Your political affiliations!

Re: Your political affiliations!

Zia had control of army too during Soviet war, and he was in the similar situation as Musharraf in terms of Army involvement on Afghan border, and gora chamri freindship, but I think during his times, we had the worst relations with India.

You had the siachen invasion in 1984 and then the indian exercises etc so india wasn't very coy about it either. Pakistan has tried to be very nice to india in the last decade. American pressure also played a role as america considered india a poor third world african republic back in the eighties and now, they want an indian role in afghanistan.

The one issue most important to me is opposing extremism in the country. This is why I lean towards PPP, ANP, MQM. And I dislike PMLN, PTI, JI, JUI, and their extremist allies.
So my stance I think is based on ideology.

Among the three parties above there are other significant issues. Their opposition to extremism is also at different levels. MQM I believe has the proven track record of opposition to extremism and religious harmony. Although I absolutely dislike Altaf, my dilemma is that MQM's strong record against extremism is the outcome of Altaf's thinking alone. Once he is gone, I am afraid MQM will become just like other political parties which overlook religious extremism.

Due to this love-hate relationship with MQM, I would have supported new comers like Imran, but I had realized very early that he is a naive racist simpleton who may not be extremist himself but his policies will lead towards strengthening of extremism and religious violence in the country.

My family and relatives supports MQM since it's creation so me too but only their good work and we oppose their lota policies and dirty work too. I tried to switch to Musharraf but can't help because MQM is like in our blood, doesn't mean I don't like Musharraf rather I want him to PM again.

I am against corruption, violence and ethnic divisions that's why I can't stand racists parties like MQM, PPP, ANP for playing ethnic cards and having military wings responsible for cold blooded murders of hundreds and hundreds ordinary Pakistanis and a breakdown shut down of the local economy on a whim. If that doesn't classify as terrorism then I don't know what does. On the same token, I don't support PMLN for being in bed with banned extremist organisations (an act for terrorism again) and being so Punjab centric.

I support PTI because the party transcends all ethnic, sectarian, class and regional lines. All those things that are the sole point of doing politics for other mentioned parties. Imran may have quite controversial views on foreign policy but those, at the end of the day are just, views. I am a liberal and a supporter of democracy and such difference of opinions don't bother me because unlike MQM, PPP and PMLN, he's not involved in behind the scene criminal activities to wreck havoc in the country. Besides, Imran's personal track record is all clean. No criminal convictions, no innocent blood on his hands, no billions rupees worth corruption charges on him, no inheritance of power from feudal mummy daddy, no record of begging Saudia Arabia/USA/Britain to get him into power. He's a saint compare to other murderers, looters, extremists and racist thugs we have in country. I'll take an honest man with naive foreign policy (which really isn't under his control to begin with) any day. He's so inspiring in every single way.

Moreover, even as a British citizen who is all so familiar with British history, culture and and first world politics, I refuse to believe that it's the civilian head who pulls the strings on foreign policy. Nope. It's never been like that or it'll ever go down to the route. According to some Americans, Saint Obama and the messenger of hope and peace was supposed to finish all wars the very next day he took on the office and Middle East would turn into the land of honey and milk. So? Imran's foreign policy really don't count for anything until and unless military and intelligence endorse his policies. Foreign policy has always been and will always be a defence issue (a joint military/intelligence and civilian collaboration at best) no matter which country you are talking about. Anyway, I support PTI for their policies on education, feudalism, justice, corruption, equality, healthcare and Pakistaniyat. Other than that, I have every personal reason to support PMLN or a military takeover, even ideologically, funnily enough.

PS: At the end of the day, it is the personalities that personify ideologies and provide a vision. Just look what's happening with Labour party, a thoroughly established and accomplished party yet struggling to hold on to the popular support because they don't have the right personality on the top to forward their agenda.

I support PTI because its the only party who is seriously committed towards doing good for Pakistan atleast they are trying other than other useless parties have been ruling Pakistan since ages and just fulling their bank balances and nothing more

:ik:

Although I think I've have developed some kind of track record for stepping on certain PPP supporter(s) tail but I must say that my family despite being a prominent landowning family from Punjab, have always been serious Bhutto supporters. My maternal grandmother to this day still remembers how my late grandad came home weeping when he heard that Bhutto has been hanged. His reaction was so profound, so emotional and shocking that she thought maybe a close family member had died. Similarly, when BB died, my mother literally had a panic attack and instead of processing the news of BB's death into my mind, I was worried about my mother's health. Even during my teens years, being called a Benezir used to sound like a pretty little compliment to me (no I don't look like her). I guess even today, I would occasionally put dupata on my head the Benezir style and put my glasses on and feel a little good about it. (yes I still don't give a sh*t about Billy the buffoon). So traditionally I've never been so anti PPP considering Bhutto's have always been loved in Punjab and within my family. It's got very little to do with PPP the party, people were naturally just mesmerised by them. Especially my family, who naturally have a soft corner for feudals. It's like aristocracy kissing up to to the Monarchy. They're all part of the same disgusting system.

As with PMLN, my family is not fascinated by Nawaz Sharif (thank God they still have some standards) but they do see PMLN as their party, they are well connected to it. They are familiar with the party officials, members leadership, structure etc. Besides, the way PMLN had dolled up Lahore, they see no reason why they should be voted out (yes Lahore is all of Pakistan). Having said that, they are absolutely die hard fans and well wishers of Imran the local boy, great cricketer, champion sportsman, humanitarian, South Asian icon and well loved Pakistani ambassador. The funny thing is, they'll dine with him, shake his hand with utmost respect, greet him with a hug but won't vote for him because he is so *shareef *(no joke). His anti corruption stance is a worst nightmare for all the senior high grade civil officers and government officials in my family.

With military, I have a quite few Colonal uncles and Major uncles in my family, my favourite cousin is a Captain and couple of other dodgy ones have escaped Martial Law. It's a tradition of my family that if your boy is a little wild and out of control, sign him up for armed forces. All my close friends from Pakistan are military kids. We used to live in a military area and being a Punjabi and especially a Lahori, you are naturally expected to take pride in military, have so much respect and enthusiasm for the institution (since we practically border India) and see them as your ultimate saviours. And I kinda do - visiting the grave of Major Aziz Bhatti Shaheed was quite an emotional moment for me. However, I am not afraid to say that military is equally responsible for the mess Pakistan's in. Military dictatorship is the worst thing that happened to this country and those generals and dictators are not any better than corrupt politicians. Jinnah envisioned a welfare state not a military state.

After seeing how shady and baseless my family's political affiliation is and how I could've been a die hard PPP supporter or a trophy wife of some PMLN official' son or a military snob had I followed their way. Do I feel good about supporting PTI? Hell bloody yes! Love being a rebel.

1971-1984 - influenced by the family - strong supporter of JUP/JA and supported PNA as JUP was their part (but regret that) Anyway I did not have any voting rights then.

1984 - without my name of voters list, I voted in Zia's sham referendum as I was still under extreme religious influence.

1985 - voted for JUP again in non-party elections - my first vote

1988 - after joining the KU, my thoughts changed and I saw the educated Benazir as a savior for Pakistan and voted for her party.

1990 - voted for the first and last time for MQM

1993 - Did not vote

1997 - Voted PTI

2008 - Did not vote as there were only two candidates - MQM and PPP.

2013 - Would have voted PTI again if were in Pakistan

tarikh ko muskh karana to pakion ki purani aadat hay. Alhamd-o-lillah main abhi tak zindah hon, yeh thread Dec 21st, 2011 09:54 PM main, may ne shrou kya tha, na ko tumharay AP uncle ne. However he contributed a lot in this thread, and banned from this forum just for criticizing brainless IK. The thread went up to more than 2100 contributions visited by more than 81,314 people. Perhaps it is a record discussion thread since creation of this forum.:flowers:

Even a cafe thread got more than 15000 posts and 138,000 visits to prove that Lota thread in PA was a low budget thread. (j/k)
:wink: Choose A Profession 4 Above Person](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/gupshup-cafe/463388-choose-a-profession-4-above-person.html)

I was talking about “Pakistan Affairs”. I know other such bs forums where people sit for 24 hours and have nothing else to do. I have corrected and put the exact numbers of posts which were contributed and no. of people visited. It is still a record for this forum ¶:slight_smile:

yes I know what golden contribution are made here in PA :hehe:

Like Mostar95, though great supporter of Bhutto, I voted for JI while became eligible for voting because of the best person choice in one of the Karachi's constituency. But as a party I hate that to the core of my heart, particularly when it sided with mardood Zia-ul-Haq and took full part in PNA agitation to topple legally elected government. After hanging of Bhutto in a false murder case, I became die hard supporter of PPP and will remain for ever because of its sacrifices for the sake of democracy in Pakistan. No other party has ever suffered as compared to PPP. Had Bhutto not hanged, and his whole family destroyed, I perhaps be supporter of some other party.

I have seen the quality of other forums it is worst. Sorry to be blunt on this.

No problem, but there is a fine line between being blunt and being inconsiderate. We value all our members and forums. Its upto posters what they like and what they contribute. There is no need to be blunt and using terminology like BS.

At the moment I dont support any party. Did support PTI during the elections but a big disappointment in terms of IK's stance on Taliban and his support for munnawar, the chawal, sharing a platform with him. Guess he is no better than the others.

You don't have to see everything as black and white; don't see only good or evil; right or wrong. There is always "gray" or middle ground.

I support IK but not his stance on Taliban or his association with JI (never understood it)
ZAB was intelligent but I have no hope from the present PPP. Governance is beyond them because the party is just too corrupt & incompetent imo
Don't have very high hopes from NS or PML-N either. corrupt & self-serving
Liked Musharraf initially but some of the things he did (sending troops into FATA, missing persons crime. NRO, attack on judiciary, most esp. his association with corrupt, pathetic Chaudharies) did untold damage to Pakistan
Never liked Zia but have to admit that during his time there was economic stability in Pakistan. Did all my primary schooling in Pakistan back then. Even my mother who never liked Zia when he was alive realises now that (for whatever reason) inflation was under control during his time
Have no time for JI or MMA
ANP: Incompetent
Might have a favourable opinion of MQM minus Altaf

Don't support any party nor did I ever support any party. I don't really care much about Pakistani politics to be honest. I make up my mind about the stance of different parties on an issue to issue basis. I am not hard wired to support one or the other.

I chose to support lesser evil PTI.