2011 Brides

Re: 2011 Brides

I'm a June 2011 bride inshallah. Ours is love and then we arranged it with the parents! We're officially getting engaged in November (so a few weeks from now). Very excited! :-)

im gna b a 2012 bride tooo and yess its sooo much fun lookin at stuff! about 18 months before the weddin is a great time to start shoppin etc.. bit by bit so u dnt feel the hole in ur pocket lol

hehhehehe... i just dont tell people that I am looking at things and planning so I dont get called crazy.. it is my little secret. I have a binder filled with ideas, songs, outfit pictures, to do lists, photographers, party favors, mehendi designs, etc, etc...

I am just collecting my thoughts so when the time does arrive, i am prepared. I am a perfectionist and I can not help it.

And yes! It is sooo much funn!!!

omgg!! tht must be soo exciting!! you seem like you have pretty much planned. You should put up the pics of the lanterns! how exciting!!

*... Lol as i was scrollin down the page.. all i see how everyone's soo excited and sharin when their weddin is or engagement.. lol .. and how time flies haha and i was like " yah right, as if time flies" .. i feel like time for me moves soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo sooo sooo slowly haha ....anywayz loved readin all the other comments .. Grats to all of you =) *

I am officially engaged but going to have an engagement part on January 1st. :) and I am excited too.. Are you going to have the engagement at home or somewhere else?

I agree!!! just keep the clothes for the end because the fashion might change but you can start collecting little things here and there. I am picking some timeless outfits so it does not seem out of fashion by the wedding. Also, I am going to need alot of cotton shalwar kameez for home and stuff so whenever I see a good one, I just purchase it and put it in a separate place in my closet. And I am trying to get them in 1 size bigger just in case I gain weight or something. When the date is near, I will either get them taken in if they are still big.

Mizsani: We're just having a small get together at home with family and a few friends. My dad's going to getting my fiance's ring this weekend from Dubai (he works there) and my fiance says he's already bought mine but I haven't seen it yet. I haven't even decided what I'm wearing yet...I think I better start cracking at that! lol What's your engagement going to be like?

Summerbr: OMG!!! yaaa u need to go shopp like right NOW!! heeheh sorry.. I just had chocolate so i am a lil hyper. But ya.. anyways, November is almost here... :) excitingggg!!! I would never let anyone choose my ring... I am so picky!!! They would hear me complain for the rest of my life hehhehe... I have one that they got me for my engagement that I didnt pick still it is nice but he is buying me a new one for the engagement party that I will get to pick. I dont know what to do with the other one though lol. hmmm.. maybe I will just give it back to them??but would thast seem rude??

Dude trust me - you are being smart about along with with having fun with it!!! By the time I get married it will be well over a year since the engagement … but since the date of my shaadi JUST got fixed … and it is now only 8 months away - all of that little “secret” planning I had done is coming in SUPER SUPER SUPER handy.

I am not going to lie girls. I am stressed. So much to do in little time… and as you all read in my other thread … i am DEVASTATED that I do not get to go to Pakistan for my shaadi shopping. Its not just about the shopping… but its about getting into that “shaadi mode” with all of my girl cousins and khaalas and luved ones. All of my relatives live in Pakistan. It would have been great to be there and spend this happy time with them and i really look to my cousins for guidance ALWAYS … and im sad that that wont happen and that we are so far away. I just pray now that they can all make it to my shaadi. It is alot to ask… since we are so far and tickets are so expensive… but I think that is the thing i care most in regards to “what I want for my shaadi/what i want my shaadi to be like” … i want all of my luved ones there :jano:

Mizsani - I started planning and starting thinking of ideas on the 2010 bride thread. lol. And I have made “folders” on my computer for all sorts of things since that time… dresses, favors, decoration, makeup , hairstyles… etc.

So I pretty much have my photographer and DJ booked - YAY … i have to send him the contract tmw inshAllah and my parents have to mail him the deposit.

oh yea girls. thats another thing. I live in another states than my parents. And since we live in a “pind” the shaadi will not even be in the town I grew up in … but rather 2 and half hours away. So planning this thing is a beast.

But my mom signed the contract with the hall today. SHUKER HAI … huge stress off my mind!!! This particular hotel just had a 20 million dollar renovation done to it and it looks gorgeous online… but obviously due to the fact I live far away .. i have not seen it myself. But my mom and sister went to see it (along with many other hotels) and they liked this one the best… i trust their judgement.

My sister saw this one hotel and literally mssged me later in the day being like “I REFUSE to let my sister get married at this place!!!” hahaa. I asked her what was so bad about it … she said that she would describe it as “Trashy Chic” … like they wanted to look high class but try to do so in a really trashy/guady way. I was like oh man. haha. But thanks to sister … that option was vetoed right away.

Big stress for me now a days is figuring out what I am going to wear to my shaadi, day after shaadi, walima, and day after walima. All the bari and jahaiz clothes? I dont even care. lol. I dont even need them or want them. But these 4 outfits I am stressing about… who do trust to have them made? Will i get exactly what I want???

Ok … thats the end of my rant for now. lol carry on girls :slight_smile:

Awe - congrats girl :) That is exactly how my engagement was done .... nice and simple with my family and a few friends. It was simple in that regard but my mom really went all out and made it very elegant. My mom and dad got my fiance alot of gifts but in regards to the Engagement itself - they gave him a watch as is customary in our khandaan. He luvs it and wears it all the time now. :D I didnt even get to see it until my dad put it on his wrist (sweet moment!).

My ring was one he chose and paid for himself :)

p.s. my baat paki happened so suddenly (surprise from my fiance) and then engagement was only a few weeks after that... so i had VERY little time to get an outfit... but it ended up working out great.... and I got 3 outfits. lol. One from my parents and 2 from his. I only wore two of them that night... first the one my parents got for me and then i changed and wore one of the ones his parents got for me. :D

Parents gave me a dark green Anarkali ... well suited since it was december. And my inlaws gave me one maroon and other pink/turquoise combo suits. I wore the pink one later on.

Aweeeee haha. Well my fiance and I are shopping together and choosing our own wedding bands. But in regards to my engagement ring - it was a complete surprise and it was gorgeous. It's a "rock" ... princess cut solitaire with a platinum band. My fiance chose the diamond itself himself and designed the setting as well. It was all him... he knows me well because I would have chosen the exact same thing if I had the option! lol.

I dont think you should give back the engagement ring your inlaws gave you.. it might come off as rude... save it as a memory sake :) And you can always wear it as a normal ring for functions as opposed to wearing it everyday as you would an engagement ring.

^ PR doesn't this thread remind you soo much of 2010 brides?? :D Awww memories..i wonder how all their preps are going..well i was a 'half 2010' bride as i got engaged in April 2010 :) The wedding is in October 2011 iA.. im going to Islamabad in March 2011 to do my shopping... vvv excited!!! Good luck to all the dulhan's to be :)) xx

Congrats to all the upcoming brides. Hope to see at least a few of you on your special day :)

I knowwww… aweee… the thread where we “met”. Corny but true Duffy. :hugz: Im sure alot of those 2010 brides have gotten married already!!! Just like our Piyari did! Crazy how time flies huh??? wow.

You have like an entire year Duffy to get ready for your shaadi… inshAllah your event is going to go so smoothly since preps have already started!!

Again - can i say that I am jealous you are going to Pakistan for your shopping!!! But its ok … i shall live vicariously through you since I will be wanting allllll the details.

Are you looking at any particular designer for your shaadi outfits Duffy?

My budget is causing me to only look at someone who can make replicas :stuck_out_tongue: haha. But that is ok with me. For the walima … i might get to wear a Rani Emaan creation… how amazing would that be? Dekhtain hain…

my advice to all brides: ENJOY ENJOY ENJOY all the time it takes you to do your wedding planning! This is a stressful, but really fun time! I'm all done (my wedding is in 4 months), and Im so bored now! The only thing left for me is going to Pakistan in January (even though I already have my wedding/reception outfits - my MIL got them), but I am doing the rest of my clothing and jewelry shopping. I think when its closer to me leaving for Pakistan, then I will get excited again...but Im bored now! Although, I have cake tasting in November when my fiance visits for Eid, but thats about it :(

Aww Congrats Ladies!!!! The key is not to get stressed out, and enjoy these precious months..they really are quite special and exciting :)

why dont you ladies talk about the designers you are using, or which designer outfits you are using for inspriation for your outfits? I love looking at and talking about clothes!!!

heheh.. thnxxx!!! Yaa and having a folder on the computer is a great idea.. i just created one too.. Just incase. I have had bad experiences with my lap top getting stolen and stuff and I dont want all my secret hard work to be wasted…
I am so glad all the things are working out for u.. I will definitely add pics here of my engagement party if I learn to scan. OoOo and all my gupaans are invited.. I live in houston so if anytone is in yown the first week of Jan. let me know!!!

I'm gonna be a Karma bride! Just placed the order today, Alhumdolillah!

Saimab33: I see you're in the GTA! I'm in Mississauga. I've been finding it really tough to find a good decorator for the wedding who doesn't charge an arm and a leg. I was thinking of morrocan decor or of desi style decor with jhoola for my mehndi. Where did you get your lanterns from and how much? Are you going to have a decorator? What's your experience been so far? Are you doing the mendi decor yourself?

Mizsani: I know what you mean about not having anyone else shop for you! lol I'm pretty much the same. But my fiance is all about 'surprising' me with gifts etc. I haven't found a nice way to dissuade him from this yet, maybe when we get married! He's been all excited about researching, designing and shopping for the ring. And it will be nice for it to be a surprise and see it on the day of the engagement itself, in front of the family. Really cool that you get to pick your second ring though. I would keep the first one - the more jewellery a girl has, the better!

PunjabiRose: Thanks! Yeah, I like the idea of having it small and intimate with family and friends also. Your engagement outfits sound really nice. I'm all stuck on what to get - wish I could shop in Lahore before the engagement, but will be going 3 weeks after it. It must be a little stressful planning from afar. I had so much trouble picking out my wedding venue - am really picky and a control freak with the wedding planning I'm finding! lol We ended up seeing maybe 8 or 9 venues but I still wanted to see more before we decided.