young women yearn for 1950s role as stay-at-home mums

They are the generation of women who grew up expecting to have it all. No longer forced to choose between children and a career, they were set to embrace superwomanhood by doing both - while holding down a perfect relationship and keeping a spotless home in their spare time.

But modern woman has taken a reality check. The average 29-year-old now hankers for a return to the lifestyle of a 1950s housewife. The daughters of the “Cosmo” generation of feminists want nothing more than a happy marriage and domestic bliss in the countryside, according to a survey.

Research into the attitudes of 1,500 women with an average age of 29 found that 61 per cent believe “domestic goddess” role models who juggle top jobs with motherhood and jet-set social lives are “unhelpful” and “irritating”. More than two-thirds agree that the man should be the main provider in a family, while 70 per cent do not want to work as hard as their mother’s generation. On average, the women questioned want to “settle down” with their partner by 30 and have their first child a year later.

Vicki Shotbolt, deputy chief executive of the National Family and Parenting Institute, said: "This is the generation of young women who have seen the ‘have it all’ ethos up close and personal, and they have realised that it doesn’t work.

“Their own mothers may have tried to juggle motherhood and careers, and it may have been the children who feel they lost out … I think women really are coming of age now, and are accepting that it is virtually impossible to have it all.”

And after decades of soaring divorce rates and a rise in births outside marriage, it appears the next generation of mothers is reverting to more traditional social mores.

Nine out of 10 young women would rather be married when they have children, while 75 per cent believe that modern couples do not make enough effort to stay together.

A quarter of those questioned intend to give up work and be a full-time mother when they start a family, with just 1 per cent saying their career will remain a “top priority” once they have children.

According to the survey, for New Woman magazine, young women do not crave the singleton glamour of the Sex and the City series, nor the suburban competitiveness of Desperate Housewives. While just 28 per cent want to live in a city, 34 per cent desire life in a small town and for 38 per cent, their ideal life would be in a village. Just 5 per cent rate their top priority in a relationship as “great sex” while 95 per cent say what they really want is commitment from a partner.

Even traditional hobbies, such as knitting, have been making a comeback, with cinemas offering “stitch and bitch” sessions for women who want to watch a film while creating the perfect homespun jumper for their man.

And the “superwomen” role models of the 1990s have also fallen from grace. Last year Nicola Horlick, who wrote a book entitled Can You Have It All? about her life as a mother of five and millionaire fund manager, announced she and her husband were to divorce.

Lorraine Candy, the editor of Cosmopolitan, resigned from her job and later attacked the magazine’s owners over comments they made about her taking maternity leave. “There is a growing realisation that being at the top of a career might not make you happy in the way that marriage and children might do,” she said.

Margi Conklin, editor of New Woman, said: “There has been a fundamental shift in young women’s attitudes towards life and work. They’ve watched their own mothers trying and often failing to ‘have it all’ and have decided they don’t want it all. They don’t want to work crazy hours while their children are put into nurseries and their relationships disintegrate under the strain.”

She went on: “Young women today are increasingly putting their personal happiness before a big salary or high-powered career. Above everything else, they crave a work-life balance where they can enjoy a fulfilling relationship, raise happy children and have a job that interests them but doesn’t overwhelm them. The age of the ‘superwoman’, who wants to be the world’s best mother, wife and boss, is dead.”

‘I travelled around the world with work but I really love my life now’

source

we’ve come a full circle. But its great to have a domestic helper.

Re: young women yearn for 1950s role as stay-at-home mums

stitch and bitch sessions?

urgh.

Yeah...this decade is for the stay home moms...
That fashion is back...
Gossiping whole day with other neighbourhood moms would be in style again...

You know...it isn't the sitting at home gossiping. ...

My husband and I have talked about this extensivly...what we will do when we have kids. He worries about me becoming a gossipy aunty sitting at home HOWEVER i worry about the amount of work/stress i have now and knowing how hard I work...and how little time i have after work, how that will effect my capacity to be a great mom.

I really want to make sure i have the time to be a great mom, spend it with my kids when they are really young, read, play which will help them be more intelligent but also feel emotionally secure...

I also want to cook good foods, be healthy with them and active..and thinking about work and my life now i realizes to do the above with kids means going part time or taking time off for a while when the kids are young.

It is hard...a huge sacrifice that i'm having a hard time with but i realize that when i envision my life and kids...I don't want to be the tired stress bucket I am when I get home ....

So yes I believe you can't have it all...and i think its totally great that women today feel that they can and know they have the option.

Here's to happiness whatever anyone decides...

“Their own mothers may have tried to juggle motherhood and careers, and it may have been the children who feel they lost out … I think women really are coming of age now, and are accepting that it is virtually impossible to have it all.”

i think this is the upper middle class children speaking, those whose moms and dads managed to lift thier status enuff so that thier young and rich women can concentrate on ‘more traditional roles’…dont think its the same for the actual middle class…:flower1:

coming of age my foot, maan baap kai poori zindagi kai paisai pai bakwas kar rahee hain.

I find it funny that because we are a generation that's so used to seeing 'superwomen' juggling home and career that we automatically assume that a mom who stays home is actually just lazy and spoiled. Like she just sits around and she has no value. But a nanny or maid or cook or teacher are all paid and valued for their hard work...work that one woman does, a mother. I can relate to this article because my mother also worked throughout my childhood. She now regrets not being able to spend much time with us and tells me to just enjoy the time i have with my kid(s). I always knew that I would stay home with my kids atleast until they are full time in school. Compared to most of the women I know in NYC I'm living an 'alternative' lifestyle, though it is very traditional. It's just not the norm here to stay home and be a one income household.

One of the factors that is important, especially in the US, is that to maintain your household income at the average (last time I checked - average middle class TOTAL household income was like 75,000 and that was like 4 years ago), BOTH mommy and daddy need to work

OR daddy needs to have a really good job and job SECURITY. It doesn't help to hold a job that you're earning 75,000 at only to be fired after 3 years.

So, I think that this study might be exposing what women WANT, but not what they would CHOSE.

So I do not think you're going to see a reversal in trends, sorry to say.

And frankly, the study is going around and asking ladies if they would rather work AND take care of a house or not work and be housewives. Any lady who is not worried about finances would probably choose to sit at home anyway! If I had a choice, I'd love to take a job that I can work at from the home. But the economy only holds so many such jobs.

Hell, I bet if you interviewed husbands, most of them would want to sit at home too!

i’ve been working since my late teens, i wudn’t mind staying at home for a while n taking time off from hectic lifestyle. it doesnt have to be permanent though. my husband doesnt care if i want to stay home or not, he says its my choice and he is fine with whatever decision i make as long as i am happy with it. ( such a shweety i tell ya :blush: ) .
i think it’s all about choice. in old days women didnt have any choice so they worked towards equality and now that we do have a “choice” and have achieved the recognition in the male dominant society, some of them might want to relax a bit. there is no one forcing them to fulfil a certain role anymore. n that makes a whole lot of difference.

^ interesting isn't it? Give the woman the "choice" and she could very well say , eh, I'll just not work. But OPPOSE a girl and tell her she can't, then she'll go out of her way to prove you wrong.

See boys, let your women be free!

^ haha.. isnt it with everyone? when u try to oppress someone, obviously they are going to rebel and try to prove u wrong. but when its a choice.. anything can happen.

So this all comes down to money then? What about personal fulfillment. Don’t you think a young woman who has education and aspirations is making a sacrifice in some way by reevaluation priorities? Putting children before her own yearnings for a career is not an easy decision. As you say ‘sitting’ at home may be an option for a woman of leisure in Pakistan but in the real world of America, I don’t think I’d be so quick to judge.

oops

Having seen both sides of the coin, I have to say that being a stay at home Mom is the most rewarding, challenging thing a person could ever do. That said, if I decided to return to Wall Street, I could makemy high income again and actually lessen the stress in my life. Staying at home with 3 babies is monotonous and challenging - both physically and emotionally. Going to work each day is intellectually challenging. A very different demand on a body. I would never ever trade what I have, I am SO lucky to be able to be a stay-at-home in this crazy day and age. But those of you who think its a relaxing, laid back life will have one rude awakening!

This is the zillionth time you've mentioned your wall street job. Are you just trying to reinforce to yourself that you made the right decision by repeating your personal story here again and again?

So this all comes down to money then? What about personal fulfillment. Don't you think a young woman who has education and aspirations is making a sacrifice in some way by reevaluation priorities? Putting children before her own yearnings for a career is not an easy decision. As you say 'sitting' at home may be an option for a woman of leisure in Pakistan but in the real world of America, I don't think I'd be so quick to judge.

No, I never said it comes down to money. I said that while a woman might WANT to serve her family the best as a stay-at-home mom, the US economic system doesn't make the decision easy. What I'm simply saying is that this study points out what women WANT, not what they actually choose. (Although the study is entirely done in Britain, so maybe this point isn't valid in this study). What a woman actually chooses is not just based on some feelings or her sense of duty to the family, but also financial survival (which I think can overtake everything else for lots of families).

The study also talks about how this might be a reversal of trends, and I dont see that happening soon BECAUSE of economical reasons.

I'm sure this is hard for you to understand, because you're married to a doctor. Think of the wife married to a guy with a 30,000 dollar job in insurance.

BTW don’t get me wrong. I’m not advocating women to go become crazy workaholics. All I’m saying is that in many situations, a woman has to work. You even see it in our old “pinds” back home. Women working in the field alongside the men (or maybe the moat between the wheat fields is a pardah :rolleyes: ).

All I’m saying is that one cannot brush aside working moms as the bad moms.

Por Exemple,

My boss works in very demanding field. The work pay is not that great. But its what she has passion doing. Her husband left her with two daughters - the younger one has severe diabetes. She was starting out with a new job when he daughter fell ill and was dying of diabetes attack in the hospital, and her damn boss wouldn’t let her go home.

She’s fought it thru, and though she doesn’t even get to eat dinner with her kids, because she’s at work late at night, her daughters are awesome and really independent - and they dont hate their mommy at all.

In fact, if anything, they hate their deadbeat dad.

I have an affinity for man-hating women, I know.

Oh yeah, and she was the big cover story of our city newspaper a while ago. An inspring story indeed. I dont see such inspiring stories coming from stay at home moms.

In fact, if anything, more women in our culture NEED to get out and make a name for themselves. Get some publicity and get this darn image of oppressed women wiped out once and for all!

/\

a different type of desi martin luther king :D

why does

housewife = opressed?

"This is the zillionth time you've mentioned your wall street job. Are you just trying to reinforce to yourself that you made the right decision by repeating your personal story here again and again?"

PCG, my my nasty nasty. I repeated it for the "zillionth time" because I felt that it was relevant to the thread. Obviously, if I had any doubt about whether I made the right choice, I'd go back to wall st and have an easier life and hire out help to take care of home and family. Its all about being ABLE to make the choice which is the topic of the thread - rather than NEEDING to work which is what you're b1tching about. I'm very lucky to be able to make the choice. Sorry if you're sick of hearing it for whatever reason but there are others who may be interested.

And if you look at the families of the 50s and 60s, kids were so much healthier and active and secure. Give them a ball and they didnt need expensive video toys, dvds, computers etc etc. Theres a growing trend to get back to that - and not only is it great for the children, its even better for the household budget. This could allow more women to make the choice of whether or not to stay home.

PCG,

You say the issue is not about money but you come back to the fact that my husband is a doctor. Why do you automatically assume that I’m just living in luxury?

We got married while he was in med school and lived off of his loans, so basically extremely frugally. Then as a resident (5yrs) we managed fine on $40,000 - $50,000 in NYC. The first year before our daughter was born i worked full time also up until i was 4 months pregnant. With my salary, it wouldn’t make sense to pay someone to watch my child. Basically all my pay would go to her and then what would be the reason for me to work? It would be like paying someone to get away from my kid.

So life gets more complicated as you get older. Now baby #2 is on the way, we’re moving to California. Because of his fellowhip we’ll be living off of the same salary for another 2 years. But big deal. This is just normal to us. We’re very lucky to be self sufficient and not ask for any help from our families. I understand the issue about financial survival. I have an aunt who used to work full time and just drop her kids off for my mom to watch while my mother also took care of my sick Dadijaan. My mother also ran a home business at the same time and took care of me and my 2 brothers.(Come to think of it, every woman in my family worked full time.) Everyone has their story. Maybe some cases are more extreme.