Re: Younis Khan unwilling to take over as Pakistan captain
Commitment aside, if there are any disagreements than Younis should be grateful. Any Pakistani player who is unwilling to give 100% should not be in the team, regardless of captain. However, differences can create a pool of brain storm strategies that can help the team. Something Imran-Miandad and Wasim-Moin were good at. Younis needs just that...his strategies can never be all right.
Agreed again.
I just doubt whether our ppl (players) have any clue of brainstorming or team ideas etc.
The only part of team building they will know maybe is
STORMING - fighting it out as ideas are thrown out
or then conforming - blindly submitting to the leader.
(from Storming, forming, norming, conforming, performing - phases of teams)
The worst part thus far is that the whole hoopla of cancelling contract and talk of discpline and code of conduct might just prove to be rhetoric that winds up being flushed down the poop shute.
In a recent television show, Ijaz Ahmed revealed that Imran Khan usually won't speak to the team on individual performances when he himself didn't do anything special. Wo kehtey the aaj meiN ney khud kuch nahi kia to tum logoN sey performance par kya baat karooN! That's inspiring.
^ He is tainted with throwing a match. Plus you will get more out of him if he is VC and stabilizes the middle order. He will learn more being VC by watching YoYo's mistakes and should be decent in 2-3 years. We should have him as Captain before 2011 WC though.
I agree with Chee, Younis for captain, if he continues his 'mein nahi kehta' attitude than the only geninune captain material is Malik. He has lead Sialkot in last 4 years and has done pretty good on resource and man management.
He is aggressive, comes up with bright and fresh ideas, the most active and sharp fielder as well.
If Ponting, Smith and Fleming can be captained, why not Malik. We need to go by leadership skills instead of seniority, dramabaazi or Mullah baazi to keep everyone under control.
Malik Captain with full control and support by coach and manager
Intekhab Alam Coach
Umer Gul Vice captain
Physio must be tight over players' fitness and report to team management
Manager needs to be strict on tours with full authority
Kamran Akmal Out
New Keeper In
Rana Out
Rao is a must in ODIs
Akhtar either play as a team member or sit out
Danesh and Abdul Rehman on rotation
Find and polish new openers in 6 months before our Int’l schedule starts
I agree with Chee, Younis for captain, if he continues his 'mein nahi kehta' attitude than the only geninune captain material is Malik. He has lead ..........................edit................
Out
New Keeper In
Rana Out
Rao is a must in ODIs
Akhtar either play as a team member or sit out
Danesh and Abdul Rehman on rotation
Find and polish new openers in 6 months before our Int’l schedule starts
err...
How will u polish new openers without them playing international cricket in the next 6 months...I mean r u thinking of brasso or something to put on a shine...
I do not think that he threw the match. His side was cheated and he planned to take revenge by hook or by crook. It shows that he is mentally strong enough to take up challenge, set himself a target and achieve it come what may. To me, it’s a quality. It’s not a simple world. And you do not need to be simple either.
Alona..
First you must have atleast 10 sporting wickets built accross the nation on emergency basis within 2 months or so.
Hold a open house in major cities, four days in each city to spot raw talent in this talent hunt program with Muddassar, Rameez and Saeed Anwar.
Then with the potential pool of openers, hold a special net for two weeks with same gentlemen to filter the pool further and choose 4 solid ones and groom them further in two months time.
Then let these players play domestic (with all big names in fast bowling on fast tracks). Arrange a mini tournament in domestic to give these guys match practice.
When you have money in hand, you can do a lot of things, all you need is right planning.
I have a firm beleive that we have a lots of potential that can't come upto the national level because of various reasons. We can over come our selection problem with this (temporarily for now, untill we fix the domestic circuit permenantly)
i surely hope so who ever is made the captain, get the support of rest of the team. It is clinical. we have SA example in front of us. Smith was 21 when he was made captain over so many senior players. If our players really play for the COUNTRY then they shouldnt have an issue with whomever the captain is.
I do not think that he threw the match. His side was cheated and he planned to take revenge by hook or by crook. It shows that he is mentally strong enough to take up challenge, set himself a target and achieve it come what may. To me, it's a quality. It's not a simple world. And you do not need to be simple either.
Revenge by hook or crook? Bhai, which world r u living? What is wrong is wrong, that is the universal principle of ethics. Malik also has a bad reputation of match fixing in domestic circuit.