So what is your favorite thing to do in life, it is camping for me. Laying under the open sky in the forests next to mountains lakes and oceans is such an invigorating experience, food on the campfire tastes amazing. I was just going thru the pictures and on our trip to the Okanagan Valley my family bailed on me after camping a couple of nights at lake Louise so I had to drop them at a Hotel and then camped alone at the Lake Okanagan, They had a violent windstorm at night and I seem to enjoy the changes in weather. This is what I woke up to. Cant wait to go back there again.
Yes Camping is fun if it does not rain…I spent two nights camping at Rainbow Lake near Buena Vista Colorado, a few years back with a friend, it was not too crowded because we went there after the summer season ended and the Fall Aspen Trees where showing their Gold! actually we were the only two campers, they had shut off the water so we got water from the town 8 miles away for cooking and cleaning.
First night it was a light rain almost all night and the ground was cold since we were @9200 ft elevation, my 3/8 inch thick foam mattress did not keep me comfy, the sleeping bag was not rated for the temp there either, however the little candle inside the one man tent kept it warm above ground inside the tent! the second night sky was clear and we enjoyed the view of the bright milky way! reminded me of the summer nights we spent sleeping on rooftops under the stars back home.
Wow, that is gorgeous, it is important to put insulation between the mattress and the ground to protect the cold from transferring up. I like it when there are lots of people around. When I went last summer the campgrounds were fully booked and there were people there who came from Europe to camp here. I love sleeping right next to the roaring river, flowing water has such a calming effect on a person. Did you make a fire and cook. Making fireand cooking and talking around fire are so primal. I had my best bonding with kids around the fire.
hayeee!! I cant tell my THE MOST favourite thing yet as I am working on it… will share the video in a month InshaALLAH…
other than this, I like bike riding to different cities & areas as well as trips to hilly areas specially on an SUV… and yes that camping thing too, never tried though
Ah Yes! I love to cook and be creative with the limited material available during a camping trip, my companion was a Doctor Sahib who lives on snack bars during camping, that does not work for me, I had 1 quart pan for cooking along with spices and veges, my favorite breakfast is King Oscar Kippered Herring it comes ready to eat from the can but I fix it desi style with sauteed onions and masala Cayenne Pepper with Tarragon!..can’t beat that for a campsite Brunch!
Wow being outdoorsy is such a rare thing for eastern girls, Fro wanted to find an adventurous partner and now has given up on that idea. This year come hell or high water I am going on a really long road trip, either to Alaska or the pacific rim. Maybe I will call fro and ask him to go with me.
Well in the UK the Main event for me is that run by Matt Easton of Schola Gladiatoria ussually around late summer, then theres the May Melee for which I am in training at present and thats more like a pre-summer team sport. Theres a bunch of other meets around late spring and summer. Mostly a chance for dudes with armour and weapons to meet up have a whale of a time camping and beating the hell outta each other... everything above radar though naturally tournaments have rules and limited spaces. Eastern Europe is where its really at with Battle of the Nations and Russia has the Dynamo Cup. As you can probably tell its my main passion and as far as I know I happen to be one of the few Desi fighters... there is a one another guy a Sikh and myself and a couple of Persians... the rest are all European Knights :D
Wow, that sounds so awesome and so proud to see an Eastern guy living a life out of the box. I always tell youngsters in order to have a fulfilling life they need to find a passion other than hoarding monies and eating Korma biryani. If you don’t mind me asking, how did you get into this sport?
Among my people I was always the last of an old line, you know the Turko-Mongol culture, horses, bows, swords open grasslands etc … Nowadays the entire culture is all but dead in Pakistan, some parts still practice it, mostly in th Northern Areas and North West. Things like Archery used to be noble and national sports but not anymore. I grew up in the 80s and My elders were the last of the old folks who did it. I just picked up a bit from them, but in the UK I found that there was actually ways to keep my traditions going and so for maybe last decade or so I’ve been building up my body and knowledge and maybe someday would like to bring the arts back to Pakistan. Make them more a mainstream thing again…
That is so incredible. We have the Turkish and Mughal bloodlines also. There have been some amazing people from that heritage. It would be amazing for you to reintroduce this art back home again. I watched a video of the school and seems so amazing. One of my nieces out of nowhere got into fencing. I wish you great success in your training, please keep us updated.
Thank you very much, years ago it used to be a very niche thing I remember how people even viewed me as comical even in Britain but with the rise of pop culture like Game of Thrones and Hunger Games and Vikings etc, people are starting to find these arts popular again. Cant help but have a good time becuase few people get to actually pursue thier dreams in life quite like the way I have.