You will lose it anyway when your captain will step down a day before world cup in front of world media.
oh and btw, Pakistan LOST oval game when they refused to take the field. If this happens again, will you rather take the field (so that you dont lose it) or will you forfeit the game and stand by principles?
Discipline is one thing PCB should never compromise on be it the captain or big star like Shoaib. I am sure you know how Shoaib Akhter becomes insane ka bacha coz HE WAS DROPPED of the team and he learned the lesson.
What Younus should have done is talked to PCB that he is not ready to take dictation aur ager phir bhe PCB nahi sunta tu he should have told to PCB that he is stepping down.
Please enlighten us on what caused Younis Khan to step down...than I will agree or disagree with your current position. And I would forfeit and stand by principles.
I agree. I have no doubt in my mind that he is a team man and there definitely is a valid reason behind this decision.
It is very much possible that something happened in this last week due to which Younis anticpated that there will be too much involvement of some people during his short assignment in Champions Trophy.
As long as he doesn't get the assurance from higher authorities he shouldn't accept the position of a dummy captain. He has experienced it before last year in Windies when he was the captain during the first test in Inzi's absense and it all resulted in an ugly incidence invloving him, inzi and afridi.
I don’t know what caused him to step down. May be he has VERY VALID reason that we will come to know; it’s the WAY HE STEPPED DOWN that I am criticizing at.
Re: Younis refuses to lead Pakistan/Mohammad Yousuf appointed as new captain
I dont think any body has any doubts over Younis's commitment to the team and country ... i am sure there is a big issue behind this ... but i doubt that we will find any reason soon as PCB will forbid Younis from making any more statements and try to keep a low profile...
1-My view is that he has resigned for a number of personal reasons and those reasons are best told by Younis himself - ‘Woolmer’
**2-It has been suggested by some that the inclusion of Faisal Iqbal in the squad as a replacement for Inzamam, without the approval of Younis, triggered the reaction. **
We can only speculate until we know what Younis’s personal reasons were for resigning. We don’t know for sure but if Inzi did intervene on Faisal’s inclusion then he was clearly out of line. He should have kept out of it and let Younis decide his own team for CT.
I bet its all Saleem Altaf's fault. He asked Younus to lose to India in champions trophy but Younus was ready to beat the crap out of the Indians thus he took out his anger by calling a press conference and resigning from captaincy. :)
On a serious note I am thinking it has to do something with Saleem Altaf.
We dont know what is the reason behind Younis outburst in front of the press, but it is certainly clear that he wanted to make a point, but again its not a nice way to make your point, especially when the team is about to leave for an important series.
As for Younis objection (if that is the case) that he has been made captain only in the absence of Inzi(4 matches), Of all the other people he should know that Inzi was declared captain till WC'07 by PCB and if Inzi is to return after 4 matches (provided that Pakistan last that long in the tournament). Younis should not be greedy, infact he should be happy with the return of batsman of such a class and experience.
ok here is the latest situation. younis has said that he will not accept captaincy even in future. After 5 hours of meeting b/w chariman, coach and director of operations, younis khan said in a joint press conference that he wanted to be a powerful caption and that he has no charm in captaincy. He will keep on playing as a regular player. He also confessed that he was late in telling board about his decision.
Ya Allah kheir !!!
^ There's more to it than meets the eye. When he was appointed as captain a few days ago he was happy and considered it an honour. So what has happened in the intervening period to change his mind. I don't believe the Jang report, the truth will come out later on.
It has all to do with Inzi not coming to terms with losing his captaincy as a result of retirement...Inzi is not going to relinquish captaincy with taking a few people down with him...
Imagine if Pak has won the champions trophy under Younis and without Inzi...it would have meant that not only is Inzi not needed in the ODI squad, but his captaincy is more of a liability then anything else and hence forth Inzi's career might have ended prematurely prior to the 2007 World Cup...So Inzi had to pull his strings and bring his lobby (Shery-I am the Chorman Khan) into the fray....
Yaar sir khoda…I hope not..but all of your rant seems really logical…
Although we should wait and see …
Yeah this ain’t goin to national tv for sure…:k:
I think like you or some one suggested we rubbed the pathan the wrong way..for sure…
khopri ghoom gai… (urdu for head went in a spin)
from something or someone rather for sure…
ahan ahan…
this sucks like it used to suck before our team showed signs of kinship and brotherhood…
Pretty a good shock for the cricket world...
In cricket...the captain takes thousands of decisions during the game...so its imperative to work independently...but still consulting the players on and off the field...and of course taking an active role in the team selection procedure...
PS: If Yousuf gets in the scenario like Younis went...then Yousuf must have the guts to resign too...Period!
PS1: Shahid Afridi (C) & Abdul Razzaq (VC)...howzaaaaaaat...
On a serious note I am thinking it has to do something with Saleem Altaf.
If you remember Salim ALtaf took a jibe a younis in team meetingn after 2nd test ot 1st test in india tour, when he said lookins str8 at younis saying no matter what your status of seniority or whatever it is you can be dropped from team, to which younis replied and made that gesture towards dressing room when he got a that double hundred!
How will the truth be known? The PCB may not allow him to make further statements or comments which may reveal the truth. I don't think the truth will be known for sometime. If however, he does decide to reveal the truth - the danger is this may cost him his place in the side?
The reports coming out of lahore suggest that younis khan wanted Asim Kamal as a replacement for inzi but PCB gave him Faisal Iqbal so he felt lack of power as a captain and went to remonstrate with sheheryar khan who declined to even listen to him and that led to this situation. This is the reason he very particulary suggested he didnt want to be a dummy captain as in taking orders instead of giving. He is right you know.
^ no..
"I" am saying that to the situation in the team....
it is blatant nepotism to be doing this sort of hiring and placement ....and they do it with tableegh in the middle...