2010 brides.........

Sorry but thought i will give a suggestion abt above. I have super sensitive skin as well and use Dove and Cethaphil...but make sure u are using the cream and not the lotion. Aveeno made me break out. Secondly u might be stressing because of the wedding...and stress cause Eczema (super dry skin)...i have that issue. you can use Hydrocortisone 1% (over the counter stuff).

hope this helps.

Oh this is for all the brides-to-be... meaning all of us :D thanks to Gina, i started to use Rose water on my face. I love it!!! I have been using it as a toner twice a day...and believe me everybody has been complimenting my skin...my skin looks so fresh...i love it!!! and i was reading cosmo...and they also recd. rose water mist for skin...guess for how much $21...while i got mine at a desi place for $3 :D

PR i would love you see this detailed check list... I might be the one who forwarded the excel file to you...but now need a more detail list...

lol @ gung ho!! haha, well atleast you’ve got ur Bar exam out of the way..now you can concentrate on finding some related work and inshallah something good will come ur way :slight_smile:

Grr u knw i wrote a loooooong reply to you and when i went to post it, it said i had too many smileys and deleted it all..soo here i start again…!! Yup a list is definitely the way to start!! Deffo let me know what you’ve got so far and ill rell you on what i can think to add..im sure itll be an invaluable resource for all the GS dulhans!! lol

Awww thats soo cute that he wants to plan the walima..i was reading on the engagement pix u posted that he choose the ring (which bdw was beautiful!) im sure he’ll do a fantadtic job inshallah :smiley:
Hmm well im from the UK as u know and Mr Duffy (lolz) is from Pak..hes currently in his final year of electronics engineering..so where we settle depends on wherever he finds a job inshallah..we’re thinking of either UK or the Gulf area, eg Dubai, Oman as there is quite alot of scope for his area of work there..lets see where our kismet takes us! Inshallah that’s gonna become clearer once hes finished his studies :slight_smile:

LOL yeh his face PR was a dreammmm :smiley: he was soooo happy and couldnt belive that id surprised him..it was a lovely time. Yaar ur so lucky that ur fiance is living near you..long distance relationships are a drag at the best of times :frowning: i mean dont get me wrong we keep in touch ALOT mashallah..but its just not the same as being able to meet n talk n just chill out like u described :frowning: i need a hug PR! :hugz: loll but neways mashallah thats great that you guys spend time together..aww date night is the cutest!! :slight_smile: xx

Aww she sounds sweet :) Lol shes right her bhabhi 2 be is going, what more could she possibly need?? :P Aww im sure you'll be fine plus HE's gonna be there so inshallah its gonna be great :D Aww man i went dubai in 2007 on the way back from Pak..had the best time!! this time were going PIA as theres quite a few of us and its direct..cant wait! xx

Excellent! I'm going to have to give this a try as well. Thanks for the tip! :D

Haha... I think u did as well. No problem ... I am in my final stages of researching gup shup about other stuff I should add to the list.... I will PM you girls for your email addresses and then send the list. We can all add things to the list and continually make it better. :) So be on the look-out for a PM from me tmw!

Oye yaar… the same thing has happened with me and its soooooo freaking annoying!!! We luv to use the smileys too much I guess… hahah :smiley:

Duffy - as I told Rabia, I am going to try to finish up my list by tmw and then I’ll PM her, you, and piyari asking for your email addys. I’ll send over the list to you guys and u can add stuff that I may have left out. I think the compiled list will be an amazing help to Guppans Dulhan to be’s inshAllah :slight_smile: And I figure that I have all this time on my hands right now… why not make use of it u know?

Thanks for the compliment on my ring. mashAllah se it really is beautiful and I luv it. I wear it everyday!!! lol. I luv that its a solitaire princess cut. Do you have any idea what your ring looks like??? Or is it going to be a surprise???

LOL at use of “Mr. Duffy” … luving it :stuck_out_tongue: Awee inshAllah u r going to have an amazing kismet! Dekhtain hain where u end up Duffy!!! Its kinda exciting actually huh? I would look at like that if I were you!! Its funny that u bring up the Gulf area… me and the fiance were talking last night and he mentioned that it might be a good place for us to move down the road. He is in finance and does work involving the American Stock Exchange… he was saying that after a few more years here in the US … he will have the experience and qualifications to get some really good jobs out there. He asked me what I thought about that… and I was like ummmm LETS GO.. I’M READY. hahaha. But that is a bit TOO future thinking at this point. Dekhtain hain what the future holds for us… koi patta naheen hota hai u know?!

I am giving you a BIG hug Duffy! :hugz: . I have a lot of respect for girls like you and piyari in being in long distance relationship. I know a lot of girls do it but I personally have never been in that position so for me that is very difficult to think about :frowning: It is truly a blessing to be near my fiance… We are going on year 3 of living in the same city. We have had a lot of good times and built a whole lot of memories together… but as it happens when one lives near another, we have also endured some difficult times together. By difficult I mean - hardships that have come on either him or me. But these things have just brought us much closer together. Example: A few months ago I actually caught the swine flue… on my flight back!! I was visiting my parents for a few weeks and then had to come back here. A day after I landed, I got sooooo ill Duffy.. main aapko beta bhi naheen sakhti. I was living all alone at the time too because my roomie was on vacation. I called my fiance at work and he immediately left work, came to my place and took me to the hospital. I was in the hospital for 2 days and it was scary … doctors told my family not to come over here because people that were not exposed shouldnt take the risk..especially them since my nani and little brother lived with them and getting swine flu would be particularly dangerous for them. But my fiance stayed with me the entire time and saw me obviously in the WORST of conditions. Lol… lets just say that I was not looking my prettiest. I probably looked as bad as I felt. But he didnt care and was just such an amazing caretaker to me. He never left my side and spoke to all the doctors himself so that he was kept in the know of what was going on. His family didnt take the risk of getting exposed either so it was only him. Once I was back in my apt, he would stop by everyday after work to make sure I was ok, bring me food, keep me company, etc. He would go to the pharmacies and stores to get me my medicines and groceries. He kept in touch with my parents letting them know my progress. Allah ka shuker hai - I recovered after 3 weeks and he never got sick at all!!! :smiley: But yea… he is an amazing guy for sure. He looks after me and cares for me very selflessly…and I am the luckiest girl for this :smiley:

I have recently decided that if by July I have still not found a job here… I am going to move. So then I’ll be in the same position as you Duffy… not as bad though because I’ll be in the same country.. just a different state. But it will still be hard for me if that happens since I am used to this. But Allah knows best and we shall see what happens.

Another hug for u meri jaan :hugz: xoxo

^ Awwww :hugz: PR ur the sweetest! thank u soo much, i actually feel better now! thanks to ur lovely hug and nice reply :smiley: definitely PM me kal and ill send u my email add :slight_smile:
Princess cut is the best! i have no idesa what im getting, all i know is that its going to be in Ruby stone as my MIL loves that stone and it will match my maroon engagement outfit inshallah lol..i hope its going to be nice! Aww thank u meri jaan for ur duaen..i really hope that every girl receives what she wants in terms of happiness and understanding with her life partner..becuase its so difficult to leave your home, family evrything for that one person..inshallah its going to be worth it though! :smiley: ur right, i am really excited and hopeful for what the future holds..who knows maybe we’ll link up in Dubai after a few eyars when our other halfs are more settled?! lol that would be sweeeeeet! Lol ur not the only one, i find myself planning soo much and sometimes i think im getting ahead of myself..but hey its ok to do sometimes :stuck_out_tongue:

Aww mashallah mashallah ur fiance sounds soo sweet and caring..perfect! the way he looked after you is truly commendable yaar..your lucky to have each other mashallah! I hope he stays like that..actually i hope he looks after u even MORE after marriage inshallah!! :slight_smile:
Aww i can understand why you would want to move,esp regarding the current job situation..well inshallh you’ll find something here if not then dont move too far away! even if you do, im sure you guys will still be as close as you are now..aww ur lil hugs are v sweet and really made me smile..thanks alot sweet!

P.s i just spoke to Mr Duffy for three hours online…haha so im feeling much MUCH better :smiley: xxxx

Heeeey, hows the packing going? any progress...OMG duffy we are going like very soon eeekk..and we're going to be seeing our special someone!!!!!
I just cant wait to surprise him for valentines day aaahhh lol over excited sorryyy...
oooh well my brother went to the asian bride show (dont ask why lol) and his mate is friends with this really good make up artsit -AMBREEN MAKEUP she does the asian bridal catwalk stuff for shows n so on...and she looks really good so Im considering her...heres her number: 07985 404 097 /ambreenmakeup.com just in cae you want to note it down for future...she has a make up team too really profesional!!
oooh I got my ticket for £455 by the way...:)

Heey,

I was reading your post that you wrote to duffy about when you had swine flu and how ur fiance looked after you..that is sooo sweet :slight_smile: :slight_smile: i was like awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww for ages…

I know kids are so smart these days my newphew goes onto my iphone goes on youtube…goes onto bookmarks (i bookmark his fave cartoons) looks up his cartoon he wants to watch..and plays it..or if he doesnt want to watch it then touches done goes onto the next..and he even knows how to work my brothers ps3 I was amazed not even I knew how to work it loool

please dua karna that the move goes well..and even im going now in march im nervous..its kinda scary but I have every faith in Allah that he will protect me.
and OMG i remember my SIL telling me about how hard it was to get femine suff there..she once told me it was soo hard geting sanitary towels they used cotton wool I was like OMMMGGG..but thats the way it was then!! but its much better now you can get everything!!

I would be more than happy to help out on your wedding shopping, it would be a pleasure..meri jaan i love shopping !!!

Your quite lucky that you already lived in the city before hand but theres nowhere like home I suppose…

Well over here we have quite few shops there quite good..to be honest I dont buy many clothes my MIL & fiance always sends me suits on occasions…but now Im taking more of a interest towards clothes bcoz of the wedding

the mendhi suits sounds lovely! my in laws are making me a sari too for shagun.. i think its peach or pink with either silver or bronze kaam on it ive never worn a sari too and i cant wait to wear one too…!! once i get it ill defently send you guys pics!!! eeek cant wait

Aww thats nice that you see your MIL every week..what I can advise is to always make some time for her and take an interest in what she’s doing and saying well that what I try to do!!!

PR I read in another post you pm’s someone excel sheet for wedding can you forward that to me please that would be soo helpful for me…really keep track on money and things we have bought and havent!!!

Ok now Im going to watch desperate housewives!!!yaaaaaaaaay

Heey hun! yeh packings is going ok..bought some more toiletries today..and loads of hair stuff ie clips and flowers!! Aww i bet u are v excited!! I am for you and for him caz he dsnt knw what coming! lol ;)
Ooh cool thanks for that hun! OMG piyari..ive been robbed in that case!! how did u manage such a cheap ticket?? which airline?? lucky gal! x

@rabia3983 Thanks a lot for you input!

Yes, I think right how I have eczema, because my skin is SO dry, I can literally peel it, eewww! I think I need to make an appointment to the derm, but I will def get Hydrocortisone 1% for now. Yes, I'm so stressed out, I get stressed very easily because I just want everything to be perfect =( and I just worry it wont! InshAllah all you can do is pray. I did have the cream form, because the derm said that the lotion wasnt thick enough for my skin. However, ever since I switched to the cream, I started getting bumps and white heads, and it made my skin worse! =( So, I just switched to Aveeno, to their cleanser and moisturizer. Although, it did help reduce the bumps, my skin is SUPER DRY and i think now I have eczema. I hate skin problems!

I will try the rose water, Inshallah, even though I have used it in the past with basan and almond power, but my skin is super sensitive and it didnt help. I think I will just use the rose water. When do yo use the rose water as a toner, like after moisturizing or before?

Thanks!

Re: 2010 brides.........

^ glad i could help. Rose water is used after washing your face, but before moisturizing. Let it dry on ur face first and then cont. with any cream.

It really sounds like you have eczema since you can peel your skin and everything. You dont have to go to a derm. for it, my family pratice dr. prescribed a stronger Hydrocortisone (10%) for me. She also suggested not to take HOT baths, or use hot water for washing my face and stuff.
take care and dont stress, inshallah everything will be perfect!

I am SO glad you are feeling better Duffy!!! :hugz: It’s easy to get down about things easily. So its understandable. But a three hour long convo with the significant other!!! Definitely the cure for being down about ANYTHING in my opinion!!! :biggthumb:

InshAllah your ring will be gorrrggeeeoouussss. I can’t wait for your engagement to happen yaar so that I can see the pics and hear all about the festivities!! And ofcourse… details on what the ring looks like!!Do you plan on wearing the ring all the time once you get it?? Or only wear it for special occassions??? Initially when I got my ring, I would only wear it when I left the house - Mr. PR (lol) actually wants me to be wearing it out and about so guys are less likely to hit on me. He wants me to be known as a TAKEN WOMAN. LOL HAHAHA that is his reasoning anyways. But I would get really nervous taking it on and off…scared I would misplace it or loose it so now I just keep it on all the time. It is a pretty big diamond and I am soooooooooo scared to loose it yaar!!! You are going to laugh at me actually - so the ring is a little loose on me… me being a skinny bandi … this is no surprise. And you being a skinny bandi… im sure u can understand. lol. So my fiance took me to the jeweler where he got the ring from and jewler added these little round ball things to the inside of the band. He said that it would be fine now. I said it was still loose!! Jeweler said that he didnt want to make it any tighter because what if my finger gets bigger :smack:. My fiance told me that well go back in the summer time if its still loose (i guess in winter time the finger shrinks a bit??) and have the guy adjust it. But anyways… this still didn’t solve my problem … so I took some thread and wrapped it around the back of the band. :smack: I know… I’m crazy. But atleast its not loose anymore and I’m not scared of its going to fall off!!! No one has been able to notice that I have done such a ghetto thing either. lol. I’m ridiculous…wearing this rock of a diamond on my hand which has ghetto thread wrapped around the band. :cb:

Omg … us linking up in dubai in the future…how crazy and amazing would that be??? Dreaming is fun yaar… and its totally ok to do it in my opinion as long as one also has a strong hold on reality! :smiley:

You are absolutely right- family is everything to a girl… and leaving them is probably one of the hardest thing a girl has to do in her lifetime. Not even the physical distance thing… but emotionally knowing that you are a part of another family. That in-laws take precedence and stuff. The adjusting to a new family atmosphere and new family expectations…its all stuff to be taken seriously. But inshAllah i truly believe we will be ok. Because alhumdullilah we do have an amazing understanding with your significant others and that is super important. Respect, trust, & understanding = love. And having true luv has the ability to give you all the happiness in the world inshAllah. That my opinion anyways!!! People tend to tell me that Im too optimistic about luv and relationships. But Mashallah se … my parents have had an amazing marriage and that has definitely shaped my views in regards to this topic.

Thank you Duffy about your sweet comments about Mr. PR!!! I am such a lucky girl to have him mashAllah. He is truly an amazing individual…and I still sometimes cant I believe that I finally met my prince charming. I am lucky I did not have to settle. :smiley: InshAllah he remains just as caring - if not MORE caring in the future…and inshAllah I am the same towards him always! I go back to saying that I think all of us ladies are lucky to be blessed with amazing guys in our lives.

Pray for me that I don’t have to move. Its jsut that if I dont find a job here soon, I will move either back home or move in with my khalaa. I just feel bad that my parents keep paying for my rent and I am still not on my own two feet. They tell me they don’t mind at all… BUT - there is my guilty conscious kicking in again!!! It will be harder to network and such living in a different state than the one I want to work in… but if the job market isn’t great then i feel like its better to just save some money and wait it out a bit till it gets better. InshAllah dekhtain hain yaar… pray for me!! I have till July!!

xoxo

I went with emrites..when i was enquiring it was literalyl a couple days difference and the price had gone up on pia..but anyway the person ath e travel agenst advised to try a week later because emrites were about to put an offer on so we just waited and got abit more cheaper!!!

I just bought some really cute hair clips and hair bands for my nands..i sent them to them before and they loved them so i thought ill take some more to them...but I need to get some my stuff..i really have to start to make an effort with my hair nowadays i just bung it up in a clip....I was thinking to dye it a plumy colour beofe U go..what do you think?

Haha I look back at that horrible time period and say “awe” too!!! At that time I was just so miserable tho. I wasn’t even comprehending how amazing he was. lol. Just hoping to get to the next day!!

MashAllah your nephew sounds like such a cutie pie! :smiley: I think the thing I miss the most about being away from home is actually being away from my youngest brother. I miss that little kids company so much!!! And omg piyaari… the ps3 comment made me laugh. I remember I came home from college once… my bro was 3 years old at the time and he challenged me to a game of HALO on the xbox!!! I agreed just to humor him…and he beat me!! :smack: I mean.. first of all its crazy that he even played games like that (bad influence from his elder brothers)… but its crazier that he was so good at it at that age!!! Since then tho I have been buying him more kid friendly games so that he isn’t constantly playing my brothers way too mature games.lol.

My duas for your future and safety are always with you. InshAllah you will be fine - i know it. My entire khandaan lives in Lahore as I told you before. They are always giving me tasaali that things are not as bad over there as some people make it out to be. They live their lives and go about doing things like they normally do. You will not only be fine but you will have the time of your life when you go back!!! I luv luv luv luv visiting Lahore!! I go back every two years!!! Last time I went - I spent 3 months there … the ENTIRE summer. lol. so u can imagine how much i luv my family and enjoy spending time in pakistan that I am willing to go for that long and in that garmi. Its so hard to coordinate times with my family so since I was in 6th grade, I have been giong to Pakistan by myself… every 2 years like clockwork :smiley: My time is actually coming up to go back again soon… so dekhtain hain… i wanted to go this summer but my nani and dear cousin sister came here to visit us in America!! So there was no point on going to pakistan. haha. So perhaps this fall I was thinking??? If I don’t have a job still by then.. then I was thinking about going for 2-3 months and reallyyyyyy get ahead on my shaadi shopping and spend quality time with my family. Because who knows if I will get that kidn of chance again in the future u know?

LOL about the sanitary napkins. Even when I went back 2 years ago my khalaas daughters still used the cotton wool thing :smack: This is because they had difficulty going to market/stores which sold the proper things due to a number of reasons. I was like OMG… i dunno how u girls do that. lol. But yea… ur family living in defense and model town and such… u r going to be JUST FINE buying whatever your heart desires. :smiley: My cousins in Faisal town have no issues at all (their mom is my mamani that moved from the UK to Pakistan!).

I am the same as you… I am taking more of an interest in clothing now just because of my own engagement and now my SILs wedding is coming up and then inshallah my own shaadi. Plus two of my cousins are engaged to each other and we are all anxiously waiting for them to choose a shaadi date and attend that shaadi. So there is always that to look forward to. So finally reasons to take an interest in all this stuff! :smiley:

YES - cant wait to see pics from your and duffy’s events!!! Yay for both of us wearing saari’s for the first time!!! :yahoo: I can’t wait either! The color of yours sounds sooooooo luvely!

Btw: What is a shagun? :konfused:

Thank you for the advice about my MIL - its great! :smiley:

p.s I am watching desperate housewives right now. I watch the re-runs every day. LOL … obsessed with this show. Gabby is my favorite!!!

xoxo

haha i knew u’d know how that would make me feel better :smiley: Lol huni when i have that ring on my finger i am NOT taking it off..ever..period…lollll I know what you mean about not wanting to lose it or scratch it etc..but itne pyar se li hai Mr PR ne..n after all ur so beautiful, i know why he would want all and sundry to know ur HIS PR :slight_smile: awww
hahaha ur going to laugh but the dhaaga thing has been done to death in my family! my elder sister’s engagement ring was big for her so she used dhaaga too!! he’s right though, now a couple of years after her marriage her rings are getting tighter for her..so it does happen! who knows may even hapen with us skinny minnes too :smiley: (we can all dream hey?!)

you know what, i belive that a person should start as they mean to go on..if you have a positive outlook and hope for the best then theres no reason you wont get what you desire or want..Allah ta’la treats his people however they want to be treated or should i say in the way that they expect from Him..thats why they say you should always have an ‘acchi umeed’ about everything..i mean im not saying be delusional and not face ur problems but esp as far as marriage is concerned i feel its right to go into with happiness and a whole lot of hope..i definitely agree with ur equation for what = love..alhumdulillah its a blessing to be with somebody you trust and understand :slight_smile:

Aww PR :hugz: i admire ur ideals yaar! parents will be parents ofcourse they’ll do whatever they can for you..yeh bhi bht barri baat hai that you genuinely care about what they think..inshallah a whole load of duas that our PR finds an amazing job near her handsome Mr PR..Ameeeeeen lol xxxx

Wow hun, thats was lucky!! yeah hun definitely go for ittt..i LOVE that colour and esp in the summer/spring season it looks hot :D my bhabhi 2b has it and it really looks nice..either that or a mahogany/chestnut colour..start buying piyari!! lol i did more packing today..oooh AND im trying to co-ordinate some dances for my brothers mehndi..tryna do a medley of diff songs..aww n my fiance 2b is getting his lil dance crew organised too...hehe :) xx

Ok Im defently going to dye my hair tomorrow then!! eekkk cant wait! Ohhh woow about the dance what songs are you thinking off??? omg thats soo kool..our family is really strict about that sort of stuff..just maybe a tiny bit like a boogie for 2-3 mins maybe lol...but we do have fun! That is soo cool ur fiance is getting his dance crew together too!!! it sounds like soooo much fun!! im getting excited and Im not even coming lol...
Hope you got my email..I got the mendhi song booklet from a guppy last year and I think its really good!! Im defently making a couple of copies for my own mendhi and getting them binded!!
Also found a bargain yday at clinton cards..one of the outlets was closing down in town and they had those bows that you stick on to prezzies for sale 20 for £1 I was like woooow So I bought 20 they will defently come in handy when We give the pressies to the boys side on the wedding..I bought some gift boxs from where I work to put the mens shirts in and for the suits for the ladies I thought see through packing with that thick ribbon tied around it with the sticky bow? what do you think?
Also another thing for the mendhi is that at christmas I bought there gold trays from the poundstore there great for like mendhi thaals if you cant get hld of any..Im going to decorate them..So keep a look out next xmas too!
I went to that shop Lush today Ive been there before but recently totally forgot about it..so I went in there today and found a soap called sexy peel I read the ingredients(water/rapeseed oil/coconut oil/lemon/orange peel/lemon/orange juice lots of other citric juices!) and its really refreshing Ill tell you how I get along..If its works out well Ill defently take it to PK with me!!

Thank you so much for your duas meri jaan that means alot!!

Wooow you go back so often..Ive only been there twice once when I was little and the last time at my sisters shaadi..Defently go ahead with shaadi shopping you can never be too early I saw for weddings, Ive already started bcoz I just dont want that tension right at the end running around like a crazy women I just want to be relaxed on my special day! So whenever I see sonthing I just buy it! and I can be a right bargain hunter lol!!!

Yeh my cuzins and relatives are all really well informed about clothes/material and I dont know hardly knew anything now Im slowly getting informed from SIL and my mum.

I cant wait to wear a sari either eeeeeekkk!!!

and I love Desperate Housewives and Gabby is my fave too I love her!!! her attitude, clothes and the way she walks lool
My fiance got me from season 1 to current season on cd for me that was really cute of him!!!

Did you get to look at the mendhi booklet I sent you? Hope you liked it, I thought it was really good!!

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahah you made me laugh alot with that Dhagha thing!!! lol … glad to know that I am not the only one doing this :omg: hehe.

And wohooo… everyone is going to know that DUFFY is a TAKEN WOMAN as well … hehehe. :smiley: You are so cute with your comment that once u have that ring on that u r never taking it off!! luv it.

Aweeee thank you so much for the duas sweetheart! Ameen! InshAllah I hope everything works out for me!!! I am so used to always having a fixed plan… (goes back to me wanting to always be organized and prepared i guess. lol) … that the uncertainty about the job and living situation is a little unsettling. So thank you so much for your duas!!

:hugz: Parents are everything you know?? They have done so much for me so I try whatever I can to make their life easier. Even if it is little things!!

Btw: I read in your post to piyaari that you are starting to plan dances!!! How fun!! What songs are you choosing??? What kind of dance style (i.e. bollywood… bhangra???). How exciting! and how CUTE that your fiance is starting to plan as well!! My fiance has already started his dance practices for his sister’s mehndi!! He is doing a bhangra routine with his little bro and a few other guys. He is a WONDERFULLLLLL dancer but is learning Bhangra for the first time. It makes this PUNJABI rose very happy and proud :smiley: LOL hahahahahaha He always jokes with me that he is learning “my peoples” dance. I tell him its the first step… the next step is him learning Punjabi!! lol.