2011 Brides

Re: 2011 Brides

same. lots of new brides to be. so how are the rest of you ladies?? I've been fighting with mom an awful a lot. :( But on a good note, I had my bridal shower...so that was fun. I think I'm in the shaadi mood now.
however.... wish I had some xanax to get through all of this... lol

Few more weeks until I go to Pakistan! Right now, just packing and packing, and tons of last minute shopping. It was supposed to be a simple shaadi...but mom is driving me crazy with her extra shopping for gifts and "jahez" stuff. Its getting ridiculous. I told her we shouldn't have to do so much!

my mom keeps saying...she'll just wear whatever. ughhhhhhh!

ummm lost my sanity a while back :)
April can't come soon enough. Need this to be over so I can get back to my school stress!

Right now...I have no shaadi clothes picked out. Yes the wedding is next month.... :(
I'm hoping it will all be done in a month??? eeeeekkkkk

2011 bride ... :)

:mash: every1 is enjoying rollercoaster ride woo hoo.loads of best wishes from m side enjoy ur time .. my :welcome: to all* NEW* brides in this thread

i am really happy for you :slight_smile: i guess you’ll be the 1st 2011 bride :insh: loads of duas

hheeh :D
so are you planing to buy ur shadi dress from pakistan?

:flowers:congrats you all, hope to see your beautiful wedding pics soon

I am due to marry on the 19th March. I have been nervous, overwhelmed, a bit of a bridezilla, excited all in one bundle. However, all of that was put to a stop on Saturday when we received a call from family back home telling us that my dadda abu in Pakistan has suffered a massive stroke, causing him brain damage with less than 5% chance of survival. He is now on a life support machine. My dad has taken an emergency flight to pakistan on Sunday morning with every hope that his dad will recover. He is completely heartbroken. We had originally hoped for my dadda abu to attend my wedding. My dad is his only son, and me being his only grandaughter. We think its because he had been waiting for a response from the ebassay regarding his visa, which still had not come through, and I think yeh he baat uno ne dil ko lagale and got themselves so worked up that they might miss my wedding.

I can't emphasise enough how much it changes your prespective on things. We can not postpone the wedding as the families have invested alot of money already in the functions, and its so close to the wedding to cancel out anything. We as a family are at a loss as to what to do.

Instead of dholki nights, we are all gathering around my house to pray yaseen surat and make dua for my dadda abu to make a full recovery.

Its absolutely heart breaking to think of the situation my family have been placed in. The families are having to go ahead with a shaadi, because we are in limbo, but I just don't want to get married. I love my other half to pieces, but I just can't see my dad in that pain. Dads return flight is on my mehndi (which i think is being cancelled).

Can I ask you all to please spare five minutes from your time to make a small dua for my dadda abu so that he gets well. :( :( :(

His recovery is paramount to us right now. :(

i am dec 2011 bride inshAllah and i have been engaged for 3 and a half years :D

I am so sorry to hear about that Posho. I will definitely pray that he gets well. InshAllah.

:hugz:

Very sorry to hear this, you are in my duas!

InshaAllah Allah will grant health to ur dada ji & we are all praying here. I hope ur family gets courage to handle the whole situation well. Ameen!! Dont worry Allah up above will always choose the Best for us. Take Care

Thank you so much girls, you don't know how much your words & duas are helping me regain my strength to get through the next few weeks. very difficult times.

Your family is in my prayers, Inshallah your granddad will make a full recovery, Ameen!

Make Allah make things easier for you all. Hopefully your Grandpa feels better

I can understand where your coming from because it is such an important thing in your life. I can relate, me and my husband both despretely wanted a walima (function) and I was almost expecting one as well. Then they decided they didn;t want to do walima because it was a waste of money to do two days. At first I just accepted it but now the feeling of not having a walima doesn't go away, thats all I can think about and I know how horrible that is (to not be thankful for the one day rukhsati that my dad is giving me). It isn't an issue about money, the issue is that I want to have a walima so I can have that two day thing (tradition, model-look etc.). Over that, the wedding is completely from ourside so they're really not having to do much. It upsets me because it upsets my husband, he feels like his wedding is not important enough to his parents, but am I going to start a fight over it or show attitude? No, because it's not worth it. I'll just end up looking like the bad one for asking for too much.
Let it go and just do whatever you can do. Atleast there is some financial support and don't expect the "jewls" and "clothes" . I know it's not easy to let go because it is a big deal, but just because it's a big deal to you may not be a big deal to them. Just do your day as you wish and don't have expectation from them.
I feel for you though.

This brought tears to my eyes :'( I'm so sorry for you, I really hope he gets better! Inshallah! My prayers are with you.

I just read this! Awwww that's so cute that despite not being happy about it, your mum didn't make a fuss about it. My wedding suit situation has escalated from a 'mini' drama to a full on bollywood action movie :(

So my in-laws were supposed to come to Pakistan and help choose the wedding and valima jora. My MIL goes to the wedding designer and after hearing her price range decides that they don't give wedding outfits to the girl. That was highly embarassing! And it has been clarified before that they will give the outfit many many times Also, few days later in a funny co incidence, her other DIL to be tells my bhabhi about how the MIL is getting both joras for her. ???

Then we take her to the valima designer and after going through so much effort asking her what the MIL likes, trying on stuff for her, when it comes to ordering it, she turns around and says to me 'oh no, I am making the valima outfit. And it's going to be the same as my other DIL's, just a different colour. Oh btw, you are having a joint valima.'

Errrr so I found out at the designers boutique that a) I'm having a joint valima with this other DIL who is from the pind, b) my mother in law wants to make my outfit and c) it's going to be the same as this other girls.

Talk about my worst nightmare being played out in front of my eyes. Suffice to say all claws were out later that day. Now I'm so depressed about the thought of getting married, instead of getting married later this year I want to delay it for another 5 years!

Just wanted to add, this other DIL is my MIL's niece! Might explain the situation a bit better. Typing this out has made me so much more angry. I feel like calling this whole thing off!