2011 Brides

Re: 2011 Brides

Summerbr: Yes, I can not have any one shop for me. I have horror stories bout that. The most recent one…
My fiance told me he will buy me a eid outfit and I could go with him to pick it out. In my family it is sort of a tradition that the girl’s in laws to be buy the eid outfit for the girl and give it to them on chandraat. So, instead of me going for my eid shopping and pick my own outfit, I had to wait till chandraat for them to give me my outfit. I really hate surprises so I asked my fiance to steer his family in the right direction. The same week, I had the opportunity of going and picking up my SIL to be’s outfit from the tailor because it was getting fitted. It was gorgeousss!! except that the kurta was a little bit simple. I told my fiance that the outfit was sooo pretty and I my outfits a lil bit more bhara hua. He told his mom and sister that I loved the outfit and that I like outfits that are bhara hua. After they came back from shopping for my outfit, my fiance told me that my outfit was matching his eid outfit and that the kurta was really bhara hua.. I got really excited. Chandraat came and I recieved my outfit, churiyaan, and shoes. The churiyaan didnt fit me. The outfit was barf-like and the shoes did not match. It was too late to go shopping and I ended up wearing one of my old outfits for eid. Here is the pic of the outfit…

What his sister’s outfit was close to…

What I was expecting…

What I got…

To make matters worse…
I really wanted to be appreciative and be happy because it was a gift. I was going to pretend tht I loved the outfit but my mom said tht I should tell my fiance to invite me shopping next time. I told him tht I would like to come shopping too next time. He told his mom and his mom told my mom that they didnt have time to shop. I was sooo embarassed!

I love the red 1 :@:

Mizsani: Oooooooooooh you have really good taste! I love those dresses you posted. It really sucks that they gave you something so 'old' looking, like a grandma would wear. Honestly, I think MILs should always take the DIL along when they go shopping or even just give them a budget and let them pick out the clothing themselves.

Is your MIL going to let you pick out the Valima outfit yourself? I would check with the fiance regarding that beforehand. Some families are very sensitive about this topic though and get upset if they DIL wants to pick out her own stuff. This friend of mine got married about 9 months ago and her MIL told her to get her outfit wherever she wanted and picked up the tab. Lucky girl! My MIL is more old fashioned.

I loved the idea of the wedding pics folder also, until I got viruses TWICE on my computer. Once was at home on my laptop (still have to get it fixed) and second time was at work! :-(

^ Thnxxx!!! I love those dresses too thats why I was sooo disappointed! Yes!!! It is like a grandma outfit!! exactly what I was thinking..... My SIL was supposed to shop for me but she was pregnant and teh doctor recommended her to rest thts why I got stuck with my MIL's choice.
Honestly, I think the outfit came from paki a while ago and they didnt have time to shop so they just gave it to me...
In USA I have never seen any outfit this old looking... everything is pretty and fashionable (atleast at the places I shop at). My fiance said tht the outfit cost $150!!! Those kind of outfit I have seen 5 for $100 sooo I am just confused. Are they being cheap? am I being a too mean about this? I dont know what to think!
But my MIL said tht the next outfit will be alot better and I told my fiance that plz dont let them waste money on outfits tht I will not wear. I think they want to get my Valima outfit from pakistan but I can give them a picture that they can get made but I am not getting married till 2012 so I will wait and see

My honest advice would be, just stay quiet and wear whatever they give you. I know you'll hate it, and I know it's really tempting to ask your fiance to intercede on your behalf, but trust me, don't. You have the whole rest of your life to wear whatever you choose, but it's this time of your life where the opinion that they form of you will last a lifetime. If they get the idea that you're difficult and don't appreciate their clothes, as butt-ugly as they may be, they'll harbor some resentment towards you for that even if they never express it out loud, and your fiance might eventually get tired of fighting your battles for you. Just bite your tongue, wear them as nicely as you can and with a smile on your face. It'll pay off in the long run more than having a nice jora on a couple of Eids. Just trust me on this one ;).

I dont care about eid outfits but I am really worried about my walima outfit. What if they are cheap about it or pick something ugly??
I wont tell them about eid clothes because I want them to like me but I dont like them wasting their money either. I dont want them to resent me but I dont want to keep it all inside and resent them in the process either. Sometime I feel like they do not treat me like their DIL to be cuz all my SILs to be got great outfits for eid.. Idk how to feel
arghhhh...
I reallyyy hope I get to pick my own oufit but hmmm we will c.

I know right, time has literally flown by..seems like just yesterday that i was on here planning and conversing with u Piyari about the engagement..fast forward and Piyari’s married and we’re both shaadi planning!!! :smiley:

Aww haha @ corny but yeh soo true :hugz: atleast i can say i met one of my closest friends on GS!! :slight_smile:
Yeah i know its an entire year BUT you know how quickly time flies, which is why I need to make sure i get as much done as possible in this trip to Paks..as when i go for the wedding i dont want to be doing too many last minute things!! Aah lets see..aww i wish u were coming with me PR!! We’d shaadi shop together :wink: n ofcourse i wont be sparing any details for you hun :smiley:

As far as designers are concerned, i LOVE Rani Emaan but feel that i have so many other things to consider ie venue, honeymoon, etc etc that i dont want to spend that much on that one (or 2 if u consider Walima also) outfit..it doesnt have to be designer to be bautiful so lets see what i can find..iA am soo looking forward to it :smiley: :slight_smile:

I hope atleast one of us gets to wear a Rani Emaan creation on one of the wedding functions PR!! U or I..baat to aik hi hai :wink:

Aah so much to shop and plan for..i need to start making my lists!! xx

im surprised you can even do that, letting ur MIL know u didnt like the outfit. Did u fiance pass this on to your MIL? so you live in USA and so does ur fiance and what about your inlaws?where is your wedding going to take place? a lot of questions..im just curious coz similar situation.

It suprises me that a lot of girls get their fiance involved in these feminine matters... im not sure i would do that :P

Im getting married in July 2011 and I have nothing done. I wish my MIL or SIL wouldget involved and help me with stuff but no one seems to be bothered except myself and my sister :(
Although I would prefer to choose my own clothes and jewlery.I don't usually rant about femimine matters to my husband (our Nikkah is done, rukhsati is to happen in july 2011) but I doubt he would get involved anyways!

Also, this is a little bit off topic, but my sister in law, who is older then me and my husband isn;t married yet and my husband pushed for us to get married now. Our marriage was our choice and not families. I feel that my Mum in law might not like me because I am getting married before her elder daughter. Is that bad? I mean is there something wrong with it? I don't know how I would feel if my younger brother gotmarried before me

Hi Summerbr!

This is the place where I ordered my lanterns from: I got the “blue glass” ones to go with the rest of my decor. I ordered 35, and got a pretty good price for them. check out the website, it will tell you the exact pricing.

http://best-decor.com/catalog/advanced_search_result.php?search_in_description=1&keywords=moroccan

I hired Naphisha from The Perfect Setting for the 3 days of my wedding. I have to say, she is a little hard to work with, cause she is difficult to get a hold of, but she knows my dad, so she has promised to do a really good job. For my mehndi, she will be doing the stage decor only, and my SIL’s and me will be doing the rest of the decor (lanterns, overlays, flowers, etc). We are doing a small nikkah, so she will be doing a canopy type thing for the stage, and then I will be doing the centerpieces myself, and we are doing a combined reception, so she will be doing the stage decor, centerpieces, cake table, receiving table decor, and lighting. She is giving me a pretty good deal considering she knows my dad, however, she works within any budget you give her, and still gives a good deal. But, if you do end up going with her, get ready to be frustrated, cause she does cancel meetings, and doesnt reply to texts/emails - the key with her is to be persistent, and constantly call/email/text, and she will get back to you. You just have to be firm with her.

Oh yah, Im wearing Rani Emaan for my wedding!!! It is gorgeous! and Im so excited!

hehhe.. I didnt want MIL to know that I hated it but my fiance had to open his big mouth and ask her for the receipt of the outfit to return it.. little did he know tht desi ppl dont give receipts. So his mom figured out tht I wasnt a big fan of the outfit. She is really nice though so she said next time I should go with them or they would spend more time shopping because this eid things were a lil hectic because my SIL was pregnant.
We all live in USA. The wedding will also be in USA but not exactly sure about the venue yet.. I have a longgg time to decide (not getting married till 2012). whts ur situation??
I just started wearing really bharahua shalwar kameez and stuff infront of them now so they realize wht kind of clothes I like..

nooo.. there is nothing wrong with tht.. will u be staying in the same house as her or ur own place?
She will prolly love u as ong as u keep her son happy

I hope so :) and they do want us to live with them but I personally don't want to. I just dont have the guts to say that yet... Its not that I have anything against them but I don't like the idea of living with in-laws, I think it creates unneccessary problems. I want us to have a good relationship and i doubt that will happen if we live together. Their lifestyle is really different then the one I'm used to and my finace has always been away from home (he studies aboard). I feel bad because my finace has been away from home since he was in grade 6, he went to do hifz and then became an alim in South Africa so they've never really had him around except the holidays and I assume they want to be with him when he finishes. Hopefully it isn't that big of an issue if we live seperate

hiiii guysss....im also a 2011 bride...inshallah i will be gettin married in july 2011.....im sooo excited....can't wait....sooo guys let me kno watz da latest bridal fashion in pakistan.....???

I am not a fan of living with in laws either... I know they want me to but I simply can not grasp tht idea... I have a small family of 4 and he has about 20 ppl who are aways at their house and kids.. I like peace and quiet and somehow I convinced him to get me my own place... I just tell him what i want.. I dont have the guts to tell them anything. You shouldnt feel bad.. u can prolly get a place close 2 his parents but not live with them.. tht way his parents can c him all the time but u still get the comfort of ur own home.. :)

congratsss!!!

Hi, guys, I just joined this website after following some of the threads for the past couple of weeks. I actually am looking for some serious advice due to the stress I am under, and I wrote an entire novel to post here. But when I tried to post, it all got lost. So annoyed right now. Good luck to everyone with the planning! Maybe I'll have energy to tell u all about my issues later, lol.

Oh, and Shanifar... hmm, current bridal fashion is to go with bold colors, red & turquoise is very hot these days, & long shirts are in, similar to the maxis that are being paired with pants. Hope that helps :)

Thnx alot muslimah118....well can u guys also upload some pix of the latest 2010 brides....