ZEBA....the QUEEN of Pak-Modern Cinema-60s-70's-80's

WHO can forget ZEBA !

She was the Asha Parekh, Waheeda Rahman, Nanda and Saadhna of Pakistan…indeed she was.

She was introduced into films by FAZAL AHMED KARIM FAZLI the Indian Civil Service poet and Government Servant of 50’s…when post retirement he ventured to make a movie on Pakistan movement of late 40’s… titled;
“CHIRAGH JALTA RAHA” in karachi. The movie was released in Nishat Cinema , Karachi in 1961. The movie failed but that movie and Fazli Saheb gave Pakistan some big and famous movie stars like; ZEBA, MUHAMMAD ALI, DEEBA and KAMAL IRANI…who all made their debut in “CJR”.

Not disgruntled with the failure of “CJR” Fazli Saheb came up with yet another movie within a short passage of time–titled “AISA BHI HOTA HAI” where Zeba paired with Kamal..and that movie shot ZEBA to stardom..! and then there was no looking back for ZEBA…that she speeded like a rocket and became a rhyme and reason for success after success of many a movies with heros like; Kamal, Waheed Murad, Darpan and finally Muhammad Ali.

She got married to Ali in probably–1969 on the sets of “TUM MILE PYAR MILA” and right after their marraige–they produced a superhit movie “AAG” under the banner of ALIZEB PRODUCTIONS…followed by yet another hit “JAISE JAANTE NAHIN”.

The best she ever paired on silver screen…in her career was with WAHEED MURAD and it looked like they were made for each other! for the screen… but in real life it was the “GENTLEMEN” from Rampur—that she chose…MUHAMMAD ALI.

I have met Zeba a year or so back…and expressed my keen desire to her that she must make a come back to showbiz via mini screen now. Back then..at lahore..she was quite firm that its THE END for her…and despite my persistence she stood firm on her decision.

A week or so back–I made another attempt..this time by phone to pursue her yet again–and this time she expressed her willingness with certain conditionalities–to act in private production.

I have discussed her possibility of being casted by Zulfiqar shaikh at Glasgow and since I am separate on paths with Humayun Saeed, I discussed the probability with Sultana Siddiqui of HUM and Jerjees of ARY and I reckon it will not be too far that you’ll see ZEBA in some powerful character role like Deeba (Sarkar sahab and Moorath)…but ZEBA would be a bit more glamorous—that she still commands a certain attractiveness and geity…on her face that can never be forgotten by those who have watched her B&W classics of 60’s and 70’s.

I also thought it better to request ZEBA to break some barriers and extend her voice message/interview for GS..which she agreed..hence before my departure for europe by 17 Dec…I’ll post the link of her voice interview for the listening pleasure of those GS members–to whom she may matter!

Best,

Raju Jamil

Re: ZEBA....the QUEEN of Pak-Modern Cinema-60s-70's-80's

I don't think Zeba needs to be compared to any bollywood or hollywood actresses.. infact none of our celebrities do.. they have their own status and their own identity.. I don't know why we need to compare them to other actresses giving bollywood and hollywood so much unnecessary importance. Zeba is no Asha or Sadhna or whoever, just like Reema is no Aishwarya or Angelina or whoever else she gets compared to.

Zeba I feel is in a different league of her own. She's a woman of beauty, talent and lots and lots of charisma. She's a wonderful actress who won everyone's heart and continues to do so even at this age. She is the evergreen celebrity who people respect and will always do. She and Muhammad Ali were one of the best couples of the industry, if not the best.. goodlooking and dignified.

Well, Zeba was legendary and as pointed out she is really beyond comparison. Back then, they used to make movies which were fairly reflective of the times then, now they've regressed to mind-numbing (dumbing?) puke-inducing mujra fests which are beyond the taste of anyone. We probably still have many people in Pak who can match Zeba only if they start making the movies that people will watch.

^You're right. Reema is another good and well poised actress who can prove herself big IF given good roles that Shabnam, Zeba and the rest had in the old times.

IMHO Reema can "fake" class and you can tell that she's not naturally endowed with the grace and sophistication that Zeba had

^Yeah, obviously because you can see her old movies and it's quite apparent there. However, I do find it commendable the way she has worked on herself which NONE of the others have. For a change, I can listen to her talk without cringing at 'Im better, Im gonna beat all my rivals in India, Im this and Im that' sort of comments and I can watch her without being disgusted at the way most of our celebrities dress up.

^^ Yep that's true and she's also directed a half decent film which raked in big bucks at the BO

zeba to this date remains the most elegant and beautiful leading lady of indo-pak cinema.