Your Favorite Chef

I think 'my mom is the best cook' is a lot of BS. Maybe these folks haven't eaten better or don't have courage to say so in front of their mom. Sadly, wives can't do much about it either in the desi culture.

My mom is a good cook but then there are dishes where I think others have done better. Therefore, I think it should be based on per dish basis and due credit should be given to whoever is responsible.

My mom generally says that I will say 'acha hai' for everything even if she thinks there is less or no salt in it.

Here is a tip for the guys:
If your wifey asks you “do you think I am a better cook than your mom”, let me tell you it is a r.h.e.t.o.r.i.c.a.l question like “does my bottom look big in this”. Under no circumstances do we want an answer. Well not an honest answer anyway. :hehe: We pour heart and soul into our cooking like most things we do, so its very very personal and so we take all comments very personally!

Oh and if the wife refuses to step into the kitchen to cook for you, you can be sure she’s mad at u for a (usually very good) reason. In this case you should apologize asap! :smiley:

Moms cooking will always be the best to anyone, even though now I kinda like mine better :D

But to a wife, she should understand that the guy will always like moms cooking first, no big deal.

I was hoping someone would name me as their fav. in this thread, par yahaN tou saray baray nashukray haiN! :snooty:

If his mom cooks better then thats just great I won’t have to cook :smiley: :hehe: :devil:

hahah thats a good one fanta.

“Jadoo to abba Habeeb main hai jisay main ne pasand kia” (from a TV com)

Note: Habeeb is the name of the cooking oil and not the chef :halo:

I agree with khan sahib that one needs to evaluate the food on a dish/item-basis. Say, for e.g. there are certain dishes where ammi beats my sisters hands down but then again there are certain dishes jahan par behnain jeet jaati hain. (Mera to donon soorat main faida hai..akhir test to main ne he kar ke batana hai na)

As to my auntie, I believe i will let her know that she is getting better and she will someday get there (albeit in a diplomatic manner) :smiley:

they used to say that my dadi amma (dada's ammi) was the best cook..then it was my dadi..then it was my ammi. I guess the more you cook you get proficient at that thing. My ammi didn't even knew how to make tea when she got married but now she cooks yummy food. There are dishes that my dadi cooked well..and then there were dishes that my ammi cooked well..and my dada complimented them both..never i saw that they had any problems :-)

I cook with the ingredients that i like to cook..i don't even cook like my ammi..and i love innovations..so i don't care what others say about my food..i love what i make...and i know zabardasti tareef kaisay karai jati hay..my father and siblings are example of that :D

Seriously, i have no problems if i am told that others are better cook than myself..i am sure i can improve my culinary skills with time :-)

abba Habib? did u mean abbay Habib?. Didn't sound right.

funguy, its not abba habeeb..its jadoo to abba (break the sentence..)habeeb (oil/ghee) may hay..jisay maynay pasand kia..

Best chef=Myself!

:hehe: me 2.
its simple,if a guy likes his moms cooking better…than he can go & eat around hers or make it himself:snooty:

amaan funguy tum bhi bas aiwaein he ho :nook: