what are u views on first cousins gettin married???
would u encourage your child/ren to get married to their cousin??
what are u views on first cousins gettin married???
Re: 1st cousins gettin married!!
Well, from islamic point of view it is allowed. I know many cousins who are happily married and have healthy children. However, through the years, we have seen more and more children that have genetic disorders out of cousin-cousin marriages. Not to say that this cannot happen in non-cousin marriages, but the incidence is greater in intercousin marriages.
Keeping that in mind, and also the fact that my daughters don't have any cousin brothers in their age group, it will not be happening for us.
I didn’t know that first cousin marriages are actually bannned in most states.
This subject has come up many times in the past here. Generally, 1st cousin marriages are widely accepted in Islaamic countries and frowned upon in western countries. But it really is no one's business and not something you need to advertise if you are married to a cousin and living in the west, kwim?
Anyway, recent studies have shown that there is really not much more of a risk of genetic maladies when 1st cousins marry. The risk is something like 2 or 3 percent (as oppopsed to 1 percent for unrelated marriage). BUT the more inter-marriage that has taken place within the family, the greater the risk. If you look at the Askinazi Jews, they are a small community of people who have been inter-marrying for many, many generations and are the most infertile people on the planet with such risk of genetic troubles that a healthy birth is the exception rather than the rule. This is quite an extreme example but if your family has alot of inter-marriages, you may want to seek the advice of a genetic counsellor.
They will go through the family history in great detail and provide you with a full report on risk percentages for most known genetic maladies. That is, if this is a concern.
ps no, i would PROBABLY not seek a cousin marriage for my boys. Reason being that there was alot of intermarriage and my eldest is on the autism spectrum which may (or may NOT) be related to that.
Religion aside, for some people the idea is pretty repulsive because they grew up with their cousins just like how they would with their brothers and sisters. The morning radio station I listen to has this segment of weird things you've done, and quite often they get callers saying they hooked up with their cousins, and they would talk about it the same way as they would for incest.
This society will also frown upon people who are virgin for a long time even if they are unmarried.
Should we dictate our lives how these people see things as?
First cousin marriage is allowed and there is NOTHING wrong.
Muslims should Get over with it. It's a NON-ISSUE to begin with.
I am totally against cousin marriages.
I don't like the idea, personally.
what are u views on first cousins gettin married?????????
hai hai...second cousins marr gaye hain kya jo first cousins mein shadi kar rahay hain log?
I don't like the idea, personally.
Agreed.
^ This society will also frown upon people who are virgin for a long time even if they are unmarried.
Tu me ney kab farmaya hai key we should let them dictate our lives based on them? There are also people in this world who are ok with marrying their sibliings, I guess for them its a non-issue as well.
I personally dont like cousin marriages, but have no issues if someone wants to go for it or not, live and let live!
^ This society will also frown upon people who are virgin for a long time even if they are unmarried.
!! agreed
Acceptable, though certainly not encouraged. So if first cousins want to marry, that's great. But it shouldn't be the first path chosen.
i don’t oppose cousin marriages as they are islamically allowed but sadly, almost every couple my family knows of, who are cousins and married, have children who are not normal in one way or the other. it’s really sad to see their kids be this way.
shay, i am personally opposed to this as a standard practice because it gets abused, in many different ways. people want to keep property and wealth within the khandan and biradri so ppl keep inter marrying many times against their will, even in UK there is an issue with this.
second issue, its more complex..in general ppl seem to be more in your business.
third it can get even more complex if your nand is married to your brothers sala type of thing, when things get ugly..they get ugly.
fourth if the person is a good catch and has several interested parties, u invariably piss off the parties who were not pursued.
lastly- ppl get stuck under expectations that they will marry within the khandaan and it is annoying as hell.
^^^ due to all above reasons my parents disliked inter-family / cousin marriage from the very begining and me & my sibs were really happy @ their POV , hence i'm certain i'll do the same with my kids but that doesn't mean i'm against it ,cuzz islamically it's allowed.............. but having seen the complexities & headaches that comes with gave me shudders
it suppose to tottaly normal but personaly we grew up thinking all my cousin are just like my brothers,we use to play together n stuff i rather be dead then married to those morons
Right on. Even in my husband's mom's side of the family, they are all so close bonded and therefore a few were married to the cousins, but alot of those marriages failed and now there's that awkwardness between the families.
shay, i am personally opposed to this as a standard practice because it gets abused, in many different ways. people want to keep property and wealth within the khandan and biradri so ppl keep inter marrying many times against their will, even in UK there is an issue with this.
second issue, its more complex..in general ppl seem to be more in your business.
third it can get even more complex if your nand is married to your brothers sala type of thing, when things get ugly..they get ugly.
fourth if the person is a good catch and has several interested parties, u invariably piss off the parties who were not pursued.
lastly- ppl get stuck under expectations that they will marry within the khandaan and it is annoying as hell.
I have seen many cousin marriages with MashAllah absolutely normal healthy children... :)
It's really what you like, personal preference..... rest is in ALLAH's hands.
^ Same here.
Still, I feel that it's not something that should be the priority. If it happens, it's fine. But people should look beyond first cousins when introducing potential spouses.