is it allowed to mix zam zam wid normal drinking water and then give this tabarruk to ppl. i dont think its gud…wht do u think?n wht islam says?
Re: zam zam mixing
First of all, zam zam is just water. Mixing zam zam with regular water, or making chai out of it is not haraam as far as I know. That is like asking whether *"it is allowed to mix khujoor in fruit chaat" *which some of us do (I do it ever Ramadhan whenever khujoors are available in the house).
Drink zam zam as it is, mix it with regular water, mix it in Rooh Afza, make Chai out of it, use it in Haandi; doesn't matter.
I have also heard those that say that even if you throw a drop of zam zam of the floor, you get gunnah. I have yet to come across people who have authentic ahadith to back this up. The idea of water overall (not just zam zam) falling on floor and going to waste is different. But just zam zam falling on floor and causing you to get gunnah whereas regular water doesn't?
i think the reason why some ppl mix it is bcoz they dont have enough to share with everyone.... i mean, how are you going to pour 10 mls in each glass and share... therefore, it is just more convenient to mix with water and share... just my expereince...
First of all, zam zam is just water. Mixing zam zam with regular water, or making chai out of it is not haraam as far as I know. That is like asking whether *"it is allowed to mix khujoor in fruit chaat" *which some of us do (I do it ever Ramadhan whenever khujoors are available in the house).
Drink zam zam as it is, mix it with regular water, mix it in Rooh Afza, make Chai out of it, use it in Haandi; doesn't matter.
I have also heard those that say that even if you throw a drop of zam zam of the floor, you get gunnah. I have yet to come across people who have authentic ahadith to back this up. The idea of water overall (not just zam zam) falling on floor and going to waste is different. But just zam zam falling on floor and causing you to get gunnah whereas regular water doesn't?
well khajoor is different from zam zam. khajur is just a fruit but zam zam is very special water.n i think one shud not mix it with regular water coz of its purity n wht u can say adab-o-aihtraam(in my point of view). n i m not asking abt halal haram i just wanted to know wether it shud be done or not?
yes even dropping normal water also can cause gunnah for u coz there is a hadith regarding wasting of water.
i think the reason why some ppl mix it is bcoz they dont have enough to share with everyone.... i mean, how are you going to pour 10 mls in each glass and share... therefore, it is just more convenient to mix with water and share... just my expereince...
but i think ppl shud not mix it n give it to ppl while ppl thought it is pure water. i think u shud just give it to ppl though its quantity is less but it shud b pure as Allah gave it to u its ppl headache to use it pure or increase it by mixing with regular water.
Zam Zam can be used for wudhu and ghusl so I don't think there would be a problem mixing it with regular water. BUT, before giving to people, let them know that you are going to mix with regular water. :)
Fazeelat, when you say that you just wanted to find out "whether it should be done or not", aren't you bringing in the issue of whether it is allowed or not? I mean why would you wanna do something when you cannot do it and why would you NOT wanna do something when it is allowed to do it?
As for Adab-o-Aihtraam, I will come back to my first post in this thread that I have not come across any evidence from Quran and/or Sunnah which says that you cannot mix zam zam with regular water. You, I or anyone else cannot make up our own Adab-o-Aithraam, we have to have something to back it up. << This is not aimed at you :)
yes thats what i meant. so if u give mixed water and tell it to ppl definitely they would b
angry (atleast i would b) coz if someone do like this wid u wht will b the reaction from u?n u will think pure water for close relatives n mixed for us…no thanks. well it as just my opinion.
thanx
shud b done or not......not simply matter of halal or haram like there is also some categories between them, like mubah mukrooh.
adab-o-aihtraam is sumthing personal as far as i know.
ppl in Makkah n madina just put their Qurans on the earth in their feet and shoes while sitting in the harum, but there r also sum ppl who show respect to this book. they can say y shud we do respect of this book coz its just a normal book of arabic but they dont. like sum ppl dont put anything or any other book on Quran coz of its respect and adb-o-aihtaam.
Fazeelat, when you say that you just wanted to find out "whether it should be done or not", aren't you bringing in the issue of whether it is allowed or not? I mean why would you wanna do something when you cannot do it and why would you NOT wanna do something when it is allowed to do it?
As for Adab-o-Aihtraam, I will come back to my first post in this thread that I have not come across any evidence from Quran and/or Sunnah which says that you cannot mix zam zam with regular water. You, I or anyone else cannot make up our own Adab-o-Aithraam, we have to have something to back it up. << This is not aimed at you :)
adab-o-aihtraam is sumthing personal as far as i know. ppl in Makkah n madina just put their Qurans on the earth in their feet and shoes while sitting in the harum, but there r also sum ppl who show respect to this book. they can say y shud we do respect of this book coz its just a normal book of arabic but they dont. like sum ppl dont put anything or any other book on Quran coz of its respect and adb-o-aihtaam.
That's just wrong and it's not just a sub-continental thing, it's an Islamic issue. You have to show respect to the signs of Allah and the Quran is one of those signs!!! These Arabs are very ignorant of that fact, even living in the environment of scholars. Very sad...
btw, you can watch the video I posted in the video gallery on the subject of Respect in Islam. :)
Again, when you do something thinking this should be done or should not be done, there should be something in Quran and/or Sunnah to back that up. Otherwise, it'll be like you making up your own stuff and inserting it in as part of Islam. And you know how much that is disliked in Islam. Even if Adab-o-Aithraam are personal, they have to be based on something which the person (doing it) is following. You cannot make up Adab-o-Aithraam from thin air. To give you an example, I cannot tell a person sitting in a masjid how he should sit. I cannot just tell them that* "sitting like this-and-this comes under Adab-o-Aithraam"*. I have to have something which shows that the Prophet (s.a.w) did this.
Water is meant to be consumed in any way (whether in it's original form or mixed in something else).
Regular water is a sign of Allah too and a blessing. Why do we mix that in different things? Do we have something that says that you can mix regular water and NOT zamzam?
That's just wrong and it's not just a sub-continental thing, it's an Islamic issue. You have to show respect to the signs of Allah and the Quran is one of those signs!!! These Arabs are very ignorant of that fact, even living in the environment of scholars. Very sad...
btw, you can watch the video I posted in the video gallery on the subject of Respect in Islam. :)
yes we ave to show respect....but now u mean to say zam zam is not in the sings of Allah?
Again, when you do something thinking this should be done or should not be done, there should be something in Quran and/or Sunnah to back that up. Otherwise, it'll be like you making up your own stuff and inserting it in as part of Islam. And you know how much that is disliked in Islam. Even if Adab-o-Aithraam are personal, they have to be based on something which the person (doing it) is following. You cannot make up Adab-o-Aithraam from thin air. To give you an example, I cannot tell a person sitting in a masjid how he should sit. I cannot just tell them that* "sitting like this-and-this comes under Adab-o-Aithraam"*. I have to have something which shows that the Prophet (s.a.w) did this.
Water is meant to be consumed in any way (whether in it's original form or mixed in something else).
Regular water is a sign of Allah too and a blessing. Why do we mix that in different things? Do we have something that says that you can mix regular water and NOT zamzam?
here we meant abt different signs like ...Shaair Allah(signs of Allah)
Chalo sign ko choRo, Blessing hi kar lo ![]()
How come we are allowed to mix regular water in differnt things and not zamzam. Isn’t regular water also a blessing of Allah? Wouldn’t it also be disrespect that we are mixing regular water with different things?
Or is it that Allah allowed us to mix regular water and prohibited zamzam? ![]()
well if zam zam mixing wid other water is same thing then…log itni takleef kiun uthaty hein zam zam ko itni dur se lany ki?
ager ley he aaye hein to show off kraany k liye itna ziyada deny ke kiya zaroorat pani mila mila mila mila key…just simply give them two drops and say…bhai hud mix kero ya jesy merzi istimaal kero.
zam zam is not like simple regular normal water its special water
hadith …jis niyat se zam zam piya jaye wo puri hogi..now y ur regular water dont have this speciality?
As far as giving zamzam to people is concerned, yes you should let them know that you have mixed zamzam with regular water. But as far as people going ALL the way to mecca to bring zamzam home, my question for them would be that wo log mecca umrah/hajj karne ki niyyat se jaate hain ya zamzam wapis laaney ki niyyat se? Bringing zamzam back home is not a requirement for Umrah/Hajj as far as I know.
People working hard to do something does not automatically guarantee it's haram/halal...or in this case....should be done or should not be done.
As for your last sentence in your previous post: seems like you are referring to some hadith but I don't see where it says in hadith that zamzam cannot be mixed.
^ ppl bring zam zam as a tabarruk (anything that is ba-barkat), n as i said abt a hadith that jis niyat se piya jaye puri hogi InshaAllah so its mean that its shifa....atleast me n my family bring zam zam with this reason i dont know abt others.
n as in my last sentence abt hadith....i never said abt mix or not i just meant to say it is very special water and y u ppl mix this water with other water n give o others n poor ppl think its all pure as they bring from macca or madina...o poor ppl.
Yaar you keep coming back to the same thing and I keep repeating the same thing :)
The person mixing zamzam with regular water should let others know when giving it that he/she had mixed it.
Having said that, you asked in your 1st post whether 'it is allowed or not' and I told you why it is allowed. In order for it to be left as it is (regardless of whether it's more holier than regular water), there has to be something in Quran or Sunnah which tells us this. I will look up the hadith you quoted insha'Allah but shifa is in Allah's hands. He gives to whom He wills. If mixing zamzam is not allowed in Islam, surely there must be something telling us it isn't.
Sr. Fazeelat, you still have not decided?
Br. HHL is right, you can mix it. Scholars have stated that it can be used for wudhu and ghusl purpose whilst on Hajj so what's the problem of mixing it? If it's on the basis of giving it to others, yes you should tell them that it's mixed with regular water.
Zam zam has its many benefits. There are many hadiths on zam zam, one can search. I'll post an article right after I post this.
I believe HHL is also right when he says that *Adab-o-Aithraam *sometimes is personal and one should not tell others to follow it. Some people say do not sit while your back is facing the qibla, well the imam has his back facing the qibla after salaat and during khutba. So again, it's all personal. On the subject of adab, Imam Abu Hanifa said that he would never stretch his legs towards his teacher's house! The house was 7 blocks away too!! So, imagine how much respect he would have for the kaaba. These are the example that we should learn when giving dawah to our brothers and sisters (especially from us Pakistanis/Indians).
Sr. Fazeelat, you still have not decided?
Br. HHL is right, you can mix it. Scholars have stated that it can be used for wudhu and ghusl purpose whilst on Hajj so what's the problem of mixing it? If it's on the basis of giving it to others, yes you should tell them that it's mixed with regular water.
Zam zam has its many benefits. There are many hadiths on zam zam, one can search. I'll post an article right after I post this.
I believe HHL is also right when he says that *Adab-o-Aithraam *sometimes is personal and one should not tell others to follow it. Some people say do not sit while your back is facing the qibla, well the imam has his back facing the qibla after salaat and during khutba. So again, it's all personal. On the subject of adab, Imam Abu Hanifa said that he would never stretch his legs towards his teacher's house! The house was 7 blocks away too!! So, imagine how much respect he would have for the kaaba. These are the example that we should learn when giving dawah to our brothers and sisters (especially from us Pakistanis/Indians).
Peace cricketplaya bro
Because it is okay to do wudu with Zam Zam and 'ghusl' with Zam Zam (I have not heard that, but accepting it), then who said it is okay to mix Zam Zam? Are we using our own judgement on it? When someone gives me Zam Zam, and I can taste the difference the bottled stuff that comes over from Saudi I can assure is not 100% Zam Zam, I get rather annoyed.
Zam Zam has a distinct taste, mixing it instantly removes that taste. It is like buying dates of good and bad quality and giving the mixed good and bad dates as a gift to someone. Even if you tell them that there are some poor quality dates in the supply it sounds rather rude and coy to give a gift which is not of good quality. Gifts should be the best and if we wants pure for ourselves then we should give pure to others. It is only right!
People, if they looked into their own fitrah they would see that they would rather have a few drops of pure Zam Zam touch their lips than a jug of water with mixed Zam Zam and tap water bleached clean from the local reservoirs.
I say as a gift to someone when giving Zam Zam, it should be pure, out of courtesy.