Zindagi...kia socha tha...aur abb...

:salam:

after reading Rani Pakistani’s post today in the morning in this forum, i’ve been in self reflection/nostalgia mode the whole day today…n so now u guys have to suffer coz i decided to write my mental ramblings here :smiley:

its so weird…when we are little we have these thoughts in our mind that we wana do this when we grow up and our life is gona be like this…but when u look back u realise how differently many things have turned out…and sometimes things are positive…but somethings are scary and unexpected…and you realise there’s no point planning the future or really building castles in the air coz who knows what the future will bring…? is it wise to say i’m gona be happy if or i wish this this this happens? no its not coz that might not ever happen, u shud say, ‘im gona be happy no matter what’ jus b grateful to be alive…coz life in itself is a blessing

everyone has their own dreams…my biggest dream since i was a lil girl was always to be surrounded by a really big family of my loved ones…like those happy families they show in movies and dramas with no problems and everyone loves each other and solves each others problems…theres always ppl who care abt u n there to share ur laughter and ur tears…

and now…lol…when i look at that…i think…i must be living in some indian movie…ive always been told by my friends that i like to live in the land of indian movies…real life is not like that…and its true…

when i cant even come up to my own expectations because of personal shortcomings and faults…im not always a good person, i dont always even fulfil my duties or come up to the expectations of those who have a right to expect from me…jab mein apnay aap ki takk to ho nai saki…then i dont have a right to expect anything from life or anyone else for that matter…

i never thought i’d go to the usa for undergrad…i never thought i’d be in the profession i am…i never thought i’d be doing a full time office job…i never thought i’d be planning to go back abroad again…ever drive a car by myself even…not to mention ever be part of a messageboard and be writing such posts there for that matter..

lekin … the currents of circumstances and situations are so strong…they sweep you off your feet into directions you may have never imagined..directions that are far away from what you want…and you have no choice but to adapt and go along in life…because thats the only option…and life just…goes on..day by day…

alhamdulillah tho…
:slight_smile:

:wsalam:

You know what, I was thinking the same thing last night. I was thinking how interesting life can be sometimes and it’s a good thing we don’t know what’s gonna happen in the future because if we did, we’ll spend all the time worrying about what to do about the upcoming events in our lives.

I was born in a small village, never knew I would grow up in a city.
I grew up in a city, never knew I wouldn’t enjoy my college life here.
I moved to US and wanted to be a doctor, never know I would end up doing an MBA.
I had not seen one computer in Pakistan, never knew I would ever be this good at computers.
I was a very shareef bacha in Pakistan, never knew so many girls will come in my life.
I was willing to do an arranged marriage, never knew I would end up not liking arranged marriages.
I used to ride a bicycle in Pakistan, never knew I would be an expert in driving a car.
I used to not like pant shirt, never knew I would start not liking shalwar kameez.
I used to speak Punjabi or Urdu, never knew I would feel comfortable speaking english.
I had always thought of working after I finished my studies, never knew I would be a working student.

And there are A LOT OF other things that came up unexpected but everything happens for good, I am thankful to Allah and glad for what has been written in my fate.

My life is boring and predictible :bummer:

predictability is good many times yaar…u know what u r gona get…u can plan towards it peacefully…and there is stability…like…its better to be a rock on the ground than a feather in the air… :slight_smile:

Shikra bro thanks for this detailed reply, was a nice read :-)

lemi reply to some of your points...

You know what, I was thinking the same thing last night. I was thinking how interesting life can be sometimes and it's a good thing we don't know what's gonna happen in the future because if we did, we'll spend all the time worrying about what to do about the upcoming events in our lives.

lekin atleast there's no unsurity...unsurity can be so scary...and we worry abt the future anyway, even if we dont know whats gona happen...or atleast i do...but then again i am a worry wart so maybe its jus me ... hmmm

good for u... :-) u shud always be proud of ur strong cultural roots mashallah...im sure no matter what, nothing will erase that from ur identity and outlook in life...

I grew up in a city, never knew I wouldn't enjoy my college life here.

hmm...why do u say u dont enjoy ur college life? i know i think that too sometimes when i look at the college life my friends spent in pak..the halla gulla...lekin i think college life in the us is also very very good..and gives us a great experience...plus kuch panay k lyay kuch khona parta hae innit...and many ppl would give anything to be in your position of being in the us.. :-)

I moved to US and wanted to be a doctor, never know I would end up doing an MBA.

me too i always thought id study medicine...engineer k naam se mujhay chirh thee, k nerds machinon k saath kaam karnay walay...and guess what i am now haha .. an engineer! lekin khayr hae :-)

im sure MBA willl also turn out to be good for u inshallah

I had not seen one computer in Pakistan, never knew I would ever be this good at computers.

hehehehehhe :-)
reminds me of myself when i came to usa and i went to my prof and told him i dont know anything abt computers and he was like dont worry we'll teach u...
khair i am not good at computers now either :-p

I was a very shareef bacha in Pakistan, never knew so many girls will come in my life.

:-)
i was a very shareef kurri too...im not as shareef as i was before and i feel sad abt that...but i still think i am shareef...i think :S and i hope inshallah that never changes aameen sum aameen
i am sure u r shareef too...bas apni flirt kkarnay wali harkatein chor do :-p

I was willing to do an arranged marriage, never knew I would end up not liking arranged marriages.

hmmmm y?

khair, i dono abt myself...what i think abt this issue...being a paki girl its not easy to say "i dont believe in arranged marriages" coz i am not ready either to mix freely with guys which one shud if they want to have a non-arranged marriage...so part of me does and part of me doesnt want an arranged marriage...and i just think, jo ho ga dekha jayay ga, Allah behtri karay ga...aameen :-)

I used to ride a bicycle in Pakistan, never knew I would be an expert in driving a car.

:-) i learnt how to drive a bicycle at age 16! my dad taught me..coz in the i was gona go to, they said u shud know how to ride a bike to get around on campus..
ab i drive a car boht darr darr k !! :-D inshallah i hope wen i get more practice mera darr khatam ho jayay

I used to not like pant shirt, never knew I would start not liking shalwar kameez.

heyy come on now, baaki sab theek tha, lekin is baat se mujhay aiteraz hae..sahi hae, pant shirt bhee theek hae, lekin u must not dislike shalwaar kameez :-)

I used to speak Punjabi or Urdu, never knew I would feel comfortable speaking english.

well u still speak fluent punjabi and urdu mashallah..i dont think thats gona change...and yeah i also had no idea i would ever be so comfy with angrayzee..!!

I had always thought of working after I finished my studies, never knew I would be a working student.

:-) me too! aur ab grad school k doraan pata nai kon se papar belne parein ge muj kko!!

And there are A LOT OF other things that came up unexpected but everything happens for good, I am thankful to Allah and glad for what has been written in my fate.

mashallah..thats the right attitude :-)

aww irem baji hugzz

that was such a nice post :slight_smile:
ummm…yeah…ur rite…life DOES take unexpected turns sometimes…par i think thats wat makes it fun naa…
if u can jus live wese hi jese u used to live in ur dreamz half ur life…than theres no change…nothing interesting…nothing new…
n life is all about changes…haina? …

for me…umm..as of yet…koee AESI cheez nahi howi jo keh mein SOCH bhi nahi sakti thi…like i was born in karachi…i was very young…like 4…when all of us went to england…so i like started skool there n stuff…we stayed there for umm…aik do saal…
after that we came back to pakistan…
parrr for me…going BAHIR was never like…omg…i never imagined id go to canada…
when i was 10 we moved here…n ab waheen pe hoon…even after 7 years :slight_smile:
par i think keh zindagi mein badliyan aane ka waqt AB aaya hai…when i’m ready to step into the real word…(after graduating from HS) …
i dunno WAT will happen next…
i DO want to becum a doctor…par kya pata…mein lawyer bun jaoon..engineer bun jaoon…i mean…hum jo bhi chaahte rehein…hona to wahi hai jo kismat mein likha hai…yeah we CAN pray keh watever happens happen for good…par usse zyada humaara control nahi zindagi pe…

if u alwayz wanted to be a doctor…n u didnt becum one…to us mein afsos wali baat nahi…u only have control over SOME parts or things in ur life…baaqi sub to…bus khud hi ho jaata hai…hehe…

now i’m going all over the place n i dunno wat the heck i’m talkin about :bummer:

kher…point being…thats the FUN part of life…changes! …
i personally never liked changes…par now umm…i have a kinda different attitude…
i love n want adventure…i wanna go outtt n see wats there in this world for me…i wanna experience somthing totally different…
not that i DONT like my present life…Alhumdullilah its great i love it…n i’m NOT bored of it…par i guess its jus my nature…i wanna experience like…everything…
sometimes i dream of like…going back to pakistan to sum village…n have a BIG house…n the poora khandan would live there together…lol…jus like u said…(dang…we share so many similarities) …n i would run after murghiyan n go to a koo`aan to get paani n jus be a village girl…
n some times i wish i could go alone to study somewhere..like…umreeka mein kaheen…n experience THAT life…
i dunno thats jus me…dil kerta hai sub tarah ki zindagi dekhon…

par thats a different thing :halo: …

so…changes r good…
abhi teen chaar maheene pehle aap poochteen to id be like i HATE changes…
par now…Alhumdullilah…i’ve becum a lil mature n i’ll accept watever life has to give me khushi khushi…
even if i do becum like an engineer…mein samjhoon gi chalo…jo hota hai ache ke liye hota hai…haan dil mein aik woh to rehe ga keh zindagi bhar doctor banna chaha…par its ok :smiley: …u can sit there n laugh at it later…n we can remember how we used to think when we were kids…n how we never expected this to happen etc…

hehhe…its all good :slight_smile:

hugzz

:slight_smile: thanks for the reply sweetu u said so many nice and positive things in your post :slight_smile: thats definitely the right way to think and the right attitude to have mashallah… Allah khush rakhay tum ko and may ur sweet and innocent dreams come true :slight_smile: jhappi

Let me see if I can reply in 12 minutes or not :smooth:

Shikra bro thanks for this detailed reply, was a nice read :slight_smile:

You are welcome

lemi reply to some of your points…

You know what, I was thinking the same thing last night. I was thinking how interesting life can be sometimes and it’s a good thing we don’t know what’s gonna happen in the future because if we did, we’ll spend all the time worrying about what to do about the upcoming events in our lives.

lekin atleast there’s no unsurity…unsurity can be so scary…and we worry abt the future anyway, even if we dont know whats gona happen…or atleast i do…but then again i am a worry wart so maybe its jus me … hmmm

Well, you are right too. I am the type of a person who plans ahead. I know what I will be doing exactly one week from now, one month from now and so on, but in addition to our plans, we have to add this one word: Inshallah. That’s because no matter how well we plan, whether we know what’s coming or not, it may change with Allah’s wish aur hamari saari planning par paani phir jaye.

good for u… :slight_smile: u shud always be proud of ur strong cultural roots mashallah…im sure no matter what, nothing will erase that from ur identity and outlook in life…

Yes, I am very proud of that. I have something that a lot of people lack and wish to have it. I’ve seen village life, I used to go there every year for summer vacation and I know a lot of people who really wish to go to a village once and I am very lucky that I was born there and lived there for a while.

I grew up in a city, never knew I wouldn’t enjoy my college life here.

hmm…why do u say u dont enjoy ur college life? i know i think that too sometimes when i look at the college life my friends spent in pak..the halla gulla…lekin i think college life in the us is also very very good..and gives us a great experience…plus kuch panay k lyay kuch khona parta hae innit…and many ppl would give anything to be in your position of being in the us.. :slight_smile:

Well, I enjoy my university life here as well, but it’s not the same. I had my friends in Pakistan and I had to leave them behind when I moved here. Now this is my country, this is my life, this is where I have to live, and this is where I have to die.

me too i always thought id study medicine…engineer k naam se mujhay chirh thee, k nerds machinon k saath kaam karnay walay…and guess what i am now haha .. an engineer! lekin khayr hae :slight_smile:

im sure MBA willl also turn out to be good for u inshallah

Thanks for wishing me and I hope you succeed in your grad school as well :slight_smile:

hehehehehhe :slight_smile:
reminds me of myself when i came to usa and i went to my prof and told him i dont know anything abt computers and he was like dont worry we’ll teach u…
khair i am not good at computers now either :-p

I am not saying that I am an expert hacker or anything, but guzaara ho raha hai. Aap ab nakhrey kar rahi hain, engineering ki degree ley lee aur abhi takk not good at them? :hoonh:

i was a very shareef kurri too…im not as shareef as i was before and i feel sad abt that…but i still think i am shareef…i think :S and i hope inshallah that never changes aameen sum aameen
i am sure u r shareef too…bas apni flirt kkarnay wali harkatein chor do :-p

Well, I don’t believe in apni tareef aap. I am not saying that are doing it :-p but…I am calling myself not so shareef in a sense because now I openly talk to girls, although this is for homework reasons or any other reasons, but I guess that’s ok in today’s world :-s

hmmmm y?

khair, i dono abt myself…what i think abt this issue…being a paki girl its not easy to say “i dont believe in arranged marriages” coz i am not ready either to mix freely with guys which one shud if they want to have a non-arranged marriage…so part of me does and part of me doesnt want an arranged marriage…and i just think, jo ho ga dekha jayay ga, Allah behtri karay ga…aameen :slight_smile:

Well that’s because I guess I am becoming more liberal day by day. I’ve been here for 7+ years and still have about 2-3 years before I get married. I guess by looking at the culture here and how you have to “spend time” with your future wife, I guess it would feel weird if my parents chose my cousin from Pakistan that I haven’t spoken to in 10 years. :-s That’s why, I would prefer that I marry someone I like and know a little bit about. Although sometimes it takes you the whole life to know a person and you still don’t know about that person :-s

:slight_smile: i learnt how to drive a bicycle at age 16! my dad taught me..coz in the i was gona go to, they said u shud know how to ride a bike to get around on campus..
ab i drive a car boht darr darr k !! :smiley: inshallah i hope wen i get more practice mera darr khatam ho jayay

OH GOD! Pakistan ki traffic!!!

heyy come on now, baaki sab theek tha, lekin is baat se mujhay aiteraz hae..sahi hae, pant shirt bhee theek hae, lekin u must not dislike shalwaar kameez :slight_smile:

Well, I think I used a very strong word. I don’t hate shalwar kameez, but I just prefer pant shirt now. I do wear shalwar kameez sometimes for jumma’s prayer, eid, and other occasions such as International Night etc. but I feel more comfortable in American clothes now. I guess people change and their preferences change as I was told in the other thread of mine :-p

well u still speak fluent punjabi and urdu mashallah..i dont think thats gona change…and yeah i also had no idea i would ever be so comfy with angrayzee..!!

That’s right, I don’t think I’ll ever forget to speak/read/write Urdu or Punjabi and I would teach my kids urdu as well because you never know when they’ll need it.

:slight_smile: me too! aur ab grad school k doraan pata nai kon se papar belne parein ge muj kko!!

All the best :k:

mashallah..thats the right attitude :slight_smile:

Allah wahi karey jo hamari qismat mein behtar hai, Aameen.

p.s. Mission accomplished, took me EXACTLY 12 minutes to finish this :jhanda:

:-)

awww thankyou :hug:
lotsa duaayein for u as well :hug:

:blush:

I can predict my future :eek: …ok maybe not :hehe:

but nice thread Irem :k: . I do think about how life will turn out in the future because we all know every day bring something new to us whether it is good or not. I did notice that life back in pakistan was more predictable for me since I could relate my self to my elder cousins and family members. I had their advice and any decisions i wanted to take, they were big help so i guess i never actually thought about my future but just let everything come in my way. However, as i move through life here, being apart from that lifestyle, I do reflect back on my past a lot more and yes, most things are completely turned out to be very different than what i had in mind. I still have so many ideas and future plans but since life is uncertain, I am not so worried if i will ever get to do them. In the end, as you wrote in your thread, your plans and ideas are all strongly related to the present situations in life.
some times we are so depended on the present that we find it impossible to take that next step and make our idea or dream become true.

although i m getting late for the office i would like to participate here.

interesting thoughts indeed.

as for me i never thought of being anything than to be a Doctor or join military services, as both profession were/are in our family n that too to excellence.

and i ended being a Geologist, petroleum geologist to be precized and Explorationist to be spot on.

but u know what i LOVE what i m n wat i have studied, it give u a feeling of being different for routine mba's or stuff like that.

also i never thougth of going to road side hotel for past two months and eat there. but i m ..... this has added more value of ghar ka khana in my eyes.

this is life all about n i think one must enjoy every phase whatever comes to him.

ENJOY

yaar Irem, I keep thinking about this stuff all the time too..you now at times we feel we're like a lighter than air paper bag thats being thrown around here to there by the wind of destiny and we have no say of our own. actually thats how it is, in tyhe larger scheme of things we mortals have close to say of our own, but the way we humans are we dont come to terms with that and never realize...
a lot of things in my life have been going totally off track...whatever that means, i mean off track as i might think they are, but maybe they are on track, maybe i'll realize that say many yrs later, if i live many yrs late that is...and maybe i wont realize ever in my lifetime that the thinbgs that ahppen in my life are for the best, maybe my next generation will...if there i s one...at this stage in life for me things are soo damn confusing and i'm totally out of my wits it seems.
at times i feel everything i want never gets done, but then one has to have faith in Allah and believe all will be for the best...but, how can a mortal being be so smart?
there are particular thongas that we all want, we all dramof, e all idealize...from the time that we gain senses, and there comes a time when it starts getting clear to you thast those drams would remain dreams...for some reason, that we may or may not understand but have to accept...
life has been made so complcated by us humans...we pay so little attn to things that matter...everyone and everythings is capitalistic...
what good is this life? when we go down the grave, what do we take with us? perhaps just the satisfaction of a complete fruitful and satisfied life? and throughout life we reimain in confusion about what a fruitful life is...
we remain confused about priorities.
careers and choices pertaining to it make life miserable too. ppl wnat smthng, they are expected to do another, they are built or made to do another, are required to be smthng else...so confusing.
i wanted to be nothing but a soldier, i never thought of myself doing anything other tahn being a military officer, in the field, or flying planes...the grim reality of life shoved me up a different alley.
nothing is simple these days, i have no idea when i'll actually get to settle in life, everything is unpredictable, and thats distressing.
we as humans dont have the right to be sure of the next second, life is in Allah's control, yet we keep thinking about yrs and yrs ahead and plan little or care little about the present and its importance...
i'm not sure if i'm making any sense anymore, i could keep going with the thoughts in my head right now and keep writing...but i'll stop for now i guess...

Haris exactly my thoughts :S

a lot of things in my life have been going totally off track…

i feel the same way, and as u said, right now is also a crucial time for me and very confusing in many ways, so many decisions, so many choices, which i’ll have to stick with for the rest of my life, yet, its all soo confusing :mudhosh: bas Allah hi Maalik hae

as for ur being a military officer…i dont think its a big loss that u r not..coz u know military officer is cool and all…but their bachon kee and family life kaafi disturbed rehti hae..i have friends whose dads r or were in the armed forces and one disadvtg is that they always have to keep shifting aur the kids r never able to settle properly in one place, make friends waghera…so thats a disadvtg…khayr,wish u all the best for whatever profession u choose inshallah…

ophiolites…

Geologist, petroleum geologist to be precized and Explorationist to be spot on.

wow that sounds really cool to be honest…sounds like a lot of fun..and atleast its not a lazy job, but its an active job where u can have so many cool experiences

faisaljawed, jus wish u the best of luck :slight_smile:
and believe me, as u grow up, even life in pakistan is not so predictable…yahan par bhee boht confusions haen!!

Ranu hugz

faizy bhai :slight_smile:

Shikra some nice thoughts expressed there..thanks for the good wishes and all the best to u as well inshallah

Such a poignant topic. Some people here have claimed that dreams bring predictability and thus boredom, whereas others bemoan the loss of their dreams. My father always says that the only constant thing in life is change. It's harder to accept when that comes along.

It's not easy letting go of dreams, especially if you've worked towards them and nurtured them for so long. It's not easy facing the uncertainity which gapes open at you. When the path you were following suddenly disappears, and there are no markers around, where does one turn?

It is said that choice is a luxury. I dont believe so. Having too many options open is just as bad as having none. Both leave you paralyzed.

The header for this topic is so poignantly ...a wrapup of anything I want to say abhi.

Key kya socha tha..aur ab..kya ho ga?

Wow.

I guess my life has always been more predictable. The way that my life has gone could pretty much have been prediected since I was about 7 years old....

yeah Irem, true, Allah hi maalik hai...
and ure right baout the negatives of a military life, its now been a long time since i actually got into my profession that i am in; finance and accountancy, still studying, but at times i guess it gets you thinking, agar wo kia hota jo asal main karna chahta tha..kaash..like you often talk baout not having taken up medicine and thinkin about it. but i guess in reality our choices do eventually lead us to what has been written, we may have passions and we can keep associated wiht them through other means, and hope that whatever choices we make bring the best and bring out intentions and hopes come true. inshaAllah all will be for good for all of us.
but i keep thinking about the diff between free will and submission to destiny...the outcomes etc...this philosophy seesm to have no answers. we can chose but we cant decide, we can start but cant complete without consent from whats been written in out fate...so is there a point worying about it? can we just go sit under a tree like budha and devote ourselves to Allah istead of wasting life worrying about life, cause after all this world is just an illusion...but then again islam forbids shunning the world..oh yaar! what is this? so much confusion :)

*Originally posted by mAd_ScIeNtIsT: *
Wow.

I guess my life has always been more predictable. The way that my life has gone could pretty much have been prediected since I was about 7 years old....

MS,
good, but how did you come to deserve this honor? and in your opinion has it been good or bad? and what made ur life predictable? just luck or was it cause of you, out of your efforts etc?

Demesne

It’s not easy letting go of dreams, especially if you’ve worked towards them and nurtured them for so long. It’s not easy facing the uncertainity which gapes open at you. When the path you were following suddenly disappears, and there are no markers around, where does one turn? <<<

so painfully true :bummer: sigh

mad scientist hmmm that cant be 100% true :stuck_out_tongue: maybe u just view things differently tho…

Harris

but i keep thinking about the diff between free will and submission to destiny…the outcomes etc…this philosophy seesm to have no answers. we can chose but we cant decide, we can start but cant complete without consent from whats been written in out fate…so is there a point worying about it? can we just go sit under a tree like budha and devote ourselves to Allah istead of wasting life worrying about life, cause after all this world is just an illusion…but then again islam forbids shunning the world..oh yaar! what is this? so much confusion <<<

this is an excellent point!! i mean, lets say u have a dream, and u want to fulfil it, now till what extent r we going to struggle to fulfil it, which limits are we going to cross…and in the end, can we really say Allah did not will it to happen or that we did not try hard enough?

Demesne,
so true..so true…:k: