Its always a question for younger generation why our parents want us to be engineer or doctor? Why not actor,singer or any other thing other than doc ,mbas or engineer.To me either call me conservative but I don’t like this attitude. We as a parent always think best for our children but they never understand. Like is mein hamara kaya faida hai agar hamari aulaad doctor banay gi ? Seriously parents ki to money hi waste ho gi and what? Faida to khud aulaad ko ho gaa jo doc yaa engineer ban ker apna future better ker saktay hain.
I am not saying ke agar meray bachay kaa damah nahi hai and mein usey push karoon doc bannay per but as a parent my responsibility is always guide him or her in right direction. But what you guys think ke agar aap ke parents ne aap per paisa laga ker aap ko khcuh bnaaya hai is se unhain kaya faida
hoa hai ? You are supporting your family, have a bright future and what has it anything to do with parents.But aajkal ki generation aisa kyoon sochti hai?
I think thats totally wrong strategy to tell ur kid wat he should become when he grows up, we should analyze kids intrests and his weaknesses, and then guide em that buddy wat u wana be doesn have enough money or is not allowed in islam and u wont be able to support ur parents and family if u go for this profession and then try to mould their mind.
in my case my mom always wanted me to become Doctor or engineer and dad didn really care, he said i could wat i like if its halal and can support my family. now physics was my favourite subject but i sucked in biology and chemistry, its not like i was failing em, my marks were always above 80% in em but it was a torture for me to study em, so i simply went for my first love economics and accounting and alhumdulilah m in the field now. and if u force ur kid to do something that he doesn want or like, believe me one day Khudana khasta he is gona be a drop out
You are assuming that becoming a doctor is always the right path for everyone. I have some seen miserable doctors. Maybe a profession in a career that you might look down upon is the best possible fit for your child. Your influence over you child in choosing a career should be intended to help them decide, not force them pick one or push them in doing what they don't want to do.
I think thats totally wrong strategy to tell ur kid wat he should become when he grows up, we should analyze kids intrests and his weaknesses, and then guide em that buddy wat u wana be doesn have enough money or is not allowed in islam and u wont be able to support ur parents and family if u go for this profession and then try to mould their mind.
in my case my mom always wanted me to become Doctor or engineer and dad didn really care, he said i could wat i like if its halal and can support my family. now physics was my favourite subject but i sucked in biology and chemistry, its not like i was failing em, my marks were always above 80% in em but it was a torture for me to study em, so i simply went for my first love economics and accounting and alhumdulilah m in the field now. and if u force ur kid to do something that he doesn want or like, believe me one day Khudana khasta he is gona be a drop out
Ecoshan I didn't say that I will force my children to become doc but all I am saying is we parents always think better for our children.The point is kids think we are forcing them but we are not.Actually if I see my child's interest in Math I will not send him or her to medicine but when he or she will do SATS and wants to go to some unis then I will discuss it with my children what they should consider.Looking at the market you can always guide your children whats their best pick.You can talk to them that they have a future in medicine or in engineering but their is definately no future in being a painter or a handyman .But you can always tell them they can use these things as a second occupation or use as hobby. I want to make my children smart so they can decide themselves whats better for their future and Inshallah they will understand what I am saying.
I do not think its an issue with just “aajkal ki generation”, this has always been a bone of contention btw parents and children. One has to look at a child’s apptitiude, as EcoShan mentioned above, and not just look at “market trends”.
i have a cousin who went to medical school (Agha Khan) and dropped out halfway (for similar reasons), completely wasting the much sought-after seat that a more deserving candidate may have benefitted from. now parents are not totally to blame, since there is no such thing as career or educational councelling in schools/ colleges in Pakistan, youth are often left confused. In the west where such programs are availabe, decisions should be made after much discussion and mutual satisfaction, like ume-z mentioned above.
PS if it makes them happier and better individuals, then no harm in them being painter, actors or musicians :halo: (ya i know, easier said than done)
Well in old times those professions were the only ones really heard of, secure and considered respectable. They didn’t had sucha vibrant veriety as we do now. I think parents now are quite flexible, esp’ those that are in the west or even back home. Slowly the clock is ticking our tock …wait for it! Not all hope is lost yet.
As far as choosing one’s career in the ‘artist’ area, things are mostly grey, its like alot to do with one’s luck(i’ve still to write on ur other thread) … u can’t be certain to make a career in that region just about any part of the world. See with doctors, u’ll never run out of sick ppl. With engineers, u’ll never run out of mechanical problems, for mba’s well business is always a must to be up and running, same goes for profession of law: ppl will never tire of conflicts to be resolved.
So really it boils down to the main concern of parents getting their kids into more of a stable and a set job. Because if we were to become a singer, what if u lost ur voice on the day of ur major concert… u’d get tomatoes in ur face for a lousy lip sync. Its more challenging to be doing your excellent in professions like that. even still if one is really good, what if he/she is not good enough for the audience. U really depend on ppl’s taste and mood, and keep on running into tonnes of ->:snooty: kinda ppl. So u’re more dependant on their choice, rather they dependant on you in terms of being a sick patient, they have no choice to say no, but rather come and get themselves checked out and leave you with a pocketfull of good change:@:
i had some frnds, wife doc husband engineer and they were absolutely shattered when their
young child used to say he wants to be a hair dresser when he grows up.
I think one should help understand a kids interests and see how those interests can be paired with a career. I wanted to be in the airforce but due to eyesight i was told I could go to the aeronautical engineering but not the pilot route. so I was clueless thats all I ever wanted to be, i liked videogames and gadgets, my dad brought computers as a career as a suggestion, i jumped on it, later realized that i liked technology but did not want to be a techie so paired technology with business.
i mean there are fields people can go into that desis traditionally dont if parents see how they will fit in with kids interests, architecture for example is one of the fields.
I wanted to be in the airforce but due to eyesight i was told I could go to the aeronautical engineering but not the pilot route. so I was clueless thats all I ever wanted to be, i liked videogames and gadgets, my dad brought computers as a career as a suggestion, i jumped on it, later realized that i liked technology but did not want to be a techie so paired technology with business.
dude... our career crossroads were a mirror image :)
^ yeah right! real deal... I wish - we're each playin our own shell games I suppose.
So why'd Aeronautical Eng. not work out for ya?
For me, I submitted the apps, passed the math and physics entrance test but was told I was underage! I was told to come back the following year but I was furious and changed my mind.
^ yeah right! real deal... I wish - we're each playin our own shell games I suppose.
So why'd Aeronautical Eng. not work out for ya?
For me, I submitted the apps, passed the math and physics entrance test but was told I was underage! I was told to come back the following year but I was furious and changed my mind.
couple of things.
first was same issue as yours, age
second, and my mum will deny it now, but she feaked out that it was happening, I think as I was a kid it was funny to hear that I wanted to be in the military, when it kinda stared her in the face she panicked. and for her it was not that i was going to be in military, but that I was going to be so far away..not realizing that my other path was going to take me to a different continent.
third and most importantly, I was no longer sure what I wanted to do.
I mean did not just want to be anything in the military i wanted to be a pilot, and then realizing that was not going to happen, I was left without a direction. sensing discomfort from ammi, and saying well if i have to go in engineering atleast i should do something l like, i went for computers.
maybe I would have done things differently with some guidance at that time, but its in the past.
as far as playing shell games, there have been many times where I am in a situation, way out of my confort zone and trying to do my best but there is this thought at the back of my head going..dude you are a hack..luckily it does not last, and that fear makes me really get up to speed.
Right now with my role change, i feel somewhat the same, i love the new respnsibilities, more so than what I was doing, but as far as what I was doing, i became an expert..kinda funny that some of that stuff i had picked up in february. and now as I pick new stuff up, the nervous energy is there alongwith excitement and motivation.