1)I go to temples rarely. I prefer only old temples (>100 years old).
2)I have many photographs of God’s and Goddesses, but they are for my wife and parents. I do not need any.
3)Yes
4)100% vegetarian. I do not take any meat / egg / cakes etc or any product that even has a hint of meat or chicken toppings.
5)Respect elders, Respect life, character is more important than money.
Hey, What more do you expect from a curious teenager atleast this book did its part in guiding me to the right career. On my last trip back to India, I met a French Caucasian girl in her mid 20's, she boarded the aircraft from London........She started the discussion about the Ajanta-Elora caves and Kama Sutra......Well it seemed like she knew more about India thru books than me. And these taboo subjects remain to be a great selling point....Atleast these points are promoting tourism.
are you a religious scholar now or something? How did the book help you find the right career? Just wondering....
Religious scholar...............THANK GOD, I am an atheist..............LOL............
Ok..heres the deal. That summer of 97, I was totally obsessed with tantic practises and i was looking for a book on trantric practises and tantra.....I could not find any and finally ended with this book as it had a chapter on trantric practises...........After reading what they do to increase their dark powers....I dropped the plans being a tantric.....so somehow, someway this book has guided me when I was a teenager.
Tusi g8t ho…might have skipped your adolescent age from your growing up days…I have matured thru all the phases of my life and learnt a lot the hard way..All I can say…Lucky you !
Tusi g8t ho....might have skipped your adolescent age from your growing up days..........I have matured thru all the phases of my life and learnt a lot the hard way..All I can say...Lucky you !
aaaww sorry yaar, I didn't mean to seem all snooty but I actually thought you were kidding about wanting to become a tantric as a teen that's why I was giggling b4, I didn't know u were seriously considering it when you were younger. Btw, where did our other resident semi-atheist Birdflu go?
Rocking Vibes
oh thanks yaar! i was indeed confused!!! we dont have the sacred thread or the stuffs so no chance of being brahmin! and about kyathriya, i dont know much. i havent, till date, seen a single kyathriya Bong!
hhmm...Nigam, so Sonu Nigam would be a Kayastha too?? dont know if we are merchant or anything, we all flock to Govt. and Private companies!
even i was really interested about all the Tantric sect and all those Pagan/Wiccan things. the interest died down. though i once did tried that Woo Doo doll or watever they are called!
oh, so indopak, what language do ya speak if not Kashmiri??? i think there was another Kashmiri on GP whose forefathers too migrated from Kashmir and now i think they speak Konkani. i think her name was Malaika.
As per the saint whom i know, there is a lot of misconception about tantra. People tend to believe tantra has got to do with sex, pagan and witch stuff. As per him, that is a corrupted version. In reality, if hindus start practicing un-corrupted version of tantra, then hinduism will not look like the way it is. One particular thing which he mentioned was, Idolatory is seen negatively in tantra.
Thankyou sir for responding. Now since you dont even eat eggs, your everyday menu must be very interesting Do you use other dairy products and product made from milk ? cheese , butter etc ?
Also do you like soups ? any pure veg soup you know and like them ?
loh tumhari 100% shakahari insaan dekhne ka khaab pura hua:)!
oh we pretty much remember that we are enemies:p.
we are secret RAW agents, set to hack GP:blush:! aab dumb ko aur dumb-folded kaisey kare??
oh about the cursing Brahma thing??? hhmm..first he is not the supreme God in the Hindu Trinity. and well cursing a God..hhmm..aahh…i seriously dont know! iitne saalo mein mujhe samaj nahi aai, aapko kya samjau??!
This is the question which non-hindus ask hindus which makes hindus un-comfortable…and many times they ask to make them uncomfartable (perhaps you are doing the same now:D)…
As per mythology, Brahma was cursed by one sage that he will never be worshipped as he didn’t pay attention to him when he visited him. He didn’t pay him any attention as brahma was deeply engrossed with a women whom he himself had created(Brahma is considered as the creator). In other words, he had married his own daughter saraswati!..That is why he was cursed.
I will also give counter arguments which hindus give to explain this..
Saraswati is just a creation of brahma. He created her out of nothing and not daughter per se. I mean, She was not born out of womb of another women whom brahma had married.
No body is perfect. Even gods make mistake. So he too will be cursed.
It is a mythical story created so that people learn something out of it.
There might be one more explanation. I have forgotten as to what it is. I don’t want to know also now
^ This is it. She was just a creation (as per mythology ). Since brahma is a God. Similarly stories are recorded in Greek mythology.
So, who exactly cursed him and if hindus believe that and dont pray or worship him due to this reason then it is frankly quite silly ( i.e attributing creation of a God as son or daugther is quite silly )
So i find the explaination perfectly alright and logically balanced.
^^There must be some guilt left among hindus (or atleast in those who wrote the scriptures). So they have banned him from being worshipped.
isn't that all mythology to get humans to better understand certain concepts? Basically Brahman, Vishnu,Siva, Allah, Jesus, Moses are one and the same God. One God many names concept....ha na?
May be...but not my concern anymore. But....
If you define God as someone sitting on a lotus like brahma is, then i don't believe in it. If you define God as someone sleeping on a snake like vishnu is, then i don't believe in it. If you define God as someone sitting in heaven passing judgements like allah is, then i don't believe in it. Moses and jesus didn't call themselves as Gods.
Jesus and moses are seen to be divine though right? Christians do worship the cross because Jesus was/is seen to be divine just like Ram was/is by Hindus.
I don’t see God as sitting on a lotus, carrying a flute, sleeping on a snake, or passing judgement but I do think of God as timeless, undefinable, formless and one that gives life and is everywhere and in every living thing in the universe. I think many of the miracles that have taken place in this world happened because of of that formless undefinable entity.
Why doesn’t that entity ever prove it’s existence:hinna:…if whatever I said doesn’t make sense I don’t care and it doesn’t matter