1971 Rapes: Bangladesh Cannot Hide History

Re: 1971 Rapes: Bangladesh Cannot Hide History

There's another point of view that these 'stranded Pakistanis (Biharis in reality)' would sooner or later move to Karachi even if they were settled in Punjab as most non Punjabi immigrants had made the province their base.

.. ..correct me If I am wrong ... I think around 60,000 plus of them were civilians .... Perhaps this was mentioned in the Famous Sharmila Bose 's article ..

....one of her argument against the exaggerated amount of atrocities was , how could a mere 30-35,000 thinly spread all over East Pakistan , fighting not only India , but also Mukhti Bahini Insurgency .... commit a crime at such a large scale... !!

“The fact is that the total strength of the Pakistan army troops posted in East Pakistan as of December 16, 1971, was only about 34,000. With the addition of Rangers, scouts, militia and civil police, the total strength of personnel deployed to defend East Pakistan was only 45,000.”

“…55,000 of these PoWs were civilians from West Pakistan…”

Javed Jabbar correcting the narrative …

Pakistani PoWs: correct figure - DAWN.COM

I was also going to mention that the 3 main leaders (characters) involved in this bloody saga - Bhutto, Mujib, and Indira - all met violent and unnatural ends, including several of their children/family members.

Government or state ?

And build a memorial for all who perished from both wings of the country without distinction, next to the Pakistan memorial in Islamabad.

That would go a long way in healing the wounds.

As they so righly say: Karma is a bich.

They all got what they deserved.

Anyone can downplay all he/she wants, the fact remains.

Pakistani army fought this war halfheartedly and placed itself on the wrong foot by acting harshly against its own people.

34000? OK.

So what?

Pakistan army never allowed Bengali people to be equal shareholders in Armed forces and used tactics as weight limit as pre-requisite to enter Pakistani army.

Discrimination against Bengalis was very obvious.

No wonder they had not many Bengalis defending Pakistani positions and be loyal to the country. Duh!

There used to be a joke such as a Bengali trying to be recruited by Pakistani army having heavy stones in his pocket when weighed.

Interesting fact: In 1971, while Pakistan was busy oppressing, raping, and killing Bengalis/Bangladeshis during the Bangladeshi Liberation war, Canada gave asylum to thousands of persecuted Bengalis. No doubt a commendable gesture of generosity on the part of the Canadian government and people.

Yeah, that could've happened as well.

I think those non-Bengalis were ultimately better off in Bangladesh than they would've been in Pakistan. How much worse can a refugee camp in BD be than an impoverished village in Sindh (or Balochistan) or the many slums that dot Karachi, which might have become the abode of those people? Initially the refugee camps in Bangladesh were managed by the Red Cross, supported by Western countries, so those camps perhaps weren't all that bad after all. And those people went on to have kids so even if they were poor and stateless and confined to designated places, it was not like they were living in and enduring the brutalities of some concentration camp.

Besides, the Supreme Court of BD has ruled that those born after 1971 are eligible for voting rights and Bangladeshi citizenship, so I'm sure those people and their subsequent generations will have better life opportunities in BD than they would've in Pak. Bangladesh already beats Pakistan on most socio-economic indicators. Its economy has been growing at an average rate of 5-6% for the last two decades. Unlike Pak, BD doesn't cultivate "strategic assets" or punch above its weight so it faces no risk of becoming a global pariah. And although, in a somewhat worrying development, of late obstructionists there too are paralyzing parts of the country with strikes and "protests" with increasing frequency, Bangladesh remains a vibrant country where female leaders still head the two major parties, alternatively becoming Prime Minsters, and where girls in all parts of the country go to schools without facing threats or harassment or worse.

Of course, as is usually the case with developing countries, there's still a lot of poverty in Bangladesh but it has come a long way since its independence and it faces a much better future outlook than Pak. And as it continues to grow economically and develop, the lives of all of its people will improve.

.... the point is simple ..... lets not exegerate thing , lets call a spade a spade...

it was Victor Mentality from the beginning ....from 47 onward.

from 47-58 we had as many as 8-9 PMs ... 5-6 of them were Bengalis , ... the Parity deception ...
... When Urdu was enforced ...Baba'e'Urdu said ... all Local Languages ... Including Bengali were " Un-Islamic " . [Read Tahir Mehdi for reference ] , forgetting Tagore a Bengali was the recipiant of Nobel Prize in literature Bengali ]

... Jinnah forced URDU on every one , .....and we downplay this FACT...

.... Bhutto's famous speech in which he called all Bengalis " Swine " can easily be found of youtube ... albeit you may have to use proxy ...for youtube is banned in Paqkistan ]

.... Generel Niazi is on Record to say .... i will change their ethnicity ....

....Tikka also said ... its the land we are after....

...then there was AgarTala conspiracy ...involving Mujeeb ..

... so ...it was Victor mentality at play from the beginning .............but lets not Exaggerate things.......... this is my simple argument....

... Bangladeshi historians are doing the same ...... we did in 47 onward ... ie construct a national narrative based on half-truths , distortions , misquotes , selective narrations ...and Absolute lies....in the words of K K Aziz on the murder of History ....

...and we trying to be politically correct , ignore these things and start bashing our own ....

.. Like I said ... all cry hoarse over the attrocites of Pakistan Army ...which technically was there to defend Pakistan in spite of insurgency and outside conspiracies .... no one talks about the attrocities commited by Mukhti Bahini ... let me tell you ... my father was there in 71 , we lived at Mohammed Pur .... Noor Jehan Street ... before March 71 ..all hell broke loose .... Mukhti Bahinis started abducting non-bengalis... slaughtering them .... in selective houses....and hanging them like slaughtered goats upside down .....with heads severed ... outside those houses .... Period..... so wasn't Army Action justified in such a situation... ??

I will not argue about the figures, how much these baghairat threw their arms before an Indian army general and handed over East Pakistan to India. They should have died there rather surrendering greater part of the country what Quaid-e-Azam gave to the nation. They were all war criminals and responsible for genocide and rape. They should have been punished according to their crimes.

Bhutto was hanged in a false murder case by those he did a great favor to these war criminals. Hence his murder can not be compared with other two who were killed violently though killed due to different reasons. Parties of both leaders are still ruling India and Bangladesh.

Bhutto made a blunder by bringing 95000 war criminals back to country. They should have been tried and hanged. His other mistake was not disbanding the remaining army and sending all of these bhaigarat to home.

oar parhta ja aor mazeed sharmata ja. in beghairton ko jahnum raseed hona tha. They got scott free of their crimes and after 42 years people like you blaming others the sins of these b@st@rds.

Genetic engineering’ in East Pakistan

Pakistan’s name has been blackened by just one man: General AAK ‘Tiger’ Niazi. According to a new book by Oxford University Press, he is supposed to have pronounced the words that even Genghis Khan would have hesitated to use: that he would let loose his soldiers on the women of East Pakistan till the lineage/ethnicity of the Bengali race was changed.

The account has come from a true son of Pakistan, late Major-General (retd) Khadim Hussain Raja in his recently published book A Stranger in My Own Country: East Pakistan, 1969-1971 (OUP, 2012). The book is posthumously published probably because it was a hot potato in the times it was actually written. He was General Officer Commanding 14 Division in East Pakistan.

General Ayub Khan, whose decade of rule caused the jurisprudence of separatism to evolve, gets the treatment he deserved through the testimony of another not-too-civilised general named Gul Hassan:

“Gul Hassan openly criticised Field Marshal Ayub Khan’s sons who, according to him, were letting their father down by amassing wealth by unfair means. Gul Hassan blurted out that ‘I have told the old cock that this time we will impose Martial Law and take control ourselves but not protect Ayub and his henchmen’. The reference [old cock] was to General Yahya Khan, Commander-in-Chief of the Pakistan Army” (p.8).

**General Yahya Khan, who took over from Ayub was not what the doctor would have ordered for East Pakistan. The only leadership criterion was brutality riding on low IQ. The exception was General Yaqub Khan, the commander who insisted that General Yahya not postpone the session of the National Assembly elected after the 1970 election.
**The author writes: “All of a sudden, General Yaqub Khan was bundled off as a student on the Imperial Defence College course. This clumsy and unceremonious action was obviously taken to get him out of the way” (p.7).
Commander East Pakistan, General Tikka Khan, disagreed with Raja that Sheikh Mujibur Rahman be secretly despatched to West Pakistan. He wanted to “publicly try Sheikh Mujib in Dhaka and hang him” (p.93).

Major-General Rahim Khan was the other officer Pakistan can’t be proud of: “Rahim started to criticise the senior commanders in Dhaka, especially me, although I happened to be a friend of his. He was of the opinion that the Bengalis were timid people and should have been subdued long ago. The reader can judge for himself the ignorance and lack of understanding of the East Pakistan situation among the hawks in the armed forces” (p.97). Rahim ran away from East Pakistan when things became too hot.

We come to the climax: “[Enter] Commander East Pakistan General Niazi, wearing a pistol holster on his web belt. Niazi became abusive and started raving. Breaking into Urdu, he said: Main iss haramzadi qaum ki nasal badal doon ga. Yeh mujhe kiya samajhtey hain. He threatened that he would let his soldiers loose on their womenfolk. There was pin drop silence at these remarks. The next morning, we were given the sad news. A Bengali officer Major Mushtaq went into a bathroom at the Command Headquarters and shot himself in the head” (p.98).

Niazi also asked Raja for phone numbers of his Bengali girlfriends: “Abhi tau mujhey Bengali girlfriends kay phone number day do” (p.99). Niazi surrendered to Indian General JFR Jacob in 1971. ‘Tiger’ Niazi handed over his personal pistol at the famous Race Course ceremony. Jacob examined the weapon: the lanyard was greasy and frayed, and the pistol was full of muck as if it hadn’t been cleaned in a long while. (Surrender at Dacca: Birth of a Nation; by Lt. Gen JFR Jacob; Manohar Publishers 1997).

Published in The Express Tribune, July 8th, 2012.

If Bengalis are distorting 'facts' you propose, Political Pakistan should also do the same?

If Mukti Bahinis committed crimes, you want to justify Army's action of treating its own people the same way?

Urdu was implemented to keep the unity among people and it did. Some Bengalis might have had some bad feelings about it but it was not a strong enough factor which led to division of the country and later resentments against Pakistan to date.

Inn manhosoon ko apnay kartotoon key saza mili :cobra: leekin inn ka asaib abhi bhi peecha nahin chor raha hay, I am just copying a small part of a writer’s story upon the chances of Bilwal Bhutto as PM of Pakistan :slight_smile:

*Agar kuch lugon ke marney ke baad bhi, unkey aamal ka asar (unke mojooda warisoon ke zariey), aagey aney wali nasloon pe parr sakta hai, aur phir “wo waris” public ko lead bhi karna chahate hain head of the state ban kar, aur unsey millions ka mustaqbil bhi mutassir hota hai - **tu phir un barron ke barey mein, agar wo mar bhi chukey hain, tu unki khamioon aur burayoon ki na sirf baat bhi karni chahiey, bulkey zaroorat parey tu uneh qabar se nikal kar post-martem bhi karna chahiey *– eik bar phir forever dafan karne ke liey! Aur ye kam mein apni workshop mein buhat achi tarha anjam dey reha hoon…”

If some people’s acts, even after their death (through their heirs) can affect the coming generations, and these heirs also want to lead the public by becoming the head of state in future, and it can affect the future of millions – then about those elders, even if they’re dead, not only there should be the open talk revealing their acts but if the need arises, they should be taken out from their graveyards for the autopsy – once again to bury them forever! And this work, I am performing in my workshop with precision…

Hmm, mukhti bani was responsible for rape cases in bangladash.. Our army was thr to protect people. Muslims always lose war to their own muslims, what happend in bangladash. PAKISTAN ZINDABAD.

..and where did i proposed to do the same...?? ...
we are already victim of that distortion , that was spun doctored in 51 onward ... I propose to re-evaluate history .... and the twisted ,distorted national narrative of yore... should be corrected , objectively and unbiasedly

... yes Army did committed crimes .... and Hamood ur Reham Report says a number of High Army officials should have been court martial ed .... but the feeling i am getting is .... every one is condoning , kinda justifying the Mukhti Bahni's atrocities ....and that is unacceptable ....it were the Mukhti Bahinis who started it .... and a lot of it happened after the Fall too ...lets correct history ....don't exaggerate things....

and about URDU ... LOL ... it was one of the basis on which Bengalis based all of their grievances and movements ....for them their thousands of years identity was at stake ....and they being more politically conscious people resisted it tooth and nail.., they were the first to resist the Cultural Colonization , Sindhis woke up later after the 71 debacle and Sindhi Zulfiqar Ali bhutto restored Sindhi to its proper place when he made Sindhi the offical language of Sindh .... unfortunately the majority province , still trapped in THAT national narrative has not understood and is a willing victim of Cultural Colonization abandoning their Punjabi for this alien language ..... . go read history , proper history .... not the one that is written by Our Authors ... they have already murdered history . .....

Also, didn't Yahya Khan meet an ignominious end ?
What happened to him ? He was also one of the main culprits.

You can ignore the truth at post #53 and tow the line of deception and lies to satisfy your false pride. Read again my post #53 and read what an army officer said in his book "Stranger in My Own Country". This is first time an army officer has said truth after 42 years of this tragedy. We can cook many stories and blame others but the truth remain the same till dooms day.

Read what one general who was administrator then said. And it is a fact he said that.

We come to the climax: “[Enter] Commander East Pakistan General Niazi, wearing a pistol holster on his web belt. Niazi became abusive and started raving. **Breaking into Urdu, he said: Main iss haramzadi qaum ki nasal badal doon ga. Yeh mujhe kiya samajhtey hain. He threatened that he would let his soldiers loose on their womenfolk. There was pin drop silence at these remarks. The next morning, we were given the sad news. A Bengali officer Major Mushtaq went into a bathroom at the Command Headquarters and shot himself in the head” (p.98).**

Didn't I say that all those who were really responsible were left scot-free, including this drunkard, genera Gul Hassan, arrogant dictator. All these war criminas should have been hanged then you could have said karma is a b!tch. What happened in East Pakistan was mishandling the situation by army and dictator sitting in Islamabad. Bhutto paid the price for not sending them to hell, he himself became victim of those war criminals, who he brought them home.

Provide proof otherwise restrict yourself to GupShup Cafe or Joke section. This forum is not your cup of tea.

Wah wah sada alfaaz main kia baat kar di, jo baray baray so called parhay likhay nah kar sakay :lajawab:

Pakistan Zindabad :jhanda:

Mairay Bhai, you can find Great Leader Bhutto speech on you tube where he said loudly that bnagali are ‘Soor kay bachay’ … iss ka koi jawab naheen hay PPP kay andhay pairo karoon kay pass :cb:

Aab PPP ko itni hamdardi hay to baby bhutto ko bangal ja kar aik aik bangali say maafi mangain chahiye :wink: