Re: Younis Khan unwilling to take over as Pakistan captain
Just like we don't need a coach I think Pakistan team can do well without the captain on the field. It is simple. We have 5 bowlers - 4 fast, 1 spinner. The fastest bowls first until he gets tired and then hands it to the enxt fastest. After the ball is 25 overs old, the spinner gets it. Each bowler sets up his own field. The batting order can be selected by the Selection committee. (come to think of it, Isn't this what Inzi did for three years?)
This is called team on auto-pilot.
Totally not ... He's been doing the selector's job as well .... and he chose to bat down the order himself, it wasn't the selectors who made him do it :)
Revenge by hook or crook? Bhai, which world r u living? What is wrong is wrong, that is the universal principle of ethics. Malik also has a bad reputation of match fixing in domestic circuit.
Than you should get Muhammed Yousaf. Most ethically suitable :)
^ its more of a question of whether ICC will object to PCB and are there any rules regarding.
Otherwise we would take Malik as captain. I would still like him as VC though for a few years.
Than you should get Muhammed Yousaf. Most ethically suitable :)
Sorry, tainted by match fixing allegations and fined by Justice Abdul Qayyum. Doesnt matter what he is today, its what he did and is capable of repeating.
^ its more of a question of whether ICC will object to PCB and are there any rules regarding.
Otherwise we would take Malik as captain. I would still like him as VC though for a few years.
Why would ICC object to it?
I do not know how to say this, but cp is right
We should keep our options open rather hoping for this or that person to stand up. It will all come down to PCB’s decision to reform, if they have the system, right person will be choosen. Otherwise, it will be repeat of '03 aftermath, where a senior or consistent player is made captain and than left on his own.
I agree with Chee, Younis for captain, if he continues his 'mein nahi kehta' attitude than the only geninune captain material is Malik. He has lead Sialkot in last 4 years and has done pretty good on resource and man management.
He is aggressive, comes up with bright and fresh ideas, the most active and sharp fielder as well.
If Ponting, Smith and Fleming can be captained, why not Malik. We need to go by leadership skills instead of seniority, dramabaazi or Mullah baazi to keep everyone under control.
Malik Captain with full control and support by coach and managerIntekhab Alam CoachUmer Gul Vice captain
Physio must be tight over players' fitness and report to team management
Manager needs to be strict on tours with full authority
Kamran Akmal Out
New Keeper In
Rana Out
Rao is a must in ODIs
Akhtar either play as a team member or sit out
Danesh and Abdul Rehman on rotation
Find and polish new openers in 6 months before our Int’l schedule starts
Yaar tumhain to PCB ka cheif hona chahiye. Only he can come up with such a recipe for D:D
I agree with Chee, Younis for captain, if he continues his 'mein nahi kehta' attitude than the only geninune captain material is Malik. He has lead Sialkot in last 4 years and has done pretty good on resource and man management.
He is aggressive, comes up with bright and fresh ideas, the most active and sharp fielder as well.
If Ponting, Smith and Fleming can be captained, why not Malik. We need to go by leadership skills instead of seniority, dramabaazi or Mullah baazi to keep everyone under control.
Malik Captain with full control and support by coach and managerIntekhab Alam CoachUmer Gul Vice captain
Physio must be tight over players' fitness and report to team management
Manager needs to be strict on tours with full authority
Kamran Akmal Out
New Keeper In
Rana Out
Rao is a must in ODIs
Akhtar either play as a team member or sit out
Danesh and Abdul Rehman on rotation
Find and polish new openers in 6 months before our Int’l schedule starts
Inti 'aaloo' as coach lolz
Do you even know what Inti's role as coach was when Imran Khan was the captain of Pakistan?.....'Inti yaar press koh ya PCB ke kissi bhi member koh khua woh PCB Chief hee kyon na ho mere kumre main naa aane dein aur haan zara chai aur samoson ka intizaam bhi karta jaa......aaj main bohat thaka hua hoon, raat zara dere se hee sooun gaa kal inko practice zara tu hee kara dein'
Younis Khan is right. He is no drama queen…he wants the team to give its 100% on the field and there should be no rifts. I’m sure the Inzi supporters in the team would never want Younis to take over but wud want Yousuf to take over.
Younis Khan should be given the backing of the players and should be respected like Inzi was. Untill the groupbaazi doesnt end in this team…we will never do well. Shoiab Malik for VC :k:
^ to earn respect like Inzi, Younis will have to perform like him.
We all know that Younis is pretty average player and if Imran Khan was not on his back he woudnt be VC even.
ur right younis is an average player. not captain material tho, the only thing that gives him that push is hustle in the field (and imran khan of course)
moyo doesn't seem that he can enforce much on the field
in the end we're left with younis as captain and i say either moyo (vc) or even razzaq
^ to earn respect like Inzi, Younis will have to perform like him.
We all know that Younis is pretty average player and if Imran Khan was not on his back he woudnt be VC even.
Where does that come from? Pakistan will never get a batsman like Inzi. Forget Inzi...he's gone. Does Greame Smith have to perform like Kallis or Pollock to earn respect? Does Dravid need to score 14000+ runs like Tendulkar to earn respect as captain? Was Ponting as good as Steve Waugh when he was made captain?
Thats a rubbish reason which you just posted. There is no reason why ANY player should not respect a captain appointed by the cricket board. Like I said before, until this group-baazi doesnt finish we will never go anywhere. This player doesnt wanna play under that player and so on. Either unite under one captain or get out of the team...this is the stance the PCB must take.
I don't care who the captain is...whether its Younis, Malik or Afridi. Team must be united and Younis is right by saying that every player must give his 100%. Its a known fact Inzi never got along with Younis and Inzi still has his supporters in the team who would want Yousef to take over. No player would want to captain a team when the players arent supporting him and Younis is completely right in wanting the backing of the players if he is to take over as captain.
I dont see anything wrong if he clarifying things b4 taking up the captaincy. He knows the team better than most and he must have some valid reason to question the commitment of some of the players. thats why he wants assurances. Any self respecting man would to have an assurance that the board would stand by it in case some player creates a drama…which WILL happen sooner or later. Media is just hyping it up
but the bottom line stays the same. whom ever the captain is , he should have the 100% backing of the players regardless anything...and the the idea behind this should be national interest