the greatest loss in life is not death but what dies within us when we live. - unknown
yes, it is tempting to thrive in melancholia but your dreams deserve more.
if everything we strived for dropped into our hands, if life was as simple as press this button for your dream, that simpler world where hard work always paid off where dreams always became true, automatically, mechanically, that simpler world would just be so inadequate for who we are. because theres no challenge in predictability, no triumph without adversity.
there is no copybook that tells you how to live to achieve your dreams, you have to find your own way if you want it enough. and there is a reason for that. because no matter who you are, how hard you try, there are some dreams that will evade you, even if you pour everything you can into it. the triumph lies not in achieving every dream every time, but in not giving up, in relentlessly pressing on, reassessing your situation yes, but keeping on working towards that dream if you wanted it for so long.
i can tell you from the few dreams that i have achieved in my life, that the one thing that most hampered my chances of getting there was my giving up.
yup Irem,
exactly, do we really have the free will or is just a ‘dhoka’ anillusion that we do. we think we have the power and infact we dont. then why has Allah put us in this confusion. if there is a dividing line between whats in our hands and whats not, then why isnt it defined and visisble…? why are we put in a state of miserable confusion…? under an illusion of being able to achieve we might put in our best and still not win…and then we may think oh Allah didnt want it to happen. but why did we believe in the first place that we might be able to do it…? if Allah willed it to happen wouldnt he or couldnt he have given it to one without any effort of his her own…?
*Originally posted by ravage: *
the greatest loss in life is not death but what dies within us when we live. - unknown
yes, it is tempting to thrive in melancholia but your dreams deserve more.
if everything we strived for dropped into our hands, if life was as simple as press this button for your dream, that simpler world where hard work always paid off where dreams always became true, automatically, mechanically, that simpler world would just be so inadequate for who we are. because theres no challenge in predictability, no triumph without adversity.
there is no copybook that tells you how to live to achieve your dreams, you have to find your own way if you want it enough. and there is a reason for that. because no matter who you are, how hard you try, there are some dreams that will evade you, even if you pour everything you can into it. the triumph lies not in achieving every dream every time, but in not giving up, in relentlessly pressing on, reassessing your situation yes, but keeping on working towards that dream if you wanted it for so long.
i can tell you from the few dreams that i have achieved in my life, that the one thing that most hampered my chances of getting there was my giving up.
hmm ravage, yes,
but what does giving up really mean? does giving up mean leaving it to Allah, submitting to his Will, or losing confidence, hope or faith in self ability...? but what does self ability and hope mean when everything is at Allah's will...?
do we have to bother ourselves with hope s and dreams or is the Budha lifestyle the ultimate Nirvana man can achieve? but Islam forbids that too...
hmm ravage, yes,
but what does giving up really mean? does giving up mean leaving it to Allah, submitting to his Will, or losing confidence, hope or faith in self ability...? but what does self ability and hope mean when everything is at Allah's will...?
do we have to bother ourselves with hope s and dreams or is the Budha lifestyle the ultimate Nirvana man can achieve? but Islam forbids that too...
we will never know the will of Allah, and in the absence of that knowledge can only hope that through striving on and on we may make His Will what we wish to achieve in life.
achieving Nirvana may be what Allah wills for you. Waking up from Nirvana one day and realising that your dreams actually mean something also might be what He has in store for you.
Honour? I never really thought of it that way.
And there is no such thing as luck, there is just the will of Allah
Anyway, what made it predictable was that I basically fitted into the precident laid down by men in my family for decades.
In every generation back over 100 years, my family were city dwellers where the men were almost always sent off to study at universities, both in Pakistan and in the West, so it was pretty likely that I’d live in a city and I’d study at university.
In my parents generation within their immediate family, most men with degrees (including my father) joined multinational companies, so it was pretty likely that I’d be expected to do the same.
The my family settled and raised me outside Pakistan in the West, so it was likely that I would grow up and mature in and have all my formulative experiences in, and thus be more comfortable in, and thus regard as home, the West.
Obviously, it didn’t just all randomly happen, but throughout my life there was always the expectation that I’d march down a similar path to my dad and uncles, and I did.
Even computers, my dad continually had to tell me off for being obsessed with his computer right from when I was 4/5 years old and that obsession with computers continued to today too…
MS lol u made urself sound like a robot there :D but im sure there r many small things that happenned in ur life which do fit into "unpredictable" for example...can u right now predict who u'll get married to or how big of a family u'll have? nai na :p so that could be something unpredictable...?
Ashi glad u enjoyed the thread :-)
ravage i lost ur train of thought in ur reply to Haris there...explain again?
as for >> no triumph without adversity. <<
dil ko behlanay k lyay ye khayal acha hae... maybe?
im willing to give up feeling triumphant if i get the things i want anyday :D
ophiolites hmm good luck with watever was keeping u up hope it gets solved soon!
Haris im facing the same confusion u have sketched in this thread..
oh NO Irem. Its directly the opposite. Life can be as unpredictable as you want it to be.
Everything you've done until now has been in your power. In your decisions. You may think you're being influenced, but the fact of the matter is that you let yourself be influenced.
Jo kuch chahiye - its all in your hands. And in the power of your mind. So make your dreams a reality, so you dont look back and sing about all that you were meant to be.
*Originally posted by PyariCgudia: *
oh NO Irem. Its directly the opposite. Life can be as unpredictable as you want it to be.
Everything you've done until now has been in your power. In your decisions. You may think you're being influenced, but the fact of the matter is that you let yourself be influenced.
Jo kuch chahiye - its all in your hands. And in the power of your mind. So make your dreams a reality, so you dont look back and sing about all that you were meant to be.
Jee lo abhi. Patha nahi kab phir mauka milayga.
hmmm PCG...i guess i'll repeat what i said to ravage...
dil ko behlaanay k lyay PCG, ye khayal acha hae... :-)
some things r simply not in our control....and the hardest part is accepting that...but one's got no choice...thats why they say patience is a virtue.. :-)
I was a very shareef bacha in Pakistan, never knew so many girls will come in my life.
:-)
i was a very shareef kurri too...im not as shareef as i was before and i feel sad abt that...but i still think i am shareef...i think :S and i hope inshallah that never changes aameen sum aameen
i am sure u r shareef too...bas apni flirt kkarnay wali harkatein chor do :-p
I was in a hurry and forgot to answer this one and here's my honest reply now.
You know when a girl talks to a guy in a friendly manner and the guy thinks she's flirting or she likes him, that's guys khush fehmi, right? But when a guy talks to a girl in a friendly/jokingly manner and the girl thinks either he likes her or he's flirting, then that's the guy's fault as well?
I admit that I am VERY friendly to girls and I joke around a lot, but that's not flirting. Flirting, as I've said this so many times on GS, is when you seriously talk to more than one girl at the same time and those girls don't know about each other, yes, then that's flirting. But joking around or talking in a friendly manner is not flirting in my opinion. It may be called flirting in your opinion or anyone else's opinion, and I can't change that.
In real life, because I was friendly with all the girls at my university, a few of them thought I have started liking them and they stepped up and told me they like me too and I was like Excuse me? what :-s. Then I had to step back because now THEY were in khush fehmi that just because I am friendly with them, that means I like them.
So I guess "Hansi to phansi" does not apply to just guys, it applies both ways?
Men give so much love to women (mothers, wives, daughers) and they still bash them and tell them to leave this world, if they really did, how would they increase the population
*Originally posted by irem: *
can u right now predict who u'll get married to or how big of a family u'll have? nai na :p so that could be something unpredictable...?
Who I'll get married to:
60% chance a girl in Karachi
30% chance a girl in whichever country I'm in at the time
8% chance a girl in Bahrain
2% chance miscelleneous
Family size:
2, maximum 3 kids inshallah :)
You can always make predictions and then try to live up to them :D
MS hmmmm so u mean to say u r 100% decided abt all this?
to be honest, i was 100% decided on some things in my life. going against those rules would have tantamounted to unimaginable rebellion to everything in life i held sacred.
yet...
today...
i'm thinking on opposite lines... and i feel OK about it weirdly enough... i should say alhamdulillah
i thought that regarding those things id NEVER EVER change...but weirdly enough i HAVE! :S
such is life :-) circumstances, situations, people can change you :-)
*Originally posted by fatalist: *
itna socha na karain
abhee tak toh pakistan mien sochna free hae, aglay budget k anay tak kuch kaha nai ja sakta :D is lyay jitna dil kerta hae sochti hoon :D tum bhee dabaa k socho sunehri moqa hae :D