Name and if at all possible please describe your most amazing Air Travel experience/incident. It can be anything from getting a free upgrade to being granted a Cockpit visit. Personal multimedia is allowed if it belongs to you, and relates to the topic (Pictures, Videos, etc.).
The only amazing experience I’ve had has been to get empty seats next to mine, and few other rows so moving about was possible on long haul flight. Makes for comfortable getting up, and walking around without having to excuse yourself. Some take advantage of the extra space and sleep on it a la bench-style. I cannot sleep in air travel.
Re: Your most amazing Air Travel incident/experience!
does a flight in a Cessna 182 RG count?
why wouldn't? if you travel even 1 foot above the ground and you or your vehicle's tires don't touch the ground then yes...it's an air travel! :D
I think my most amazing experience with travel is yet to come inshallah. But few things here and there.
Just like teggy I can hardly sleep during travel, I think thanks to ample quantity of caffeine in blood.
One small thing I remember from one of my trips to pakistan. My mother was travelling in business class as she normally does while I was in the same flight in economy. It was a night atmosphere and as usual I couldnt sleep and the seats were uncomfortable too. So decided to take a walk and check out if Ammi is doing ok.
As I walked there I saw her lying on a long seat which had turned into a bed. The seat next to her was empty so my mother asked me to sit down. I sat there and played with the buttons to turn it into flat like a bed as well. It was so much cozy that before I knew I was dead asleep. Next thing I knew someone was shaking me slowly. That was airhostess waking me up. And then she was like, sir you dont belong here you have to go back to your seat in economy. I quickly turned around to see my mom in a hope she'll do my "sifarish". And to my shock my mom opened one eye to see the situation , turned around towards other side and keep pretending asleep.
And wutever dream I was having got shuttered and dreadfully I walked back to the choking seats of economy.
We still chuckle in the family remembering that moment when my so much loving mom declined to bail me. :)
Bumped up from economy to business class due to overbooking. British Airways. 7 best hours of my travel. Slept so peacefully, because I could actually recline. :jano:
:hinna:
Next best to it at any time was having an extra seat to myself. Once an airline gave us ice cream for dessert. That was also super neat.
Absolutely, it does. Please share more details.
That’s more like an inconvenience. You should’ve put on your South Park voice “I’m from CENTCOM. Respect my Authoritah!” . Please tell us how you spent that time in transit.
LOL! That is awesome. Aunty Ji has at least one extra internet fan. (Me!).
Bumpage is awesome. Lucky! :k: What was your reaction to the upgrade?
At first when they called me over before boarding I thought they were going to tell me they can’t let me on the flight, because before check in they had asked if I would like to stay back from this flight because of the overbooking. But when they gave me a new boarding pass, which had a seat number that wasn’t double digits I was a bit surprised. Surprised turned into awe. Curiosity. Impressed. Then awkwardness because dude I’m an economy girl. I didn’t know that I could get a foot stool/rest! In economy they don’t even give you that foot kick/rest thingy anymore.
Oh Khay! Master KKF! You making fun of my Urran Khattoala! … now that is not nice to do…because Urran Khattoula was my favorite Indian Movie!
actually to get a real seat of the pants experience in flying:superman:, one should fly in a small airplane, like you say being close to the ground gives you a good thrill of moving fast!
try it who knows you might like it!
and talking about a visit to the cockpit…well in Cessna’s 4 seater types you sit in the cockpit or one seat behind and get to see what the pilot sees!
sorry I had to clarify somethings for KKF!
My trip on a Cessna 182 was with two other people, an Instrument flight instructor and a fellow pilot learning IFR.
our goal was to attend the Reno Air Races held at Stead Field Airport North of Reno Nevada! this was Sept 11th 2010, we spent three days and returned on the fourth day.
and were witness to one of the air crashes that happened on the 13th Sept.
September 13th, 2007: Brad Morehouse, 47, of Aston, Wyoming – Flying a Czech-built Aero Vodochody L-39C, registered as N139DK and nicknamed “Dino Juice,” at 2:45 in the afternoon during the Jet class race, he had rounded the last pylon, #8](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=8) , when according to witnesses, the airplane banked to the left as it rounded the pylon, behind and below another plane (a Rockwell T-2B “Buckeye”), and then rolled to the right and continued rolling, impacting the ground at a high speed along the north side of Runway 8/26. The NTSB determined the probable cause of this crash to be Morehouse’s encounter with wake turbulence while maneuvering over a race course, and contributing to the accident was the low altitude at which the encounter occurred.
we flew by Mt St Helen, it had a wisp of smoke coming out of it!