2010 brides.........

^ yes im hoping its going to be wonderful!! im really looking forward to it inshallah :slight_smile: Me n my mum were discussing colours yday..i think i would use the tradtional red theme but incorporate another contrasting colour into..we’ll see what i can find! im leaning more towards lengha than gharara..might save that for the mehndi or valima!
I think its really sweet that you’rre thinking of ur siblings, theyre lucky to have sweet elder sis!
what about you, what kinds of ideas do you have for your wedding jora? I was thinking whether id buy jeweller first and match the lengha with that or vice versa..what do you think?

Aww Piyari...kahan ho yaar i miss u!! Lol :D Are u feeling better?Aww thats so sweet, its really thoughtful when they care about the lil stuff like 'have u taken ur medicine etc'..my fiance 2b always askes me that when im ill and it always makes me feel better!! Yayy well this v-day may finally be the one where you get flowers! i hope so :) Hmm that diesigners ideas sounds really good, u shud go for it becuase ur right alteast that way you'll get some use out of the duppata afterwards..my sister got a plain red jaamavar gown made with capris and wore it with her heavy red duppata on her first eid after marriage..it looked lovely!! u shud deffo try it :) xx

Omg Piyaari… that is really cute that you have basically known your fiance your whole life :smiley: And mashAllah your MIL AND your mother seem like wonderfully nice and understanding woman to have been so easy going in you getting to know your fiance!! That is such an important element you know?? And I often get sad when I hear of other girls that have been deprived of this opportunity before shaadi.

So I went back and tried to find that reply to duffy about your mangni! I found it!!! And wowwww …Piyaari, itni jaaldi mangni hogaye… your inlaws were in luv with you .. that is what it shows me! :smiley: And you had so many functions celebrating the moment though… that is soooooo nice. :slight_smile: Tumhaari shaadi buhote dhoom dhaam se hoygi I think!!!

Thank you for the reminder about the dua! When I start shopping for shaadi joray I will definitely keep that in mind!!

We are thinking very similarly about clothing piyari! I am also thinking red for baraat and wanting it to be a lehngaa… but I want a different look for Walima. I havn’t decided what would be the most flattering on me.

Duffy & Piyaari- what would your opinion be on what is most flattering on me? I am quite a shorty (only 5’1’') and very petite … thin thin thin. Sab log mujhe kehtain hain kuch khao or jaan banao… but no matter how much I eat I can not put on the weight :bummer:. So any advice would be great!

Piyaari- I think I missed this in your earlier replies to people, but where are you moving to after shaadi??? And you are in Lahore right now right??? OMG when my time comes to go shopping, I am going to be asking you for loaadddsss of advice… because my entire khandaan lives in Lahore and that is where I will go inshAllah for my shopping! :smiley: Where in Lahore do u live?

Seems like all of us girls have similar thoughts about outfits! :smiley: Like you and piyaari, I really want a traditional red lehngaa for baraat… and havn’t decided yet for Walima. But something that is a different style than a lehngaa?? Hm… u know I always thought that I would buy the jora first and then jewelery after… but it might be better to do what u suggested??? I have no idea!

My mom and I are already talking about kapray and all of that too. Even though my shaadi date has not been set yet :bummer: My SIL is getting married in a few months so the focus is all on her right now (which is perfectly fine with me). But because of this, no talk about my shaadi date has even been mentioned. But my mangni happened so randomly and fast that my mom and I are like omg… what if same thing happens with shaadi… better to be prepared just in case and atleast start thinking about these things! I mean.. shaadi is going to happen sooner rather than later now that I am engaged! lol. But I do hope I find out my shaadi date soon girls… I am a planner and like to be organized … :slight_smile:

Duffy- I read in one of your earlier replies that you recently graduated with law degree??? Congratulations babe!!! I recently graduated and got my law degree as well! :smiley:

Thanks hun, congrats to you too! yayy we’re both law graduates!! :yahoo: dont worry about it hun, even my shaadi date has not been set..at the moment its looking more like next yr!! yeh i think the reasond id buy the jewellery first is that its easier to find cloth that matches the stones u have in the jewellery rather than the other way round..hmm i guess we’ll find out when we come to buying it! yeh deffo something different for the valeema, i guess the options are endless!! Omg PR we’re like the exact same build! lol im the same height and too skinny :frowning: like im not anorexic or anything (allah na kare) but i seem to have v fast metabolism so dont seem to put weight on..but PR in ur pix u looked perfect! u dint look too skinny at all..i definitly want to put a bit of weight on before the wedding..caz clothes hanging off is not a good look!! lol..chalo PR lets start an ‘all you can eat diet together’ :smiley: i think either way becuase im petite, my wedding clothes need to be well fit and not too busy..so u can actually see me and not just the jora!

Yay for us and the completion of our education … it’s a great feeling isn’t it? :shoaby: Are you working?? Taking time off??? Looking for a job??

You make me feel much better Duffy about my shaadi date not being set :hugz: I need to not get to hung up on the “what if’s” and just go more with the flow! If you don’t mind me asking, even though there is no shaadi date yet - what stuff have you started planning/thinking about?? (other than kapray ofcourse! :D). I was thinking about mabey starting to work on the guest list now… because regardless of if my shaadi is this year or next year… the people me and my family will want to invite is going to remain the same! Do u have any other suggestions???

OMG hahaha Duffy that is too funny that we have the same build.. AND same height!! WOhoooo… more shorties! :wink: I know EXACTLY how you feel… because I am not anorexic or anything either (allah ka shuker hai)… but my whole life I have had a high metabolism and just can’t put on ANY weight. It is strange that the clothing I wore in 6th grade still fits me.. :smack: You are SO sweet to compliment me on looking perfect in my pics!! that is WONDERFUL for me to hear… b/c it means that my sneaky ways worked. lol. By this I mean… I was wearing like 3 tank tops underneath my pishwaaz. And I made sure it was a long sleeve pishwaaz because I think my arms look too skinny!!! Shuker hai … I got engaged in the dead of winter in upstate New York where there was over a foot of snow outside …so the layers kept me warm and the long sleeves made sense! :cb: Also, the top part was kinda loose on me and there was not enough time to get it fixed… so to avoid the “clothing hanging on a hanger look” I used this gold clasp thing to make it tighter from the back! It completely was hidden by my hair and dupatta! So that worked out perfect. I think Anarkali’s are very flattering on skinny bandi’s like us… the flowyness of the bottem part is perfect to hide skinnyness and give the impression of more weight! :smiley: InshAllah I want to put on some weight before my shaadi as well. Chalo yaar… we shall start this “gain weight diet” together and be each other’s motivators!!! LOL And YES - even with our hopes and dreams of gaining more weight for the shaadi… the fitting of our clothing has to be perfecttttt. Ill fitted clothing is a thin person’s worst nightmare :bummer: … it tends to overwhelm and OVERTAKE girls like us… … i know u know what I am talking about!

Re: 2010 brides.........

Oooh you guys, it's definetlyyyy easier matching your lengha to a set rather than the other way round!! We bought my bhabis set before the lengha and literally had to search and search and search for a dress that matched, unless youre getting one made ofcourse then there is no problem at all. We went for a ready made one cause we only had about 3 weeks to get it made, finallyyyy found the perfect dress but it was literally heartbreaking cause we thought we'd have to settle for a mix match sorta dress. Last minute though, found a dress that went with the set so well mashallah!

good luck though you guys :)

and p.s 2nd year doing law, im reading your convos in such depth wondering what youre doing now that youve graduated. Sorry for being a totalllll creeper haha.

Aww your too sweet meri jaan..The last day I was constantly chking GS for your and PR replies!!! lol I was thinking that I would wear my shaadi ka jora with shalwar/pants on my first Eid too!! OMG I booked my tickets Im going on the 12th March and coming back on th 24th April Im staying for my b'day yaaaaay he was saying that if I stay for my b'day he wants to do something special!!! awwwww can't wait...lol
Tomorrow Im going to buy a copy of the asian bride magazine and get some colour combo together for my jehaz suits...eeeek cant wait....And plus my khala has come from Germany!! :)
By the way hows the packing going..? I bought some pressies today..for relatives its never ending lol...xxxxx

You are not a creeper at all Kurripunjaban (aka one of the eyemakeup QUEENS of Gupshup!!! :D)!! Thank you for the advice you offered above matching the set the clothing! It makes sense :slight_smile:

I can’t speak for Duffy as I am curiously awaiting her reply to my question as well. But I am currently unemployed. :hinna: It has been a very frustrating process to find a job in this economy. I live in America and I dunno if it is because of the state I live in… i think it is because everyone is telling me that the legal profession here was really badly hit… but there is like literally nothing out there for an entry-level attorney :frowning: I volunteer my services at a legal services center.. just so that I have something to do. InshAllah - please pray for me that I find something soon…its really upsetting that I am not able to put my hard earned education to use. (is there a “smiley” that is sobbing???). Everyone I know from my graduating class that stayed in the area are in the same boat as me… but that does not make me feel any better.

But I wish you the best of luck in your studies!! In my experience… its all downhills after first year… that was the hardest… so u r basically home free now that u r in your second year :smiley:

Re: 2010 brides.........

^ im in the same boat as u :( im a law graduate (in london) and i cannot find a job. i've been looking for ages and its so frustrating and upsetting. my friends are in the same situation too. im getting bored to death at home... anyway back to reading ur cute wedding planning stories :D

Re: 2010 brides…

Awe lipstick!!! :hugz: I HATE that we are both in this position… but it does make me feel better that this seems to be an issue that crosses oceans as well. The reason we are not getting jobs is not “us”. I guess it’s just as bad for you in London as it is for me here in Boston. Uff allah… i feel like I have been looking for ages too and I have applied for 20589034 positions (but 99% of the time I know I am underqualified for the position but still apply anyways hoping someone will take pity on me :hinna:). I am getting BORED TO DEATH at home as well…hence why I am on this forum like as if this is my job. lol.

But enjoy reading the stories!!! We shall try to keep to keep you entertained!!! :smiley:

Hey chics!!

Thought I’d write a message to all the 2010 brides to be InshaAllah!

I’ll just write some things I have ben doing to “take care of myself”. LOL, I hear these words from so many other people, that you need to start taking care of yourself and do this and that. Seriously, does anyone get to do ALL those things!? Well, the number one thing that everyone says is, yes, saath bano, and i’m like 110 lbs, which I think is perfect for me =) But people say I am too skinny, and I’m always talking about getting in shape, lol. Yes, I do want to get in shape, so I can look good for my husband. Well, I always tell people that it’s not about losing the weight, its about getting a nice shape!
Anyway, so I have started some kick boxing on my own at home and crunches and sit-ups and running up and down my two flights of stairs, lol.

What else, yeah, eat A LOT of fruits. Well, I wasnt really good at that, however, I’ve gotten really seriously with this because this past year my skin has turned on me, NEVER before has this happened, but of course it had to happen this year =) I dont know if it started off as a allergic reaction to something but its all around my poor cheek, which already stand out! Regardless, I have been making an apple and banana shake with NO sugar when I wake up, thats pretty much my breakfast. I’ll have a light lunch, and a good dinner. In between this, I once again, eat another 2-3 serving of fruit! (YEAaa) I’m proud of myself, lol. BUT, I this doesnt always happen, I just started this like 2 weeks ago. Also, I have been drinking sooo much water, that one time I had to go use the bathroom like 3 time in 10 mins, lol, maybe thats cuz it was late. BUT I need it for my skin, its overtly dry! But I have been drinking TONS of water!

Besides that, I been meaning to start doing other things like, make homemade masks, and starts apply lemon to elbow and knees, lol, for whatever good they do. Also, I wanted to start using some teeth whitening solution. However, I havent gotten to any of these things. InshaAllah I want to!

This is my last semester of school and my student teaching, starts in March, and thats when I’ll have no life! Ill be teaching from 8:30-3:30, that means I have to get to the schol at 7:30 and leave at 4:00. LOL, some people laugh at me and say thats a regular job, lol which I’m not use to. I have the best teaching job right now where I work only like 20 hrs =) I love it! mA

Well, I have like 6 months to go, and NO VIDEOGRAPHER OR PHOTOGRAPHER!!! =( I cant get that off my mind, I have been frantically looking for one for the past two week, and honestly, I dont like ANY of them. My brother-in-law who does PrinceProduction Videos told me if it comes down to it we’ll hire someone to record and he’ll do all the editing for me, which was a litle relief for me, because all the other companies have old people who are editing the wedding movies, and there are just not our styles. So, lets see what happns!

The other BIGGEST thing that I have to do is find a make-up artist. However, I do have two in mind, which I still need to go get trails for. LADIES, PLEASE makeup sure you have a few people lined up and get trails NOW, because if you wait until the end, you may not end up liking them.

I finally picked my wedding colors, which was quit HARD to do. I thought it was ganna be really easy. But my hubbi (I have my Nikkah done) he told me that he doesnt want the colors to match us AT ALL because it deferrs the attention off the bride and groom. He believes that we shouldnt blend in with anything. Which, now that I think about it a lot of people do, even though I think it’s okay, he said no, lol. So LADIES, make sure you have colors picked that and think what kind of decor will work with it.

For my centerpieces, I am doing, 24 in vases with large ball flowers, and LOTS of candles on the sides, mixed floating and tea lights. I LOVE candles so I want them to take over the hall =) But yeah, colors are VERY important, so decide them now.

Well, that’s all my brain can think about to share. I hope we all can give eachother ideas and tips, cuz I know how hard this is, especially for us who are crazy about doing everything on our own. BTW I am taking a trip Tmrw to Micheals, Christmas Tree Shop and AC Moore to see what I can find. Also, I found these 50% and 40% coupons (on reg. price items) for them, in case anyone wants to go and shop, let me know, i’ll try to post on here.

GOOD LUCK GALS! :insh:

Yeh hun, it is a greattt feeling! Im working 2 jobs at the moment!! one i had started while i was still at uni and im jst continuing that until i can find something more full time as its a part-time role and the other is a graduate placement im taking part in..but yup i feel the other guppies pain :frowning: its not the bst time to tbe graduating..job opportunities seem very limited at the moment! but inshallah girls…keep trying and something will come up!!

Aww im glad i made u feel better hun :slight_smile: jo hona hai vo hoga..just do dua that whatevr happens will be for the best and how you want it to work out..its easy to get bogged down by the lil details but just remember the bigger picture..U&Him and ur life together :slight_smile: Lol hun im thinking of everything!! but thats probably caz im exciteable :smiley: hehe but yeh thats a great idea to start with the guest list..im lucky in that the guest list will just be carried over from my brothers wedding so that should be ok..how about thinking of possible venues so that you can narrow it down to what you want and also trying to set a time frame for the wedding, i..e which season will it be in etc? that way it makes it easier when planning the different functions so you can take into account weather, time etc..bht kuch hai yaar, inshallah itll all be ok!

Haha at the 6th grade comment!! lolz, im soo glad im not the only one! Seriously u dint look too skinny in the pix, im like that thankfully i dont come out too skinny on camera! hehe the tank top trick ALWAYS works! but yeh anarkali is the way to go as u can add volume to ur figure..thats why i got an anarkali made for my engagment..hope its turned out ok havent seen it yet, my mums going to pick it up when she goes in March..ab dekho kiase bna hai..

Yup i know hun, its well fitting alll the way! sometimes if its too tight u can look even skinnier but if its too loose it jsut looks baggish..we need to strike a balance! Chalo PR how much have u eaten today?? lol the trick is to eat **often **even if u eat small amounts..lol i need to take my own advice!! haha xx

yay so thats ur first eidi sorted! lol..now all you need to do is find the wedding lengha!! ;) wohooo u got ur tickets!! Piyariii ur going a whole SEVEN days before me yaar..not fair :( hehe awww but i hope u really have an AMAZING time and you get to create lots of lovely memories with ur fiance and that you manage to find loads of beautiful pieces for ur wedding :D ameeeeen..packings going ok..ive just been shopping for little bits and bobs like toiletries etc..ooh i still need to order his psp!! aww ur khalas over so that should be fun! my mother in law 2b is one of my khalas :) is ur rishta in family hun?
xxXxx

Hey Mehreen! welcome to 2010 brides! lol..aww thanks for sharing your wonderful tips..ur decorations ideas souns gorgeous! which colours have u picked? yeh my cousin recently got married and her and her husband decided not to co-ordinate..although i have to say ive planned mine n my fiances outfits to co-ordinate :blush:

Ok this is the 3rd time that Im trying to reply to you lool something always comes up..and I have to leave the reply half way through…
Anyway Yess I do think that it is important element to get to know them before you get married and Im soo Allah blessed me woth this opputunity!!!
Yeh bohat jaldi thi mangni…but I dont think I would change it bcoz me and my fiance laugh about it now…how we both didnt know everyone was planning the mangni and we was the only ones who didnt know!!!
Well Im hoping the shaadi goes well..the rishta was in the family so everyone knows me and my fiance so well bcoz we both are so friendly..talk to anyone joking about with everyone u know..so everyone is expecting a really good enjoyable wedding!! My family n friends have such high expectations for the shaadi I just hope it turns out well and no1 gets bored u kno..
Yes defently go for something different for the Walima my friend shes getting married this year to and she is considering wear pishwas for Walima..

Im quite petite too..well sort of lol im 5"3 and size 8 and everyone says to me the same thing and im expecting even worse when I go to PK..bcoz im wrists are soo thin everyone is like ong app kitni khamzor ho…eat something…lol..I think we both have a fast metobalism..if your happy with your body then I would just leave it just make sure you eat healthy..

I live in the UK I will be moving to Lahore after shaadi InshaAllah, my In-laws live in Defence…and the rest of my family in Kent..Model Town..etc..
Of course you can ask..I have no idea at the moment I havent been there for years but when I do come back from there Ill defently keep a note of where Ive been and suits and prices and let you know!!!

I think maybe to buy the jora first…then jewelery..but I made one necklace saath lara with rubys in there gold parts (I always knew I was going to wear red so we just got that made) and Ive just ordered my churiya there plain gold with design on them no stones or anything..and then another set when I go to PK.

OMG thats what Im thinking my magni happened so fast I hope that doesnt happened for my shaadi..No1 can deceide on a date yet well first my fiances elder bro is getting married in april then mine will be decieded eeekk imjust like hurry up i need to get planning…Im like you a planner and like to be organised..well both me and my fiance are like that but our families different story looool InshaAllah I hope we find out our shaadi dates soon.

Haha yeh need to get the shaadi jora first lool..yuuup ive just booked them and paying them tomorrow eeekkk Thank you so much for your wishes that is sooo nice of you...May Allah bless you with a safe journey a beautiful time over there for the mangni and shaadi...
I really hope I get some beautiful pieces bcoz my mum wont be coming and that shes my approval of everything you know..mums always know best, have your best interest and know what suits there daughters!!! So I really want my mum to love my suits that I bring back with me!! I bet im going to be on the phone with her in the shops constantly...lol I just bought some toiletries too yday in superdrugs!!! and bought my foundation..primer..concelar and mascara,,creme..
my saas is actually my khalas daughter!! shes my cuzin lol..she was born n bought up here in the UK and i have to say that she is most caring, sweet lovable person ever!! and I really love her so much...I hope as her bahu that I can live up to her expectations and bring her happiness.. she means alot to me..:)
How do you get along with your khala/saas?? would cotton suits be appropiate for the weather over there do you think?

Look at you girls..MashAllah you guys are so organized and have so much planned already…N here I am with nothing final except for the date (17 July IA) and the venue :hayaa:
Everything else is sorta planned in my head only :woho:

You're welcome hun! aww inshallah i hope we both have an amazing time..i think ur wedding will definitely be first so ill be hounding u for all sorts of advice n tips theek hai na?? :D Aww i knw what you mean, i always take my mum's advice in everything i buy..dont worry hun inshallah she'll love everything u buy im sure..wow thats so cool abt ur mother in law and really sweet too piyari! Aww inshallah i hope ur relationship with ur mother in law reamins the same if not better..im sure ull be the best bahu she could've asked for!! :) My khala is adorable and reminds me so much of my mum..she loves me like her own daughter alhumdulillah..i remeber this one time when i was over at their house and my fiance was eating (later than evryone else as usual!!) and we were all sat together jus chatting etc..he offered me some and i was like no its ok u eat next thing i knw my khala comes striding over with a spoon and says tum b kha lo na..ik hi plate mein khanay se pyar bharta hai..so i ended up eating half his chaval! loll bless :D but yeh shes really sweet and has been though alot so i really hop i can look after her as i plan too (and her son ofcourse ;) hehe
wow which makeup did u get? n yeh hun deffo cotton..have u decided what you're going to wear there? i've got this baby pink cotton suit im thinking of wearing..im probably going to tke a mix of cotton and georgette..alongside some fancy ones for my brothers wedding and dholkis inshallah! xx

mashAllah Duffy!!! You are so lucky to be working TWO jobs!! I am happy for you :hugz: I had a job while in law school as well and had to quit so that I could properly study for the BAR exam. And when I inquired about that same position - my old boss told me that it was no longer available as she had to hire someone else to fill my spot :frowning: Oh well.

Keep me and all the other unemployed guppans in your dua’s Duffy and Piyaari and everyone else that reads this. InshAllah I hope all of us get employment soon.

Duffy - if you dont mind me asking, what area of law are you working in??? Iv worked in a couple of different areas prior to graduation… but primarily my main experience is in Divorce :bummer: Its a very sad and depressing field.

Thanks for the advice hun … u r right on about it. At the end of the day… the most and exciting thing is that me and my fiance will be starting a life together :yahoo:. Details should definitely be secondary as compared to that. Ahhhh Duffy… you are so lucky to be using your bro’s guest list… makes complete sense tho! I will keep you updated on my status on my guest list… i plan on starting to work on it tomorrow!! You know… there are just so many things actually and I dont even know where to begin! But researching venues is good idea.

Guys … there is absolutely NO venue location in my hometown :frowning: Shaadi is definitely going to have to take place out of town. Either one hour away or two hours away. Thinking about this is already making me feel eh. :bummer:

Yayy - ur getting an anarkali for your engagement as well??? I can’t wait to see your pics!!! :smiley: InshAllah it turned out perfect and YOU are going to look perfect in it! Everyone said it was really flattering on my body type… so I’m sure it will be extremely flattering on you as well.

I just made myself an individual size homemade pizza for dinner… TONS of cheese and halal salami. For dessert - warmed chocolate chip cookie with hot fudge and icrecream on top :smiley: Hopefully some calories were packed on! I think I am going to start my days by having those carnation instant breakfast things. I read today that its a great way to increase calorie intake in a healthy way and also increase iron and calcium intake (along with other nutrients). U should look into this as well Duffy!? We need to also start giving each other “gain weight” recipes and such. lol xoxo

Aweeee … .well u have what we don’t have!! The date! inshAllah all of your plans in your mind are going to materialize in real life with no problems and your Shaadi will be your dream come true :hugz: