Your Spouse's Religious Commitment

Re: Your Spouse's Religious Commitment

share some Practical Life Issues i mean som exampless ... ? Lagta hai ap khush nhii hoo apnay un say ????

thats what i call Self Modified Islam :D. and i am extremely allergic to ppl following it. We find loads of such followers.

To me it is important that my hubz is as if not more then at least the same as me with regards to being a practising muslim. Thanks to Allah we both are in fact he is more than me now ( may Allah accept our ibadah) . We both would like to be together in this life and the next inshallah, when children are on the scene then of course we need to be good role models for them too only then can we urge them to practice our faith if we do so ourself. If my hubz was not religious it would bother me.

You have to be careful with that. It depends a lot on the personality of the SO. Even though he is more religous he may not be considerate and patient in showing you the right way....go for a guy who is striving to be more religous and gets it...how difficult it is, but still wants to get there

I pray 5 times, fast in Ramzan and MashAllah never touched anything Haram. But I have a EXTREMELY LIBERAL mindset. A mullah would most probably issue a fatwa against me.

And that's how I'd like my wife to be, very liberal but upholding the 5 pillars of Islam. :)

nah, I want him to be a pretty cool, atheist dad!

i'm so freaking cool and hip yeah!

my husbands more religious than me, yet liberal in some ways too, hes the best...and although his religous stuff used to annoy me before, i now appreciate it and am lucky hes this way. i find alot of the men who dontcare much for religion or practice, or tell their wives to be this way too, the reasoning they give is well we will get hoors on anyway if we get to heaven, so who cares much for this duniya wali biwi.....

my husband however syas he wants me ...:]

yeah, that's what I meant when I said I want someone who will be a student WITH me. :)

MB, hear you what you just said. Real practical life is completely different. You know i usually come across women who are religious pray five times a day, wear hijab etc. But these women refuse to go outside world and get a job, get a nice stable career. I mean they just indulge themselves in religion too much that they forget they live in this world. I am not kidding, i know three of these women like that. They would want their kids to get Islamic knowledge and thats it. A person should be moderate.

i already shared :) ...................but no other choice ......:)

Gothic i am also Allergic ...........and hassan Yes Moderate . is a word.........but here we see two kinds of ppl Extremist .......or below that no one is moderate only some percent% thats so SAD...

i think its important for him to be on the same level... if he's more religious than i am i might feel restricted

I converted to Islam before I married my husband and he's a good man, but he does not habitually practice all of the pillars of Islam. When we met, he even used to drink and smoke! (he does NOT do this any more!)

I pray 5x/day (+ often do Sunah), fast, donate to charity, volunteer, go to Jummah prayers, and actively study the fundamentals. He is Muslim in a very passive way, which I do not think goes in accordance to Islam.

The reason I'm telling you this; we make it work, but it has caused a lot of issues between us. I know he wants to start praying again but he doesn't and I WANT to be with him forever (this life and the next). He's kind, God-fearing, charitable, and knows what he's supposed to do, but doesn't always.

My advice, while we're making it work (and have a unique situation), try to find someone at a similar piety level or someone who has the potential to become more religiously practicing in the right environment...Without it you will have many disputes. This will save a lot of heartache in the future.

If what you're saying is true, I haven't met anyone like you. Very good to know you exist. Out of curiosity, what do you mean by an extremely liberal mindset so much so that a mullah would issue a fatwa? What makes your views so radical?

Alhumdulillah I haven't ever had to ask my husband to pray, he's pretty punctual about his 5x prayers but that isnt everything in religion. For me I was more worried about when the kids came into the picture. Mostly they follow their fathers in the aspects of praying and going to the masjid, reading Quran etc. It took me about 1.5-2 years and slowly I started pushing him a little to be more active with the masjid, attend courses to better his knowledge on Islam and the basics of the religion - Allah shukar now he tries to make it to the masjid for both Fajr and Isha - he reads the Quran, reads up on various things regarding the basic rules of our religion, we attend a weekly halaqa where we discuss the Quran, tafsir etc - Its to a point where now I am satisfied that insha'Allah our kids wont grow up not knowing what its like to go to the masjid, or read about and learn about Islam!!

For me a girl has to be a good muslim, and love her deen. Pray 5 times etc..hey she will be the mother of my Children. Kids learn far more from their mother, the mother is basically their teacher.

Also its not just praying fasting etc..if you are praying 5 times but then sitting and back biting, or obsessing over material things, then that is just as bad as neglecting your prayers.

Islam is a beautiful way of life, its not just a religion, its a way of life- which demands humbleness and piety from its followers.

Nothing more beautiful then a pretty, pious, and pure of heart/body/soul Muslim girl, that is what a wife a mother should be.