Young indians and sprituality

I sometime wonder how much young indian hindus give importance to their religion and values ?

For Pakistani middle class (whether living in pakistan or abroad ) mostly they are skewed towards religion and uphold values seriously. Extreme poverty and extreme richness are different ball game.

Now If someone would like to answer a few questions it would be quite interesting :slight_smile:

1. Do you go to mandir ? how often ?
  2. Do you believe and pray to a particular God or have statue at home
  3. Does your family home has a small room for prayers with statue and stuff ( just like they show in movie / drama ?
    4 Are you a vegitarian (shakahari ) due to religious reasons ?
  4. What family valuse are practised religiously in your family ?

Please accept my apologies if i have used any wrong wordings due to ignorance regarding your faith. :flower1:

2 Likes

Re: Young indians and sprituality

1. earlier i used to go once a week…now once a month may be.
    2)Yes i do have.I believe in hanumanji more than anyone else.
    3)yes ,my family has a small room for prayers.
  2. I am 3 days vegetarion.These days are fixed i.e tuesday,thursday and saturday.But it doesnt mean that i have to have nonveg on other days.
    5)They are very liberal.we celebrate id with our neighbour,christmas with my friends.Family doesnt impose anything except being vegeterian and praying on few festivals.

1. Do you go to mandir ? how often ? YES Once a month or so
  2. Do you believe and pray to a particular God or have statue at home YES Many
  3. Does your family home has a small room for prayers with statue and stuff ( just like they show in movie / drama ? YES we have nook in our study 4 Are you a vegitarian (shakahari ) due to religious reasons ? Yes
  4. What family valuse are practised religiously in your family ? Respect to elders, Speaking the truth, Role based Dharma

1. I used to Go. Now i don’t. I lost faith in all religions, not just in my birth faith
  2. No
  3. yes
  4. No..but consider it to be a good thing
  5. I believe in only in these values. don’t do anything to others which you don’t want such a thing done to you, and save environment!

Thankyou folks for responding :)

Chintu-bhopali - I assume that your family believe in hanumanji more than anyone else. What are his salient feature that make him prominent among aothers for you, or it is just a traditional following

StirCrasy- you said '**Role based Dharma' **what does it mean ?

ssingh - How do you compare yourself before and after leaving faith ? do you know consider yourself better human being ? how ?

As a Punjabi of the Chamar caste. My birth certificate says Hindu...But....

1. Do you go to mandir ? how often ?
    Never, Why would I pray to some statutes and believe in some fairy tales.

2. Do you believe and pray to a particular God or have statue at home
    No, my family does not believe in fairy tales and stone statues.

3. Does your family home has a small room for prayers with statue and stuff ( just like they show in movie / drama ?
    No, but we do have a Bar.

4 Are you a vegitarian (shakahari ) due to religious reasons ?
No

1. What family valuse are practised religiously in your family ? Be a good person. Respect only those that deserve respect.

Nothing like that..family belives in all god exists in hindus.
However I am more impressed by hanumanji .I like the way he lived his life..and he is termed as the most powerful god.(in terms of physical/Mental strength).

but isn't Indian culture closely connected to our religions? What will happen to future generations....they wouldn't have any Indian culture in them especially when more and more Indians are now living outside of India.

I have to have a little bit of religion in my life just so I can keep the Indian culture in me intact and the future generations would benefit.

Indian Religion is a mix of Ancestor Worship and Hindic Philosophy.

I feel great and relieved. my mind certainly feels a lot better as it is not struck to some dogma or a set of beliefs that was told by my parents who in turn got those from earlier generations. I don't feel like defending other religions nor my parents religion any more.

Change is in-evitable. So cultures too keep changing. Apart from instilling basic things like respecting elders or for that matter everybody, not being selfish etc etc(this is something which is done in all cultures BTW), I don't feel like caring much about others if at all there are any.

Role based Dharma

Dharma by definition is role based but added that qualifier for those who do not know that.

As the definition would imply, everyone's Dharma is not identical. It is one's duty and as such a factor of one's station in life, situation at the moment and responsibilities.

It is understanding one's duties and responsibilities; getting oneself qualified and skilled to discharge such duties and reponsibilities; and understanding that such duties and responsibilities were a result of some past actions which in turn will become cause for future actions (karma).

And that is how one understands how we control our own destiny and accept consequences

Hi :slight_smile:
are you serious when you say this?? What about your good friends or pals? You don’t care about them eh:vivo:

Na, I guess i’m one of those people that has to have my Diwalis and growing up outside of India, going to these functions and the temple really helped me connect.

Hi..
Yes i am serious. I care a lot about my friends. But that is something which every “culture” preaches!.

That is something which even I will do. But not mainly for the sake of diwali, it is just for the sake of friends and have a good time.

1. Do you go to mandir ? how often ? almost every thursday to Saibaba and other days on festivals FYI: Saibaba is a muslim worshipped by hindus
  2. Do you believe and pray to a particular God or have statue at home particular god differs from region to region, Ganesh, Balaji (Lord Vishnu) is worshipped more in south and Maharastra Murugan (son of lord siva) is for Tamilians Majunath (Lord Siva) for kannadigas Saibaba (now latest trend and new god) worshipped in Maharastra,AP,Karnatka Durga in AP,West Bengal,Bihar,orissa,assam Ram(Lord Vishnu),Krishna(Lord Vishnu),Vaishnodevi in North India mostly all gods are incarnation of either vishnu and different names of Siva and you don't see Brahma(The creater) is not worshipped anywhere yes we have puja room and photos of most of gods and goddesse
  3. Does your family home has a small room for prayers with statue and stuff ( just like they show in movie / drama ? almost every hindu's house will have a puja room even in usa, UK, or wherever, those who eat/cook Non-veg at home don't worship statues at home, we use pictures and photos instead, statues are not advised to worship unless you follow very strict rules of worship 4 Are you a vegitarian (shakahari ) due to religious reasons ? I'm veg only on Thursday's and saturdays and on festivals and we don't cook non-veg on fridays

most of the south indians are veg on saturdays (who worship Balaji)
who worship saibaba & Raghavendra are veg on thursdays
who worship vaishnodevi/Hanuman are veg on tuesdays mostly north indians
who worship siva are veg on mondays
who worship devi or durga, parvathi are veg on fridays

P.S.. Bengalis and Keralites eat non veg all days even Brahmins
5. What family valuse are practised religiously in your family ?
give respect to elders, helping others

yaar what it means to be vegi on single day or couple of days in month.

Even in pakistan people are veg on tue & Wed. cause it is meat holiday.

Plus if you worship a muslim then why be veg when he was not ?

I heard about saibaba. there is a song in amar akbar anthony abt him

why no one worship him ? :hmmm:

nice topic code_red :k:

bachpan main hum bhi jaya karte the dost ke saat mandir (hum hindu nahi hain), ghalban mangalwar ko aksar/sub log yellow color ka dress behnay howe hote the. pehlay pehil to barray Pojari jee bhaga dayte the baad main theek ho gay the our humain palm reading (?? rekha) ka thorra bohut seekha dayte.

thead daikh kar yaad socha share kar lain aap logon se.

Before I answer your questions....I beleive that hinduism is a way of living and not a religion. It may recomend many practises but you don't become a super hindu if you follow them all and you don't become an outcast if you don't follow any. I only beleive in Karma because I have seen it work for me so many times in my life. The concept of Karma motivates me to do good deeds and help other people regardless of religion/creed/color or cast. I make a point to fast once a month during the purnimas(full moon) every month to dicipline myself...which I have been doing for the last ten-fifteen years....Nobody in my family follows it....its just my way of devoton to God.
Now for the questions...
1. Do you go to mandir ? how often ? Depends on Access...When in India I use to frequent on Sundays(Due to holidays)...Now in US, In the last one year I have been to a mandir, maybe once or twice.
2. Do you believe and pray to a particular God or have statue at home. Usually, I pray to all the Gods, Shiva being my all time favorite. Yes, we do have a idols which we worship.
3. Does your family home has a small room for prayers with statue and stuff ( just like they show in movie / drama ? Yes, We have a seperate room for prayers.
4 Are you a vegitarian (shakahari ) due to religious reasons ? Was a vegi on Tuesdays back in India, but in US I eat everything everyday. Just as the saying goes "Jaisa Desh waisa Bhesh"
5. What family valuse are practised religiously in your family ? Respecting parents/elders, Helping ppl in need and the other regular desi family values.

BTW…I have many paki friend and some Indian Muslims too. A couple of years a ago one of my muslim roomate did not have a ride and wanted to visit the mosque for opening his rosa, so I dropped him everyday to the mosque in the evening after work. I did join him once for the food they served inside the mosque after their prayers…that was delicious ymmy arab cuisine.

Are you sure about that? i thought his origins were unknown and no one knows about his birth religion.