The guy has scored 1045 runs at an average of 55 in his last 20 matches.
He has scored 3 centuries and 8 half centuries.
Before that, he scored 501 runs in 20 innings at an average of 26.36 with only 1 century and 2 half centuries.
Could this be a start of something great? I certainly hope so.
I dont understand why he’s still such a hated player. I mean fine, everyone has their own flaws and he can be a bit of a drama queen, but hes a great batsman and has proven himself a few times at the test stage but some people are still not convinced… To me, hes a solid ODI and test player and has nothing more to prove… but I hope he can shut his critics’ mouths by maintaining this current form and take it to the bigger fish too.
As I have always been a great admirer of Inzamam just because of his batting and the way he played his Shots. He was fluent and was more technically sound in his technique. He was an eye catching player. beautiful to watch.
Younis Khan now proving to be a good One day player.
He is still unconventional. Limited range of shorts. There are stages when he really kills the game by playing too much dot balls. But for the time being he is making up for those little stages. what if he gets out in a situation where he has played too many dot balls. this is my only concen about his abilities when it comes to One day Cricket.
But that does not mean i do not want him in the team. We have already sacrificed too many seniors.
** He has scored 3 centuries and 8 half centuries**.
To me, hes a solid ODI and test player and has nothing more to prove.... but I hope he can shut his critics' mouths by maintaining this current form and take it to the bigger fish too.
correction: 5 100s and something like 35 50s...
ditto on his potential and current form - if you look at his recent performances, he's contributed against the likes of India and South Africa rather than just minnow teams like BD and Zim.
I agree. He is an excellent middle-order batsman. Pakistan can count on Yousuf, and Younis. The only problem is his inconsistency. He will score 143 and get out on 0 in the next. He needs to take more responsibility.
Before that, he scored 501 runs in 20 innings at an average of 26.36 with only 1 century and 2 half centuries.
Could this be a start of something great? I certainly hope so.
I dont understand why he's still such a hated player. I mean fine, everyone has their own flaws and he can be a bit of a drama queen, but hes a great batsman and has proven himself a few times at the test stage but some people are still not convinced... To me, hes a solid ODI and test player and has nothing more to prove.... but I hope he can shut his critics' mouths by maintaining this current form and take it to the bigger fish too.
ziyada jazbaati hone ki zaroorat nahi hai. He will soon become the player with most DUCKS in his career. Really. He is either out on first ball or stays on crease until everyone start yawning. He is a good test player. But for ODI he is there because nobody else is coming up. Otherwise he would have been restricted to tests only. His patience is key in some of Pakistan's lengthy batting shows in recent years. In ODI at No. 3 and 4, you expect stability with constant probes. Younis mostly takes 4-5 overs before he opens his arms. Most of the time opponent succeed in taking his wicket or pile up pressure because of lack of runs in those overs.
Strength: Patience and pressure handling
Weakness: Takes too long to settle
For me, Younis is a world-class player, other than Mohammad Yousuf, who has done everything in his capacity to becoming one and earning the title of holding a permanent place in the test and ODI side. His strike rate is not that of Afridi's but when he gets it going, he puts it up there with the level and range of shots and his nature of making runs. We already have a vast number of problems in our team with the opening pair just looking to get settled, a number of new bowling resources being used, captaincy issues and whatnot. Besides Younis not putting his hand up when offered the captaincy, he has threatened to leave the side when the selections in the team were not going in his favor when he was the captain. For this particular issue, I feel that even though he is a senior member and has a right to call for a player whom he sees can add a value to the game, the options that he was given as a captain for certain players, he should have accepted that, even though if the end result is to lose, but do it with dignity. You cannot expect your selection to take a centerpiece when this is your first match as a captain. You have to work with the players you are given and let your position in the team be firm. The number of times he has rejected to lead, I partly agree with him based on the fact that he was not given his choice of players in the team and was handled poorly by the management. But then again, the other side of the coin is to not ask for your choices but work with the ones in the picture. Perhaps the selectors felt that he was going down the route of Inzamam who had this habit of picking his own players and did not provide chances to the young blood to nurture under him. Perhaps selectors felt that Younis was going down the same way as Inzamam. Furthermore, Malik raises his own voice against the selection committee after the first loss to India in Asia Cup by briefly stating that they are in charge of the selection, of the matches played on home grounds. There has to be a middle ground in all of this. Younis Khan, the batsman, regardless of his recent centuries or scores of zero, is a class player, one of the two in the team. Since the past couple of years, he has been opening the batting with our opening problem still under construction. We already have enough issues on our hands, on-field and off-field. Younis's batting is not one of them.
Check out Younis Khan's performance against the cricketing nations in their homeground
in test matches.
*****Mat Inns NO Runs HS Ave BF SR 100 50 0
In Aus 3 6 0 259 87 43.16 513 50.48 0 1 0
In Eng 5 9 0 470 173 52.22 819 57.38 1 3 0
In RSA 5 10 1 305 68 33.88 663 46.00 0 2 1
In WI 5 9 0 211 106 23.44 401 52.61 1 0 2
In NZL 3 5 1 280 149 70.00 403 69.47 1 1 1
In Ind 6 12 2 768 267 76.80 1358 56.55 3 2 2
In SL 6 9 2 396 116 56.57 747 53.01 1 3 1
His WI stats are marred by poor performance in the 2000 series where he completely failed and is one of the reasons why he spent few years out of the team. He averaged 6 runs in three tests. In the 2005 series, he averaged 45 in West Indies and hit a 100.
Younis Khan has the most consistent away record of any Pakistan batsmen ever. We are not talking about one of the best, rather the best and most consistent performance by any Pakistani batsmen outside the country.
Useful test player and no way amongst the elite batsmen of World cricket
Younis Khan has been in the top 10 test match batsmen rating since 2005. It's not a fluke. He has scored all around the world in that time. One has to not only score a lot of runs, but consistently so to stay at such a high point for so long. As a reference, in the same time frame, Yousuf, Ponting and Kallis are the only ones who haven't dropped out of top 10.
*Younis IS elite, Rock_express. Does his test average and his performance in tours like Australia and England not prove enough? I'm sure an Australian state side won't approach a merely "useful" cricketer for a stint.
Sometimes he can be quickly dismissed with the most innocuous of deliveries, at other times he will play a rock-solid & chanceless marathon innings.
Sometimes he will score at a snail's pace, at other times he will be regularly clearing boundaries with ease.
Sometimes he will give you an impression of a fun-loving relaxed persona with an ever present smile, at other times he will throw tantrums and refuse Captaincy and such.
one more thing i have felt about him is that he fails when our openers fails too... few occassions he actually worked out when openers fail, but more times I have seen an underpressure Younis getting out, rather collapsing due to the collapse of openers...
Make our openers absorb the early pressure and useful solid start with a good partnership and then, let Younis shine and make a century...
*Could this be a start of something great? I certainly hope so. *
I dont understand why he's still such a hated player. I mean fine, everyone has their own flaws and he can be a bit of a drama queen, but hes a great batsman and has proven himself a few times at the test stage but some people are still not convinced... To me, hes a solid ODI and test player and has nothing more to prove.... but I hope he can shut his critics' mouths by maintaining this current form and take it to the bigger fish too.
khud he kehtay ho "start of something great" phir kehtay ho ke "still such a hated player" :) bhai let him continue this kind of performance and everyone will fall in love with him. He is good test batsman but needs to show something for his long ODI career.
^ aankhain khol kay aik dafa phir mutaaliya farmaaye.
I love the guy, so I'm wondering why hes so hated.... and I have no doubt in my mind that hes a great test player, AND a great one day player, but his record in the ODI's isnt excellent overall... the 'start' of something great is his current form.
Don't believe in the rankings, how long has it taken this guy to really cement his place in the side?
So what if Australian state side was interested in signing him? It's not if Australia was interested in him and he wouldn't get into a top batting side any way.
Elite batsmen list for me not in any particular order i.e. Tendulkar, Dravid, Sangakara, Kallis, Ponting and no way I am going to put the dummy Khan in this list of players and there are others at test level and ODI's which I have not named who are better than him i.e. Mahela Jayawardene.
He is being bigged too much and made into a player he not really is.
^ aankhain khol kay aik dafa phir mutaaliya farmaaye.
I love the guy, so I'm wondering why hes so hated.... and I have no doubt in my mind that hes a great test player, AND a great one day player, but his record in the ODI's isnt excellent overall... the 'start' of something great is his current form.
I hope I've managed to simplify it for you.
I don't think hate is the right word. If people have someting against him, it has to do with his I wana be captain, I don't wanna be captain, I am playing, I am not playing stuff .
Rock_Express, it doesn't really matter if the guy is not in your elite list. As long as he is doing the same job for Pakistan which Ponting does for Australia, Tendi/Dravid does for India, Kallis does for Saffies, and Sangakara does for Srilanka, then that should be good enough for Pakistan. If he is winning us games then he is our elite batsman.