Zardari got egg on face: Government accepts CJ’s recommendations for SC.

Zardari got browbeaten again & had to swallow humble pie.

DAWN.COM | Pakistan | Government accepts judiciary?s recommendations

Government accepts judiciary’s recommendations       

Wednesday, 17 Feb, 2010
http://www.dawn.com/styles/default/beta/images/fontsize_small.jpg http://www.dawn.com/styles/default/beta/images/fontsize_large.jpg

http://www.dawn.com/styles/default/beta/images/fontsize.jpg

[http://www.dawn.com/styles/default/beta/images/print.jpg](javascript:void(0)) [http://www.dawn.com/styles/default/beta/images/email.jpg](javascript:void(0)) http://www.dawn.com/styles/default/beta/images/share.jpg http://b.static.ak.fbcdn.net/images/share/facebook_share_icon.gif?8:26981

http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect/9c031e004171cf1e8d4cef1509d5e2b5/pm-cj_app680.jpg?MOD=AJPERES

Prime Minister Yousuf Raza Gilani and Chief Justice Iftikhar Mohammad Chaudhry. — APP Photo

**ISLAMABAD: Prime Minister Yousuf Raza Gilani said on Wednesday that his government has accepted the recommendations of the Chief Justice Iftikhar Mohammad Chaudhry. **

Gilani told reporters after a meeting with the chief justice that Justice Saqib Nisar has been elevated as a judge of the Supreme Court, while Justice Khwaja Sharif will remain the chief justice of the Lahore High Court, as per CJ Chaudhry’s recommendations.
Justice Khalil ur Rehman Ramday had been appointed to the Supreme Court, he said.
“The decisions that we took today are part of a consultation process, which requires meaningful and result-oriented discussion for the appointments as part of the constitutional requirement,” Gilani told reporters.
Chief Justice Iftikhar Mohammad Chaudhry met with Prime Minister Yousuf Raza Gilani at the latter’s official residence to resolve the points of contention existing between the executive and the judiciary.
Earlier, on Tuesday evening, Prime Minister Gilani paid a surprise visit to a dinner being hosted by the Chief Justice in honour of Justice Khalilur Rehman Ramday.
The Prime Minister and the Chief Justice exchanged pleasantries.
Prime Minister Gilani informed Chief Justice Iftikhar that he had some ‘good news’ that he would soon share with the nation.
The executive recently came under heavy criticism for elevating Justice Khwaja Sharif to the Supreme Court without consulting Chief Justice Iftikhar.
Justice Khwaja Sharif was the sitting Chief Justice of the Lahore High Court and was to be replaced by Justice Saqib Nisar.
However, both judges refused to accept their new postings, as they had yet to receive Chief Justice Iftikhar Chaudhry’s seal of approval. — DawnNews/AFP

Re: Zardari got egg on face: Government accepts CJ’s recommendations for SC.

To me Zardari, is checking and analyzing the extent to which SC, HC and awam can go. He just had a good answer.

The guy needs to fade away in background, and let mild mannered Gilani handle things. He is not cut out to be politician & so far he lost every fight. And, not just that, he has not credibility with people, and he seems be damaging his party's future prospects as a political force.

This is the difference between democracy and dictatorship :jhanda:

^^^ lol sure why not. All the PPP people, including you, were against this until yesterday only to find out that CJ wasn't backing down and Zaradri called Gilani to help him get out of hole he keeps putting himself in. Thats why PM dashed to CJ place for uninvited dinner, and was told do as you're told, and don't question.

BTW, whats with picture of BB everywhere these people go? Zadrai was at UN few months back he had her picture on podium when giving speech. Do these people understand that they look ridiculous? How long are they going to milk her death for political benefits?

I never stated my opinion on this particular judges issue, so I don't know where you come up with your comments from.

Anyways your points are irrelevant, I was comparing what happens in a democracy to what happens in a dictatorship, and my point stands, no matter if it is PML-N, or PPP in govt.

Btw, if you think Zardari and Gilani haven't planned this whole thing together, you are very naive

It just shows how strongly they feel about their own political position :)

successful politics is based on "give and take". So zardari gave, and CJ took. Let's see if CJ returns a favor, or behaves as kanjoos.

excuse me :konfused:

Zardari is like “'screw me everyone” and CJ is like " yeah I want you screwed"

^^ OK. Bhai.

if your view Paks as "Screwers", then its OK. Just remember you are part of the same nation.

Nothing happened wrong. Do you think some thing happened this time ?
Yes. It was positive for both sides.
There is some discussion now started.
Discussion is good for the both sides and for Pakistan.

Yeah right! Zardari ki phatt kar haath me agayi is more like it! Positive :hehe:

Wonderful
well said, sir
Great, I appreciate your comments.
Wait for the time for others whom you like.
It will be a good chance to enjoy, Ohh I am sorry
This may be happened to them earlier by their Fauji bosses.

I was thinking the same thing .... and all I could think was poor Jinnah. He's been replaced by Benazir.

Yup...totally agreed!!

Zardari believes in the famous principle of the old American West.
Keep your enemies close and your guns even closer!

Just imagine, if BB became alive (by some miracle), what hashar would she do of Zardari?

Zardari will get such a chitrol with high heeled jootas, that as per Iqbal----

Tumhari dastan tak na hogi daastano main.

A good news for Pakistani politics and people . Hopefully judiciary will keep on growing in strength and emerge as a pillar of democracy .

Good work by PM.

Anything Zardari does creates problems. PM comes in saves the day.

good point.

these ppl who can’t stop themselves from dumping on a democratic govt will miss it when the FA-fail generals come back wagging their tails.

^ But then even some of these FA-fail generals appear to have more intellect than some of the elected jokers like Dasti, Aashiq Awan, Wasi Zafar, Jahangir Badar, Rehman Malik, Fazlur Rahman's brother - the list is endless - and the worst of them all Raja Riaz Halwai (btw yeh kya namoona hai?)

Besides times have changed. You may join Kakul etc. after clearing FA but then you have to pass different courses at various stages of your training. These days every senior army officer is a graduate of either National Defence College, Command and Staff College Quetta or equivalent, otherwise you won't progress up thru the ranks. COAS Kiyani and CJCSC Tariq Majid both have a masters in war studies. Most of your generals these days can express themselves better than your average politcian.... period

DG ISPR Major General Athar Abbas for instance looks far more intelligent and samajhdar than your average politician

I am also against military rule but it is also a fact that the vast majority of our politicians (read crooks) are illiterate, incompetent and extremely corrupt