2011 Brides

Re: 2011 Brides

Just wanted to say I'm thinking of you posho. Events like this really put everything into perspective- sometimes in bridezilla mode you think anything and everything revolves around you and your big day. I've had a lot of similar illnesses/bereavement happening in mine and my fiance's family recently and I understand exactly what you mean about feeling in limbo- sometimes things just have to go ahead even though you feel like it's all bad timing.

Good luck to all the other 2011 brides.

Hi everyone, I’m also a 2011 bride - inshallah getting my nikkah done in London this weekend followed by shadi (mehndi + reception) in Pakistan in April.
Reading all the gs on here is making me feel so much better as I’m not the only one with the ups and downs, the dramas n uncertainties…emotions and excitement everything all at once! Makes me feel a lot more ‘normal’.

So thanks to you all and a big congrats and wishes for your new life ahead. Inshallah all will go well for all of us and we’ll have happy lives to follow with our hubbys (ameen) :jano:

hmmmmmmmm

I'm in this faze, where everyone is ticking me off. I hope this attitude goes away soon lol

Do you all have your outfits and MUA's decided? Since I STILL DON'T!!

I don;t know the entire situation but get her to wear a saree- u can get them last minute, dont have to worry about fitting or alterations, just the petticoat and choli which is easy peasy!! plus there are some nice elegant resham threadwork and velvet border styles out now!

cheer up!

Hey girls, just checking in to see how all the dulhans-to be are doing! :)
My weekend was pretty blah, its a struggle to get my sister to pick what she wants to wear, my mom will be wearing sarees both days, she picked one, still looking for one to wear to the walima...I still have no idea about my mehndi outfit...after a year of planning, Im at a point where I feel like, I dont care much bout the clothes or w/e, just wanna get this over with. lol anyone else feelin that?

^ def. starting to feel that. Getting tired of looking at so much and not really liking it much of it. It's getting annoying. I just want a dress and be done with it

same here i'm so annoyed with everything now!!

It's so funny how we spend so much time planning and obsessing over every little detail to make everything perfect, but then when the time comes we don't care about anything any more! Sick of all the planning, tired of all the obsessing, just want to get it over with!

My mini drama's are starting to surface... I'm beginning to realize it's better to go with the flow and not get so upset if things aren't working my way. Will make the next month more peaceful. My wedding is on April 15th and I just want to get to the honeymoon already! I deserve the relaxation :)

congratulations to all of you girls :)

Congrats to all the brides - to - be out there....wish you lots of happiness in all the years to come.........

This is a question for all the brides-to be....would you ever consider renting your shaadi lengha (outfit) and jewellery? Considering most brides spend all that money and wear their clothes and jewellery for that one day only........I'd like to hear some thoughts.....

i wouldn't mind if the person is someone i know. may be not renting just lending i really think this trend should start we waste money like hell you know if we realize we have to answer about it someday!!

Absolutely I would! The problem is, no one really rents out jora's that I know of, and if they do it's very unlikely that you will find anything that you like. And no matter how much you want to save money, bride's are too obsessive about making their day perfect and the right dress is a big part of that.

I would also borrow, but only your closest cousins and friends will let you, and I wouldn't want their's cause they are so close to me so we will have all the same ppl at the wedding and I won't feel unique. And no one else will let you cause they are so attached to their dress they can't trust you with it - that's fair.

But with today's fashion of full kameez or flowy shirts over the lengha, we are lucky! It's worthwhile to spend the money, you can wear it as many times as you like! Just don't make it crazy heavy and focus the work on the shirt and dupatta, rather than the lengha which won't be worn again. Also for the jewelery, invest in something you love that you can wear again and again happily, even if it's smaller. You can add some fake pieces or family heirlooms like a sath lari to make it heavier.

Idk bout that, Im trying to make it so that I can re-use my shirts and dupattas...I dont see my self ever renting it.

I wouldn't mind lending someone my dress to wear if they liked it, it would be special that they like my dress enough to want to wear it for their big day but I don't want to be renting it out for money. Thats just weird, either I'd let them borrow it or just buy it off of me.

Where are you going for honeymoon?! I can't wait to relax. Even day dreams of the actual wedding are becoming boring lol
One more month for you, enjoy your time with family and friends.

I'm getting caught up in drama's between my family and my in laws.. it's a love marriage and no one's happy with each other... just feel very stressed and drained and unable to sleep... please tell me this is normal girls?
can't wait for it all to be over and done with!

yup in a love thingy

this is VERY VERY NORMAL!!!

Don't worry about it! It's common even when it isn't a love marriage... emotions are running high and I don't know why ppl get so sensitive at wedding time, but because it's so personal to you of course you will be stressed about it. But put out of your mind as much as you can. If you and hubby-to-be are happy with each other, then focus on being together, and once you are, FORGET everyone else. They'll just have to learn to be happy for you!

We're going to Mayan Riviera... gonna leave right after the Valima!

Originally Posted by **madinahme

**I'm getting caught up in drama's between my family and my in laws.. it's a love marriage and no one's happy with each other... just feel very stressed and drained and unable to sleep... please tell me this is normal girls?
can't wait for it all to be over and done with!
Agreed with A squared. Its common in both types of situations.. my friend's brother's was an entirely arranged marriage yet the drama and misunderstandings that unfolded right from the time of the engagement down to the days of the main functions were just sad and upsetting to see.

The only difference is that in arranged marriages you have the option to sort of directly or indirectly blame others (in ur head) for the drama being created and can put ur mind at ease by telling urself over and over that its not ur fault and u have nothing to do with it but in love marriages, because it was ur choice frm the start and u may even have forced/convinced ur parents a bit to agree w/ur decision, you naturally feel more responsible for all the mess going on around u and feel overburdened cuz ur torn b/w keeping ur fiance happy and ur parents happy and cant really act 'aloof' because if you do, that brings about even more taunts and caustic remarks frm ur family considering how it was ur own decision in the first place

im not gonna ask u to ignore it and put it out of ur mind because i know such things are easier said than done. However, i hope it helps u to know that in most situations , things DO get better with time specially when both families meet each other frequently and keep their channels of communications wide open. For that u need to be a bit more actively involved instead of being a passive spectator and crying silently abt it.

if ur ok with the idea of both the families never truly being happy w/the decision u two made, holding a small grudge in their hearts and never fully accepting each other then yes 'can't wait for it all to be over and done with!'seems to be a good strategy to follow. for the first few months i had the same strategy as well .. truth be told i AM a little selfish and i always believed that it doesnt matter what the two families are bickering abt right now, i just have to shut my eyes and endure it because at the end of it all my husband and i will be together for the rest of our lives and our happiness is all that really matters.. unfortunately (or fortunately, depending on how u see it) for me, eventhough i was ok with the way things were going my fiance (although the poor sweetheart never expressed it verbally for the fear of hurting me or others) seemed to be very hurt and upset by the behavior of both the sides and seemed to be crushed in the middle of the desire to keep his family happy, my family happy.. while at the same time dealing w/my perpetual whining and complaining abt how everything is screwed up and the whole world is unfair.. it was because of him that i realized that we need to stop focusing on own happily-ever-after with a tunnel-vision and start making this shadi a bearable affair for our close ones as well because i knew how much his and my family's happiness meant to him

I strongly concur with A-square's idea of "If you and hubby-to-be are happy with each other, then focus on being together, and once you are, FORGET everyone else. They'll just have to learn to be happy for you!" . That is, and always will be what i believe in strongly. But for the sake of my guy's happiness, i have had to modify my perspective a bit and therefore make a few changes in my life, which i'll share with u, shud you ever need a different way of dealing with this issue too.

first things first.. PRAY. nothing gives more mental peace than talking to God abt ur problems. im not a monk or part of the mullah-brigade and i know u must be regular w/ur prayers but u need to pray specifically for this situation to get better . im not big on religion myself but i do know that i feel loads better discussing my problems w/ God in each namaz than by bi***ing and crying abt my problems, my family, my inlaws, my life to friends and colleagues cuz at the end of the day if u think of it, in the long run who really has more power to help u? God.. or your friends? (Although yes venting out ur frustrations to friends and listening to their words of advice and comfort does bring temporary relief)

next, take matters in ur own hands. Nobody can help u unless u help urself

In the beginning, everything seemed to be falling apart for me as well and just like u i was at a loss of what to do specially when drama was created over the pettiest of issues such as why the eid ka jora was packed in a normal gift-wrap instead of being presented in one of those elegant looking boxes with transparent covers and lots of ribbons and flowers on it. Judgments abt the other sides financial stability, social status and sense of style were instantly made ...and communicated to me openly and with strong words.. w/out any regard for how i wud actually feel if im being persistently told that i made the wrong decision and how they don't compare w/us status-wise... all based only on the choice of a mere gift-wrap

The two families barely met in the beginning , which increased the level of distrust and mis-communications b/w the two. At first i ignored it and started marking off the days to my wedding when all hell wud finally be over and i wud have my happily-ever-after with my guy but then the situation worsened to the point where i cudnt stand to be just a passive spectator anymore , helplessly watching my future being ruined infront of my eyes.. and i finally decided to take things in my own hands. I insisted on more face to face meetings b/w the two families even if it was for the smallest matters that cud otherwise easily be communicated over a phonecall such as how many guests each side wud bring... i also put my foot down about being used as a telegraph.. i no longer transmit messages from one side to the other and if my mum ever asks me 'what day do you think they will be free for dinner' i tell her ' why dont u call them up and ask them' ... that way not only does it give them one more chance to talk and get to know each other but also to work out any reservations or inhibitions they have abt coming over .

I also begin to open up to my mum a lot more instead of keeping my thoughts to myself and shutting her out completely. I would tell her abt his family's values, what they believe in, how the function in their daily lives, what his brothers do for fun, what kind of food his mum likes cooking, how his dad enjoys spending time after work. U know the small little things that parents care about specially since their daughter wud be entering the new household. I realized after many conversations with my mum and after listening to her many complains abt them (i realized a long time back that getting worked up abt it and yelling back doesnt do much good at all.. taking on her complaints head-on and dealing with them patiently is the way to go!) that one of the misunderstandings she and my dad had abt his family was that they were too conservative and wont allow me to work after marriage (the typical issue most people have of equating 'being religious' with 'being narrow-minded and backward'). Allah ka shukar hai they are not living in the stoneage and are pretty open to any activity i do after marriage that i did before marriage like working and partying with friends. So after i explained that to mum was a lot more relieved and started being a lot nicer to them.

im not saying that this strategy wud work overnight and that its a fool-proof, kink-free, one-size-fits-all solution to such problems but taking matters in ur own hands is definitely is a lot better than just being passive about it and hoping sumone frm above sprays magical fairy dust over the two families to make everything alright.. u may have to modify ur strategy according to ur own situation.. in my case it didnt work instantly it did take quite a number of months for the ice b/w the two sides to thaw and there still were a few drama scenes in b/w but Alhamdolillah both the families have had enuf time (been engaged for almost 10 months nw Alhamdollilah) to reconstruct the initial impressions and preconceived notions they had abt each other and things have gotten so so much better that i actually am enjoying the shadi prep and everything is going smoothly for the both sides Mashallah cuz they consult each other at every step of the way and after many meetings they have learnt to happily accept each others way of living and have actually managed to see a lot of similarities b/w each other and enjoy each others company..

So you have to be the bigger and more mature person here (cuz ive noticed that our parents spend their entire lives instilling the values of forgiveness, patience and tolerance in us and always reminding us that THEY are the grownups and WE are the children but somehow in the whole shadi frenzy when emotions are running high and specially when its a love marriage, they tend to forget the same values that they had taught us and seem to act pretty childish abt certain issues thus reversing the social roles and forcing us to be the sensible, mature , grownups) You need to give fixing things a shot. If it works, good for u . If it doesnt, oh hell who cares u can always be happy that u atleast tried.. u will never have any regrets and never be haunted by the thought of 'WHAT IF??'