fittings! the bridal shop walay are good with pattern making. JUST have your will power strong, and go ahead! take a picture of that dress, give it to the bridal shop wala, tell your budget! try to negotiate, put it in your budget easily, and get your Shadi ka jora made!!!! that's it(it will only take you 2-3 hours!) !! you can get 1.2 or 1.3 main easily 2 heavy dresses! heavy enough to look like a bride, and also enough to walk comfortably! I didn't worry about konsa dress doon? but yes, i did some research over what colour to go for, and what would look better on me? I have red and plum with bronze and matte gold for baraat, and gradation of beige with chocolate brown velvet finishings, and bronze and gold embroidery with a little touch of silver(goes with my gold set)!!!

the less worried you are, the more glow you get on your face! try to be happy with everything! and be confident about what you wear, because it doesn't matter what you wear, but how you wear! one should always know how to carry their joras! only thn they would stand out of the crowd!!! and seriously, red colored bride with all off-white and beige decoration of the hall, woah! there you are! awesomeness! :D

and about being alone? I did whole research by myself, and I only took my parents to the shop to pay the advance! I talked to them about every minute detail! my mother was just there to give me a company :D and my father was there to pay. Also I took my fiancée for suggestions because a man would give you a better opinion about what looks good on you, especially someone who loves you and is about to get married to you! :) don't ask others, have faith in yourself, go with your own choice, because you know what looks good on you, and what makes you feel comfortable!

Velvet,

U ur giving me sooo much courage, thts just wht i needed. The strong will power.. dont worry girl just goo for it.;) Should i first have a look at all the bridal stuff.. or should i take my own designs and make the best out of it. I'm a bit scared, tht if seee to may bridal joras, i might get confused nd upset. Overall in formal wears i exactly know wht i like nd wht i dont. Thts soo much easy for me.
But my bridalwear should be perfect for me. And ur right abt it depends how u carry ur lengha. Stand straight, walk straight, be confident. Make sure everything is well setted, lehngha should be nice fitted aswell.

I'm soo happy for u! U have done it all.. really good.. Cant wait to see ur bridal outfit, the colors ur telling me.. its must have a woww factor :)
And i'll wait for ur collection of bridal pics.

girl i been on a major break down, and havnt talk to my fience in rite manner for more then a month, i want everyones in put, yet everyone cant be happy!! so i feel its important for me to make myself happy atleast....

but been in a major depression regarding the dresses and everything elseeeeeee what do i do!!

i know the more i will worry the worst things will turn out!! i need help to helpmyself to settle down ahhhhhhhhhhhg
what do i do
help me

2012 BRIDES!

I think it's good to go to shops to look at what's there. And see what's on the market. Also you can try different ones on just to get an idea of what style looks good on you. When I went looking in shops I didn't see anythingggg I liked but I tried different styles on even though I hated the colours and work etc. So when I gave my order I knew I was getting exactly what I wanted, I didn't have at the back of my mind oh maybe we should have looked in that shop etc. But yeah also trust your own choice. I made the mistake of taking too many people with me and there were too many opposing opinions. It ended with me in tears. Now I'm ordering it myself and I'm in control of colours, embroidery everythingggg. Insha'Allah it will turn out how I expect.

velvet could u plz help me out when ever i will ask u something INSHALLAH thi year im also getting married so for barat jora i will need ur advice im thnakful to u if u help me out:)

Yeah, I've been really stressed out recently. It's mostly concerning my bridal outfit - I keep changing my mind. Like right now, I'm thinking my jacket over the skirt should be shorter - at the moment it's as long as the skirt, but looking around having it slightly shorter seems to be the in thing. I don't think I can change it now. Do you think it will look stupid? :(

sure i can always help any of you, whenever you need me :)