2010 brides.........

Ahhhh so that is what was happening! I have been wondering where my reply from Piyari was!!! U know... meri mangni bi jaldi hoye thi but I would not change anything about it either. My fiance is really happy that I was taken by such surprise and to me it is a wonderful feeling knowing that he was ready to take this step...without parental initiative! So jaldi hogaye... but koi baat naheen :D

InshAllah your shaadi will be wonderfulllll and live upto everyone's expectations. And I'm sure it will because the most important element is definitely going to be present at yours..... everyone's luv and support. Shaadi family mein hori hai... thats why :) 2 of my first cousins are engaged right now and all of us realllyyyyy can't wait for their shaadi. We are so happy and excited. We are a super tight knit family so we know that no matter what... its going to be enjoyable. Its just going to be amazing for all of us to be together for that event as well u know?? I'm sure your family feels the same way...

And Duffy - YOURS AS WELL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :D

Yaar I have no concept of UK sizes ...except that they are more normal than US sizes. My US size is a 00 if u can believe it. :( Yikes.

Piyari - U are moving from UK to Lahore after shaadi??? U know, my mamani did that. She and my mamu are cousins so she had no problem adjusting at all even tho she did not grow up visiting Lahore that much. Having a luving atmosphere is the MOST important thing of comfort she has told me (I luv her to pieces). I go to Lahore quite often myself! So every 2 years or so I go back to visit. I luv it there. You are definitely going to have to keep me updated on all of your shopping. When you are there- keep a list of all your recommendations Piyari!! It will help future brides like me with our Lahori shopping! :D My family lives in Faisal Town and my own parents are building a house in Defense right now!!! So that when we go back we will have our own place to stay :D

Are you getting your jewelery all made in Pakistan??? If so- u are going to have to let me know which jeweler u got it from in Lahore. My mom is scared about this process because she says there are so many irreputable jewelers trying to rip off their customers now a days. U don't know who to trust. So keep me posted. Getting a set made with ruby's was smart piyaari... its true... u know u want to wear red for baraat so why not get it made???

InshAllah I hope all three of us find out our shaadi dates soon! From what I can tell from our posts... all of us are in the same situation where we are waiting for another family member's shaadi to take place and then ours will be decided afterwards. Looks like we all have fun functions to attend in the near future tho :D Have u girls gotten your kapray tayaar for these upcoming festivities????

I also just want to add that u girls r very lucky that u know your MIL's and have a wonderful and luving long-standing relationship with her. I pray that it always remains like this. Ameen. Please pray for me ... I am marrying outside of the family and although my MIL is very kind and luving towards me now..... I hope this never changes. I still have not spent too much time with her tho u know?

Re: 2010 brides…

Mehreen-

Girl thanks so much for sharing your tips and everything you are going through!!!

It is super important to look after yourself and fit that into the schedule on top of planning all of the other stuff :smiley: I agree!!!

I have started doing the lemon thingie to my elbows and knees as well. Iv heard it takes time for it to work… hence the wayyyyyyyy early start. lol. I am also using a homemade body scrub before I use my own body wash in the shower. Fill a smaller tupperware container with brown sugar and squeeze the juice of 1-2 Limes into it… just enough so that the sugar is wet. Use this as a scrub and then rinse. THen follow by your normal body wash routine.

I am also whipping an egg, a few tablespoons of olive oil, and juice of 1/2 a lime together and then massaging this mixture onto my scalp. The egg and olive oil is for nourishment and the lime juice is to treat a dry scalp naturally (head and shoulders has some reallyyyyy strong chemicals in it). So this is only for scalp.. for the rest of my hair, I whip up a couple tablespoons of plain yogurt and a good quantity of olive oil together and massage that into the rest of my legnth of hair. Leave in for a few hours and then wash and condition as usual. I do this once a week and only been doing it for a month or so… . I have definitely noticed that my hair is a lot shinier naturally and my dry and itchy scalp due to the harsh winter weather up here has DEFINITELY been cured. So yay! :shoaby:

All of these desi totkay… my nani was recently visiting and she was the one that told me to start doing all of this stuff. lol.

She also told me (my mom works at my dad’s office - he is a physician. She actually confirmed this “totka”…said she had read this in some random pamphlet that had come to the office) that one should get alot of fresh tomato in their diet because it is really great for the skin.

I need to start drinking more water tho … I am REALLY REALLY bad at this :frowning: I’m like a camel… i survive on very little for a very long time. It’s a bad habit I really should kick.

AHhhhhhh - if you could post the Micheals discount coupons on here for me - that would be GREAT!!! I would really appreciate it :slight_smile:

awww Punjabirose u r a sweetheart :bulbuli:
Sorry if u have been asked a few times already in this thread, but when and where r u getting married hun?

That is totally fine..what are firneds for?? Ill defently keep you guys updated with what Im doing and any tips I can give...
Awww @your khala saying sharing actually my MIL done near enuogh the same thing..all the family was having something to eat and she put mine and my fiances in the same plate and told us to share in front of everyone..was kinda embarassing while she was saying this she had the biggest smile on her face :)
My Mil had been through quite a few rough and bumpy times too...Im thinking the same as you I really want to look after her too!!!
my khalas always remind me of my own mum...and Im really happy that you love ur khala/saas she will defently love u like her own..InshaAllah I hope ur relationship with ur MIL stays like this forver too..we are so lucky
I hope every girl gets MILs like ours who are so loving & caring InshaAllah Ameen..
Well I just got a matte foundation/concelar that I can wear for the functions over there..I tried th concelar and its quite good and I got prep+prime from mac which is really nice I got my mascara from maybelline - great lashes i love this mascara..and i just discovered eye lash curlers lol I know Im late...well I did know about them but never gave them a second look and now my lashes look woowza...lol
Ive got some cotton suits but I think Im going to have to get some made out there too!!
The clothes for the functions are being made as we speak my In-Laws are making them for me..bcoz Ill be all cordinated with my nands..mendhi day - anar kali dress - rose pink with fusha barat: sharara and walima kameez and pants they wont tell me the colours they want to surprise me awww and my nand secretly told me there getting a sari made for me for shagun...can I just ask whats shagun exactly???
I think I may of told you before but my In-Laws come every year to the UK and last year my fiance surprised me..he didnt even tell me he was coming he was saying that hes coming abit later..so when they came we went round to there house and guess who was there..my fiance i was soo surprised eveyone was looking at my reaction looool so Im not telling him when Im coming and hes trying every way possible to find out!! but Im not even giving a clue all he knows is that Im coming in March..I cant wait to see his face!!!!

Re: 2010 brides…

Printable Coupons: Michaels Coupons ( Arts & Craft Store )

They have a few different coupons, but the first one is the 50% off which expires the 8th!

Good luck!

@PunjabiRose

Thanks a lot for all the great tips, I will try the scrub, sounds simple enough! Do you know of any good remedies for your face that you have tried yourself? I tried using basan with almond power and rosewater, but it didnt really do much. I have these small bumbs on my cheeks, there very red, and im trying to get rid of them! I don’t know what it was casued by, I thought it was an allergic reaction but it’s not going away. Recently I switched ALL my facial products and bought all Aveeno products. Any sugguestions girls!

Thanks!

Heeey, awww so sorry for the lateness meri jaan actually we look after my newphew while my bhabi n brother work and he's constantly with me..and esp if I have the PC on then he wants to play and wont let me touch the keyboard hes only just turned 3 by the way and knows how the computer works and my phone.

InshaAllah all our weddings mine, urs and duffy's weddings will go beautifully and as expected..Ameen

wooow ur a size 00..I think ur like a size4 over here..I think I used to be a 6 but it seems like ever since I got engaged I put some weight on..my friend calls it happy fat lol..

Yup moving to Lahore from UK after shaadi eeeekkk..ur right aslong as there is a loving atmosphere it should go well...and my ilaws have showed me nothing but love even before I got engaged :) and I hope it stays that way!!InshaAllah and thanks for giving me a positive story it made me feel better about moving there..its a big step and I hope it goes ok..please dua karna..im abit nervous about moving there eeekkk

Actually my inlaws used to live in Fasian Town too I do like it there...and u guys are building in Defence right now that is fab...InshaAllah when ur in Lahore we defently need to meet..that would be great...After shaadi will u b staying the US?ur from the US right? Is it easy finding pakistani clothe shops over there?

For the jewelrry Im just making 1 set the shaadi set,necklace,earrings..ring..and tikka the rest I already got made..like the churiya from here..my mum thought it was best bcoz number 1 it would be 1 more less thing i would need to worry about when I go there..and plus there have been quite a few people that have told us that they put copper or something in the churiya now..so my mum was like ok lets get them made here at our local jewlelers...But when I get my shaadi set and walima set Ill let you know what there like n soo on..Im going to keep a booklet with me when I go shopping for you guys so i dont forget!!!

For the up coming event my in laws are getting them made there going to be co ordinated with my nands..mendhi-anar kali dress shaadi - sharara walima pant/kameez

Thank you so much for your prayers meri jaan..that is so thoughtful and nice of you I hope that Allah blesses you with a most loving and caring MIL and that you get along with her..Ameen I always try to make an effort to find out what my MIL's interests are and always send her cute text messages..and gifts any time someone goes not like massively expensive gifts there like small things that she actually needs..like she loves olay day and night creme so I always send here them once in a while...

I think Ill defently be looking for my lengha first then my set thanks for that..And ill be getting a reday made one too I just have a couple of weeks in Pk in march/april.Thank you for your wishes darling!!!

Re: 2010 brides.........

Hey Mehreen..sorry late welcome..but welcome and congrats!!! I read ur first post in the thread and I love ur lil tips..thats given me some motivation about eatting fruit!!! and drink more water..we can buy all sorts of beauty products but we need to clense the inside just as much the outside aswell!! Im always looking in arts and craft stores or where they sell deco to find bits n bobs for the wedding too!! please keep us informed and feel free to add stories...:)

Haha awe thanks! :blush:

No worries! I don’t know yet when i will get married… the date will probably be discussed and finalized some time after my SIL gets married I’m sure (her wedding is in April). I’m getting married in America… it’s where I am from and my fiance as well. So no moving is taking place for me. :slight_smile:

Aww thank u for ur lovely duas hun! :hugz: wow the makeup sounds lovely, ive heard alot about the mac prep+prime, will have to try it! Lol@ the eyelash curler! yeh ur best bet is taking a few and getting the rest made from there..aww thats so nice that you’re all going to be co-ordinating..make sure to tke pix!! Shagun i think is what they give to the dulhan as like a gist or something..sounds sweet mashallah :slight_smile: Awwww ur fiances soo sweet! he sounds like me :smiley: lol because i surprised him in 2008 with a visit in October..he didnt even know i was coming and was sooo surprised and soo happy! his face was like :smiley: :smiley: aww its gonna be worth it hun inshallah xx

Thanks for the coupons hun!!! I am going to have to ask my fiance to take me to Micheals this weekend so that I can have a look around!

Your welcome about the tips! Any other desi totkay my family tells me - i will post on this forum for everyone :smiley:

Hm… Alhumdullilah I have pretty pretty good skin. The most I do is mix a few drops of lemon juice with my St. Ives face wash for exfoliation reasons. At night I massage a little bit of vaseline on my face for moisturizing (a tip my dermatologist gave me sine I have super dry skin and have SUPER sensitive skin). Have you gone to see a dermatologist about those small bumps hun? If they havnt gone away by now then mabey that might be a good idea. There is probably a really simple solution out there to fix this problem that a doctor will know best about. I have super sensitive skin but the bumps and redness goes away by itself in a few days by taking benadryl. One time it was really bad and the bumps were very itchy as well..so I had to get a prescription for prednisone. Took the medicine only twice and it went away instantly.

Switching to aveeno products was probably a good start. My dermatologist says its definitely the best for skin in regards to calming it. Good for people that have sensitive skin.

Best of luck with u girl about this! xoxo

Aweee no worries! Omg u r so lucky to have a little bacha around u! Bless u and your family for taking care of your nephew while his parents work! Such a luving family mashAllah… the way it should be! :smiley:

And omg… aj kal ke bache are sooooooooo smart piyari! You are going to be shocked as time goes on about how quickly he learns how to use things and etc.! My youngest bro is 9 years old and he continues to amaze all of us by how quickly he picks up on everything. It’s crazy. He sends me such cute and long text messages using my mom’s phone… but he is faster at sending them than I am!!! Plus he is the one that is constantly emailing me pictures of the family and keeping me updated on everything that is going on. I am always blown away ..and he is like omg baji…when will u realize I am not a baby??? lol.

Awee piyaari… well hopefully me and Duffy will follow in your footsteps and also put on some luv fat :smiley:

InshAllah everything will go perfectly with you moving to Lahore and the luv and pyaar you and your inlaws share will continue on forever. Ameen. It will be probably be a little bit of an adjustment for you but I think u are going to be just fine!! If my mamani could do it 15 years ago… then you definitely can! :smiley: She always me now that life has become so much easier in Lahore too in regards to the fact that one can find everything they need. There are proper supermarkets selling everything u need and what u r used too… it helps alot. Back when my mamani moved to Lahore… she couldn’t even find the feminine products she needed… and always had to have her sister mail them to her! :smack:. But its a different zamana now so u will be fine!! And as I said - the luv of your inlaws will make everything sooooooo much better and u will feel SO comfortable with your surroundings much sooner than u even realize I am sure InshAllah. :hugz:

InshAllah definitely - if I come to Lahore and u are there, we will definitely have to meet up yaar! Who knowz … koi patta naheen… by the time my time comes to go wedding shopping… u could already be living in Lahore … in that case I might drag u along with me to some shops :smiley: lol.

Yes - I am from the US… and after my shaadi I will be staying here. I am actually already living in the city where I will live after my shaadi. I mentioned earlier that I met my fiance in the city where I came for my studies. Well this is where his family from and where he works. So we are inshAllah planning on settling here after our shaadi. It’s kinda nice because I have had a few years already to become familiar with this area and have adjusted to living so far away from my parents (actually I lie… I still get very homesick at times. :frowning: )

It is very difficult to find Pakistani dress shops here hun. I have a lot of family in UK and have visited London and Manchester a few times in my life. You guys defiitely have it alot better than us over here across the pond. There are alot of Indian shops… but I live far away from any such areas where there is any desi shopping. The closest area to me is still a 4-5 hour drive. Where my parents live, its like a 8-10 hour drive. Needless to say, we usually just ask our relatives to send us clothes from Lahore. They have good choice so its never been a problem. Now a days, I just send a design of what I like to my cousin sister and she buys the kapra and gets it made for me. She is the same age as me and is absolutely amazing :smiley: I try not to do this often tho because I feel bad inconveniencing everyone…

Yay for u keeping a booklet for us :biggthumb: I cant wait to hear about your shopping experiences… Duffy’s as well!!! U guys are going to be my link to Pakistani shopping as of now!

My in-laws are getting my kapray made for my SIL’s wedding as well… I have only seen the mehndi suit so far… its a orange kameez with yellow trouser pants… very cute appropriatively festive for the occasion! For the baraat they are making 2 saris for me!! One is black and one is eggplant colored… they told me that I could pick whichever one I like best to wear. Very sweet of them! I have never worn a sari before actually so I am very excited!! :yahoo: And… nothing for Valima because there is no Valima. She is marrying an egyptian and his family all lives in egypt. In the future they will have a function there.

Awe … u r so sweet with your MIL :slight_smile: Sending presents is such a good idea! I see my MIL almost every week tho! lol. So that wouldn’t work. I do little things such as ask her if she needs help in the kitchen, help my SIL out with HER shaadi planning, etc. We are still in that getting to know each other process tho :slight_smile:

BTW: @ Duffy - hun, my reply to your last message is actually on the previous page! Lol..

Hey PR :slight_smile: Aww i sincerely make dua that all the unemployed guppies find work! ameeeeeen becuase i know how difficult it is w/out a job..actually hun i recentl completed my LLB and decided to take a year out before goingg onto further stuides ie LPC to become a solicitor or BVC (our version of the bar exam u have taken) to be honest it was because i wasnt really sure if practicisng law is something i want to do as my full time job..sounds silly i know esp after doing law :frowning: but i did law becuase its such a varied subjects with many facets to it and thought that even if i dont want to practice..i still should be able to find something! and even though im working 2 jobs that do have alink to law, theyre not exactly what you’d call perfect graduate jobs but hey..im thankful..during my LLB i studied loads of diff topics..n yeh studying family law is depressing enough never mind practicising it! neways back to happy shaadi thoughts as this IS the wedding forum :smiley:

Soo yeh, if ur wedding is going to be in another city u deffo need to start searching and picking out potential venues!! inshallah it’ll be ok :slight_smile: aww and dont feel ‘eh’ feel happy and hopeful :hugz: Aww thnks hun, i hope i manage to look as good as you did inshallah!!
Mmm hun, i like the sound of that pizza and esp the desert!! send me a slice :wink: yeh hun, thanks for the tip definitely we need to boost each others diet! aww i hope we can put on ‘love weight’ as piyari has!! bless :slight_smile: xx

**@Piyari, **thanks for the wish! Yes, whenever I feel like I need to let out my stress, I'll come on here and write, lol. Maybe that will help me understand what I need to do better and also get suggestions from all you girls.

@PunjabiRose, thanks, and MA im glad you have great skin. I honestly don't understnad what happened to mine. Well, I did go to the dermatologist and he just quickly recommended this cream, which did not work, well, he said apply it for 6 months and than come back to me. Honestly, I treid it for like a few days, but it made no difference. I didn't really like him to begin with. My skin is VERY VERY dry, I got eczema a few times on my face from the heat and my face is also very sensitve. I think i'm ganna go back to a different dermatologist and get a second opinion. Right now I can do anything to get my skin back to normal, but I'm afraid by trying too many things, I can have an opposite effect. I'm not ganna put any makeup on it for sure! Also, I wanted to ask you if your SIL found a good Video/Photographer? Let me know if you know! THANKS!!!

Lol - I think your post was towards me and not Mahismart. :wink: haha its ok for the mixup tho! My skin is woahhhhhhhhh dry too… im surprised your dermatologist didnt recommend vaseline or aquaphor to you :konfused:. These two things are definitely the least irritating and best remedies for super dry skin like ours. It may sound messy but honestly u only use the tiniest amount and it gets the job done. Go see another dermatologist… its always good to get a second opinion if u see that the first diagnoses and treatment is not working. Ask them about the vaseline/aquaphor for dry skin … he/she will guide you inshAllah. And also help you get red of these annoying bump issue.

U know… i have not even asked her about this yet. But I am going to see her this weekend and I will definitely ask her on your behalf. Her shaadi is 2 months away… I am sure she has booked something by now… or is atleast is close to booking something. I will will keep you posted.

Thanks PUNJABIROSE, lol, sorry about the mix up and I'll def ask the dermatologist about that! He recommened Cethaphil and Dove sensitive as a cleanser?! I don't know, I always used Cethaphil and it worked beautifully, but now it doesnt! Even though, I switched to Aveeno, my skin is drying up a lot, I think it's not meant for people with extremely dry skin. But thanks for the suggestions!

I blame my nephew(3), he's always around me and asking me to play with him and and let him use the computer, so my mind is always scattered, lol. Sorry again for the mix up!

Duffy - thank you so much for the detailed message about the job situation. LOL your thoughts actually exactly mirror mine. Im actually not sure if I want to practice law either… it really does have a lot of facets to it and opens alot of doors. At the moment I am open to anything my degree can get me. I’m not one of those gung ho chicks whose ready to tear down the doors to courtrooms! :cb: I took the bar exam simply as a precaution… like what if my first job requires the license?? Plus I was worried I would forget everything I learned in my 3 years of law school… :smack: Thought it would be better to get that puppy out of the way. lol.

… but BACK to shaadi talk :smiley: So I sat down today and decided to come up with a list of alllllll the things that need to be figured out for the shaadi. Woah… kinda overwhelming yikes! There were these excel prep lists floating around. I have them myself and have forwarded them to others. I am using that as my skeleton for my list… but definitely want to really expanddddd on it. I’m including things that need to be bought/planned for mehndi and baraat… i’m trying to include every little detail into these lists! I think I am going to need your girl’s help with this just to make sure nothing is left out!! And u know what??? Then mabey we can all use this list as a guide and use it as a checklist… What do u guys think??? We can complete it soon so that u girls can take it to Pakistan and inshAllah use it.

My fiance actually told me that he wants to take the reign and plan the Valima himself completely!! :smiley: He has such excellent taste that I am more than happy that he does this. He has bought me such beautiful jewelery and clothing in the past. I actually posted a few more pics from my engagement onto the engagement pic thread for a little while… the jewlery I am wearing is stuff given by him! He is super organized and a planner too… so he told me that he really wants to plan stuff so that it all goes smoothly and that we are both completely in the know about what is going on.

Duffy - what is your shaadi situation? I know u are from UK but where will u live after shaadi?

Aweeee i just read the back and forth btw u and piyaari … super cute that you have surprised your man in the past Duffy … and that now Piyaari is going to do it!! I luv it!!! Its really romantic as well. :wub: Since I live in the same city as my fiance we see each other about 2-3 times a week. You would think it would be more often than this but he works really hard and I dont want him to be out and about on weekdays. I want him to go home and relax and have some time to himself after a long days work. Weekends is when we spend time together. He lets me pick a new restaurant every week and takes me out for a proper “date” dinner on Friday nights… its become our own little tradition! Saturdays and sundays we like to spend time hanging out with our friend… or I go to his house and hang out with his family. We go to the movies… shopping. Very chill things basically. :slight_smile: xoxo

Lol - absolutely no worries at ALL about the mixup girl. I had a little laugh when I saw that actually :)

Hm... yea def ask your dermatologist about these issues. Bring up the fact that cetaphil no longer works for you and that Aveeno is still making your skin dry up alot. Try what I do - after you wash your face for the night, dab a little bit of vaseline on your fingertips and massage your face with it (pull your hair back in a loose pony tail so that it doesn't get stuck to your face. lol). Your face will def feel greasy and look like it too. But no worries... u r going to bed and no one is goin to see you. Go to sleep and after doing this for a few nights, you should see a huge improvement in the dry skin. I actually do this for my ENTIRE BODY. Yup. I literally tried like every lotion out there and was so freaking fed up with the fact that nothing was working and that my skin was itchy and dry :( Derm was the one that told me the vaseline trick.... and all my problems were solved. And its SO freaking cheap too!! I was like OMG ... i have been spending madd loot on so much crap that never worked ...and the stuff that works the best is so cheap and basic. lol.

Also another thing that really helped my dry skin issues is that I have a hot steam humidifier in my bedroom now that I leave on at night.

We live in new england girl..... unfortunately the winter weather is soooo harsh on our skin :( I hate it.

But hopefully btw the dermatologist and these tips, your issues will be resolved too.

xoxo

Yeh I thought it was really nice of them to have our outfits co ordinating..I cant wait to see them and Ill defo send you guys some pics of them..well they should be nice they have a designer working on them.:slight_smile: I spoke to my nand last night and she really is so sweet i was asking her what should I bring for her and she was like no no you already send so much stuff..and anyway just bring urself here thats a big enough gift for everybody awww sweet talker lol
Im getting abit nervous about giong now bcoz I havent been to PK for like 5-6 years now…eeeekkk what airline are you going on..? Im going on emrites..stopping off at dubai yaaay!!!