people,friends,relatives giving sweets,chocolates,soda n chai sips to your infants and/or toddlers…?
r u okay with that?
people,friends,relatives giving sweets,chocolates,soda n chai sips to your infants and/or toddlers…?
r u okay with that?
Re: your reaction to
no.
forget sweets. my uncle decided it was okay for my 2 yr old to sit with him on his motorbike. you know the score in pakistan. no safety rules whatsoever. i stopped him,. dnt care how anoyed he was. luckily my daughter didnt get on it anyway.
it's their way of showing love N affection which is NOT right and/or safe. it's their way of treating kids. you can do your part by telling them politely that it's NOT right.
hmm its difficult to tell elders i guess.....
but i have not gone through this...
was just asking for tips that how you guys deal with it....
do you have strict rules or is it okay for u to give small sips/bites....
^ ab paanii men rah kar magarmachh se bai'r to nahiiN le sakte...send the message to elders thru your husband who will relay it thru his mom/dad. it's difficult to deal with such situations...make sure toddlers don't sit near them at tea times and for chocolates tell them that it's NOT good for their teeth and/or weight etc.
I dont have relatives around but I have had some aunties a t the masjid trying to give him sawayan, gulab jama etc on eid and I politely told them that we havent introduced these things yet. Theyr olled their eyes but backed off!
My mom wanted to give him choori with sugar but I told her not to do that as per advised by the doctor, she was upset but didnt give it to him. I know she has given him cookies soaked in chai couple of times but thens he is going back in a month so I havent made a big deal out of it.
I think if its a one time thing or so, I usually dont create a fuss about it but just take the baby away from that setting but if someone wanted to do it on continuous basis, I would have a talk with them. You have no idea how people got upset with me when I refused to give him honey in Pakistan and he was only 3 months old.. I was shown about 30 examples who have had honey and turned out just fine.. so I said, even if the chances of getting sick from honey are 1 in 1000 and if its my child, thats my whole world so I am not taking the risk!
My instinct is to freak out and lash out, though it's not the best way to handle it. I say no or hubby does. But depending on the age/circumstance/food item, I may let it go (like a bit of ice cream for my 6 month old upset me and I said it should not happen again but let it go, but a sip of soda or something is absolutely not allowed or encouraged and I would be really angry if someone allowed it).
I get so pissed with people trying to give my kid soda all the time. This happens at every single family gathering, I swear! I have to watch anyone who’s around my daughter and tell them over and over that we DO NOT GIVE OUR CHILD SODA!!! The teenagers are the worst and the aunties.
It’s annoying. She is my child and I don’t want anyone to feed her things that are obviously very bad for her. Another girl in our family gets a lot of crap for not allowing her kid to have sweets and sodas, aunties love to talk behind her back saying “aisi bhi kya baat hai” “thora se kuch nahi hota” “humne bhi to apne bachon ko di thi” blah blah blah.
NO, just no! It’s not ok.
I am guilty of doing this… to my own kid. I do give him sweets occasionally. I am not a huge fan of sweets myself. I even drink coffee/tea with sugar.. Not that I am avoiding sugar but I just don’t like sweet stuff in general. Now when I do eat sweets, I give a bite or two to my son… but I’ve noticed that he isn’t a huge fan of it either.
I won’t lie, so yes I do give my son a sip of chai, something meetha every now and then ![]()
The worst part is when they make you feel like you are being cruel and deprivong your child of the better things in life -- that is ridiculous!
next time moms
you should say
"Well if you want to have a screaming child who won't sleep when its bed time and that will be jumping up and down all night long because you thought it would be nice if he had some sugar then by all means give it to him/her I'll pick her/him up tomorrow :)"
I let my child have a taste of ice cream or a bite of cake too occasionally (has happened once or twice in the past 6 months). Chai is a no no. It has caffeine and there is no need giving a small child caffeinated drinks, ever. My child does ask me to let her taste chai but I just tell her it’s ‘yucky’ and she stops asking.
I've given up now, I can't stand arguing with people all the time about not giving my little one any sweets or fizzy drinks. Cuz they give it anyway, and then they make you feel so bad like don't know what you've done.
I used to have chamomile tea that was my "coffee" when I was little.
Benefits are it helps you sleep
good for kids that love to copy mommy
wendy.. how will you justify drinking "yucky" infront of her? I am sure she will ask that question sooner or later.. our kids are too smart, we need to be smarter :D
I think once mjgal mentioned that when her daughter wanted to try soda, her husband put salt in it and gave it to her, she never asked for it again!! I think I willd o the same if my child ever asked for it.. what they dont know isnt going to hurt them :D
wendy.. how will you justify drinking "yucky" infront of her? I am sure she will ask that question sooner or later.. our kids are too smart, we need to be smarter :D
I think once mjgal mentioned that when her daughter wanted to try soda, her husband put salt in it and gave it to her, she never asked for it again!! I think I willd o the same if my child ever asked for it.. what they dont know isnt going to hurt them :D
Ive been doing it for a while now and she hasn't questioned a thing :D I think when she grows old enough to understand I'll do the salt trick and let her take a sip :D
Not ok with it.
I don't drink soda, therefore my child does not either. Only one person tried to give him coke and my boy refused. :D He doesn't like chocolates either.
Makes my life easier.
oh i hate it… i dont have relatives around but some family friends who try to feed my baby or let him suck on their finger just for the fun of it…ooooooo i get so mad coz he is just 3.5 months for heavens sake!!! i just tell them that the next time he poos they’ll be changing his nappy
some get the msg others just try to be a know it all… my hubby is too polite to refuse any1 even if they kiss my kid on the lips ![]()
Yikes @ the stories! I never give kids ANYTHING without asking the parents first. Last time I was at my in-laws, hubby’s 4 year old niece asked me to hand her some cookies from the counter once and even at that my response was that she must ask her mommy permission first. I think its so disrespectful when people take it upon themselves to assume that unhealthy/addictive food is ok to give to someone else’s child.
Gemini: GREAT tip with the salt! I have a bad chai habit so I definitely need to remember this when I have kids! ![]()
^i'm the same! i always ask mommy what to give to their children....
i'm a chai freak too....will apply GTG's trick inshaAllah....
my cousin has three kids n she strictly tells everyone not to bring or give any sweets or sodas for her kids.....she says i dont care log khafa hotay hain to hon....all i care about is my children...
n i like that!