• they are maadran = too open minded with no socioreligious values

• they are laraka = like to fight

• they are kanjoos = stingy

• they are unpatriotic = don’t love pakistan

• they are kalay and sookhay saray = dark and skinny

• they are batameez = illmannerred

add to this list please :halo:

might as well hear it directly from the horse’s mouth :bummer:

As someone rightly said that Karachi is the den of tez tez bolnay walay loag who cause immediate headache. I always found it difficult to understand in the first attempt what a Karachite just said. And sometimes when I asked the person to repeat what he just said then he often annoyed and murmured 'abay pathan'.

BTW, is maadran an Urdu word, never heard before.

mirror mirror on the wall,
who is the smartest of them all.:wave:

(haan karachi wlay ye sab kuch hotay hain, but there r always exceptions like, we know who.

what a mean thread. :( iremji..why?

Re: your opinion about KARACHIITES

Irem, I wouldnt think of you as materialistic.

:jhanda:

shawaiz - nai not tez tez bolnay walay. “tez” as in u know “fast” and “chalaak”. thats the stereotype i’ve heard abt khiites.

whoever said “abay pathan” —> thats mean

not all karachiites r mean tho

all karachiites dont speak fast either

we got khiites here from all 4 provinces

as for maadran: its a variation of modern, just a funny desi pronounciation

Ghulail khi waley ye sub naheen hotay!

Razea yaar ive jus heard ppl call karachiites all that. dont worry im a karachiite myself. i mean ive spent like almost 15 years of my life in this city n i love it n my whole country to bits :smiley:

Madhanee thanks but does that mean you would think of me as all the other things or generally you think Karachiites are all those things?

GUYS thanks for ur replies :slight_smile: do mention what u think of Karachiites tho, id like to know what ppl think abt us :smiley: and even karachiites can come here and vent abt fellow khiites thas also ok :hehe:

Yeah Irem, I consider you all of the above and also the following:

• Ba’d Zouk (tasteless)
  • Ba’d Iman (faithless)
  • Ba’d Naseeb (unlucky)
  • Ba’d Maza (tart)
  • Ba’d Tabiat (sore)

And

• Bay Surie (unmusical)

:salam:

wow now thats truly flatterring :hehe: thanks :smiley:

khair, so do u think all Karachiites are also all the above?

koi seedha jawab kyun nai de rha meray seedhay se sawal ka :frowning:

I think Karachites are bechaaray naive people. They feel good about belonging to the biggest city in Pakistan. So, it is natural for them to feel better than others but ONLY in Pakistan. And it's OK. But it's funny when they step out of Pakistan and visit other countries and feel like shiit. And that's OK too.

Wo muhawara hayna kay, "andhoN may kaana raaja". Tau lagay raho...

karachites rock.

and its true that andhon mein kana raja..but when teh kana is among those with both eyes, the andhay dont become different, they are still andhay.

I mean look at hyderabad, what a dump, multan, yuck. and then ther eis faisalabad and sialkot, why do we even talk about them, and then you have lahore, looks like a larger version of hyderabad, a large pind, speaking of large pinds u have pindi..

and then islamabad, which looks like DHS, but the city falls asleep at 9 p.m. plus the peoplein islamabad think that their city is all that while in reality it looks like the burbs of any city in the midwest like topeka, ponca city oklahoma, dubuque, iowa etc...

thats not true :grumpy:

i think keh karachi waale r like…so…fun loving…n …jazbaati type ppl who like to have fun n r …zinda dil i guess…

par aapne jo kuch bola woh sahi nahi hai :grumpy:

karachi ke log bohat ache hote hein :snooty:

Irem, what neighborhood of Karachi you want my opinion about? I have different opinion of people living in PCHCS society vs Clifton vs South Nazim-a-bad and Gulshan society. Pick one.

Fraudz… Multan rocks man (all neighborhoods).

Edit..

You can say what you like about Karachites. It's not as if a non-Karachite's opinion matters! :D

Madhanee i live in Clifton BUT my relatives live in the other side of the bridge, and some friends live in other localities so you're not allowed to say anything negative abt the residents of any locality. [joke] I'd like to know the stereotypes though, i dono, just curious what people think.

RP i agree :D

Mr F dont say anything abt Pindi please thas like kinda my aabayi shehr and my gaaon is also near Pindi :D
actually I love all our cities, mashallah they are all beautiful, all four provinces and Azad Kashmir, I never compare, they're all unique and I love all Pakistani cities, all of Pakistan is dear in my eyes.
its just I wana know what stereotypes people have about karachiites in particular, coz it really hurts me when ppl think we're "clever" or "fast" or "modern" or "selfish" or something :(

funguy we feel better than others??? thats news to me :S
i always think people look down at us for being from the "no culture" "fast" "metropolitan" city :S
and no Pakistanis dont feel bad when they go out of Pak, infact we thank Allah k we come from the best country in the world :p

Naadir hmm I c, thanks for sharing your opinions. As for pathwari, my spoken pathwari sucks right now but I’m tryna learn inshallah :frowning: aur kya hua why u crying kisi pathwari ne aap ke saath baywafai kar dee kya? :smiley: which area of Pak u belong to waise?

skhan…ye hae :smiley: but somehow it does :smack: i mean i dont like ppl from other places in Pak thinking we’re mean or something :bummer:

When I’ve mentioned to people that my family is from Karachi, they are always shocked because I seem so “seedhi” ( :dixsi: ). But there are all kinds everywhere; it’s just developed a reputation.

What have you people been doing out there? :hoonh:

heheh :smiley:

Sahar…nothing yaar makes innocent face

:dixsi:

Hey irem... i m so tikked off.. First of all.. I m from karachi.. i dont understand... why all of u Hate us.. coz whole pakistan live coz of Karachites.. Yea.. Economy depends on karachites!

second.. karachities are kalay.. coz look at the Pollution..and it is because of the factories to provide work and food to ppl.. again economy!
Kanjoos- look at the expense dese dayz.. 4000 is the avg salary!
loving pakistan.. yea.. why not love a country where when u go to other part of the country.. PPl call u Karachi walaz.. and give u LOOKS!
Materialistic-- Now this is funny!
I dont even wanna dicuss more.... * calmin myself *
When all the people in the world hate us... yea u all go to karachi!! its like all pakistani comin to US and sayin they all hate it!!!!!!! Den go back!

*Originally posted by DESI CHURAIL: *
.. coz whole pakistan live coz of Karachites.. Yea.. Economy depends on karachites!

What a farty comment. 70% of Pakistan's economy is based on agriculture. Last I did some research, not an acre of cotton, wheat or rice grew in Karachi.

Do your math before making such broad generalizations.

Sure, Karachi is a port city and most company headoffices are based in Karachi. It seems as if all the economy is coming out of Karachi because all the taxes are filed from headoffices. But the crux of the matter is that it is the other 90% population of consumers and labor force (OUTSIDE of Karachi) which makes the country run. I am sure Karchites play an important role but they are NOTHING if you take the rest of the populace out of the picture.