Share what you can about their wedding. If you are a youngin you might have seen their video, if not then at least some photos. Maybe you heard of the stories from them about all the ceromonies.
In my case, I have to check with my mom. I just know that baraat went from Karachi to Pindi and she came back with my dad. Dont know much about Valima. I will update later.
my parents passed away a long long time ago so i can't ask them about their wedding...i can only guess.
in my parent's time, there was no video...so, no visual narrations here.
as far as i can figure out, my parents' marriage was an arranged one. he probably took 100-200 baaraatis with him early in the morning. had breakfast followed by nikaah and then retired for midday qailoolah and after zohr prayer, there must have been a Julwa where sehraa was recited. after asr, he returned home with all his baaraatis and my mom. prolly, muNh dikhaaii continued until after maGhrib and up until after 'ishaa.
we still have my mom's decorated palki with sliding doors.
when i go to India in Aug, iA, i will take a pic and post it.
my Dad’s family went from his village in Lucknow to a village, close to my mom’s village, in Allahabad a month before the wedding. the baaraat’s travel time was only 45 minutes on Ikka and tractors.
when i go to India in Aug, iA, i will take a pic and post it.
my Dad's family went from his village in Lucknow to a village, close to my mom's village, in Allahabad a month before the wedding. the baaraat's travel time was only 45 minutes on Ikka and tractors.
those were different times! :)
Lucknow to Allahabad is a good 4 hour drive in current times - must have taken even longer back then hence why they probably went in advance of the wedding :)
In India long baraat journeys are pretty much the norm and Soooooo much fun!!! usually the journey is the best part with a real 'school trip' atmosphere
My parents families knew each other well and the fathers went way back. They met a couple of times and ended up marrying. In those days a picture and a phone call was enough. They had events for engagement, nikkah, mehndi, walima. I have all their albums, pictures : ) Though their wedding and other events’ film no idea where that is.
My parents wedding was quiet cutting edge for the day, and among the two families. Everything took place in Lahore. The only video that exists is from the dad’s side, so no clue what was happening at my mom’s side. Their nikkah took place like a month before their actual wedding. My dad had a sort of a mehndi ceremony, where his bhabis put tayl and mehndi on him. For the barat, my mom had her makeup done from some salon, and she wore blue <3. Dad wore a sherwani and kulla with tillay walay khussay <3 I think that’s the first time they actually saw each other, at the barat I think the walima took place at a restaurant, but it had a huge lawn, so that made sense. And yes they had the geometric red, green and blue tent on all two of the days. For walima my tayi did my mom’s makeup. Ammi wore white and dad a suit. For the two days of the wedding the entire extended family was invited, and that pretty much made a full house mashallah.
Oh, but the makeup and clothes of people who were there, omg, totally dates their wedding. Everyone was clearly very fashion conscious
These days their wedding album and video is just a chronicle of all the people that have passed away.
My parents got married in the summer. I have no idea what they were thinking because both my parents share the common trait of melting and turning alarmingly red in mild weather with ACs on much less the summer heat.
During the nikkah someone put a very ill-fitting jinnah topi on my dad's head. In the video you can see him protesting. It's hilarious.
My mother wore green and all the old ladies were impressed because apparently red bridals were a modern trend and green was the original colour girls in my family wore. (The real reason she wore green was because the red lehnga from my father's side did not fit)
My parents never met before they got married (We're talking about the late 1980s so I don't know why). My dad sent a guy to spy on my mother to make sure she wasn't taller than him. He was told she had short hair and looked like a girl in some popular washing powder ad.
The walima was a crapfest. The tents were for the men. The women sat in the courtyard.
My mom was radiant, glowing in her engagement/wedding pics. I doubt she was wearing foundation in her engagement pics but her skin glowed MashaAllah. Sometimes we thop so much makeup on our faces and still don't get that glow. I made her bring her yellow colored mangni clothes on one of her latter trips to Pak, I plan to wear it on my own mehndi, inshaAllah.
My dad only has two brothers, no sisters. He is the only one among them who has a passion for cooking. He lived with a chef during his bachelor days in KSA and mashaAllah can make a mean biryani and nihari, korma, etc etc. I came to learn that Papa did the cooking on one of the days...engagement perhaps? I'll have to reconfirm, but I'm not surprised, lol.
Long distance baraat aka day time weddings are very common in Pakistan side of Punjab also. My Khala’s baraat came from Lahore to Pindi, and next day we went to Lahore for valima in a bus. That was such a fun journey. Kind of like a picnic.
Thanks for sharing great stories Khawa, Shak, Ess Emm, strange one and RV.
I am planning to ask my mom, but I am afraid of an hour long interrogation from her about why am I asking, whom are you going to share, how much are you going to share … and then the lecture of what to share and what not to, loug nazar lagaa dete hain, ghairon ke saamne ghar kee baatain nahi kerte, and aaj kal ke logon ka eitbaar nahi kind of stuff.
The families knew each other but my parents had never met each other until my dad’s brother got married to my mom’s cousin Dad saw mom at their wedding for the first time and I guess this is what happened to him:
haha NO, it’s just the way I like to tell it. My daddi passed away a long time ago. So at my uncle’s wedding, my Tayye pointed my mom out and asked dad what he thinks about her. Dad being the acha bacha said “jo aap theek samjhey” .. I still like my version better though
They had a mangni I guess, or maybe it was more of a baat pakki.
The wedding was held in Pakistan. They had a small mehendi as pr our family traditions, a barat where the Nikkah took place and a Walima the next day. Both of them returned to UK on the 7th day.
Even when the ‘kids’ are approching half a century mark themselves and they have heard such advice all their life, they still utter it as if it is being said the first time.
Lucknow to Allahabad is a good 4 hour drive in current times - must have taken even longer back then hence why they probably went in advance of the wedding :)
In India long baraat journeys are pretty much the norm and Soooooo much fun!!! usually the journey is the best part with a real 'school trip' atmosphere
you are right that the journey from Lucknow to Allahabad takes good 4 hours but my dad's family came to Allahabad a month before the wedding and stayed in another village with his extended family.all the baaraatis came to that village from where the baaraat proceeded to my mom's village. this was probably more convenient as my grandfather didn't have to arrange transportation for the baaraatis from Lucknow.
it is still the norm for some families to move to the bride's city and stay in a hotel for a day before they take the baaraat to the bride's place on the day of shaadii/nikaah.
recently, my cousin got married in Lucknow. she lived in Mumbai...her family came to Lucknow
and the wedding took place in Awadh Clark Hotel. it was so much fun! :)