She’s made the best food from the first dish you tasted biting her finger off when you were a kid till today when coming home. Maaa! khana de do.
Change of Plans
Here comes the bride, oh lordy the wifey, the new cook. Hmm…you said your favorite chef was mom, now comes in the conflict. Whats funny is that there is no resolution. Hands down, you know that ma’s the ex-cook and wifey is the new one and better be your favorite or else . . .
My question to all the married men or potentials is ab kya hoga!! <–(what now?)
What if you like your mom’s cook better than your wife’s?
Would you tell your wife? or would you say mmmm good but blekh in you mind or would you be upfront. Keep her “feelings” and your position that you hold for the rest of your life in mind when you answer this question.
Ladies: How would you feel about this competition and that too experienced mother in law with a son who is accustomed to her cooking.
I talked to a friend of mine and he says mom’s cooking is the best but wifey’s is getting better followed by a “don’t tell her I said it”.
Oh please feel free to add further questions or suggestions.
i’ve seen some of my married cousins telling their wives that they are good but their mom’s cooking is the best…to their wives the highest compliment they give is that their food tasted like their mom’s n their wives are kinda used to it now
i think we all like our mom’s cooking…not just guys but girls too…like for me it would be the highest compliment if someone told me i cooked something like my mom…coz my mom is just an AMAZING cook her food is always just perfect…
btw…this thread reminds me of those cooking oil and dalda banaspati ads on PTV :biggrin:
Wife's cooking gets better and better... but never reaches the level of her mom or her mother-in-law.... until the day when the bahu comes in and then the cycle restarts.
To this date, my mother claims that my daadi and naani were better cooks than her. The same thing continues with my wife.
*Originally posted by Faisal: *
Wife's cooking gets better and better... but never reaches the level of her mom or her mother-in-law.... until the day when the bahu comes in and then the cycle restarts.
To this date, my mother claims that my daadi and naani were better cooks than her. The same thing continues with my wife.
Could it be that you are accustomed to your mothers cooking?
Have you ever told your wife up front or put her down nicely? Why?
Have you ever had to deal with her asking about her cooking in comparison?
Bhai, ye mein nahi kehta… woh khud kehteeN hein… meray hisaab say, jo meray aagay khaana rakh day woh duniya ka best cook hai
Personally, I am not finicky about this thing. My motto is, and I am sure a lot of people will disagree profusely, “if I am not cooking it myself, I lose to right to criticize anyone else cooking for me”.
Therefore to put down other people by saying you don’t cook as well as my mother or your mother, pretty much sounds quite pathetic to me. But, hey! thats just me.
good save. So I guess you’re not one to say “namak kam hai” or lil’ spitfires of the sort that can inflame her eh? Chup chaap se kha liya bas hai na? I say its good till a certain point and then you have to let em know how the food tastes but never in comparison because thats just plain mean and wrong.
Actually my wife cooks really well, as all the guests are always raving about her cooking. Plus for some reason, I am hardly ever able to identify if namak is ziyada or kamm. So its a moot point for me. Unless ofcourse namak double triple ziyada ho jayay, warna tau mujhay patta nahi chalta. Plus, khana garam ho ya thanda, uss say bhi mujhay kuch ziyada faraq nahi parta. Kuch bhi khila do, sabb chalta hai.
However, all this comparison-with-mother thingy sounds quite silly to me.
I know my wife wont be anywhere near my mom....she will probably be learning from my mom, let alone being a better cook. Mom taught all her dewaranis, she being the oldest bhabhi, so nothing new.
As far as competition between mom and her saas is concerned..mom wins by far. Dadi is'nt exactly a good cook...
My mom is an awesome cook. I hope I cook just like her eventually. But i secretly tell her that i like her cooking better than my nani's-they cook nothing alike. I don't want to offend my nani tho :D But then my khala's cook just like my nani...hmm...mama likes to experiment i guess...in any case, she is definitely the best cook.
My dad say's that she's his favorite restauraunt :D