Zardari confers Hilal-i-Pakistan on Joseph Biden.

Mashallah. This is very good news, and well deserved. God Bless the continued US/Pakistan friendship and the support provided by Great USA.

Should Hilal-i-Pakistan be conferred on other US leaders?

Pakistan News Service - PakTribune
Zardari confers Hilal-i-Pakistan on Biden**

**ISLAMABAD: President Asif Ali Zardari on Friday conferred the Hilal-i-Pakistan on US Vice-President-elect Joseph Biden in recognition of his services for Pakistan. **

As a senator, Biden co-sponsored the landmark Biden-Kerry-Lugar legislation for expanding the socio-economic assistance of $15 billion ($1.5 billion annually), including non-military aid, over the next five fiscal years besides advocating an additional $7.5 billion over the subsequent five years.

The ceremony was attended by Prime Minister Syed Yousuf Raza Gilani, Minister for Foreign Affairs Shah Mahmood Qureshi, US Ambassador to Pakistan Anne W Patterson and Pakistan’s Ambassador to the US Husain Haqqani at the President House here.

The citation noted that Biden had been awarded for his “consistent support for democracy and socio-economic development in Pakistan and for his outstanding contribution to the strengthening of US-Pakistan relations.”

Biden’s great support for democracy and the rule of law was acknowledged by the Pakistan government, as he worked for strengthening Pakistan’s democratic institutions and enthusiastically supported its socio-economic development.

First Armitage (Hilal-i-Quaid-e-Azam) and now Biden (Hilal-i-Pakistan). Zardari if he was really so itching to honour his beneficiaries in some way, he could have conferred on them sitara or something lower than Hilal. Hilal should be reserved for people (like Mandela) who have made a real difference in this world or done something truly outstanding

khushamad aur chamchageeri kee bhi ek hud hoti hai. Lagta hai ab in tamghon kee koi value hee nahin rahi

Re: Zardari confers Hilal-i-Pakistan on Joseph Biden.

So what?? It's not that they recieved Benazir award which is on TOP these days.

I also think Sitara-e-Jurrat should be awarded to PM gillani for firing Durrani.

^^ :hehe:

Since when does a slave give his master an award

What award did they give Richard Boucher?

PM Gillani today told the reason for giving Biden this award
''He played a great role in removing Musharaf's uniform''

Ppl, I think it was a great move. Like you see the pressure coming from all over the world that is actually initiated from India after these bombing attacks. Specially the diplomatic pressure from India to cut down Pakistan from all corners. Its a very good move to award the elected-VP USA like this. It will help avert some of the pressure on present Govt.
Can you just get an idea how fired India will be after watching all this? Its not even letting Srilanka team tour Pak and on the other side not only elect-VP tours Pakistan but also get one of the chief national award. I dont see anything wrong here from Pak's point of view.

It's like yai ladoo bantt raha hai.

When are they announcing Benazir Bhutto Award, I am anxiously waiting for that list.

lol.... well I think sitara-e-jurat should go to bush...

Bas chalta tau Nishan-e-Haider bhi de daitay..... zaban dukh gayee hai, jootay chaat chaat ke.

By Tahir Hasan Khan

KARACHI: Prime Minister Syed Yousuf Raza Gilani, while justifying conferring of the Hilal-e-Quaid-i-Azam award on US Vice President-elect Joe Biden, said on Monday the US leader had played a key role in the restoration of democracy in the country.

He accredited Biden for forcing General Pervez Musharraf to doff his uniform. ìIt was not the political parties, but the pressure from the US and Biden that forced Musharraf to remove his uniform,î he claimed, terming the US president-elect a pro-Pakistan.

Gilani was talking to journalists after the launching ceremony of the first small tanker-cum-utility ship, built at the Karachi Shipyard and Engineering Works (KSEW). He said Pakistanís strategy to drive a wedge between the loyal tribesmen and militants suffered because of the US drone attacks. The PM said his government was successfully following a policy to isolate the militants last year but the drone attacks proved counterproductive.

He dispelled the impression that the US was allowed to carry out drone attacks in the tribal areas. He said he was expecting a change in policy after the new US administration lands in the White House. ìPakistan is a sovereign country and permission for such attacks cannot be given. We are also seeking support of other countries against these attacks,” he said, adding: ìWe are a strong nation and know how to defend our country.”

Gilani said his government had hardly completed eight months in office and miracles should not be expected during this short period as the country was faced with gigantic challenges. About the meeting of his adviser Rehman Malik with Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) chief Altaf Hussain in London, the PM said the MQM was an ally of the Pakistan Peopleís Party (PPP), describing the meeting as a routine matter. He claimed the MQM would soon join the federal cabinet.

To a question about the decision of the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) to join the lawyers’ movement, he said it was an internal matter of the party and the PPP had no objection to it. However, he claimed that his party had rendered more sacrifices for the restoration of judiciary than any other party. ìAfter the imposition of emergency, Benazir Bhutto decided to launch a movement and she led the movement in Lahore. I was also arrested there and was detained at my house, which was declared a sub-jail,” he explained. He termed Zulfikar Ali Bhuttoís execution judicial murder and called for re-opening of his case.

He clarified that the government was not opposed to the local government system and only wanted to make it more effective with the consultation of the coalition partners. The PM also vowed to ensure that Pakistan would become the leading shipbuilding country in the region. Sindh Governor Dr Ishrat-ul-Ebad, Chief Minister Syed Qaim Ali Shah, Chief of Naval Staff Admiral Noman Bashir and others were also present on the occasion.

Biden, US pressure forced Musharraf to doff uniform: Gilani

^^ So it means liars movement & tabla group dance has nothing to do with Musharraf uniform... Agey Agey Dekhiyaa kiya kiya nizara hota hia !

^ Unles you take everything that Gillani says as the impeccable truth, which includes his distraught and disgust for Musharraf. Agey kya hona hai, Musharrafs a washed out old foggie now, and Biden got his award.

Gilani has better personality & respect then Zardari in my eyes and as elected PM of Pakistan i will take his words.Musharraf is gone to live a beautiful retire life in Sicily or in the heaven like region of bordeaux...

Ifti is not restored, lairs are gone back to their bribe-taking business & PML-N is enjoying the government.... TaieN TaieN Fish..

Cycle with continue after some years !...

Good then repeat after me, the words that Gillani (who was illegally house arrested by uncle Mush)

Last I heard he was cooking inside the sun room of the Army House :hehe: to chickened to go out on his own without security or protocols.

So, more drivel, Ifti etc did their jobs very well, they stuck it up to the dictator. We all know what the people of Pakistan think about Musharraf, and what they think about Iftikhar. Its better to be a sher, even if its for a day than to be a geedar for a lifetime.

???

What can retiree do, i heard he make very good steak. Please name any personality in Pakistan power circle who travels without security and on protocols he is the ex-President & ex-Army chief. What can you do?

They also not forget Ifti kartoots & all the so-called-thrice-oath-taker-judges… Lairs movement is in the dusbin of history my friend !..

If anything Biden is pro Pakistan at least compared to other U.S politicians.