Mashallah many of the guppies here at Religion Forum seem to be so knowledgeable I was just wondering where all the religious knowledge come from. (So split out your beans )
For me, you know the urdu books (urdu kee sataweeN kitab etc etc those types) they sometimes have some Islamic stories I learn a bit there when I was in kid and teen.
Late teen got interested myself so read from Nahjul Balagha (especially the quotes to start with) which was given by my Dad and then to the rest would mostly be from GS Religion Forum. And no doubt of course the Quran as well. And also from the majlis I attend. I get that’s about my exposure
I must say as I grow older and older (I am in adhay budama ) I find myself taking more and more interest in seeking religious knowledge, have started attending more and more majlis. During the early days in Muharram I would attend two majlis a day.
So just curious do you guys attend some religious classes or something?
I want to know where all your religious knowledge come from, so hands up! and tell me now
well jitna mujhe knowledge hai Islam k baray mein woh mere mama na bataya hai... and i have read some urdu books too when i was in pak... Of course Quran Paak and Majlises that i attented in pak... i don't attend any religious claases just Quran Paak, Majlises and my parents...
as a kid the only two things i learnt about islam was how to read the quran at the mosque and how to pray namaz at home with all the rules and regulations.
in my early teens i read the odd article on islam or saw a documentary on bbc.
but now i want to polish up on my islam, i’ve bought an al-qari cd to teach me correct pronunciation of the quran and i’m also learning the 6 pillars of iman and what it means to believe in them in the truest sense (not just saying them with our tongue and then nullifying them straight afterwards) and i’m also learning about the 5 pillars and the rules and regulations associated with them. i’ve also bought biographies of the prophet :saw: and the four rightly guided khalifas. i go to duroos with my brother now and then, to correct some of my beliefs and reinforce others etc.
I became a mufti from this uni in Iran..kidding :p the lil knowledge that i do have is basically from reading Quran and books, lectures and other muslims...I wanted to read tafseer in english but there is like no perfect/accurate tafseer in english so my dad reads us like a couple of ayahs everyday and translates them in urdu which is really good
it’s really great to know that you want to increase your knowledge. check out http://www.islam-qa.com
may Allah open up all of our hearts to seek knowledge inshaAllah
I started to gain my islamic knowlegde with reading books abt islam...Now i'm studying theology (specialisation Islam) / arab language and culture...I also follow some courses at an institute for islam studies...
Here in Holland there are not very good books in Dutch, but english books are very good esspecially from dar us-salaam and i hope to read Insha'Allah arab books aswell...but i'm learning arabic...so Insha'Allah...
*Originally posted by Fakhrun_nisa: *
I started to gain my islamic knowlegde with reading books abt islam...Now i'm studying theology (specialisation Islam) / arab language and culture...I also follow some courses at an institute for islam studies...
Here in Holland there are not very good books in Dutch, but english books are very good esspecially from dar us-salaam and i hope to read Insha'Allah arab books aswell...but i'm learning arabic...so Insha'Allah...
Assalam Aleekum
Which Uni or which degree. Like is it Graduate degree.
most of what i know comes from Majlis e Imam Hussain :as:
also i have learned alot from gupshup discussions..it made me search on my own as well which only increases the knowledge..but there is just so so much more to learn