young women yearn for 1950s role as stay-at-home mums

Re: young women yearn for 1950s role as stay-at-home mums

Oh Faisal, you SO did not just say that!

You are going DOWN, my brother in Islam.

** Some women I know would work just for the sake of work.**

Yeah and?

** These are women who don't have to work, as they live in million dollar houses, drive latest Honda minivans paid for by their husbands and work as teacher's assistant or someother "job" which is probably just a half step above volunteer work. **

You tread in very murky waters, my friend. My mother is a teacher's assistance, you idiot of a man, you.

They get paid minimum pay, and almost all of it is either taxed away (on the married couple highest marginal tax rate) or paid to the nanny. Aray bhai.. what did you get out of it, except spending less time with your kids?

Here's why MY MOM works this job. It's not a dead end job AT ALL. By what you've written, it sounds to me like "Work if you can benefit me, or just sit at home". Which is SO the TYPICAL MALE desi attitude!!!

First off, my mother started working the job when both my sister and I were in school. She would get bored at home.

Let me intercede here and point out benefit 1: BEING PRODUCTIVE, AND AVOIDING BOREDOM IN THE HOUSEHOLD. Seriously, you should do a day of exchanging roles with YOUR wife and sit at home while she goes to your job just so you can see how boring it is to be home when your kids are older and off at school.

So she started off by volunteering at my sis's elementary school. From the volunteering, she found out about these teaching assistant positions, and since she liked working with the kids so much, she figured, why not get paid - she was volunteering throughout the whole school day anyway. She might as well get paid for it.

So you see, its quite damn different from being just a volunteer.

*And these are dead end jobs. Unless there is an future upswing potential, I call them "zabardasti ki job". *

I feel so like cursing you out, except that I know you and have some semblance of respect for you that just decreased like 98 percent. These are not dead end jobs. They are there because people need teaching assitants. FYI...a lot of people go forward with this and enter into teaching, so they go back to college to get their education degrees. Or they upgrade to being a substitute teacher. If DONE RIGHT, I think these jobs are really fulfilling. My mom gets to interact with so many cute little kids; she feels light and airy; she's not constantly on my father's case (something you will face when YOUR WIFE hits MENOPAUSE); etc etc.

That's the most ridiculous thing I've heard. Denouncing a job you're not interested in as a
zabardasti ka job!

They missed every single parent activity in their kids schools.

Bullcrap. She knows EVERY detail of my life, except my love life which she wont find out no matter how much of a sit at home mom she reverts back to.

In fact, I find it much easier to relate to her. Prior to her job, I had a lot of problems with her. MASSIVE problems. She was constantly interfering, I could never go to her with any school problems of any kind, and she was always meddling in my friendships, because she didn't have any friendships of her own! Now she has a social life at her school with her co-workers, she feels independent, she takes the money she makes and saves it and spends it on her luxuries here and there, so she doesn't burden my father with those things. And I've learned a lot of "life" lessons from her as well.

Take THAT!

saimanyc, honestly, do you think you are any worse off because your mother worked?

^ LOL :slight_smile:

There is reason why desi men get wives from back home in the west. They want their mother. quite oedipal..if you ask me. :rolleyes:

no one..she shud save herself until her man gets home

I have nothing against women working!!! Their life, my decision is mine. I admire my mother’s strength and determination. She juggled alot more than most women can handle. She chose to stay home until we were full time in school. That is the major issue for me and that is what I choose to do as well.

But I personally am not a mom who would get a nanny from day one of baby’s birth so I can go shop at Bergdorf’s and not have to get up at night for nightfeedings. Don’t even get me started about breastfeeding! Ofcourse I have strong opinions on mothering because they stem from my own personal experience. I am not setting rules for anyone else. But if i can’t express my own opinions here…then why are we here?

^ so they are your hangups..good to know. What do you think about kids whose fathers are missing for 80-90% of the week?

Feel sorry for those kids. But if you’re insinuating that my husband is one, to some degree he may be. Although his schedule is busy, any free time he has is spent with our daughter. Most dads I know around here come home about 6-7pm or so as does my husband and he usually has a weekend free. But as this is the last year of residency, it’s going to be easier from here. His first year of fellowship is research/lab work and he’ll have alot more time. Ofcourse it kills him when he’s on call and he doesn’t see Safia. He’s a very devoted dad and a very hardworker. The rough times are over for us Mashallah.

I totally agree that a child needs both mother and father. It’s not just a mother’s duty in raising a child. We’re lucky that my husband is very active in her life as much as he can be. As I’m sure you’re active in your children’(s) lives as well. So if it’s a question of quantity of time or quality of times, Aziz definitely wants more quantity. That we will have soon, but for now the quality of time spent with Safia is great.

PCG, may be you get ticked off easily, but the whole point was that the new-women (even desis) should think about careers more seriously, and not take it as an after-thought to avoid boredom at home. But then, if you want to be a teacher’s assistant all your life, more power to you :k:

I seriously don’t understand why there is such a lack of ambition amongst these women. You are all smart (intelligence-wise) as survey after survey shows that girls consistently score better grades than boys in school, have as many opportunities as boys have in this time and age… go for the home run, girls… Aim for $150k, not $15k.

Anyway, for those who want to lag behind and depend on their husband’s salary to pay for their Honda Odyssy… its your life.. have fun.

It's all about wanting what you don't have. Given such an option, even most men would choose a relaxed lifestyle over a hectic job.

From the psychological point of view, only a few people have a high need for achievement. Those with little or no ambition and high need for affiliation will always choose familial bliss(not like it is zero when u hold a job) over a job. And like pcg said, surviving on one income is really not an option for most families in the U.S. So no matter how women "feel" about it, it ain't gonna make a difference.

faisal: ppl living in million dollar homes drive a honda?! really!

Chandbeti, “most men would choose a relaxed lifestyle over a hectic job”. Maybe. Maybe not. I guess we need another survery for that too. :stuck_out_tongue:

I am just giving my personal views. I know not everyone is ambitious. Plus many suffer from blame-displacement where they feel everyone except themselves is responsible for holding them back, but thats a separate discussion.

Single-income family vs dual-income family… I guess it depends, and it may very well be true that if a husband is stuck at a 40-50k job, the wife may feel she has no choice in this matter.. My point is when both parents are working, there are higher associated costs that should be adjusted against top-level marginal increase in income.

ps. And yeah, here in the Bay Area, a million dollar really gets you just a nice single family home. Nothing outrageous, actually. Honda, all the way! :k:

Faisal do not realize what you are saying. Honest to God, you’ve just insulted the job of a teachers assistant. For your information, these people help teachers to give YOUR kids the type of education that will help them become the people they will be one day.If somebody want to be a teachers assistant all her/his life, all the more to THEM. Who are you to sit around and tell us what type of a job a person should be after anyway?

And for those women who dont wish to pursue a career its their choice. Do you think that being a parent is not a big enough job? Im so tired of hearing that people - women - are not ambitious. If a woman wants to stay at home and plant flowers in her garden, if thats something she WANTS - its her life - her choice, thats fine.

Its unfair to say that all women should want top shop demanding careers. If I want to be a teacher all my life, that is my life, it is my business, and if I can give education to a child and make him/her what she will be one day, a president or a doctor or a gadrener, well then thats enough ambition for me!

At the end it is not how much money you have earned in your life, but what you accomplished in it and what you will leave behind.

I apologise for this off topic rant, but I had to say it.:o

Plus personally its the same with parents/mothers/fathers. If one is working , the other is staying home taking care of kids, thats fine. I believe kids need the parents, if not both then at least one who is always there.

Some cases both parents work, other cases they dont mind living a less than lavish life to help raise the kids. Whatever works for the parents if fine so long as they are there for the children.

Faisal phans gaya ghundiyon mein :bummer:

Copyright and original: Raziya phans gayi ghundon mein (no offence to any guppan named Raziya :halo: )

Sorry for being completely off topic, but Faisal bhai, need help?

^ wats ghundi/ghundo?

mobs

Faisal pai sab,

You are right, if there is a kid or more involved and one of the partner(not necessarily the woman) holds a job of 25k and less, it's better to stay home and take care of kids than do the job. Because with a job, there comes the need for day-care or nanny, outside food and a lot of unforseen expenses which amount to more than 25K a year.

The way you were harping about families in million dollar homes, I thought you were talking about the "elite" and really, honda and elite don't go together. You should have said, average families instead of the "million dollar" tag. :p

Chandbeti, yes, of course. But Faisal never stipulated in his obscene comments about women like my very own mother that his high mashfara goes for women who have children under the age of FIVE!

My mother works the teacher's assistant job and I'm happy that she's happy.

After all Faisal, be very happy that not all women are ambitious, otherwise people like you would be out of a job. :)

Maybe then you'd have to get your own wife to be the bread-winner, and train your daughters to be "ambitious".

I used to be ambitious and made a lot of money, but it was a miserable job and I was sick all the time. All I wanted to do was sleep when I got home and I snapped at everyone. Since I was miserable most of the day, I made everyone who came in contact with me miserable. I quit finally, took a lesser paying job in a more relaxed atmosphere and I love every second.

Sometimes the money doesn't matter but the personal fulfillment, happiness, and peace of mind does and so do the people you work with.

I would think that a lot of personal fulfillment and happiness can come out of being a teacher's assistant, especially knowing that you count in a child's life. If you already have a main breadwinner in the family, then why not? But to put anyone in any occupation down is just thoughtless.

^ u sound so mature and understanding. i love ur responses.

PCG.. I don’t make personal comments, or post insults like calling people “idiots”. I think calling people with names don’t improve my argument. If someone is getting diarrhea cz they can’t understand the comment, they should take a laxative instead of vomitting all over. :slight_smile:

I tell my daughters that they can only go as high as they dream. There are really no limits to what they can achieve. End of Story.

If it means, they end up as a homemaker and are happy.. Great. If they want to follow in the footsteps of Meg Whitman, more power to them.

um, You wrote the comment. I understood it as it was written.