Do you mean a half-siblings (the same father but different mothers) or step-siblings (the woman has children from her previous marriage)?
Half-siblings.
Do you mean a half-siblings (the same father but different mothers) or step-siblings (the woman has children from her previous marriage)?
Half-siblings.
thats a height of ignorance ........ to say the least
I might have to check the facts but thats what I learnt growing up
And having the same father is ok?
Having same father is fine as long as you don't share the same mother :)
Half-siblings.
okay that is sick.
nowhere in islam is it allowed to marry a sibilng, half, quarter, third, whatever!
^ so agree with you
Having same father is fine as long as you don't share the same mother :)
er no it is not okay to my knowledge thats incest and wrong
I thought cousin marriages were a last resort - religously speaking?
If the marriage is so the children dont get to marry outside the family then its wrong. My dad was telling me once that in some villages when there isnt a young man in the family for marriage, families get the girl married to the Quran. This is to keep the jaydaat/zameen/wealth within the family. It sounds wrong to me though...does it happen? Anyone ever heard of this?
Yes, to my knowledge it still happens. Scanning through some online urdu newspapers I do come across such news every few weeks or so, and these are the reported cases. And yes the reasons for such occurences are always what your dad told you. So sad but true.
Half-siblings.
I might have to check the facts but thats what I learnt growing up
not sure where you learnt what you learnt, but it makes absolutely no sense.
Sandhu…a very quick google search is all it takes…here you go:
from Incest - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
"Islam
The Quran gives specific rules regarding incest, which prohibit a man from marrying or having sexual relationships with his mother, daughter, sister, paternal or maternal aunt, niece, a woman from whom he has nursed, a woman who has nursed from the same woman as he, his mother-in-law, the daughter of his wives with whom he has consummated the marriage (though if he has not, it is allowed), the wife of his biological son [39]](Incest - Wikipedia) , or his father’s wife [40]](Incest - Wikipedia) . It is also forbidden to be married to two sisters at the same time[39]](Incest - Wikipedia). According to a Hadith by prophet Muhammad, it is also prohibited to be married to a woman and her paternal or maternal aunt at the same time [41]](Incest - Wikipedia) . The same applies for a woman with the male counterparts to the aformetioned. However, Islam allows for marriage with first cousins and beyond."
I’ve read some of your very alarming views regarding incest, education of girls, treatment of women, music…views which you seem to think are based on the Koran. They are not. Have you actually read the Koran with understanding or have you read it only phonetically? Many madrassah-type schools will have their students learn to make the correct sounds…and the Mullah (sorry if thats the wrong word for Teacher) the Mullah provides his own translation. Learn for yourself the true religion of Islaam…because in Islaam, ignorance is an unforgiveable sin. Here is another link regarding some of your views on women which includes Koraanic references:
Re: 1st cousins gettin married!!
^ just wanted to say your doing a good job as Mod of this forum.
wow, thank you kindly Orphy...you brought sunshine to my day :)
Where? Care to post a link? As per Islamic point of view, it is 100% okay to marry cousins or even children of your father's other wife or wives. Like, 4 wives thing, this is looked down by many ignorant ppl, but there's nothing wrong with it. Absolutely fine.
You provide a proof of what you said in bold. Plain and simple wrong.
(Oh I just read posts after that. You have been bombarded already. :ASA:)
It is called Ahsan (better) to marry outside family to expand family in Islam.
i feel that it proves fruitful only if u have good families and good cousions only then, you should avail this opportunity as you know a lot abt them right from the childhood. u would have a bent of mind to deal with the relationship as u r well aware of dealing the other person and his family basing on their likes and dislikes.
Marrying ur 1st cousin is like u marrying ur own brother/sister! Seriously how can one think of marying their own cousin and that too 1st cousin?
^ Seriously, grow up. ![]()
^^^ Huh? How can u allow cousins to get married that too 1st cousins? I dont get it!
if you spent a good part of your life in pakistan then i bet you would think it was just fine and dandy to marry your nasuk si pyari si kahla ki beti who is 5 years younger to you and you l ive cose to each other andhave good understanding.
Cousin marriages are accepted and allowed. On my dad's side of the family, they primarily marry within cousins. They proposed the same idea for me but I was not looking for marriage at the time so said no. On my mother's side there are also a few cousin marriages.
Like I said, its not encourage but definitely allowed.
Are you Pakistani or not? ![]()
to bhai mere what about my phupo's kiddo's?, aren't they my second cousins?!?.
sigh... yaar this whole family web thing is too complicated for dumbasses like me! :p.
Your phupo's kiddo's are your first cousins, as are your chacha's, taiya's and mamu's kids
Ofcourse i am a pakistani! But seriously this idea of gettin married to ur cousin! i cant digest it! ![]()