Your political affiliations!

Sometimes I wonder that why our political affiliations are purely personality based and nothing to do with the ideology of the party or their stance on certain issues. A party could change its stance, or coalitions, or even sway away from its core ideology, but we, like a donkey on a leash, just keep following the one holding the leash.

Having said that, how many of you have changed your political sympathies/affiliations/support in last 10 years from one party to another, and what was the reason?

Re: Your political affiliations!

I don't have ANY political affiliations. That is why I am able to sleep peacefully at night :@:

What was the name of that thread in PA started by AP uncle ‘Super and Permanent Lotay joining Imran Khan’.

This is official thread for lota hunting :hehe:

and I thank god for that

I have a more polite way of saying things than AP Sahab :smiley:

"Politics divorced from ethical considerations is a dirty game and those who play it are dirty people."...Jawahar Lal Nehru

I was a PMLN supporter till June 2011. I changed my affiliation as I thought there's no difference in the two main parties of the country.

Ali, whom do you support now?

yaw.. Thats why nehru Dynasty still continues :hehe:

Musarrat Shaheen

If the parties can change owing to their political considerations, what's wrong in their voters change to owing to change in circumstances? ;)

lol…wait till Rahul gets elected…bechaaraa haath paauuN aur ‘muNh’ to bahot maar rahaa hai. :slight_smile:

Muqawwee has answered your query. :hoonh: Pti comes at a lose second though.

oon ko support kerna tou har pakistan imard ka haq hay

But MQM and PTI die hard fans think otherwise. Their following is so fanatic in nature that if Altaf or Imran go and start a different party, their followers will follow them

My family was in favor of PPP during Zia period but when PPP came in power, the affiliation gradually changed to virtual indifference. I liked Musharaf till 2006 then he messed up all in 2007. Prior to 2013 elections, I thought PTI would be a good change for the betterment of this country but when PTI formed government in KPK, my support started dampening and his ridiculous stance on terrorism, virtual appeasement of the terrorists made me turned against his thoughts. Now I don't support anyone. waiting and hoping for something better

^ My story is same as yours, except that between PPP (zia regime) and Musharraf, I was a MQM supporter too.

I liked pervez musharraf (nawaz sharif got what he deserved on how he handled the airplane incident in 1999), but yeah now I see that army can’t bring any long term changes either.

I am more apolitical towards MQM now compared to when mustafa kamal was in power. I don’t see any hope for the party until altaf and his top cronies get sorted out naturally of course.

Even though Imran khan was soft on terrorism due to his right wing nature, I still had expected more from him. But the thing is that I am really not so dejected if IK didn’t work out yet, since maturity has given me skepticism about politics. Heck, I wasn’t sold on all the hope and change in 2008 when the youth supposedly were enthralled by it. :smiley:

The less said about PPP the better, as even though I do believe that bhutto was a strong leader, but his nationalization, quota system and then later on pandering to the extreme right wing started the downfall of Pakistan. BB, now nawaz sharif and zardari etc are not even a worth a spickle of turd so the less said about them the better.

PS I do have to say that my views have become slightly more liberal over the last decade. It really doesn’t fit into the politics of Pakistan when PPP is the “liberal party” of the country… :rotfl:

I guess one thing that we can surely give credit of to Musharraf is the freedom of Media. I also believe that Pakistan would be in a dungeon if anyone else but Musharaf was in power when 9/11 happened.

Bhajian did you inhale the fumes from Muzna's burnt space heater by any chance?

Oh I am talking about your second sentence.

No, they would have put the country on platter and given to USA. Musharraf kept some dignity during USA threat of 'you are either our ally or our enemy". Plus I think that Musharraf handled the eastern borders of Pakistan and his relation with India quite well.

The second part was partly true because musharraf had control of the army. NS's plans backfired in 1998-9 depending upon how much he knew beforehand about Kargil.

Lets face it: We desis bow down to gora chamri and there is no if's and but's about it.