Your Spouse's Religious Commitment

How important is it to you that your spouse be religious? I’m referring to Islam but if you’re another religion that works too.

Do you prefer they be as devout as you? Would you be ok with them being less devout than you? (i.e. they believe in Islam but don’t follow it to a T) I know a lot of people who for example, don’t pray every time or at all or don’t fast etc.

Re: Your Spouse's Religious Commitment

If you do not want to be stuck with your spouse in after life then care about your own practices , and let the SO alone. But if you like your spouse to the point that you want to spend after life with your spouse too then , it is very important that both are equally devout.

I didn't mean to attack people's beliefs and I'm not married. Let's keep the religious bashing to a minimum, the question was more along the lines of whether or not different levels of commitment affect couples. I just know of some couples where one partner (the woman in pretty much all cases that I know) is pretty devout while the guy is not. Now I'm sure he isn't an atheist or anything but he doesn't really pray or fast much either.

I was just wondering if there are any couples here like that or if people have heard of couples like that. Are there any problems between them? What about when it comes to raising kids (not setting a good example etc).

Doesn't matter to me - up to a point..

Care to elaborate? :)

If he didn't pray 5 times a day (I don't either) or didn't stick to halal 100% of the time (which I do - usually) it wouldn't bother me that much. Also, most of his family is Christian so he's expected to go and have Xmas dinner and stuff with them.. If he ate pork tho obviously that would be overstepping the line..

Is he Christian ?

^No, but he used to be.. well, in name anyway..

Then he will not eat pig , will he ?

^Probably not

it matters once the kids come into the picture... it mattered before too.. but once the baby came along... we both woke up .. only gonna raise a confused child if the parents are not on the same page for most things, religion being one of them.

but before i got married.. i only wanted someone who knew more about islam or about the same as me.. not someone i would ahve to teach everything to... nor someone that wasnt practicing.

we both pray but get lazy an equal amount (dont ask me how i calculate that :D ), read quran, fast, eat halal. thats enough for us right now.. though we have also started to read quran with meaning and get a head start to teh rapid fire question round our kid will give us when he is older .... our motto.. be prepared!

We remind each other if someone is overlooking any religious FARAEZ.

Its simple, when I can tell her what looks good on her or if she can tell me what hair cut suites me, why cant we tell each other about most important things, things that really matter. We dont believe on "Forcing" but on "Reminding".

I (and her too) firmly believe on "amar bil maroof wa nahi an-il-munkar".

I am far from religious. It was always super important for me for the guy to not be religious at all. Actually, that is the first thing in my list. I found a guy who is as irreligious as me, and believes in morality as much as me. So, yes, having the same basic values is EXTREMELY important to me.

for me, it's EXTREMELY important that my guy is religious. I'm pretty practicing myself (I don't usually like saying this) and I want my husband-to-be to be as religious/knowledgeable if not more as myself.

It totally makes a difference because whenever I think of anything, I always think of what's right in Islam and I NEED my future to be liike that as well.

Plus, I want to be in a relationship with my husband where we can use each other as ladders to get to the highest point in Jannah :D

same here. I want som1 who can help me to practice religion bcoz i m really very lousy :(

It doesnt matter 2 me... well at least not right now.

yeah but I want someone who is at the same level of understanding as I am you know what I mean?

I don't want to be a teacher to anyone but rather be a student with someone.

Ghost wat u want 2 know...my shohar e namdaar is religious ....he prays four times some times 5 but he never care abt feelings....woh haj zakaat roza sab kartay hain but we both have arguements abt this k ap religion ko follows is cheez main kartay hain but what abt practical life?? i think this is wat Talibans also doing sorry but that fact is ? woh bhi tu Roza , haj ,nimaaz, zakat ka lesson detay hain but what abt REAL PRACTICAL LIFE ?

some men are not good at expressing feelings...

im not talking abt express feelings im talking dealing in Practical Life Issues .....Like ap Saray Mazhabi faraiz Roza nimaz ada karo.....magar koi beemar hai tu usko bey hal chordo, kisi ko ap k rawaiye se takleef hai tu bajaye ap sorry karain ap parwa na karain , Ap ghar main mehman ki tarhan rahien Etcccc